We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Classic Hotel”
Review of Astoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Astoria Hotel
Ranked #8 of 336 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Classic Hotel”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

A classic and historic hotel, opposite the park and a short walk to most of the major attractions, restaurants, services, transport and nightlife. Great service and in-house facilities, and truly caring staff. Faultless.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank John I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerold H, Генеральный директор at Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Guest, thank you very much for sharing your positive review about Hotel Astoria.

It is a great pleasure to read that we have been able to provide you a delightful experience.

We hope to see you soon in St Petersburg and in our Hotel!

Best regards,
Gerold Held
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,492 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,119
    260
    77
    25
    11
See reviews for
222
523
85
364
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Hotel Astoria has improved over the years. At the moment I am extremely pleased by the hotel and it's stuff and the amenities it has to offer. This historical hotel has many various rooms and it is dedinitely worth booking a room with the view! St Petersburg, especially during the White Nights is a MUST, and of course it would be "unexcusable" to book a room with the courtyard room instead of the Cathedral view.
The rooms are beautifuly furnished. They are not as "pompese" as the Grand Hotel Europe which I love very much aswell, everything is held in light colors - and there is a certain lightness to being here.

The restaurant is very nice, beautiful for the eye and good cuisine.

The staff is extremely friendly, helpful and efficient.

Always a pleasure to stay here!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NatNewWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerold H, Генеральный директор at Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear guest, thank you a lot for such positive review regarding Hotel Astoria!

We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us during the trip to St Petersburg.

We all hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you back in St Petersburg and Hotel Astoria!

Best regards,
Gerold Held
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This hotel is a real must visit in this town! Service, atmosphere, this unique building... awesome! When there you have no desire to go out and discover other places in St Pete)) Special thanks for the Lidia Leontyevna (sorry if I'm wrong) for her charming professionalism!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spaglito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerold H, Генеральный директор at Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear guest, thank you very much for choosing Hotel Astoria for your stay in the heart of St Petersburg and for sharing your great experience with us on www.tripadvisor.сom

I will definitely share your kind words with Lidia, I know it would be very pleasant for her.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon in St Petersburg!

Best regards,
Gerold Held
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edimbourg
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

Everything was perfect. I stayed there a complete week and there was no point of dissatisfaction. The staff was absolutely excellent really taking care and competent. Rooms large well decorated

Two minor problems : I stayed on second floor and the outsides lamps were too strong at night
The climate system was not powerful enough to refresh the room, but that remain acceptable

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerold H, Генеральный директор at Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear guest, thank you very much for your comments regarding Hotel Astoria on TripAdvisor!

I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is always a pleasure to know that our guests are happy.

We hope that you will be our guest again next time when you come to Saint-Petersburg!

Kind regards,
Gerold Held
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Just spent six nights in this lovely, comfortable hotel. First impressions - lovely décor and friendly, helpful staff on check-in. Concierge also very helpful. We were upgraded at no extra charge to a quiet suite which was beautifully appointed. Front facing rooms have a cathedral view. The Lichfield bar was lovely. We ate in the Café Astoria and the Beef Stroganoff was to die for! Food was no more expensive than some restaurants. A special word of thanks to Gloria, the restaurant Manager, who gave us the best table for dinner overlooking St Isaac's Cathedral. The Dover Sole was excellent.

Room Tip: Front facing rooms have superb views of the Cathedral.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheKingsPeace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerold H, Генеральный директор at Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear guest, we sincerely thank you for the comments you've shared with us and tripadvisor readers about Hotel Astoria.

I will definitely share your kind words with Gloria and our team, it is a pleasure for us to understand that you went back home with great memories about your stay in our hotel.

We all hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you back in St Petersburg and hotel Astoria!
Best regards,
Gerold Held
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Rochelle, France
Level Contributor
372 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

The hotel is ideally located in front of St Isaac Cathedral, at 10 mn walking distance from Hermitage Museum.
The old palace has been very well restored, keeping the charm of the beginning of XXth century but providing all the modern comfort.
The staff is well educated and helpful.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Andre_Bla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerold H, Генеральный директор at Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear guest, thank you very much for choosing Hotel Astoria for your stay in the heart of St Petersburg and for sharing your great experience with us on www.tripadvisor.ru

It is always a pleasure to read such kind words about interiors, service and location of Hotel Astoria.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon in St Petersburg!

Best regards,
Gerold Held
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

We spent 4 days this spring in St. P and had a fabulous stay at the Astoria. It is a "grand hotel" from the early 20th century with extraordinary service but none of the pretension you sometimes find in upper tier hotels. The restaurant is fabulous, better than several that are highly rated on TA. When we left for the airport I left our camera in the taxi and thought all was lost. I called the Concierge who tracked down the cab and sent it back to return the camera. Just what you would expect from a 5 star hotel.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank azsxd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerold H, Генеральный директор at Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear guest, thank you very much for your review regarding Hotel Astoria!

It is a great pleasure to read that we have been able to provide you a great experience.

We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Kind regards,
Gerold Held
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Nevskiy
Belmond Grand Hotel Europe
Belmond Grand Hotel Europe
#6 of 336 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,544 reviews
Admiralteisky
Four Seasons Hotel Lion Palace St. Petersburg
Four Seasons Hotel Lion Palace S...
#3 of 336 in St. Petersburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
Nevskiy
Pushka Inn Hotel
Pushka Inn Hotel
#2 of 336 in St. Petersburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The State Hermitage Museum Offic...
#4 of 336 in St. Petersburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 954 reviews
Admiralteisky
Domina St.Petersburg
Domina St.Petersburg
#10 of 336 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,103 reviews
Liteyny
Hotel Indigo St. Petersburg - Tchaikovskogo
Hotel Indigo St. Petersburg - Tc...
#5 of 336 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astoria Hotel

Property: Astoria Hotel
Address: Bolshaya Morskaya St., 39, St. Petersburg 190000, Russia
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Admiralteisky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
#3 Spa Hotel in St. Petersburg
#4 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#5 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
#8 Luxury Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Astoria Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the essence of Russia in the comfort and elegance of Rocco Forte’s luxurious Hotel Astoria. Situated next to the magnificent St Isaac’s Cathedral in the heart of St Petersburg, Hotel Astoria has played host to many distinguished guests from past to present. 169 rooms and suites at Hotel Astoria are carefully furnished with comfort and tranquility in mind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Astoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Hotel St Petersburg
Astoria St Petersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing