We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The location is TOP”
Review of Astoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Astoria Hotel
Ranked #8 of 335 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The location is TOP”
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Very beautiful Hotel with super location. Rooms are very nice decorated and I was lucky to have a room with a view over the Square. I did not like the Spa area and staff should definitely improve english as it was kind of difficult to communicate with them.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Naitsabenomis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerold H, Генеральный директор at Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear guest, thank you for choosing Astoria Hotel and leaving your feedback with your useful comments on TripAdvisor!

It is a pleasure for me to know that you loved our location, interiors of rooms and view from your window. Please accept my sincere apologies for all the inconveniences that you had with staff from SPA. Your feedback will help us to intensify training of our staff to avoid such examples in the future.

We will be delighted to welcome you again at the Astoria some day.

Warmest regards,
Gerold Held
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,491 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,118
    260
    77
    25
    11
See reviews for
222
522
85
364
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

The hotel is well situated for walking to major sites in St Petersburg, and set just across the square from the imposing St Isaacs Cathedral. From the moment we arrived the standard of service and personal attention was exemplary. Our room was lovely, simple and understated, but beautifully decorated with natural fabrics including linen curtains, simple striped rug and cushions. Everything comfortable and luxurious. The bed was enormous with wonderful sheets, duvet and pillows, very comfortable. There was a separate hallway with a walk in wardrobe. I wish we had had more time to spend in our room! The very comfortable Litchfield bar, complete with his photos, was a great place for a drink before or after dinner, the breakfast had a good choice and the the tea service was good. In every part of the hotel I appreciated the thought that had gone into the design.
Unfortunately we never had time to visit the spa, although we were longing for a hammam!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank moscowgirl55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerold H, Генеральный директор at Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear guest, thank you very much for taking the time to give us your feedback on your recent visit to Rocco Forte Hotel Astoria.

It is very difficult to describe how I was happy to know that you liked our location, quality of service, natural interiors of rooms. I will definately share your kind comments about breakfasts in Astoria Cafe and drinks in Lichfield Bar with F&B team.

We hope that you will be our guest again and will visit our SPA next time when you come to Saint-Petersburg!

With best regards,
Gerold Held
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Beautiful hotel with great style in a very central location. Everything about the hotel was excellent in terms of comfort, quality of restaurant and bar and friendly service. Our only problem was the quality of information from the concierge which led to some very frustrating moments over the opening hours of some tourist attractions and the ordering of taxis. They were very willing and helpful but communications (not language skills) were poor and we felt some of the staff had not had enough training. However, we had a great time and would certainly recommend the hotel to others.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Vicky_T434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerold H, Генеральный директор at Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear guest, thank you so much for spending your time and leaving review about Hotel Astoria on www.tripadvisor.ru.

I am very happy to hear that you really enjoyed your stay with us. I will definately share with my team your kind words about Astoria Cafe and Lichfield Bar, also I am glad that you liked our location.

Please accept my sincere apologies for all the inconveniences you experienced at our Hotel. Let me assure you that we will do the utmost to develop and polish our level of service. Our main objective is to constantly improve our guest service quality maintaining the Rocco Forte Hotels standards and satisfying the requests of all our guests.

We hope that you will be our guest again next time when you come to Saint-Petersburg!

Best rergards,
Gerold Held
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bratislava, Slovakia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 January 2014

St Petersburg was our best trip in recent years we have done. Charming Hotel Astoria made the stay so enjoyable. The hotel has an excellent location, opposite a St Isaac's Cathedral, just next door to Hermitage, Moika canal where you can take a city boat trip and 5 minutes by car to grandious Mariinsky Theater. Eugen Onegin was just amazing. They have newly renovated rooms. Spacious and the view was so nice. The breakfast buffet was fresh & abundant, a meal ordered from room service was excellent. What really won us over was the general welcoming warmth of the hotel. Worth to visit.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarbaraBBB2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerold H, General Manager at Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Barbara,

Happy New Year to you and your family!

Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your feedback on your recent visit to Rocco Forte Hotel Astoria.

It was a pleasure welcoming you and my colleagues and we are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your feedback is very important to us and I will take great pleasure in sharing this with the team.

We do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future and would ask that you feel free to contact me directly if I can be of any assistance in arranging your bookings.

Your sincerely,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 30 December 2013

This is the first time we have written a review of a hotel for Trip Advisor. Sometimes you read reviews of hotels and wonder if you are staying at the same property. We have just returned from Astoria and cannot understand the negative reviews that this hotel sometimes gets. We had a lovely time from the moment the hotel car met us at the airport to the minute it dropped us off at the airport for departure. The hotel upgraded us to their Studio suites with views of the Cathedral, a welcome gift of chocolates and we were given late check out privileges; what more could you ask? The ballerina pictures in the room and the 'From Russia with Love' picture in the marble bathroom provided a nice quirky twist to the overall ambiance. Breakfast in the Astoria Café was excellent.

We had dinner in the Astoria Café twice; the quality of the food and overall value for money were excellent. If one were to have one small quibble it would be that the service in the restaurant during our second meal was not up to the level of our first meal (which was completely faultless) due to a lack of staff caused by two functions running concurrently. This was just one of those things.

Overall we would not hesitate to return or recommend the hotel to others.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travels_with_Maud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerold H, General Manager at Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your feedback on your recent visit to Rocco Forte Hotel Astoria.

It was a pleasure to welcome you and my colleagues and I are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your Christmas Holidays. Your feedback regarding the quality of food and service is greatly appreciated and I will take great pleasure in sharing this with the team.

I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future and would ask that you feel free to contact me directly if I can be of any assistance in arranging your bookings.

We wish you glamorous and magical 2014! All the best to you and your family.
Yours sincerely.

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mikkeli, Finland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

If you appreciate great service and quality, Astoria is your hotel. Try also Cafe Astoria´s Russian specialities. No need to go anywhere else! One of the best hotels in the world. Looking forward to my next visit.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Maisa12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerold H, General Manager at Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear Maisa,

I hope that you have had a great Christmas ad you have enjoyed your time with your family.

Thank you very much for your nice feedback you have posted after your stay.

We are very happy to hear that you really enjoyed your stay and you had a great time in St Petersburg. Hotel Astoria is truly amazing property with lots of history and great reputation. We are working every day hard to be the best in the city.

We are looking froward welcoming you in our hotel again soon.

Regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mikkeli, Finland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

This is a definitely the best hotel in St.Petersburg or even in Russia. Very good service and atmosphere in hotel. Excellent location. One of the best restaurant in St.Petersburg. I do recommend this hotel for all travelers.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank MarkoRiabkov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerold H, Генеральный директор at Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Dear guest, thank you very much for taking time to write your comments on TripAdvisor. I will definately share your comments with my team.

It is always nice to know when we do our work right. Thank you for such positive review about atmosphere, service and Astoria Cafe.

We will be delighted to welcome you again at the Astoria Hotel some day.

Best regards,
Gerold Held
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Nevskiy
Belmond Grand Hotel Europe
Belmond Grand Hotel Europe
#6 of 335 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,542 reviews
Admiralteisky
Four Seasons Hotel Lion Palace St. Petersburg
Four Seasons Hotel Lion Palace S...
#3 of 335 in St. Petersburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
Nevskiy
Pushka Inn Hotel
Pushka Inn Hotel
#2 of 335 in St. Petersburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The State Hermitage Museum Offic...
#4 of 335 in St. Petersburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 954 reviews
Admiralteisky
Domina St.Petersburg
Domina St.Petersburg
#10 of 335 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,101 reviews
Liteyny
Hotel Indigo St. Petersburg - Tchaikovskogo
Hotel Indigo St. Petersburg - Tc...
#5 of 335 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astoria Hotel

Property: Astoria Hotel
Address: Bolshaya Morskaya St., 39, St. Petersburg 190000, Russia
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Admiralteisky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
#3 Spa Hotel in St. Petersburg
#4 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#5 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
#8 Luxury Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Astoria Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the essence of Russia in the comfort and elegance of Rocco Forte’s luxurious Hotel Astoria. Situated next to the magnificent St Isaac’s Cathedral in the heart of St Petersburg, Hotel Astoria has played host to many distinguished guests from past to present. 169 rooms and suites at Hotel Astoria are carefully furnished with comfort and tranquility in mind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Hotelopia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Astoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Hotel St Petersburg
Astoria St Petersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing