We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Angleterre-St. Petersburg”
Review of Angleterre Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Angleterre Hotel
Ranked #29 of 359 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 October 2012

Our tour booked this hotel for us. The hotel is very nice and our room was clean and you could tell that this was a grand hotel, but it is due for an renovation. The fitness facility is actually in the adjacent Astoria hotel. The fitness equipment is OK but the room is small for 2 such large hotels. A very nice bar/restaurant is just to the right of the lobby, which is where the breakfast buffet is located. Breakfast food & service was fantastic. We had dinner and drinks there 2 nights while in St. Petersburg, and although expensive, the meal was quite nice. I sampled my first Russian beer, Baltika, and I really liked it. I had a cup of coffee one evening and it cost the equivalent of $8US. There is a currency exchange off the lobby as well. The hotel is across the street from St. Isaacs and also near a couple beautiful tree lined parks for a nice walk.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (979)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

355 - 361 of 979 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2012 via mobile

I really do like the hotel. Situated near famous Nevsky prospect. Breakfast is delicious. Rooms are specious and clean and even a bit older they are well maintained. Free wifi in public area, which is great. Great hotel under German management. I'll be back when returning to St. Petersburg.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nico R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2012

This was my first stay in Angleterre.
It has many advantages. Firstly , location.
If you travel for bussines reasons to make an appointments in central part of st.petersburg.. Nevskiy avenue - one can walk there in 5 minites. So it gave opportunites to arrange appointments: some people easely came to my lobby,. For other meetings I used taxi to drive not over 30min.
This hotel has very scenic enviroment, if you go out , you will enjoy a view to Issakiy cathedral.
But, to avoid some disappointments , please note, that this is very historic place. Designers(whotok oart in recent renovation) did their best to perform a historic atmothfere of the beggining of XXth century. If you do not know this, you can thinks that it is one more so called restyled ex soviet properties(stil so many in russia).

Only 2 comlains:
1. No bellboys in night shift
2. Breakfast is not valuable, looks like chef do not think to change every days menu

Room Tip: If you are not smoker, very important to mention it on arrival, because managment allows ashtray on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mihhail i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walter C N, General Manager at Angleterre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you for your time to review the Angleterre Hotel on Tripadvisor. It was a pleasure to read your generous comments.

I will proudly share your comments with our hotel team.

Looking forward to welcome you again, please contact me directly about your next visit, we will make sure that everything is in place for your stay.

Kindest regards,
Walter C. Neumann
General Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

What a great location. Easy walking to many of the city sights. Close to restaurants and shops. Great view of St Issac's cathedral. Easy to find. The perfect location for a short break. The staff were very helpful. The rooms clean, well equipped and very quiet. They were small but that was not a major issue. Breakfast buffet was superb. Bar good and lively. Good place for afternoon tea. Italian restaurant did not live up to reputation. Late nights snacks ( selection of finger food) in the bar/cafe were superb and exceeded expectations. Expensive but so is everything in St Petersburg. In comparison with other hotels it is better value given quality of offering and location.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
2  Thank Steve t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

The hotel is fantastically located and our room looked out over St Isaac's cathedral. The staff were extremely friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them. Their Italian restaurant served lovely food with various prices to suit all budgets. The room was very clean and the bed was enormous and so comfortable that we didn't want to come home.
It was within walking distance of nearly all of our list of must see sights.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the cathedral. No noise and a beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

The hotel Angleterre is part of the Astoria hotel complex and therefore shares its very good location and pre-revolution class. However, while the Astoria has been completely renovated, the Angleterre hotel is really quite run-down with 1970's fixtures that are really not up to standard anymore. Staff is friendly, but the quality/price ratio is insufficient. Moreover, there appear to be loads of bus tours and cruiseship crowds. Much better to be a little bit more and move to the Astoria next door or the modern W hotel 50 meters down the road.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mjelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walter C N, General Manager at Angleterre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2012

Dear Guest,

We highly appreciate your taking the time to leave a feed-back about our hotel on TripAdvisor.

Let me sincerely thank you for positive comments you left in the survey. But I was very upset to learn that not everything was fine during your stay with us.

I have taken on board your point regarding the correlation of our prices. In a country with lots of taxes and custom fees our prices are very competitive, but we are constantly comparing our prices with other hotels.

I feel sorry that you experienced inconveniences due to cruise groups in the hotel. Please accept my sincere apologies for that.

I hope to welcome you again in the Angleterre Hotel thus giving us an opportunity to change your opinion about our hotel to a better one.

With kindest regards,
Walter C. Neumann
General Director.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Hotel with character and charm, very convenient and beautiful location within metres of St isaacs cathedral, the downtown area and close to a varied selection of restaurants and cafes. The rooms are small but clean and comfortable. The staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeralGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Admiralteisky
Astoria Hotel
Astoria Hotel
#8 of 359 in St. Petersburg
1,646 reviews
Admiralteisky
W St. Petersburg
W St. Petersburg
#19 of 359 in St. Petersburg
1,176 reviews
Admiralteisky
Renaissance St. Petersburg Baltic Hotel
Renaissance St. Petersburg Balti...
#39 of 359 in St. Petersburg
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Admiralteisky
Petro Palace Hotel
Petro Palace Hotel
#30 of 359 in St. Petersburg
1,199 reviews
Nevskiy
Kempinski Hotel Moika 22
Kempinski Hotel Moika 22
#18 of 359 in St. Petersburg
1,165 reviews
Admiralteisky
Four Seasons Hotel Lion Palace St. Petersburg
Four Seasons Hotel Lion Palace S...
#3 of 359 in St. Petersburg
858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angleterre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angleterre Hotel

Address: Malaya Morskaya St., 24 | Isaakiyevskaya Square, St. Petersburg 190000, Russia
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Admiralteisky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in St. Petersburg
#22 Luxury Hotel in St. Petersburg
#35 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
#43 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
#65 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range: £67 - £223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Angleterre Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 193
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Angleterre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angleterre Hotel St Petersburg
Angleterre St Petersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing