We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super friendly staff, super elegant hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Belmond Grand Hotel Europe
Ranked #7 of 357 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 June 2013

This hotel outperformed even their outstanding reviews. Yes, it is expensive, but it did not disappoint. For our family we had two terrace rooms side-by-side, which worked out great for us because we just left our terrace doors open and wandered back and forth between the rooms.

We were there during white nights and had a great view of the skyline complete with onion domes.

The location is ideal for a tourist since it was walking distant to many sights. I'm less sure for a taxi dependent business traveler since traffic was heavy in the area.

I'm not usually swayed by 'friendly' staff because I usually don't care much one way or another, but there is a Russian-role-your-eyes-at-the-tourists attitude everywhere around the city and it was nice to just get a friendly face at the hotel.

It is expensive and more so if you make use of their services. When they get you a taxi or ticket expect to pay 2X the going rate, but they sure made things easy.

Don't miss their huge breakfast buffet.

Room Tip: Reserve a terrace if the season is warm. We sat outside reading guidebooks and watching 3 hour suns...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ElectricalEngineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,619)
There are newer reviews for Belmond Grand Hotel Europe
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

587 - 593 of 1,619 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2013

I just came back from a 5 night stay at the Grand Hotel Europe. The breakfast spread was amazing and left nothing to be desired. Although no other hotel I stayed at ever had a pianist playing lovely music while we ate breakfast! The breakfast and the lavender pillows (upon request!) were great but the highlight for us was the Tchaikovsky dinner. It just so happened it was the last night of our vacation which certainly ended on a great note for us. While we ate a fabulous dinner and drank delicious wine in a beautiful room, the pianist and the violinists played, then two opera singers came out and we also enjoyed two performances from a prima ballerina - the highlight of the evening for me. All for just the price of whatever we ordered. No extra cost for the entertainment. I would definitely recommend this hotel for all the reasons everyone is saying - the food, the service, the location - but don't miss this dinner...It was well worth it!

Room Tip: We stayed on the historic floor - it cost more (we were unable to book the standard room) but came w...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spinal111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

This is a truly excellent hotel, albeit somewhat larger than I generally prefer. What makes the hotel special is the staff, in particular the concierges and restaurant staff. All were excellent and very attentive to one's needs. The main restaurant L' Europe provides a magnificent dining experience.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
2  Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Stayed here for one night on a business trip. On arrival I was greeted by very friendly staff and offered a complimentary glass of champagne. After spending most of the day travelling this was a great start to my visit. I was upgraded to a suite, and it did not disappoint. The room was massive and was beautifully decorated, nothing seemed too much for the staff. I ate in the Italian restaurant in the hotel, which was lovely. The breakfast was Also very splendid the next morning. A fabulous and comfortable stay in a lovely hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wendy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

My stay at the Grand Hotel Europe was one of my most memorable hotel experiences. First-timers in Russia, my mother and I stayed at the hotel for four nights. The hotel’s name is appropriate: it is “grand,” but it is also charming and its location is convenient for almost all of St. Petersburg’s major attractions. Contributing to the hotel’s luster is the staff who we found uniformly gracious, considerate, and professional.

Our room had a spacious terrace and was on the top floor, providing a view of the street (Mikhailovskaya), a fragment of Nevsky Prospekt, and St. Petersburg's soulful skyline. Although it was too chilly to spend much time outside, there was more than enough room on the terrace for a few chairs and guests – very pleasant. The room was large: the ceiling was high, and the french doors leading to the terrace made the room feel exceptionally light and airy. The beds were comfortable and the linens were of decent quality. TV had several English news channels, and the bathroom was immaculate and well-appointed (water pressure was first rate and the bath wonderfully deep). Housekeeping was very efficient, providing turn-down service, and frequently replenishing the supply of bottled water (no charge), as one should not drink the tap water.

Breakfast at the hotel is an absolute must. It’s expensive, but well worth it. The main dining room is sumptuous -- very redolent of Russia's late 19th century autocracy. The service is impeccable -- prompt and unobtrusive, and the offerings appear endless (a blini station, cold cuts, cheeses, breads, hot foods, smoked salmon, grilled salmon, a huge selection of teas and honey, etc.).

The bar features similar first rate service and many options. The scene is trendy and on the older side (not a hot spot for people in their 20s, but rather more of a business crowd). Drinks are generous.

We also took advantage of the casual interior courtyard area, where you can enjoy lighter snacks, coffee, or the hotel’s own chocolates: service and edibles were again first-rate.

Room service was also flawless. Placing an order around 1:00a.m. there was only a short wait before the waiter appeared with a hot bowl of Borscht and a basket of interesting breads. Not only delicious, but also fairly priced.

The hotel is conveniently located near Nevsky Propekt, a pleasant walk to good restaurants, The Hermitage, The Church of Spilled Blood, etc. There is a metro station nearby, offering fast transit to Peter and Paul Fortress and other areas of St. Petersburg. We had no issues with noise – passed out every night and slept like babies.

The highlight of the hotel is, however, not the luxury terrace, the blini station at breakfast, or even the location, but rather the staff – whose fluent English both impressed and humbled us, and whose many kindnesses added significantly to our enjoyment of the city. Yevgeniy greeted us warmly upon arrival, and Philipp was most gracious in responding to our requests for an outlet converter, later checkout, etc. The concierges assisted us with thoughtful recommendations, tickets to a ballet, restaurant reservations, and with reserving a reasonably-priced taxi to the airport (less than 800 RUB max if you pay the cab driver directly); and the doormen greeted us in both Russian and English. The service was not at all overbearing – the staff was consummately professional and made us feel most welcome. In fact, before arriving in St. Petersburg, we thought that this visit to Russia would be our first and last, but our experience at the Grand Hotel (as well as our exposure to other facets of life in and around St. Petersburg), has made us very eager to return – and we shall.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank NYEm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

Reconstruction of your flat can as unbearable as fire of flood, so one day when the smell of paint and sound of drill exceeded my patience limits I had to move to this hotel for a couple of days..
Classical interiors were not my cup of tea , although the service was an exceptional one. The location is unconditionally the best. And If you are a fan of old classy hotels with historical background and charm , then it is your place.. Price can be high though specially on top touristic season .
Still remember fantastic breakfasts, plus I loved yummy desserts at Mezzanine cafe and live jazz in the evenings at the lobby bar, so we still coming back with friends for coffee breaks or a glass of wine after working day.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Olga S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

I loved the old world charm of this 5-Star hotel in the heart of St. Petersburg. The ambience is charming and the service was exceptional. From the doormen, the Bell Captain, the reception desk, the waiters & waitresses, and the spa staff -- the customer service was par excellence.

The location of this hotel is close to the main street of the city and within walking distance to many restaurants, shops, and attractions. Still, I found it very quiet and was able to sleep well (I stayed on the 6th floor).

The breakfast buffet was amazing and catered to all cultures and tastes. My dinner at Rossi restaurant, though, was less than expected from this otherwise great establishment.

Still, I highly recommend this hotel and hope you'll consider it for your trip to Russia!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LisaO22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Admiralteisky
Four Seasons Hotel Lion Palace St. Petersburg
Four Seasons Hotel Lion Palace S...
#3 of 357 in St. Petersburg
816 reviews
Nevskiy
Pushka Inn Hotel
Pushka Inn Hotel
#2 of 357 in St. Petersburg
1,612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Admiralteisky
Astoria Hotel
Astoria Hotel
#8 of 357 in St. Petersburg
1,588 reviews
Nevskiy
Kempinski Hotel Moika 22
Kempinski Hotel Moika 22
#18 of 357 in St. Petersburg
1,148 reviews
Liteyny
Hotel Indigo St. Petersburg - Tchaikovskogo
Hotel Indigo St. Petersburg - Tc...
#4 of 357 in St. Petersburg
766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Grand Hotel Europe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Grand Hotel Europe

Address: Nevskiy Ave., Mikhailovskaya St., 1/7, St. Petersburg 191186, Russia
Phone Number:
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Nevskiy , Palace Square
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
#2 Spa Hotel in St. Petersburg
#4 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
#5 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#7 Luxury Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range: £120 - £634 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Grand Hotel Europe 5*
Number of rooms: 266
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A cultural and culinary landmark, Belmond Grand Hotel Europe has played a central role in social, cultural, civic, and business life of St Petersburg for 140 years. Belmond Grand Hotel Europe is located in the very heart of the city centre, on the corner of Nevsky Prospekt and Mikhailovskaya Ulitsa. Positioned adjacent to the Arts Square, the hotel has strong associations with the worlds of theatre, music and ballet. Past guests include Peter Tchaikovsky, Dmitry Shostakovich, Ivan Turgenev, Johann Strauss, George Bernard Shaw, Luciano Pavarotti, crowned heads and world leaders. Today the hotel offers its guests 266 rooms. The hotel's Historic Floor boasts 10 unique suites with individual names, including the Dostoevsky, Romanov and Pavarotti suites. The hotel is home to four welcoming restaurants and bar of the highest international standards. On Fridays, L'Europe Restaurant hosts the hotel's celebrated Tchaikovsky evenings, while another pearl of the hotel's restaurants is the Caviar Bar, where guests can enjoy blini with caviar washed down by ice-cold vodka. Those who enjoy chocolate can make their dreams come true in the hotel's in-house chocolate factory, where they can even order a chocolate grand piano. Located in the heart of the cultural capital of Eastern Europe, Belmond Grand Hotel Europe combines the charm and elegance of 19th century tsarist Russia with the contemporary comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Belmond, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Belmond Grand Hotel Europe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel St Petersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing