We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience”
Review of Angleterre Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Angleterre Hotel
Ranked #31 of 344 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Warsaw, Poland
1 review
“Wonderful Experience”
Reviewed 14 September 2010

We stayed at the hotel Angleterre last week and had a wonderful weekend.
The hotel is beautifully placed within walking distance from the major city sights. The view from our room was to the street and cathedral which is fabulous. We could even jog on Saturday morning in the small park across the square near the river. The food was good and the staff was very friendly and helpful. We had a wonderful experience and recommended the hotel to our friends back home.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iv_ron067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

929 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    399
    378
    120
    24
    8
See reviews for
109
342
52
233
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2010

Im very glad the hotel is improving every time I visit it (regularly every 6 month), the management and the service of all stuff is very professional and I feel myself very well treated. I will continue visiting this hotel in my next trips. Very reccomended!

Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank carlosjperez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AngleterreGM, General Manager at Angleterre Hotel, responded to this review, 7 October 2010
Dear guest!

Thank you for your comments about your recent stay in Angleterre hotel, St. Petersburg. I was glad to read that you have enjoyed your stay and service. I hope you will enjoy your next stay with us even more.

We all, at the Angleterre hotel, look forward to welcoming you back at our hotel.

With best wishes,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
1 review
Reviewed 28 August 2010

It was our second stay in this amazing hotel. We had a great experience here during our previous visit to St Petersburg so we decide to stay here again. The service was efficient, all staff was very helpful. Our room was very comfortable with a nice décor and marble bathroom. We had a wonderful romantic dinner in the hotel restaurant and enjoyed excellent Italian food and a great view to St Isaac Cathedral. The selection of wines was also very good. The hotel has a best location on St Isaac's square in the very centre of the city. We definitely recommend this hotel for staying in St Petersburg!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tat_s298484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pleasant Hill, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2010

As working in hotel industry, I can say that the hotel service was very good. Awesome location, helpful staff and nice rooms. Very liked room amenities, but breakfast variety could be better though..

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoleilK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AngleterreGM, General Manager at Angleterre Hotel, responded to this review, 7 October 2010
Dear guest!

Thank you for your comments about your recent stay in Angleterre hotel, St. Petersburg. I was glad to read that you have enjoyed your stay. Concerning breakfast variety, please be informed, that we have now on the breakfast buffet 3 more types of berries, one more type of muesli, additional cheese and a basket of whole fresh seasonal fruit.

We all, at the Angleterre hotel, look forward to welcoming you back at our hotel.

With best wishes,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
1 review
Reviewed 24 August 2010

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in August. We were pleasantly surprised that we were upgraded without any extra charge. The staff was attentive and friendly. The front desk people were very helpful and arranged a wonderful trip to Peterhof for us. Our room was very nice with a fantastic view over St Isaac Cathedral. Food in the Italian restaurant Borsalino was very tasty, service was good. We also had a breakfast in the hotel, it was good and plentiful. Angleterre has a best location, 5 minutes to Hermitage museum and Palace square. Modern interiors, excellent food, wonderful service – the whole experience was so nice and lovely

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anna_sw1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2010

Eight in our group became very ill with food poisoning after food consumption at the hotel Sought medical help, very poor response from the staff, in fact no help extended to us.Service at the hotel was below acceptable level. Only likable is location

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rrajamd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AngleterreGM, General Manager at Angleterre Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2010
Dear Guest
Thank you for your comments which I very much appreciate. Please be informed that I was very sorry, when I learned that your trip to St Petersburg was marred by falling ill with severely upset stomach during your stay in our hotel. I also very much regret for the inconveniences and suffering your illness caused which I fully appreciate too. However, I would like to point out that the hotel staff had immediately reacted and the house doctor visited the eight people from your group who complained. As a gesture of good will, the hotel has taken the cost for the initial doctor's calls and medicine. We have also provided free of charge tea, water and some light food products as well. In one case the entire restaurant consumption for several days has been comped as a gesture of good will as guests staying in our hotel.
I would like to express again my deep regrets for your troubled stay for which I'm tremendously sorry. I hope you have recovered fully and I wish to you a happy continuation of your tour and safe arrival home.

Sincerely yours
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northbrook, Illinois
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2010

We stayed at this hotel for 6 nights on our vacation to Russia this summer (2010). The primary reason we chose the hotel was the central location, price and value. Hotel was rated 4 stars but it barely gets there. Accommodations are very simplistic and austere. You do not feel like you are in a 4 star hotel unless your windows are overlooking the St. Issak's cathedral and the adjoining square. That view is worth the upgrade. The hotel service is very average and I would say very "Russian" which is to say, not extremely accommodating. It seem like most of the guests are attending a convention or some other business travelers. Our package included breakfast and the food was OK, but since they do not make any variation to their choices, you get pretty sick of it after 3-4 days. Check out a restaurant called "Teplo", about a 3 minute walk from the hotel. Wonderful food, service and location. Having mentioned all of the above, the hotel is clean and spacious. It is in a perfect location. Walking distance from all of the highlights of the center of the city. The only time we took taxis was when we went to restaurants more than 20 minutes walking distance away. There is so much to do that we hardly spent much time in the hotel, so for the money we spent on it was worth staying here. Compared to other hotels of same rating, this one does stand out because of its location, but if you are used to high quality of hotels, this one may dissapoint.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MidlifeTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AngleterreGM, General Manager at Angleterre Hotel, responded to this review, 17 August 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank for your comments on your recent stay at the Angleterre Hotel in St. Petersburg, which we highly value.
I am glad that you find the hotel being clean and spacious and in a perfect location within a walking distance from all the highlights of the center of the city and that it was good value for money spent, the view of St. Isaaks worth the upgrade.
I am sorry to read that you didn't find the service extremely accommodating up to your expectations because we had a convention of business travelers and the hotel was very busy. I have noted your point about breakfast variation choices which we will explore without major changes of standards in order to be up to the satisfaction of all guests.
Thank you very much indeed for taking the time and trouble to write your comments which I very much appreciate.

With best regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Admiralteisky
Astoria Hotel
Astoria Hotel
#8 of 344 in St. Petersburg
1,511 reviews
Admiralteisky
W St. Petersburg
W St. Petersburg
#19 of 344 in St. Petersburg
1,104 reviews
Admiralteisky
Renaissance St. Petersburg Baltic Hotel
Renaissance St. Petersburg Balti...
#28 of 344 in St. Petersburg
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Admiralteisky
Taleon Imperial Hotel
Taleon Imperial Hotel
#36 of 344 in St. Petersburg
594 reviews
Admiralteisky
Petro Palace Hotel
Petro Palace Hotel
#27 of 344 in St. Petersburg
1,119 reviews
Nevskiy
Kempinski Hotel Moika 22
Kempinski Hotel Moika 22
#15 of 344 in St. Petersburg
1,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angleterre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angleterre Hotel

Property: Angleterre Hotel
Address: Malaya Morskaya St., 24 | Isaakiyevskaya Square, St. Petersburg 190000, Russia
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Admiralteisky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in St. Petersburg
#24 Luxury Hotel in St. Petersburg
#35 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
#43 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
#65 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Angleterre Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 193
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Angleterre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angleterre Hotel St Petersburg
Angleterre St Petersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing