We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing hotel!! the best in the city”
Review of Astoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Astoria Hotel
Ranked #8 of 335 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing hotel!! the best in the city”
Reviewed 11 April 2014

I've just spent 4 days at the hotel Astoria and I was very impressed. The location is amazing, my room was overlooking the St. Isaac's Cathedral. From the hotel you can walk everywhere!
The service was very efficient and friendly, i felt very welcomed. I would recommend to anyone going to the city. We also had afternoon team at their famous tea room and the food was just incredible!

Room Tip: choose rooms with view over the cathedal
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank krib79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerold H, Генеральный директор at Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Dear guest, thank you very much for such positive review about Hotel Astoria on www.tripadvisor.ru.

I was very happy to read that you liked quality of service, our great location in the heart of St Petersburg and also afternoon tea. It is a pleasure for us to know that you enjoyed your stay with us!

Thank you again for your kind words and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,
Gerold Held
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,491 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,118
    260
    77
    25
    11
See reviews for
222
522
85
364
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
393 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

The hotel is still exceptional, in a perfect location, but it's getting tough to compete with the new neighbors around St Isaak's. One thing constant through the years is the best Guest Relations Head in town, Lidia has been there since forever, and she's as authentic SPB native as there is, period. Let her make your day!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank hi_stick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerold H, Генеральный директор at Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear guest, thank you for choosing Hotel Astoria and also leaving your review about your stay!

I will definately share yours kind words with Lidia, and also thank you for yours comments regarding quality of service and unique location in the heart of city centre.

I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards,
Gerold Held
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
235 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

I have always liked this hotel with its feel of Tsarist Russia and its excellent location. In the past service was sometimes a bit soviet, but in recent years, under the management of Rocco Forte, it is really becoming a top hotel. The service is now absolutely among the best anywhere with a great combination of efficiency and friendliness. The larger redecorated rooms are very pleasant, keeping the "palace" hotel feeling, but in a modern and very comfortable manner. Bathrooms also very well appointed and more than clean. The reception is now totally up to standards and the soviet feel is now completely gone. the lobby bar is one of my favorites anywhere, mostly because of the very friendly staff that doesn't seem to change. I can only hope they can keep it like this. Bravo!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mjelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerold H, Генеральный директор at Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear guest, thank you very much for choosing our hotel as a venue for your stay!

I was very happy to hear that you had great time with us. Your positive review regarding quality of service, atmosphere and staff made me and my team very happy and also proud.

I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future!

Best regards,
Gerold Held
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We stayed at the Astoria for a long weekend with our two very young children. Great location. Staff couldn't have been more friendly and the quality of service is very high. To the point when as we walked along a corridor with a sleeping baby housekeeping stopped vacuuming until we were in our room. The food was good perhaps not excellent . Breakfast is a buffet with hot dishes available on request. You get something pretty close to what you ask for - perhaps something was lost in translation. Rooms are comfortable and views over st Isaacs are terrific if you can get one. The hotel is in the grand style rather than contemporary overall but bedrooms and bathrooms were comfortable and modern.

On checkout there was a bit of confusion over whether internet access had been included in the room rate (as I had been told on check in) so probably just worth being clear on this. The hotel was very accomodating about this. Another example of good service was that it was my wife's birthday while we were there and I was approached by the head of guest relations who must have noticed from our passports and who provided a cake and some flowers, which was very thoughtful (and made me look good!)

Room Tip: A view of St Isaacs is pretty good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank businesstraveller70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerold H, Генеральный директор at Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Dear guest, thank you for choosing Hotel Astoria and also leaving your comments on www.tripadvisor.ru

I am very happy to hear that you are pleased with quality of service, great location of our Hotel and interiors. Your opinion is very important for us!

We hope that you and your family will be our guests again next time when you come to Saint-Petersburg!

Best regards,
Gerold Held
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

The hotel is well located within a walking distance from many of the sights and numerous canals. The hotel itsel was very clean and breakfast was superb. Room was spacious and bed was good. We got very good price so it was perfect deal.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leena152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerold H, Генеральный директор at Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear guest, thank you very much for your lovely review on TripAdvisor regarding Hotel Astoria.

It is a pleasure to read that you have enjoyed your stay at Hotel Astoria. Also nice to hear that you enjoyed quality of service, breakfast in Astoria Cafe and our unique location.

Thank you again for your kind words and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,
Gerold Held
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Best possible place for short visit in St. Petersburg. Prime location with walking distance form city center and main attractions. First class service and helpful staff. Only disappointed was no WiFi in both floor 6 and floor 4 rooms which would be expected . Took over 1.5 hours conversation with helpdesk of interenet provider of the hotel to find our this was hotels fault, and yet not mended during 5 days of stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margalit2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerold H, Генеральный директор at Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Dear guest, thank you very much for a constructive comments on your recent stay at the Hotel Astoria on www.tripadvisor.ru.

It is a pleasure for me to know that you liked our location and quality of service.

Please accept my sincere apologies for all the inconveniences you experienced at our Hotel. Let me assure you that we will do the utmost to develop and polish our level of service. Our main objective is to constantly improve our guest service quality maintaining the Rocco Forte Hotels standards and satisfying the requests of all our guests.

We hope that you will be our guest again next time when you come to Saint-Petersburg!

Best rergards,
Gerold Held
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

If you are on a short trip and want to soak in St. Petersburg, this is the best place to stay. All you have to do is just step out and you right onto the architectural marvel of St. Perterburg. Its a five minutes walk from Nevsky Prospect and literally 5 minutes from everything! On the day of my flight back(afternoon), I went on an early morning walk and managed to revisit all my favorite places!!
The Service is very good and the concierge was very helpful and the decor seems extension of the beautiful city, and captures the essence. Highly recommend it for tourists who want a comfortable stay and want the hotel to feel a part of the visit,

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank m_sangha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerold H, Генеральный директор at Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Dear guest, I appreciate highly the time taken by you to leave the feedback at the TripAdvisor.

Thank you very much for your kind words regarding quality of service and unique location of Hotel Astoria.

We will be delighted to welcome you again at the Astoria some day.

Warmest regards,
Gerold Held
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Nevskiy
Belmond Grand Hotel Europe
Belmond Grand Hotel Europe
#6 of 335 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,541 reviews
Admiralteisky
Four Seasons Hotel Lion Palace St. Petersburg
Four Seasons Hotel Lion Palace S...
#3 of 335 in St. Petersburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
Nevskiy
Pushka Inn Hotel
Pushka Inn Hotel
#2 of 335 in St. Petersburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The State Hermitage Museum Offic...
#4 of 335 in St. Petersburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
Admiralteisky
Domina St.Petersburg
Domina St.Petersburg
#10 of 335 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,099 reviews
Liteyny
Hotel Indigo St. Petersburg - Tchaikovskogo
Hotel Indigo St. Petersburg - Tc...
#5 of 335 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astoria Hotel

Property: Astoria Hotel
Address: Bolshaya Morskaya St., 39, St. Petersburg 190000, Russia
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Admiralteisky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
#3 Spa Hotel in St. Petersburg
#4 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#5 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
#8 Luxury Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Astoria Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the essence of Russia in the comfort and elegance of Rocco Forte’s luxurious Hotel Astoria. Situated next to the magnificent St Isaac’s Cathedral in the heart of St Petersburg, Hotel Astoria has played host to many distinguished guests from past to present. 169 rooms and suites at Hotel Astoria are carefully furnished with comfort and tranquility in mind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Hotelopia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Astoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Hotel St Petersburg
Astoria St Petersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing