We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Astoria, great place of history”
Review of Astoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Astoria Hotel
Ranked #8 of 358 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 November 2011

My stay at the Astoria was excellent in all aspects. We have been upgraded to a suite which was new renovated, very clean and elegant creating a wonderful atmosphere. The staff overall was professional and helpful at any time, showing a European standard. Having breakfast in the restaurant Davidov is a delight as you can see the St. Isaaks Cathedral from there. The selection of the buffet fulfils all desires. The spa on the seventh floor is rather small but nicely decorated. The massage I ordered were one of the best I ever had. Further is the location of the Astoria perfect for walking tours to the major sights of the city. Every evening we came back from our tours and went to the bar which opens 24 hours. The service there was always professional and friendly. I would recommend the Astoria at any time, great place of history.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FranzOtto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Astoria_GM, General Manager at Astoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2011

Dear Guest,

It makes me extremely happy to read that you found all aspects of your stay excellent, from the view at breakfast and our location to your spa treatment. Additionally I am glad that staff were always friendly, helpful and professional towards you. If you ever visit the city in the future, it would be our pleasure to have you stay with us again.

Kindest regards,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,618)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

944 - 950 of 1,618 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2011

The employees and the location "make" this hotel. The building is not the most welcoming, luxurious, or opulent. However, the staff made it a home away from home for this U.S. woman who had never before visited Russia. The room was extremely large, especially by European standards, the elevator always worked, and whatever we asked for, we received. Room service, assistance with local airport transport, restaurant recommendations, or just a nice chat in the bar while "killing time." Accompanying my husband on a business trip, I felt safe and happy alone in this hotel. It's a very short walk to the water and other attractions. It's not the quietest location, but it does give the traveler a glimpse into public life in the city. The "high tea" presentation was lovely. The staff was flexible about everything which made it a more comfortable experience. The furniture was a little old and worn, but still serviceable and comfortable.

Room Tip: If quiet is important, you might mention it. I got the impression that different floors and areas w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zoobeefoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Astoria_GM, General Manager at Astoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. It brings me great pleasure knowing that we were able to cater for your every need and make you feel at home. We would love to welcome you back to the hotel if business or pleasure ever brings you here again!

Kindest regards,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2011

Ideally located in the middle of the old town designed by the architects hired by the Czar Peter the Great. You are at a walking distance from all the main attractions like the Hermitage and the Nevesky Square, the Merinsky Theater, the three most interesting churches and the pier to take the boat to Peterhoff or simply to visit the city.
When you see the building from outside and you enter in the lobby you feel an old atmosphere that changes to a relaxing modern contemporary decoration in the bedrooms common to all the bedrooms of the Rocco Forte Hotels chain.
St. Petersburg is very beautiful and extremely interesting but is also poorly organised and inefficient. I suggest that you always consider a big time buffer for all your local trips as there are lots of unexpected events that can happen and provoke considerable delays. You have queues for every major attraction as the ticket offices only open a short time before the events and normally you cannot buy tickets in advance and there is always a lot of local people who simply do not respect the queues and pass everyone. When you return home prepare to go through six queues in the airport and it takes at least 1:40 hours to reach the final boarding gate.

Room Tip: The Junior Suites might be interesting for small families instead of the traditional bedrooms with c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pedro D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Astoria_GM, General Manager at Astoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of the Hotel Astoria. I am sorry to hear that you found St. Petersburg poorly organised and full of queues. However it makes me glad to know that you still enjoyed the beauty of the city and found our hotel welcoming and ideally-located. We would love to welcome you back on your next visit to St. Petersburg.

Kindest regards,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2011

My wife and I booked four nights at the hotel based on the great location and favorable reputation of the Hotel Astoria. We were not disappointed. We arranged for a guide and driver for the distant sights, but were able to walk to the Hermitage, St Isacc's Square, Mirinsky Theater, Church on Spilled Blood and Nevsky Prospekt for shopping. The hotel offered convenient car service between the airport and hotel. The staff was very professional, friendly and helpful during our stay. Our rate included a buffet breakfast which was excellent. We dined at the hotel two evenings and really enjoyed the excellent cuisine, service and wonderful piano music. The room overlooked an interior area. It was quiet, but I would obtain a view room next time we visit. We enjoyed the stay and having the opportunity to stay in a century old property that has hosted so many historic and famous people.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aviator311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Astoria_GM, General Manager at Astoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel on TripAdvisor. It gives me great pleasure to read that you enjoyed many elements of your stay, and especially that you found our staff friendly and helpful. We look forward to welcoming you to the Astoria again where we will happily provide you with a room with a view.

Kindest regards,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2011

Very well trained and friendly staff, pleasant atmosphere in a perfect location.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Astoria_GM, General Manager at Astoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments about our staff and atmosphere. I am additionally pleased that you found our location convenient and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kindest regards,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

This hotel was wonderful. It was booked for us by our tour company and we were delighted with it. Breakfast was included and was an extensive and delicious buffet (fresh fruit, cereals, meats, cheeses, veggies, breads and pastries) but if you wanted to you could also order off the menu. The rooms were nicely decorated and spacious with a desk and upholstered chair for reading. Since you cannot drink the water in St Petersburg, they provided us with unlimited bottled water every day. The front desk staff and concierge were always very helpful with any request that we had. Unfortunately, it rained every day we were there and the hotel provided umbrellas for all 4 of us every day. The hotel is a 10 - 15 minute walk to the Winter Palace and Hermitage. My only complaint (and it is a little one) would be that the lighting was dim, although there were several lamps, the wattage was low.

Room Tip: For a fabulous view ask for a room facing the front of the hotel which looks out at St Isaac's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lsm53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Astoria_GM, General Manager at Astoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments about our hotel. I am sorry to hear that the weather was not in your favour but glad to know that everything else was to your liking. Regarding the dim lighting please be assured I am looking into the issue. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to St. Petersburg.

Kindest regards,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

This hotel was average, and for the price, could be better. The beds are not particularly comfortable (ours dipped significantly in the middle), the walls are thin (we could hear the guests next door and above), and the rooms smallish (with much wasted space). The TV was also too small for the size of the room. I'd stay elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank dmeshkov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Admiralteisky
Four Seasons Hotel Lion Palace St. Petersburg
Four Seasons Hotel Lion Palace S...
#3 of 358 in St. Petersburg
830 reviews
Nevskiy
Belmond Grand Hotel Europe
Belmond Grand Hotel Europe
#7 of 358 in St. Petersburg
1,637 reviews
Nevskiy
Pushka Inn Hotel
Pushka Inn Hotel
#2 of 358 in St. Petersburg
1,627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nevskiy
Kempinski Hotel Moika 22
Kempinski Hotel Moika 22
#19 of 358 in St. Petersburg
1,153 reviews
Admiralteisky
W St. Petersburg
W St. Petersburg
#20 of 358 in St. Petersburg
1,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astoria Hotel

Address: Bolshaya Morskaya St., 39, St. Petersburg 190000, Russia
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Admiralteisky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
#3 Spa Hotel in St. Petersburg
#4 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#5 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
#8 Luxury Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range: £157 - £371 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Astoria Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the essence of Russia in the comfort and elegance of Rocco Forte’s luxurious Hotel Astoria. Situated next to the magnificent St Isaac’s Cathedral in the heart of St Petersburg, Hotel Astoria has played host to many distinguished guests from past to present. 169 rooms and suites at Hotel Astoria are carefully furnished with comfort and tranquility in mind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Astoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Hotel St Petersburg
Astoria St Petersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing