We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I really enjoyed the stay, very recommend”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Astoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Astoria Hotel
Ranked #8 of 334 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“I really enjoyed the stay, very recommend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2012 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel for business. The location is so perfect that makes you want to go out day and night, which of course I did outside of the business meetings.

The hotel is really historic, about a century old. I heard it used to be a municipal building or a hosital in the beginning of the last century, and survived through the Revolution and the War. The wide corridors, high ceilings and the centrally located old-style elevator, surrounded by circular grand staircase, all give an indication of an old Russian imperial touch...really beautiful!

The classic rooms are not that spacy, yet comfortable enough and immaculately clean. The windows face the Cathedral, Hermitage and all the sights are in the walking distance.

The breakfast is very good with extra stuff like eggs, etc complimentary individual upon order.

I know there is also a sauna, a gym and a good spa, but I didn't get to try them...

The staff is great and excellent consierge service.

I fully recommend this hotel for those who are visiting the beautiful St.Pete.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sgurnov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walter C N, General Manager at Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your interesting and kind review. I’m very grateful that you found time for sharing your impressions about the hotel in detail. Yes, Astoria is a century old indeed, this year we celebrate a 100th Anniversary, thank you for mentioning the hotel’s history and describing the historical interiors. It was a real pleasure to read your response about our service. I’ve shared your generous comments with my colleagues who assisted you. They are flattered by your kind words. I look forward to welcoming you back as our guest very soon. Please let us know when you are planning your next visit so we can make sure everything is in place for your stay.
With warm regards,
Walter C. Neumann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,481 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,108
    260
    77
    25
    11
See reviews for
219
521
85
360
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2012 via mobile

I always judge a hotel by first impressions. The lobby is the first thing I see and this hotel has met the challenge, very impressive. Greetings from the check in are warm with a charming accent and even a smile. The room is very warm and generous. Everyone I spoke to speaks English and were very helpful. The location is right in the middle of all the activity which makes it easy to get to anywhere in the city, business or pleasure. This hotel will make your trip a success.
It will always be my home when in St. Pete. I hope it will be yours too.

Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Ken A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walter C N, General Manager at Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2012
Dear Ken,
Thank you very much for posting your review. I really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with others. I’m happy that you found your room comfortable and enjoyed the hotel’s atmosphere and location. I will make sure that I pass your great feedback onto the Reception team. We hope to see you in Astoria on your next visit to St Petersburg.
With kind regards,
Walter C. Neumann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

I had the chance to stay in the Rocco Forte Astoria Hotel and it was a great experience. My room was really good and the concierge helped me so much and gave really good advice. It was a nice experience and hope to come again soon!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walter C N, General Manager at Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
Dear Marie,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience following your stay with us. I will certainly share your generous comments with my colleagues who assisted you, as I know that they will be equally flattered by your kind words, particularly in Conciege.

Your recommendations of Rocco Forte Hotel Astoria to your friends and family are also very much appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back to Rocco Forte Hotel Astoria in the future.

Yours sincerely,
Walter C. Neumann,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

I went to St. Petersburg for business last week. It was my first time and I booked Astoria.
I so appreciated the hotel. Wonderful loung area with a very nice bar and windows floor to ceiling with view out on the city.
The room was generous in size and I think I had one of the lower categories. Very nice bathroom with nice amenities.
All in all, a perfect stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fedeati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

You may expect no less impression then a great stay! Hotel is great - building, charm, history, elegance and very special flavour of the place where the power of the world is used to dwell... Don't hesitate - it's really great. About practical things: bedding is superb, breakfast is incredibly rich. Consierge will get you a Moon if you pay for Moon:))). Location is the best. This part of town is more prestigious - distant from train station and hustle of Nevsky prospect. I'm all for this one!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Baiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walter C N, General Manager at Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2012
Dear Guest, thank you for your exciting review. I am delighted that you found your stay at the Astoria comfortable and enjoyable. Thank you for sharing your impressions about the hotel’s history and location. It is always a pleasure to read about such positive experiences especially in the Hotel Astoria's Centenary year. I will certainly share your comments with my team and the concierge service in particular. I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
With best wishes,
Walter C. Neumann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

This was my second visit to the Astoria and I returned as my first trip had been so good. The roms are fine but not that big. My maid had terrible body odour problems which meant that I returned from a business day with the idea of room service and some work but I had to leave the room due to the smell. I am sure that I was just unlucky and fortunately the hotel is well positioned to be able to walk to many restaurants.

Best to avoid the doorman getting you a taxi unless you with to pay three times the price - there is a scam working here.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank finewine63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2012

I had the pleasure to enjoy a long weekend in St Petersburg Russia (10 to 12 Feb 2012) to celebrate my mother in laws 70th Birthday. We were a group of 12 people and were booked into multiple rooms. We were greeted with a warm and personal welcome and immediately shown to our rooms, with a lovely view of St Issac Square. Perfect blue clear skies and snow on the ground made it extra memorable. Our rooms were spacious and multiple free amenities were presented to us. One can even chose what type of pillow one prefers to sleep on...nice touch. A classic room with all modern fixtures and perfect temperature control made it a very pleasant stay and quiet sleep. The bar area was also very modern and the staff and service were impecable. The hotel arranged a private guided tour with personal bus shuttle through the city and our guide was excellent. All other events organized by the hotel (lunches, dinner, and museum visits, as well as drop off in the airport ) functioned seemlessly and punctual. My wife and i wanted to check out the cool nightlife and we recommded a super trendy restaurant/bar on the top floor of the nearby Gasprom building with one of the best views of the city and a very young, dynamic crowd....couldnt be better. I have nothing but wonderful experiences with this grand hotel, that is completely refreshed and up to speed with all modern amenities, as well as perferectly located for walking tours of the city. I cant wait to come back!

Room Tip: Ask for a view of St Issacs Square...view onto the cathedral.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank avinals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Nevskiy
Belmond Grand Hotel Europe
Belmond Grand Hotel Europe
#6 of 334 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,527 reviews
Admiralteisky
Four Seasons Hotel Lion Palace St. Petersburg
Four Seasons Hotel Lion Palace S...
#3 of 334 in St. Petersburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
Nevskiy
Pushka Inn Hotel
Pushka Inn Hotel
#2 of 334 in St. Petersburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The State Hermitage Museum Offic...
#4 of 334 in St. Petersburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 943 reviews
Admiralteisky
Domina St.Petersburg
Domina St.Petersburg
#10 of 334 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,086 reviews
Liteyny
Hotel Indigo St. Petersburg - Tchaikovskogo
Hotel Indigo St. Petersburg - Tc...
#5 of 334 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astoria Hotel

Property: Astoria Hotel
Address: Bolshaya Morskaya St., 39, St. Petersburg 190000, Russia
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Admiralteisky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
#3 Spa Hotel in St. Petersburg
#4 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#5 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
#8 Luxury Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Astoria Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the essence of Russia in the comfort and elegance of Rocco Forte’s luxurious Hotel Astoria. Situated next to the magnificent St Isaac’s Cathedral in the heart of St Petersburg, Hotel Astoria has played host to many distinguished guests from past to present. 169 rooms and suites at Hotel Astoria are carefully furnished with comfort and tranquility in mind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Astoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Hotel St Petersburg
Astoria St Petersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing