We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better avoid - extreme costs without any decent service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Belmond Grand Hotel Europe
Ranked #7 of 358 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 June 2011

Stayed there for 1 night during the business trip to St. Petersburg.
The only positive points are the great central location and big room size. As for the negative sides - they outweight the positive by far.

The room cost me around 900 USD per night, which is high even for the St. Pete's standards. Breakfast was not included (unsure if this is a hotel policy or my booking agency's fault - I've asked for a breakfast to be included) and added extra 80 USD to the bill. Wi Fi access is also paid, and costs about 110 USD per day.
Room is big, but for that amount of cash you expect something of a high standard. This is not the case, furniture is good, but nothing special. Generally you get the same quality in the 3-times-cheaper hotels.
There also were issues with water in the room - the flow wasn't good enough, which made taking a shower not so pleasant.

These are the small issues, of course, which I tend not to care about while staying in a regular 5* or 4* hotels - but I was expecting more from the hotel which charges 3 times as much.

The worst case is the service. I was unfortunate enough to forget a mobile phone in the room after I left, and it looks like I will not get it back. They refuse to send it to me (even the cheap 3* hotel in Germany was kind enough to mail some forgotten property with no question asked and no charges) and they even refuse to give it back to the courier I've sent to them at my own expense without some legal Power of Attorney confirming that he's authorized for pickup.

As a conclusion - the only reason to stay there is just to get the achievement "stayed in the most expensive hotel in town". If you're looking for quality and service - look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank Alexey__K_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gheurope, Managing Director, Russia at Belmond Grand Hotel Europe, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2011

Dear Mr Kokin,

thank you so much for your feedback regarding your recent stay.

We are sorry that you believed that the negatives outweighed the positives as far as your experience is concerned.

We take any comments most seriously and even emotionally and we wish to draw your attention to the comments on Trip Adviser and you will see that your comments are by far in the minority and that is why we are paying great attention here.

As you can see, we receive outstanding comments on our breakfast and it certainly is not USD80 as you have indicated. I have looked at your bill and there is no indication of you having charged breakfast to your room but possibly you paid separately.
We also have a number of other options for breakfast which are less expensive and available to our guests should they wish to select those.
We have a number of packages where breakfast is included.
Wi Fi does not cost "about USD110 per day" but like most five star hotels in Europe who do charge for WiFi, our charge is USD12 per day.

Re your mobile phone, the laws in Russia, like all individual countries, are different and we needed some sort of proof before we could release a valuable piece such as a mobile phone and this is done to protect the Owner. We are most distressed that you saw this as an imposition and will certainly look at other ways to service such a situation should it happen again. Importantly we are pleased that you did receive your phone safely and that such a valuable piece was returned without incident.

Thank you again for your valuable comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to St Petersburg in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,637)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

804 - 810 of 1,637 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2011

Elegant luxury and wonderful service. Very hot in hotel room when we arrived and staff had several attempts to make the room cooler but in the end we slept with the windows open, despite it being minus 18C outside! The food in the restaurant was excellent, we enjoyed a fabulous dinner there for my 50th birthday with friends. Staff were very helpful and helped us make restaurant bookings in St. Petersburg.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LappersDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2011

If you like hotels such as Claridge's in London or the original Raffles in Singapore, as I do, then you should also like Grand Hotel Europe. A historic place, a superb staff, beautifully appointed, outstanding variety of restaurants and a great location just off of Nevsky Prospect. It works for me, as do most things involving Orient-Express. The room was comfortable and certainly spacious enough. Of course there is nothing modest about the price, either for the room or in the restaurants, but that is true for any place of this caliber. It's the only place I will stay in the beautiful city of St. Petersburg. Go ahead, live like a Czar for a few days.

Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank speedy45rpm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2011

I rarely go to luxury hotels, and I was glad I splurged for the Grand Hotel Europe! The rooms are vast, comfortable and well-equipped, and with the thick windows and heavy curtains ensuring a haven of calm and the plush bed with its vast selection of specialty cushions, you'll have no excuse for not sleeping like a czar.
The buffet breakfast is utterly magnificent and could alone justify the room's heavy price tag!
The service is discreet and courteous, speaks very good English and is always helpful.

The hotel is ideally situated along the Nevsky Prospect, within walking distance to most major attractions, and surrounded by great restaurants and shops. There is a subway stop right at the entrance of the hotel.

My only negative comment would concern the paid WiFi. It always amazes me that hotels of this category, with prices way upward of 250$ a night have the nerve to still apply an extra charge to Internet access! This totally misses the point of a no-worries experience and acts cheap and unprofessional. WiFi is like hot water in the 21st centry. Grow up, guys.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank timtom79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2011

Grand Hotel Europe no longer a 5-star hotel. Premium rooms are small. Baths have single sink and combined tub-shower. No club suite with drinks and food for premium rooms like Ritz Carlton in Moscow. Premium rooms still have to pay $12 a day for internet. The 5-star concept has advanced and GHE has not. Orient Express is milking an established location. Don't know if the Astoria is any better. St. Petersburg needs a real 5-star hotel.

Room Tip: Order a standard room, premium rooms no better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChristopherK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gheurope, Managing Director, Russia at Belmond Grand Hotel Europe, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2011

Dear Christopher,

Thank you for taking time to comment on your stay at the Grand Hotel Europe, St Petersburg.

We regret your experience was different to many others who have shared their remarkable impressions on TripAdvisor site in the last 12 months.

If you look at the comments on TripAdvisor about the Hotel over the last period of time you will see how greatly guests do enjoy and laud the hotel and that is why we take your comments most seriously.

We appreciate your comments however and will strive for the customer satisfaction that we all know is the Grand Hotel Europe.

We are a historical hotel whereas hotels such as you mention and compare us to are new hotels where the hardware is tailor made for the present. We believe we offer a genuine historical hotel experience where comparisons with modern built hotels are not everyone's requirement.

As for charging for Wi-Fi, this is something that we will fall in line with as we move forward but please be aware that many of the great hotels around the world still have a charge for wifi eg The Dorchester London, etc.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2011

This is an elegant hotel with an exceptionally friendly staff. Our standard room was very quiet and beautiful. It had no view, but that was no problem. The room was beautiful, the halls and shopping areas were beautiful, and all you have to do is step outside and walk to the left for less than a block to enjoy pretty Puskin Square with the wonderful Russian Museum (great Russian art not to be enjoyed anywhere else we've gone) right next to it. It's an easy, short walk to the wonderful Church of the Spilled Blood and a short walk to the wonderful Hermitage down busy Nevsky Prospekt. We found all of the people we met in St. Petersburg to be very friendly. We enjoyed a good Italian meal at the hotel's Rossi, but it was spoiled at the end by a large table of smokers. We were told that the only non-smoking hotel restaurant is L'Europe, their most expensive restaurant. We ate very good salads, bread and soup two times at the pretty Mezzanine Cafe; if you're a non-smoker like us, you have to enter to smell the air, since there are only 2 non-smoking tables.We never smelled smoke in our hallway, so I believe were in a special non-smoking floor. We happily used room service for most of our meals. The prices are all over the map, so it was interesting to figure out how much each item cost. (This was our splurge hotel on the trip. If money is no object for you, enjoy the fabulous breakfast buffet and all of the wonderful and interesting restaurants on site. We also saved a lot of money by arriving before May 1, when room prices are much more expensive.) We found the morning porridge to be the best hot cereal we've ever had and not expensive. You can spend thousands of dollars on a bottle of bourbon, but you only have to pay about $20 for a very good pizza that feeds 2 very well, along with a wonderful and reasonably priced dinner salad. My husband enjoyed the gym every morning. I couldn't get the mouse to work in the business center, but the always friendly concierge happily retrieved my flight information for me. The hotel has a fleet of BMW's to take you anywhere, but you can save money if you want by just requesting a taxi a half-hour before you need it. We're glad we stayed here. It was definitely one of the prettiest sights in St. Petersburg.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaliforniaElizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gheurope, Managing Director, Russia at Belmond Grand Hotel Europe, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2011

Thank you Elizabeth for such a vivid and descriptive review! We appreciate it a lot and we liked it very much. We apologize for the inconvenience caused by the smoking neighbor table at Rossi’s and this situation. Unfortunately, Russia still remains a smoking country. The debate here continues to rage between smokers and non-smokers, with public zones such as restaurants often caught in the middle. Public opinion in Russia is evolving, and we do our best to reduce smoking areas step by step and hope the tendency changes to the smoke-free someday. We are looking forward for your next visit to St Petersburg and we’ll be glad to see you in the Grand Hotel Europe again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2011

I have stayed in many palaces all over the world but the Hotel de l'Europe is most special. The service is wonderful and the location unbeatable. Looking at the Church of the Spilled Blood from my window first thing in the morning and then at night made my day. The hotel is very beautiful and elegant without being stuffy. We had a very large Deluxe room which was fine for the two of us plus our teenage son. We toured the Historic rooms on our last day and they are wonderfully furnished suites. Their only flaw is that they are on a low floor and dont enjoy the gorgeous view I had from room 406. I will definitely stay at the Hotel de l'Europe on my next visit to St-Petersburg.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a view of the Arts Square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank enihous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Nevskiy
Pushka Inn Hotel
Pushka Inn Hotel
#2 of 358 in St. Petersburg
1,627 reviews
Admiralteisky
Four Seasons Hotel Lion Palace St. Petersburg
Four Seasons Hotel Lion Palace S...
#3 of 358 in St. Petersburg
830 reviews
Admiralteisky
Astoria Hotel
Astoria Hotel
#8 of 358 in St. Petersburg
1,618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nevskiy
Kempinski Hotel Moika 22
Kempinski Hotel Moika 22
#18 of 358 in St. Petersburg
1,153 reviews
Liteyny
Hotel Indigo St. Petersburg - Tchaikovskogo
Hotel Indigo St. Petersburg - Tc...
#4 of 358 in St. Petersburg
779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Grand Hotel Europe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Grand Hotel Europe

Address: Nevskiy Ave., Mikhailovskaya St., 1/7, St. Petersburg 191186, Russia
Phone Number:
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Nevskiy , Palace Square
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
#2 Spa Hotel in St. Petersburg
#4 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
#5 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#7 Luxury Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range: £114 - £560 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Grand Hotel Europe 5*
Number of rooms: 266
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A cultural and culinary landmark, Belmond Grand Hotel Europe has played a central role in social, cultural, civic, and business life of St Petersburg for 140 years. Belmond Grand Hotel Europe is located in the very heart of the city centre, on the corner of Nevsky Prospekt and Mikhailovskaya Ulitsa. Positioned adjacent to the Arts Square, the hotel has strong associations with the worlds of theatre, music and ballet. Past guests include Peter Tchaikovsky, Dmitry Shostakovich, Ivan Turgenev, Johann Strauss, George Bernard Shaw, Luciano Pavarotti, crowned heads and world leaders. Today the hotel offers its guests 266 rooms. The hotel's Historic Floor boasts 10 unique suites with individual names, including the Dostoevsky, Romanov and Pavarotti suites. The hotel is home to four welcoming restaurants and bar of the highest international standards. On Fridays, L'Europe Restaurant hosts the hotel's celebrated Tchaikovsky evenings, while another pearl of the hotel's restaurants is the Caviar Bar, where guests can enjoy blini with caviar washed down by ice-cold vodka. Those who enjoy chocolate can make their dreams come true in the hotel's in-house chocolate factory, where they can even order a chocolate grand piano. Located in the heart of the cultural capital of Eastern Europe, Belmond Grand Hotel Europe combines the charm and elegance of 19th century tsarist Russia with the contemporary comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Belmond Grand Hotel Europe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel St Petersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing