We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As Expected, Amazing As Always”
Review of Astoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Astoria Hotel
Ranked #7 of 362 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 December 2012

I have been staying at the Astoria upon each of my visits to St. Petersbrg over the last 7 years. They have exceeded my expectations EVERY time, It is like a home away from home for me. The building is exceptional, but the staff are what make the Astoria the finest hotel I have stayed in around the world. If you want to be treated like a member of the family, I highly recommend the Astoria.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Blairpogue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerold H, Администратор at Astoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear thank you very much for sharing your kind review about Hotel Astoria.

We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are visiting St Petersburg.

Warmest regards,
Hotel Astoria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,689)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

923 - 929 of 1,689 reviews

Reviewed 3 December 2012 via mobile

what a lovely hotel. the staff are very friendly. the hotel is very clean. we had a room without a view of city which was a shame but we did not spend much time in the room. the sofa/relaxing area is lovely as u can sit in the warm and watch the world go by. hotel is very central. quite expensive for food and drinks but ur in five star.overall a lovely stay. and what a fab city. can't wait to go back and will stay at same hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank greeny20111648480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerold H, Администратор at Astoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Dear guest, thank you very much for sharing your kind review about Hotel Astoria.

We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are visiting St Petersburg.

Warmest regards,
Hotel Astoria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2012

We felt so welcome ,First class style and service, from the 1st Greeting. Our room faced the ST. ISSAC'S Cathedral ,Breathtaking at night! An easy walk to the amazing Hermitage Museum, and Nevsky prospect for shopping. Meticulous and superb breakfast and Dinners in the Classy Restaurant. The lounge and Kandinsky Bar, special.(best Borsche soup ever) , english speaking and well trained staff. The Concierge was sooo very helpful, she went out of her way to dierct us and to answer all our questions. We will be back . ( Dugal"s from Canada)

Room Tip: request a room facing ST. Isaacks Cathedral, if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank theresa t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerold H, Администратор at Astoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2014

Dear guest, thank you very much for your review regarding your stay at the Hotel Astoria.

We all hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you back in St Petersburg and Hotel Astoria!

Best regards,
Hotel Astoria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2012

Thats not the first time when i am to St Pete, and surely not the first in Astoria. Dont know why but only now ive decided to leave a review.
I would like to say that this hotel shows the best individual service at all the times. Everytime i am welcomed like i am living there for hundreds of years or at least the best friend of all the staff (however i am staying once-twice a year). Everything goes easy and smoothly, nothing is a problem for Astoria staff - no matter if for young or for elder person.
There are quite a lot info on Astoria services... I would mention recent changes: last time i've seen new uniform in the bar (its splendid! simple but rich), renovated business centre (its small enough, but still you could serve internet, check your mail, print boardpass for free), new equipment on reception (and new staff - smiley young girls!) and NEW ROOMS!!!! I strongly recommend you to experience new rooms - they are spacios, light, comfortable and contemporary, but at the same time looks historical - like from the begginning of XX century! And bathroom!
I am waiting for new rooms (i ve heard they gonna start second phase) and info on events for hundred anniversary!

I love this hotel, love Astoria staff, love St Pete and love view to St Isaacs cathedral!

Room Tip: newly renovated rooms or\and view to cathedral
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Katalina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2012

From moment of arrival we were welcomed as if old friends-room was upgraded to fabulous view of st isaacs cathedral . Nothing was too much trouble. Staff attentive and young staff particularly keen to make the effort to converse in English ( we only had 4 words of Russian!) Breakfast sumptuous and staff beautifully trained and determined to please-business men's lunch excellent and reasonably prices Russian cuisine.. Having been to the Balmoral in Edinburgh for the Fringe we were keen to try another Rocco Forte hotel and were not disappointed. The hotel is perfectly situated and absolutely splendid -we had a wonderful trip and hope to return.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lwsw20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerold H, Администратор at Astoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2014

Dear guest, thank you very much for choosing our hotel as a venue for your stay in St Petersburg.

Hope to see you soon in St.Petersburg and Hotel Astoria!

Best regards,
Hotel Astoria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2012

If you want to experience a really intriguing and warm russian atmosphere remembering the times of the Romanov you cannot miss the address n° 1 in San Petersburg : The Rocco Forte Astoria. The location is great on St. Isaac Square close to the Cathedral, very quiet, elegant, understatement, a personal retreat with personalized and discreet service. To remember the energetic classy breakfast with lots of specialities you can order at no charge. Small but nice the SPA. And for the Italian guests you can always count on the Italian Director Piero to overlook on rooming and food. It was my fourth time in St. Pete and of course forth time at the Astoria.

Room Tip: Higher Rooms 5th or 6th floor overlooking the square. The new Junior Suite are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thediamondsboss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

The asoria in St.Petersburg has the best location in Town.

You can walk to the main attraction and enjoy the best views.

the hotel manager was at the door waiting for us and wishing us a good stay in Town.

The restaurant is probably the best in town and the best caviar is available.

Room Tip: rooms with a view over the cathedral
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paolo2404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Admiralteisky
Four Seasons Hotel Lion Palace St. Petersburg
Four Seasons Hotel Lion Palace S...
#3 of 362 in St. Petersburg
887 reviews
Nevskiy
Belmond Grand Hotel Europe
Belmond Grand Hotel Europe
#8 of 362 in St. Petersburg
1,684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Admiralteisky
W St. Petersburg
W St. Petersburg
#19 of 362 in St. Petersburg
1,204 reviews
Nevskiy
Pushka Inn Hotel
Pushka Inn Hotel
#2 of 362 in St. Petersburg
1,672 reviews
Nevskiy
Kempinski Hotel Moika 22
Kempinski Hotel Moika 22
#17 of 362 in St. Petersburg
1,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astoria Hotel

Address: Bolshaya Morskaya St., 39, St. Petersburg 190000, Russia
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Admiralteisky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
#3 Spa Hotel in St. Petersburg
#5 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
#7 Luxury Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range: £107 - £570 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Astoria Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the essence of Russia in the comfort and elegance of Rocco Forte’s luxurious Hotel Astoria. Situated next to the magnificent St Isaac’s Cathedral in the heart of St Petersburg, Hotel Astoria has played host to many distinguished guests from past to present. 169 rooms and suites at Hotel Astoria are carefully furnished with comfort and tranquility in mind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Astoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Hotel St Petersburg
Astoria St Petersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing