We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Value for money at this 5 star hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Angleterre Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Angleterre Hotel
Ranked #32 of 330 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Value for money at this 5 star hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

Very central location and exceptional service! 5 star and while room rates are not cheap, accommodation is value for money. Meals in restaurant, including the adjoining hotel and cafe, are very reasonable price and excellent quality. Staff are extremely genial and helpful, and the tourist service staff do everything possible to satisfy requests. Alessandra Imaikina is a freelance guide recommended by the hotel and is exceptional in her manner, organisational skills, English language and knowledge of Russian history and arts.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Nannita7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natasha I, Hotel Manager at Angleterre Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking time to leave a review on your stay in the Angleterre Hotel.

Reading you feedback I feel we managed to do it right and offered you the hospitality you were expecting from us. It is a pleasure to know that all our efforts made your stay memorable and exciting.

Your generous praise is highly appreciated by the whole team and we will definitely strive to stick to this high level of product and service you experienced.

We hope to have another chance to greet you back in St Petersburg and in the Angleterre!

Kind regards,
Natasha Izotova
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

893 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    379
    367
    118
    22
    7
See reviews for
102
331
49
228
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

Fabulous location, a short walk from major attractions. Lots of restaurants nearby.
Comfortable and well maintained room. Shower over bath not ideal.
Helpful and friendly staff. Taxis waiting outside mostly overpriced, but usually others nearby.
Good breakfast. Excellent food at the sister hotel adjoining, the Astoria.
Health club closed for rennovation, but was able to use spa and gym at the Astoria.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MishaMJK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natasha I, Hotel Manager at Angleterre Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking time to leave a review on your stay in the Angleterre Hotel.

It is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay and everything was to your satisfaction.
We hope very much to have a chance to greet you back in St Petersburg and in the Angleterre soon.


Kind regards,
Natasha Izotova
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

Right in the heart of St Petersburg. This is a good city hotel and has all facilities expected of a major hotel. The staff have been great throughout and all have tried to speak English which is most appreciated. Breakfast selection is good and the Borsalino restaurant food is of a very high standard with a good selection of fresh and well presented good. We stayed for four days and would visit again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank FireballXL1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natasha I, Hotel Manager at Angleterre Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Guest,

It is a pleasure for us to know that you enjoyed your visit and I would like to thank you for taking time to leave a review on your stay in the Angleterre Hotel.

I am happy to read that everything including the facilities, friendliness of the team and the food quality was to your satisfaction.

Our brand Chef visits us regularly to check the consistency of the food quality and to train our employees, which seems to bring the necessary result, when you share your impression on the Borsalino restaurant's great performance.

Your intention to come back to St Petersburg and stay again in the Angleterre is the best reward for us and we look forward to greeting you back!

Kind regards,
Natasha Izotova
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Angleterre for 4 nights from 25th Apr - 29th. The trip was a birthday present so really wanted it to go well. I have been learning Russian for the past year to be able to make our lives easier when we get there just in case but didn't need to really, everyone at the hotel spoke english so no communication issues. Easy check in and easy for you to ask anything else, the hotel also had a tourist machine in reception so you can look up tourist information which i thought was quite good. We had a lovely room 3rd floor with a mezzanine level and a beautiful view of St Isaacs Cathedral. Breakfast was good apart from the heated side/ cooked breakfast the heaters don't seem to keep bacon, sausages, scrambled eggs warm at all, tepid at best unless of course your lucky to have just caught the top up straight from the kitchen. That could be improved. The porridge was piping hot. All the other breakfast items were great. Service was great. Staff were polite and attentive. This hotel is great for location and definitely would not hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: As for a view of St Isaas at the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holidayenjoyer68574
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natasha I, Hotel Manager at Angleterre Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for taking time to leave such a detailed review on your stay in the Angleterre Hotel.

It is important to us to have your feedback on our achievements and mistakes to move forward and improve. Everything you mentioned on the positive side helps us to be confident in what we are doing, especially when it relates to service and attitude. Apart from that we have your constructive criticism on something what was not so good. Together with the F&B Director we work on improving.

The team is happy with your praise and will strive to stick to this level of service our esteemed guests deserve.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in St Petersburg and the Angleterre.

Kind regards,
Natasha Izotova
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

Next to St Isaac's Cathedral, this St PPetersbourg classic, now run by Forte,, can be relied on by tourists and business travellers alike to provide a reasonably (for Russia) priced alternative to some of the newer hotels. The rooms are comfortable and well equipped, the buffet breakfast is a real spread and all the staff are friendly and helpful, speaking good English. My bathroom only had liquid soap in a wall-mounted plastic bottle, a bit of a let down.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank QuercusRobur47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natasha I, Hotel Manager at Angleterre Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking time to leave a review on your stay in the Angleterre Hotel.

I am happy you enjoyed your stay and appreciated the service we offer. It is always very helpful to get the positive feedback to let us know what we manage to do right. We are grateful to you for sharing it with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back in St Petersburg and in the Angleterre.

Kind regards,
Natasha Izotova
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Multan, Pakistan
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

I stayed in this 4 star hotel for 2 nights in april 2014. It has very good location adjacent to St Issacs Cathedral and close to Hermitage museum and metro station.Many places of interest are close by and with in walking distance.My room was pleasant, clean and tided every day.The staf were friendly.Breakfast was good.I enjoyd my stay there.Highly recommended.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Rashidfarooq7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natasha I, Hotel Manager at Angleterre Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking time to leave a review on your stay in the Angleterre Hotel.

I am very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay and we very much appreciate your positive feedback on our job and recommendation to stay with us.

We look forward to greeting you back in St Petersburg and in the Angleterre.

Kind regards,
Natasha Izotova
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altorf, France
Level Contributor
274 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

St Petersburg and it's Saint Isaac Hotel D'angleterre will stay forever in my memory as I had the chance to celebrate my friends Daria&Vassily's Wedding. The Hotel is marvellous and very well located. Impeccable Service and wonderful experience. Highly recommended.
Happy Sharing-Happy Inside

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frederic s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natasha I, Hotel Manager at Angleterre Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Please let me thank you for taking time to leave such a sparkling review on your stay in the Angleterre Hotel.

It is a great pleasure to find out we did everything right. Your "Happy Sharing" is extremely important for our motivation to further strive for the best possible hospitality. We value a lot the praise you give us.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in St Petersburg and in the Angleterre.

Kind regards,
Natasha Izotova
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Admiralteisky
Astoria Hotel
Astoria Hotel
#9 of 330 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,462 reviews
Admiralteisky
W St. Petersburg
W St. Petersburg
#20 of 330 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,073 reviews
Admiralteisky
Taleon Imperial Hotel
Taleon Imperial Hotel
#31 of 330 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Admiralteisky
Renaissance St. Petersburg Baltic Hotel
Renaissance St. Petersburg Balti...
#37 of 330 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
Admiralteisky
Petro Palace Hotel
Petro Palace Hotel
#27 of 330 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,070 reviews
Nevskiy
Kempinski Hotel Moika 22
Kempinski Hotel Moika 22
#14 of 330 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angleterre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angleterre Hotel

Property: Angleterre Hotel
Address: Malaya Morskaya St., 24 | Isaakiyevskaya Square, St. Petersburg 190000, Russia
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Admiralteisky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in St. Petersburg
#24 Luxury Hotel in St. Petersburg
#35 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
#43 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
#65 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Angleterre Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 193
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Angleterre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angleterre Hotel St Petersburg
Angleterre St Petersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing