We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great loccation, unfriendly Staff”
Review of Angleterre Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Angleterre Hotel
Ranked #32 of 349 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Rome, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great loccation, unfriendly Staff”
Reviewed 18 January 2014

The locations of the Hotel is fantastic and very centrally located. Rooms are Ok and definitely recommand the rooms with the view over the Square. Staff is very unfriendly and does not speak english at all

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Naitsabenomis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natasha I, Hotel Manager at Angleterre Hotel, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to leave a review on your stay in the Angleterre Hotel last February.

I regret to hear that your experience was not to your satisfaction. I would like to think though that we made a lot of changes during the last year and would be able to offer you a warm welcome once you decide to give us another chance.

Looking forward to greeting you again in St Petersburg.

Kind regards,
Natasha Izotova
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

939 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    404
    382
    120
    24
    9
See reviews for
111
344
52
236
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Stayed on this hotel for 6 days on summer 2013. I was invited by IBM for the world competition on computer programming (ACM-ICPC). Stayed on a double room. Location of perfect for St. Petersburg tourism. Many dining options for all budgets and taste, near by. Many attractions at walking distance, including the St. Issac Cathedral. Metro station 5 minutes walk. Staff super friendly and very helpful providing orientations. One thing that I like, during rainy days the hotel provide umbrellas for customers. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Bathrooms are excellent, good size and good water pressure. However, beds should be bigger. Be prepared for a twin size mattress. Breakfast are a must, large variety of hot and cold dishes, cheeses, sausages, pastry, breads, fruits, juices, etc. Staying at this hotel made the difference on my visit to St. Petersburg.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms near by the elevator. Otherwise, be prepare to walk 1/4 of a mile to get to the lobby...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank XORDEP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natasha I, Hotel Manager at Angleterre Hotel, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Let me thank you for taking time to leave such a detailed review on your stay at the Angleterre Hotel and giving us such a praise.

"Making the difference" could not make us feel better about what we do. Thank you very much for using this expression, it is very motivating for us to go the extra mile to make you happy staying with us.

We hope very much to have you as a repeated guest in the Angleterre Hotel. Kindly put a note on your booking request next time with the bed preference, we would be happy to provide you with the king size bed.

Looking forward to your next visit to St Petersburg.

Kind regards,
Natasha Izotova
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferrara, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

We had a week end in this hotel. Perfectly central located. From this square you can reach many sightseeings by foot.
Super rich breakfast!!

Rooms are full of light. Very comfortable bed. Bathroom is also beautiful, and there is all you need.
Stuff is attentive and ready to help.
We enjoyed.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oly_Marci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natasha I, Hotel Manager at Angleterre Hotel, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for taking time to write a review on your stay at the Angleterre Hotel.

The team is very happy to find out that your visit to St Petersburg was enjoyable and the Angleterre Hotel contributed so well to it.

We will continue doing our best in making the hotel a very welcoming place to stay and hope very much to greet you in St Petersburg again.

Kind regards,
Natasha Izotova
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We stayed in mid-December and were given an excellent room with a marvellous view of St Isaac's catedral. The location of the hotel is brilliant, with all major attracions and Admiraltyskaya Metro within easy walking distance. The hotel staff were very helpful and friendly. We especilly liked the breakfast buffet, which catered for all tastes. We intend to return this Summer.

Room Tip: The 4th floor is the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natasha I, Hotel Manager at Angleterre Hotel, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Let me thank you for taking time to leave a review on your stay at the Angleterre Hotel.

It is a great pleasure for me to know that you enjoyed the stay and our efforts made you feel welcome.

Each member of the team is very pleased with your positive feedback and appreciates a lot your praise. Your wish to come back is the best reward for us.

We look forward to greet you again in St Petersburg this summer.

Kind regards,
Natasha Izotova
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

My mother & I enjoyed a very special trip together to St Petersburg in October & we were both impressed with the service, particularly the care the hotel manager showed in making us welcome. We will definitely be back - thank you.

Room Tip: Traffic noise no problem & views of the Cathedral were excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natasha I, Hotel Manager at Angleterre Hotel, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear Guests,

Please let me thank you for taking time to leave a review on your recent stay in the Angleterre Hotel.

We very much appreciate your positive feedback. It is great to know that our efforts made you feel welcome and taken care of. We will continue doing our best in offering the hospitality you expect from us.

Looking forward to your next visit to St Petersburg and greeting you in the Angleterre Hotel.

Kind regards,

Natasha Izotova
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Brilliant location, not just because of the magnificence of St Isaac's, but because it was dead easy to walk anywhere in the heart. Don't however be naive, as I was, and book under the impression that this is a mansion type building, redolent of Romanov Russia, with an impressive pool and fitness room. No point packing the bathers unless you simply want to train up and down in a water box. The bedroom was absolutely fine, even with the courtyard 'view', as was the bathroom, but it did amuse me that Lonely Planet referred to the bathroom as substantial, think their reviewer was a midget. Facilities downstairs were pretty non-existent, just a large and uninviting lobby. Breakfast was excellent and the 'happy' cafe next door very good both in the late evening for a last glass, and in the day time. Curious how many pairs of girls, of all ages, were to be seen in there...?
Never ate in the restaurant as, in common with most hotels, it lacked appeal and zip, and because there are many good restaurants in the area to sample. No complaints, no excitement or thrall either, all in all it was fine .... but if you are looking for a special and impressive hotel, look elsewhere.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank JoJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natasha I, Hotel Manager at Angleterre Hotel, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for taking time to leave a review on your stay in the Angleterre Hotel as well as giving us some constructive criticism.

It is a pleasure to know that your stay was good and even though not exciting as you state, you found the services we provide of a proper level. We appreciate your positive comments and will give more efforts to maintain the quality.

I would agree with you that there is always the room for improvement and will look into the issues you mentioned to make sure you notice the changes when you decide to visit St Petersburg next.

A couple of actions are already in the process and I can assure you we will not stop at the result achieved.

Looking forward to greeting you next time to the Angleterre Hotel!

Kind regards,

Natasha Izotova
Hotel Manager
Angleterre Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
299 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

This is a comfortable, well situated hotel with restaurant, bar and lobby lounge which will suit most visitors staying in St Petersberg on a middle to high budget. It is still quite expensive relying on its location rather than its overall quality.

The Angleterre sits on the ideally located St. Isaac's Square next to the Astoria. It is marketed as part of the World Hotels Group of independent hotels but the interior was designed by Olga Polizzi as a Rocco Forte Hotel and it is linked to the Rocco Forte Hotel Astoria, sharing some facilities and basically being an annex to its big sister. There is no reference to it being part of the Rocco Forte stable of upmarket Hotels.

We asked for the slightly more expensive room overlooking the square rather than the courtyard which is well worth the cost. for the stunning view of the square and its church "fourth largest dome in the world" we were advised.

The rooms are clean, comfortable and well sized if slightly spartan for a supposedly top hotel. The bedrooms and corridor decor is now looking a little tired and in need of a renovation in the near future and the general feel is of a good 3 or possibly a lower 4 star hotel. The fittings in the bathroom are looking outdated although perfectly adequate.

The reception and lounge areas have attractive decor.

One big gripe was that there is no real comfortable lounge to relax in, there being a rather squeezed corridor running along the frontage with quartets of chairs and a table strung along its length beside the long window overlooking the Square. Larger groups than 4 would find it difficult to sit comfortably together, There are chairs in the large reception lobby but this is not comfortable for anything other than a short stay before leaving the hotel. It was noticeable sitting in the reception lobby that the hotel caters for a great deal of large tour parties more so than individuals or couples. There is little comfortable sofa seating in the bar.

The service in the bar is not of the highest quality involving extensive waits even to be noticed and a drinks list offered. When this was pointed out once, the hotel eventually apologised and reduced the drinks costs.

We did not eat at the hotel, where the restaurant seemed better suited in atmosphere to serve breakfast for the large number of guests. Breakfast was good and champagne was on offer on some days

The reception was very efficient and helpful particularly regarding restaurant bookings and arranging taxi services which you are advised to make use of rather than risking hailing a cab off the street. It was unfortunate that the reception lost my wife's passport, and spent several uneasy hours before finding it saying this had never happened before. Given their concern and urgent attitude, we are inclined to believe them.

This was a good hotel, wonderfully located with a few problems but which we would recommend.

Room Tip: Look at spending bit extra or upgrading to a St Issac's Square aspect room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FoodieArch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natasha I, Hotel Manager at Angleterre Hotel, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking time to leave such a detailed review on your stay in the Angleterre Hotel.

It was a pleasure to read your positive comments and to find out that you enjoyed your stay. I will pass your compliments to the Front Office team so that they know they got it right to make you feel welcome. We will definitely have to work out some actions to improve what you mentioned as not too good.

I very much appreciate your praise towards our breakfast and we will make sure we maintain this level of the quality and the service.

The points mentioned are noted and we will do out best to improve.

Looking forward to greeting you in St Petersburg when you next decide to visit.

Kind regards,

Natasha Izotova
Hotel Manager
Angleterre Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Admiralteisky
Astoria Hotel
Astoria Hotel
#7 of 349 in St. Petersburg
1,529 reviews
Admiralteisky
W St. Petersburg
W St. Petersburg
#19 of 349 in St. Petersburg
1,118 reviews
Admiralteisky
Renaissance St. Petersburg Baltic Hotel
Renaissance St. Petersburg Balti...
#42 of 349 in St. Petersburg
617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Admiralteisky
Taleon Imperial Hotel
Taleon Imperial Hotel
#40 of 349 in St. Petersburg
602 reviews
Admiralteisky
Petro Palace Hotel
Petro Palace Hotel
#30 of 349 in St. Petersburg
1,139 reviews
Admiralteisky
Four Seasons Hotel Lion Palace St. Petersburg
Four Seasons Hotel Lion Palace S...
#3 of 349 in St. Petersburg
771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angleterre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angleterre Hotel

Property: Angleterre Hotel
Address: Malaya Morskaya St., 24 | Isaakiyevskaya Square, St. Petersburg 190000, Russia
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Admiralteisky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in St. Petersburg
#25 Luxury Hotel in St. Petersburg
#35 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
#43 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
#65 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Angleterre Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 193
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Angleterre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angleterre Hotel St Petersburg
Angleterre St Petersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing