We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Stay”
Review of Astoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Astoria Hotel
Ranked #8 of 364 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We really enjoy being in the Astoria, the staff was extemelly polite all the time, the room was very big and comfortable, and the location was excellent,
before St. Petersburg we had been in Moscow in a very nice hotel, but the people there were so unfriendly and we had trouble communicating. Here it was the opposite the consierge solve any question all fetch taxis , we did not have to do anything.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mercedes X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerold H, Генеральный директор at Astoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Mercedes X, thank you very much for sharing your kind review about Hotel Astoria.

Your kind words about our service, location and room are deeply appreciated. I will definately share your comments with our team.

We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are visiting St Petersburg.

Yours truly,
Gerold Held

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,706)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

776 - 782 of 1,706 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2014

A classic hotel remodeled hotel with top notch furnishings, fixtures and appliances. A bit over the top. Bath towels are too big and too heavy. Plugs are a bit in short supply in this digital age where everything (cameras, phones, Nooks, shavers and computers) need recharging. Internet is fairly fast. Location is excellent, adjacent to blocks of great restaurants and shops and across from St Issac's Cathedral. The Litchfield Bar is excellent and the bartenders can whip up some awesome cocktails. The breakfast buffet is excellent too. A great hotel!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the city, but since most surrounding buildings are the same height, I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank JohntheSkierGolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerold H, Генеральный директор at Astoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Johnthe Skier Golfer, thank you very much for your comments regarding Hotel Astoria on TripAdvisor!

We are extremly happy to understand that you went back home with pleasant memories about Hotel Astoria.

We all hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you back in St Petersburg and Hotel Astoria!

Faithfully yours,
Gerold Held

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

The hotel is excellent, with an equally excellent breakfast buffet, room service and bar/restaurant service. Lovely linen in bed and bathroom. Very comfortable mattresses and pillows. Ideal location just in front of Saint Isaac cathedral.

Room Tip: I imagine a room with a view is always nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank sugus23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerold H, Генеральный директор at Astoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear guest, thank you very much for choosing Hotel Astoria for your stay and this review on www.tripadvisor.com.

It is always a pleasure to read such kind words about interiors, service in our restaurants and location of Hotel Astoria.

We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Best regards,
Gerold Held

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

A classic and historic hotel, opposite the park and a short walk to most of the major attractions, restaurants, services, transport and nightlife. Great service and in-house facilities, and truly caring staff. Faultless.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank John I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerold H, Генеральный директор at Astoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear Guest, thank you very much for sharing your positive review about Hotel Astoria.

It is a great pleasure to read that we have been able to provide you a delightful experience.

We hope to see you soon in St Petersburg and in our Hotel!

Best regards,
Gerold Held

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Hotel Astoria has improved over the years. At the moment I am extremely pleased by the hotel and it's stuff and the amenities it has to offer. This historical hotel has many various rooms and it is dedinitely worth booking a room with the view! St Petersburg, especially during the White Nights is a MUST, and of course it would be "unexcusable" to book a room with the courtyard room instead of the Cathedral view.
The rooms are beautifuly furnished. They are not as "pompese" as the Grand Hotel Europe which I love very much aswell, everything is held in light colors - and there is a certain lightness to being here.

The restaurant is very nice, beautiful for the eye and good cuisine.

The staff is extremely friendly, helpful and efficient.

Always a pleasure to stay here!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NatNewWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerold H, Генеральный директор at Astoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear guest, thank you a lot for such positive review regarding Hotel Astoria!

We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us during the trip to St Petersburg.

We all hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you back in St Petersburg and Hotel Astoria!

Best regards,
Gerold Held

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This hotel is a real must visit in this town! Service, atmosphere, this unique building... awesome! When there you have no desire to go out and discover other places in St Pete)) Special thanks for the Lidia Leontyevna (sorry if I'm wrong) for her charming professionalism!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Spaglito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerold H, Генеральный директор at Astoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear guest, thank you very much for choosing Hotel Astoria for your stay in the heart of St Petersburg and for sharing your great experience with us on www.tripadvisor.сom

I will definitely share your kind words with Lidia, I know it would be very pleasant for her.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon in St Petersburg!

Best regards,
Gerold Held

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

Everything was perfect. I stayed there a complete week and there was no point of dissatisfaction. The staff was absolutely excellent really taking care and competent. Rooms large well decorated

Two minor problems : I stayed on second floor and the outsides lamps were too strong at night
The climate system was not powerful enough to refresh the room, but that remain acceptable

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerold H, Генеральный директор at Astoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear guest, thank you very much for your comments regarding Hotel Astoria on TripAdvisor!

I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is always a pleasure to know that our guests are happy.

We hope that you will be our guest again next time when you come to Saint-Petersburg!

Kind regards,
Gerold Held

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Admiralteisky
Four Seasons Hotel Lion Palace St. Petersburg
Four Seasons Hotel Lion Palace S...
#3 of 364 in St. Petersburg
901 reviews
Nevskiy
Belmond Grand Hotel Europe
Belmond Grand Hotel Europe
#9 of 364 in St. Petersburg
1,703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nevskiy
Pushka Inn Hotel
Pushka Inn Hotel
#2 of 364 in St. Petersburg
1,691 reviews
Admiralteisky
W St. Petersburg
W St. Petersburg
#20 of 364 in St. Petersburg
1,213 reviews
Nevskiy
Kempinski Hotel Moika 22
Kempinski Hotel Moika 22
#16 of 364 in St. Petersburg
1,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astoria Hotel

Address: Bolshaya Morskaya St., 39, St. Petersburg 190000, Russia
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Admiralteisky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
#3 Spa Hotel in St. Petersburg
#5 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
#8 Luxury Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range: £84 - £605 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Astoria Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the essence of Russia in the comfort and elegance of Rocco Forte’s luxurious Hotel Astoria. Situated next to the magnificent St Isaac’s Cathedral in the heart of St Petersburg, Hotel Astoria has played host to many distinguished guests from past to present. 169 rooms and suites at Hotel Astoria are carefully furnished with comfort and tranquility in mind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Astoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Hotel St Petersburg
Astoria St Petersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing