We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Elegant hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Angleterre Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Angleterre Hotel
Ranked #33 of 331 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Bideford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Elegant hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

A lovely hotel with great staff. The concierge was brilliant and organised good restaurants, a private car to the opera and a guide and car to Peterhof.
Good food and coupled with the sister hotel next door a very wide choice.
Good rooms that are well equipped and light, bathrooms are a little small.
Position excellent for the historic sights but a bit too far from the shopping area but only a short taxi away.

Room Tip: Have a room at the front opposite St isaacs cathedral.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natasha I, Hotel Manager at Angleterre Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for taking time to leave a review on your stay in the Angleterre Hotel.

What could have been better than to read "lovely, great, brilliant, excellent" about the stay in the hotel one is working for! We very much appreciate your extremely motivating positive feedback. We do work hard to offer the hospitality you count on and we are very happy when we make it.

We look forward to greeting you back in St Petersburg and the Angleterre.

Kind regards,
Natasha Izotova
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

893 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    379
    367
    118
    22
    7
See reviews for
102
331
49
228
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels
Level Contributor
81 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

I add my voice to those of reviewers praising the hotel for its excellent location, courteous staff, delicious breakfast and overall cleanliness. You may fault the dinner menu though, for being basic/boring international and unimaginative, but there are local restaurants nearby that offer good Russian cuisine. Don't forget the bijou spa: the hotel pool (on the 4th floor), though small, was not crowded and is open from 7 in the morning to late evening. The sauna only operates in the morning and then again after 5p.m, so come prepared.

Room Tip: If you like a view, request a front room overlooking St Isaac's Cathedral.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steven J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natasha I, Hotel Manager at Angleterre Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking time to leave a review on your stay in the Angleterre Hotel.

Your praise and your high rating of the Angleterre is the best reward for us and we feel obliged to strive to stick to this level of service. We value very much your appreciation. It is a great motivation to the team that works hard to make the guests happy.

We hope to have you back in St Petersburg and the Angleterre.

Kind regards,
Natasha Izotova
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
118 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

I am not sure that I would have booked this hotel if I was on my own, but it turned out to be wonderful. We stayed 3 nights on an extention of a Viking Cruise. The hotel was nice, but the location is fabulous. It is right across the street from St. Isaac's and a 10 minute to the Hermitage. We were scheduled to participate in cruise activities, but decided to strike out on our own. It is a very walkable city and this hotel puts you right on the outskirts...close by but with none of the noise!!
We only at breakfast in the hotel, so I can't really comment on the restaurant. I do know that they were not really prepared to serve breakfast to all the cruise passengers at the same time, but it is not their usual guests.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KitAustin_Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natasha I, Hotel Manager at Angleterre Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for taking time to leave a review on your stay in the Angleterre Hotel.

It is a pleasure to read that the Angleterre, which was chosen for you "turned out to be wonderful". I am happy that we did a good job to deserve this appreciation. I would only allow myself to express a slight surprise that despite of this statement you rated us a bit unfavourable. I only hope it was some unfortunate mistyping as looking at the rating of the list of criteria we seem to have scored quite high.

We very much hope that if you decide to next visit St Petersburg, the Angleterre will be your choice and we will be able to greet you back again.

Kind regards,
Natasha Izotova
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Petherton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

Rooms and facilities excellent as expected for a hotel of this grade; the location is ideal, central and facing on to a small square by St Isaac's Cathedral. Breakfast extensive but a bit shaky in terms of ensuring that hot meals were both hot and fresh. Afternoon tea a delight. Concierge omniscient.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank steve1208080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natasha I, Hotel Manager at Angleterre Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking time to leave a review on your stay in the Angleterre Hotel.

It is great news for us to know that your visit was enjoyable and we did a good job in terms of offering you the hospitality you awaited from us. The team of the hotel appreciates a lot your positive feedback as well as the constructive criticism. We now pay extra attention to the detail you mentioned regarding breakfast to make sure it will not repeat.

We look forward to greeting you back in St Petersburg and the Angleterre.

Kind regards,
Natasha Izotova
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

Very central location and exceptional service! 5 star and while room rates are not cheap, accommodation is value for money. Meals in restaurant, including the adjoining hotel and cafe, are very reasonable price and excellent quality. Staff are extremely genial and helpful, and the tourist service staff do everything possible to satisfy requests. Alessandra Imaikina is a freelance guide recommended by the hotel and is exceptional in her manner, organisational skills, English language and knowledge of Russian history and arts.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Nannita7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natasha I, Hotel Manager at Angleterre Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking time to leave a review on your stay in the Angleterre Hotel.

Reading you feedback I feel we managed to do it right and offered you the hospitality you were expecting from us. It is a pleasure to know that all our efforts made your stay memorable and exciting.

Your generous praise is highly appreciated by the whole team and we will definitely strive to stick to this high level of product and service you experienced.

We hope to have another chance to greet you back in St Petersburg and in the Angleterre!

Kind regards,
Natasha Izotova
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

Fabulous location, a short walk from major attractions. Lots of restaurants nearby.
Comfortable and well maintained room. Shower over bath not ideal.
Helpful and friendly staff. Taxis waiting outside mostly overpriced, but usually others nearby.
Good breakfast. Excellent food at the sister hotel adjoining, the Astoria.
Health club closed for rennovation, but was able to use spa and gym at the Astoria.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MishaMJK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natasha I, Hotel Manager at Angleterre Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking time to leave a review on your stay in the Angleterre Hotel.

It is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay and everything was to your satisfaction.
We hope very much to have a chance to greet you back in St Petersburg and in the Angleterre soon.


Kind regards,
Natasha Izotova
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

Right in the heart of St Petersburg. This is a good city hotel and has all facilities expected of a major hotel. The staff have been great throughout and all have tried to speak English which is most appreciated. Breakfast selection is good and the Borsalino restaurant food is of a very high standard with a good selection of fresh and well presented good. We stayed for four days and would visit again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank FireballXL1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natasha I, Hotel Manager at Angleterre Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Guest,

It is a pleasure for us to know that you enjoyed your visit and I would like to thank you for taking time to leave a review on your stay in the Angleterre Hotel.

I am happy to read that everything including the facilities, friendliness of the team and the food quality was to your satisfaction.

Our brand Chef visits us regularly to check the consistency of the food quality and to train our employees, which seems to bring the necessary result, when you share your impression on the Borsalino restaurant's great performance.

Your intention to come back to St Petersburg and stay again in the Angleterre is the best reward for us and we look forward to greeting you back!

Kind regards,
Natasha Izotova
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Admiralteisky
Astoria Hotel
Astoria Hotel
#9 of 331 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,461 reviews
Admiralteisky
W St. Petersburg
W St. Petersburg
#19 of 331 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,073 reviews
Admiralteisky
Taleon Imperial Hotel
Taleon Imperial Hotel
#29 of 331 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nevskiy
Kempinski Hotel Moika 22
Kempinski Hotel Moika 22
#14 of 331 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,064 reviews
Admiralteisky
Petro Palace Hotel
Petro Palace Hotel
#28 of 331 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,070 reviews
Admiralteisky
Renaissance St. Petersburg Baltic Hotel
Renaissance St. Petersburg Balti...
#34 of 331 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angleterre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angleterre Hotel

Property: Angleterre Hotel
Address: Malaya Morskaya St., 24 | Isaakiyevskaya Square, St. Petersburg 190000, Russia
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Admiralteisky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in St. Petersburg
#25 Luxury Hotel in St. Petersburg
#35 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
#43 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
#65 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Angleterre Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 193
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com and TravelUp so you can book your Angleterre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angleterre Hotel St Petersburg
Angleterre St Petersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing