We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Experience”
Review of Astoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Astoria Hotel
Ranked #7 of 349 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
St Petersburg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Experience”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

If you want to feel loved and pampered, choose The Astoria Hotel.
The Staff is amazing and will treat you like Royalty!
I loved my experience at this hotel and I highly recommend it.
Please try the Astoria Caffe for lunch or dinner as the menu' is very good, and the chef will bespoke your menu' if you have any specific requirement. Enjoy!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Francesca G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerold H, Генеральный директор at Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear guest, thank you very much for your review regarding your recent stay at Hotel Astoria!

It is a great pleasure to read that we have been able to provide you a delightful experience, also that you have great memories about St Petersburg.

Your comments regarding our staff and Astoria Cafe - it is very motivating for us to go the extra mile to make you happy staying with Hotel Astoria.

Hope to see you soon in St.Petersburg and Hotel Astoria!

Best regards,
Gerold Held
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,529 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,146
    263
    80
    28
    12
See reviews for
225
532
87
381
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
St Petersburg
1 review
Reviewed 25 August 2014

I have been in Hotel Astoria for placer purpose and stayed in this lovely hotel for three days. I've had the opportunity to observe every detail and service quality in this period. And what I saw was, for lack of a better word, “perfection”. I have stayed at several great hotels in my life ( 4 Seasons, Montreaux Palace, Ritz) and the Hotel Astoria is up there with the best of them. The decor is gorgeous, the beds super comfortable, the rooms quiet, the service professional, efficient and polite and the neighborhood the best in San Petersburg. Room service food fantastic and the restaurant in the hotel is one of the best in the city.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Марина В
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerold H, Генеральный директор at Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Marina, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us and tripadvisor readers.

We are extremly happy to understand that you went back home with pleasant memories about service, interiors and food quality. I will definately share your comments with our team.

We all hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you back in St Petersburg and Hotel Astoria!

Best regards,
Gerold Held
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Luxury hotel, large and comfortable rooms. great service all around. Breakfast not to be missed and location can't be more central, next to the Ermitage, walking distance to everything. Security is omnipresent, but not intrusive. Everyone is extremely accommodating.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ilana g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerold H, Генеральный директор at Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear guest, thank you very much for choosing our hotel as a venue for your stay in St Petersburg.

We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are visiting St Petersburg.

Yours truly,
Gerold Held
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Stayed in room 515, a deluxe junior suite with a view of St Isaacs. Location is great - as well as being opposite St Isaacs, is only 5 minute's walk to Hermitage, same to the hydrofoil to Peterhof, it's also only 5 minutes from the main shopping street of Nevski. The hotel is smart, tastefully decorated, and the room was well appointed. The staff were professional, if anything overattentive, and the reception were excellent when it came to anything.

The breakfast in Astoria Cafe was very good - wide selection of pastry, fruit and cheese/meat. The cooked offerings on the buffet were also well prepared.

We booked online, paying circa £1200 for a 4 night weekend in August; not cheap but felt worth it. 5 stars would have been if it had been either slightly better priced or had been outstanding in terms of quality.

Room Tip: 515 was a good room, on the front overlooking St Isaacs. Note that the windows aren't massive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MTBSteve11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerold H, Генеральный директор at Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear guest, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us.

We appreciate your positive comments in regards to our Hotel and Astoria Cafe restaurant and we have noted your comments in regards to the value for money that we are offering.
Thank you once again for your comments, it is very motivating for us to go the extra mile to make you happy staying with Hotel Astoria.

Hope to see you soon in St.Petersburg and Hotel Astoria!

Best regards,
Gerold Held
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaziantep, Gaziantep, Turkey
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We just went for getting snacks and drinking something and we understood that we are on right way when doors are open and woman welcome us with perfect smiling and impressing amiability. All things are perfect. I like teapots so much and buy the same teapot from another shop. When you order beer, they ask in details, which you can't find most of other places. Also when you want beer you doN't just beer also you automatically want, wasabi, nuts, and chips... Try club sandwich. It is also perfect. But the most important is all waiters and waitress are smiling all the time which is rare other places too. So visit and get taste to be elegant...

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Necdet-Suat-ATAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerold H, Генеральный директор at Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear guest, thank you very much for your comments regarding our Lichfield Bar.

We are extremly happy to understand that you went back home with pleasant memories about service and drinks in Lichfield Bar. It is always a pleasure to read such kind words which inspire.

We all hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you back in St Petersburg and Hotel Astoria!

Warmest regards,
Gerold Held
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Hotel is centrally located which is wonderful. Staff are all friendly and tried to help. Do ask concierge to prepare everything on transportation options, museum hours and how to get in and out fast, nearby restaurants, antique stores and market, other cities nearby, Moscow visit etc, by email in advance before arrival.The hotel service is better than US 5 star hotels but not quite like the ones in Asia. I was told there is a doctor at hotel which is a rare luxury.
Make sure you double check rules and opening days and hours for museums and palaces before you arrive for you may spend many hours lined up under the sun. Hotel excursions are expensive but some maybe worth it. Do ask for quote of other excursion companies. Hydrofoil to peterhof will save you the lower park admission entrance fee, hydrofoil starts at 9:30 in the summer not 10 as many tour books state. For St Catherine palace, join a tour so you can gain entry in the morning and not wait till 12:30pm for public entry. All the museums and palaces give preference to tour groups so join one for St Catherine for sure. We understand there is shuttle bus from metro station even we hired our own car which is not the best to understand the city.. Peterhoff cannot buy Palace ticket online.
Their cab service is like uber so it is interesting to talk to drivers. 1913 restaurant by St Issac church is great with entertainment , violinist and guitarist.
Faberge museum is great and 15 mins from hotel, public admission after 6 pm and tour groups get preference in the day. Opera madame butterfly poorly produced.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Cohen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerold H, Генеральный директор at Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Cohen C, thank you very much for your review regarding your recent stay at Hotel Astoria!

It is a great pleasure to read that we have been able to provide you a delightful experience, also that you have great memories about St Petersburg.

We all hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you back in St Petersburg and Hotel Astoria!

Best regards,
Gerold Held
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Petersburg
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We really enjoy being in the Astoria, the staff was extemelly polite all the time, the room was very big and comfortable, and the location was excellent,
before St. Petersburg we had been in Moscow in a very nice hotel, but the people there were so unfriendly and we had trouble communicating. Here it was the opposite the consierge solve any question all fetch taxis , we did not have to do anything.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mercedes X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerold H, Генеральный директор at Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Mercedes X, thank you very much for sharing your kind review about Hotel Astoria.

Your kind words about our service, location and room are deeply appreciated. I will definately share your comments with our team.

We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are visiting St Petersburg.

Yours truly,
Gerold Held
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Admiralteisky
Four Seasons Hotel Lion Palace St. Petersburg
Four Seasons Hotel Lion Palace S...
#3 of 349 in St. Petersburg
771 reviews
Nevskiy
Belmond Grand Hotel Europe
Belmond Grand Hotel Europe
#8 of 349 in St. Petersburg
1,574 reviews
The State Hermitage Museum Offic...
#5 of 349 in St. Petersburg
973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Admiralteisky
Domina St.Petersburg
Domina St.Petersburg
#10 of 349 in St. Petersburg
1,139 reviews
Nevskiy
Pushka Inn Hotel
Pushka Inn Hotel
#2 of 349 in St. Petersburg
1,563 reviews
Nevskiy
Kempinski Hotel Moika 22
Kempinski Hotel Moika 22
#15 of 349 in St. Petersburg
1,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astoria Hotel

Property: Astoria Hotel
Address: Bolshaya Morskaya St., 39, St. Petersburg 190000, Russia
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Admiralteisky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
#2 Spa Hotel in St. Petersburg
#4 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#5 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
#7 Luxury Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Astoria Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the essence of Russia in the comfort and elegance of Rocco Forte’s luxurious Hotel Astoria. Situated next to the magnificent St Isaac’s Cathedral in the heart of St Petersburg, Hotel Astoria has played host to many distinguished guests from past to present. 169 rooms and suites at Hotel Astoria are carefully furnished with comfort and tranquility in mind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Astoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Hotel St Petersburg
Astoria St Petersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing