We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best hotel I stay in”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Belmond Grand Hotel Europe
Ranked #7 of 358 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 February 2008

Grand Hotel Europe is, from my perspective, one of the best hotel in the world. Decor is fanstastic, room are comfortable, staff is devoted, breakfeast is fabulous and, the location is perfect.

It is an expensive hotel but, if you are off season, it became a « must ».

On a different note, in my last stay, I have hired a private guide. Her name is Anna from St Petersburg Guide (http://www.petersburgguide.com ). This was probably the best decision I had ever made. Anna is a professional guide and, beleive me, if you wish to maximize the value of your stay in SPB, Anna will exceed your expectation.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,638)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

864 - 870 of 1,638 reviews

Reviewed 16 January 2008

Stayed at the Grand Hotel Europe in December, 2004 and it is very grand for Russia.

It has the best location for tourists of all the hotels in St. Petersburg.

Hotel room was clean and well kept daily by the housekeeping staff.

Gym was adequate for my stay. No pool but a small jacuzzi which I did not use.

The staff was good but nto great. Many times I sat arond in the lobby bar waiting for service. Service in the resturants was much better.

  • Stayed: December 2004, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank gotapresent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2007

My last stay here was 3 yrs ago andnow with the hotel rooms re-modeled, it was just simply perfect! The only complaint I have about our suite which was beautifully decorated, by the way, is that the bathroom and closets were by the door. So we had to go thru the LR to dress etc. The walk in closet, while very nice, is too small for 2 people trying to dress simultaneously.
We opted not to eat the buffet incl in our rate, so as not to over-eat. Each AM, room service arrived on-time at exact hr requested and correct. This is almost impossible in the USA. Service by housekeeping and concierge were A+.
We had occasion to drink in the Lobby Bar, eat in Caviar Bar and Noble Assembly across the street. All food was well-prepared, but expensive. But then ALL food in the city is high by US standards.
Lastly, we used hotel car for some sightseeing and for airport pick up and drop off. Again, very professionally rendered.
If your budget can stand it, go for this hotel. The Astoria used to the hotel to stay at, but it is really faded. Better to eat lunch there only. Or if you really must have modern at cheaper price, the SAS Radisson is less expensive, but it is all glass and chrome, and lacks charm. it is also on Nevsky Prospect.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank jafb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2007

Stayed in this fantastic hotel for 4 nights, every thing as it should be in a hotel of this quality and price.
mini bar prices very expensive .5 litre bottle of gin for €110, and no price list in room.
Internet wi fi should not be charged for, at these room prices i would expect it included

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank Paul007Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2007

Very nice and worth every penny (it is real expensive for budget travellers, 300-400$ per night.
I gave it 4 stars for the following reasons
1. No tea/coffie machines n the rooms
2. You have to pay for morning newspaper
3. very expensive room service menu (most items over 100$ for main dishes!)
4. Location is not very impressive, kinda isolated.

Hope you enjoy your stay in this luxury hotel!

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank lordstronghold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2007

We stayed here for four nights the first week of September. Staff was helpful and all spoke English. Front desk staff, concierge and the doormen were all top notch. The doormen even give you complimentary umbrellas to use for the day-very thoughtful.

The breakfast buffet was very abundant and the room it is served in was an art deco thrill each morning when we walked in. A harp player plays soothing music while you enjoy a glass of champagne and your breakfast.

Rooms were nicely appointed and clean, very comfortable beds. Amenities were very nice as well.

Only one thing, I would recommend arranging for a ride separately from the hotel if you are trying to save $$ as it was very expensive to use them and their BMW fleet (over $100).

Overall staying here really made our stay in St. Petersburg calm, comfortable and very special. I would strongly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank nytravler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2007

This is truly one of the great hotels in the world. We just finished a business trip from the US and we were made to feel so comfortable and at home in every regard, and by every staff member from the bellman to the Hotel's manager.
The rooms were ultra comfortable, the room service prompt and polite, and the meals in each restaurant we tried we're delicious. They especially have a teriffic breakfast buffet.
The front desk staff was friendly and very accomodating.
If there is one person for me to single out it would be Irina Khlopova who is head of PR and personally kept everyone perfect for us during our stay.
The hotels location is right in the heart of the city.
Thsi is a must stay when you visit St. Petersburg!

Stayed: August 2007
5  Thank SirenStudios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Nevskiy
Pushka Inn Hotel
Pushka Inn Hotel
#2 of 358 in St. Petersburg
1,629 reviews
Admiralteisky
Four Seasons Hotel Lion Palace St. Petersburg
Four Seasons Hotel Lion Palace S...
#3 of 358 in St. Petersburg
831 reviews
Admiralteisky
Astoria Hotel
Astoria Hotel
#8 of 358 in St. Petersburg
1,618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nevskiy
Kempinski Hotel Moika 22
Kempinski Hotel Moika 22
#19 of 358 in St. Petersburg
1,154 reviews
Liteyny
Hotel Indigo St. Petersburg - Tchaikovskogo
Hotel Indigo St. Petersburg - Tc...
#4 of 358 in St. Petersburg
779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Grand Hotel Europe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Grand Hotel Europe

Address: Nevskiy Ave., Mikhailovskaya St., 1/7, St. Petersburg 191186, Russia
Phone Number:
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Nevskiy , Palace Square
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
#2 Spa Hotel in St. Petersburg
#4 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
#5 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#7 Luxury Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range: £114 - £555 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Grand Hotel Europe 5*
Number of rooms: 266
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A cultural and culinary landmark, Belmond Grand Hotel Europe has played a central role in social, cultural, civic, and business life of St Petersburg for 140 years. Belmond Grand Hotel Europe is located in the very heart of the city centre, on the corner of Nevsky Prospekt and Mikhailovskaya Ulitsa. Positioned adjacent to the Arts Square, the hotel has strong associations with the worlds of theatre, music and ballet. Past guests include Peter Tchaikovsky, Dmitry Shostakovich, Ivan Turgenev, Johann Strauss, George Bernard Shaw, Luciano Pavarotti, crowned heads and world leaders. Today the hotel offers its guests 266 rooms. The hotel's Historic Floor boasts 10 unique suites with individual names, including the Dostoevsky, Romanov and Pavarotti suites. The hotel is home to four welcoming restaurants and bar of the highest international standards. On Fridays, L'Europe Restaurant hosts the hotel's celebrated Tchaikovsky evenings, while another pearl of the hotel's restaurants is the Caviar Bar, where guests can enjoy blini with caviar washed down by ice-cold vodka. Those who enjoy chocolate can make their dreams come true in the hotel's in-house chocolate factory, where they can even order a chocolate grand piano. Located in the heart of the cultural capital of Eastern Europe, Belmond Grand Hotel Europe combines the charm and elegance of 19th century tsarist Russia with the contemporary comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Belmond Grand Hotel Europe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel St Petersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing