We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Belmond Grand Hotel Europe
Ranked #7 of 344 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
70 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“a great hotel”
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We stayed at the Grand four nights on a land trip that included Amsterdam, Berlin, Moscow, and St. Petersburg. The Grand is grand. The common areas are outstanding. The staff is well-trained, courteous and responsive. Several excellent restaurants offfered with different cuisines, all very good; one excellent. Great hotel bar. Some of the furniture in the room was a little "tired", but the room was spacious. Bathroom was a bit out-dated with too little room for all my wife's cosmetics, but satisfactory. Breakfast was excellent, in the fanciest restaurant. i got sick near the end of the trip, and asked the maitre'd whether there was a kiosk with cold medicine. She sent a medical doctor to my room. Most staff speak English. On my birthday the hotel sent two bottles of champagne to our room. All in all, a classy place. We had dinner at L'Europe, the fanciest restaurant in the hotel on our last night, and the food was excellent with excellent service.

You pay for all of this, but this one is worth it. if i am ever lucky enuf to get back here, this will be where i choose to stay.

Room Tip: we were in #137; spacious and clean, comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tommys1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,555 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,197
    241
    73
    23
    21
See reviews for
239
566
93
332
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
679 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 317 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

I stayed with my husband in this hotel for a week. I think that the main points are the location, because it is close enough to the Hermitage for a good walk and just 3 or 4 blocks walking from the Church on Split Blood, from the boat trips and from the metro, not to mention other attractions that are not that expressive, but worthy visiting.

Besides that, the building is quite charming and has a wonderful restaurant, were we had our best caviar experience, accompanied by a trio that played Russian music with a soul. The singer was very good and help to make our dinner romantic and special. i would recommend to go there even if you are not in the hotel.

The service in general could be better, but this other points made up for the minor problems we had. Breakfast was full of options, really good.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the entrance side have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JuPereira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willamette Valley, Oreon
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

This hotel has all the charm of the "old aristocracy" of one of the cultural capitals of the world, St. Petersburg. The atmosphere is terrific and artistic - sometimes with fine surprises.. There are 5 restaurants, all excellent, and a couple of worldclass watering holes. Champagne and raspberrys at midnight in the lobby bar after Romeo & Juliet at the Mikhailovsky Theatre (around the corner) is a bit dreamy. Its rooms are classic but its showers are modern america. Fine rooms service and Nespresso's and tea water electric kettles for these sleepless jet lagged nights. Superb wifi included (listened to AllClassic KQAC daily). Its location is excellent - next to Art Square park and the Russian Art Museum, 5 minutes walk along canals to Church of Spilled Blood or to Kazan Cathedral, or the most expensive European fashion boutiques. 15 minutes through the back alleys & parks route or along Nevsky Prospekt to The Hermitage. Very Very Nice People too. Certainly in the top hotels in the world.

Room Tip: try and get an upgrade to a suite. rooms are very well soundproofed
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gerrythetravelhund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
136 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Stayed 4 nights recently at the Grand Hotel Europe. I have to stay that I was expecting more as this hotel is promoted as one of the top hotels in Europe. Far from it in my opinion. In fact it was the worst hotel that we stayed in during our 2 week trip in Russia.

St Petersburg itself is am amazing city. So much history and culture and less of a rat race as Moscow is. It's well worth a visit, just stay elsewhere.

We had a room on the 4th floor, with no view whatsoever, just looking over roofs. The room was very small and badly in need of refurbishment. Most evenings the turn down service either didn't happen or occurred after 9.30 pm at night, when we were tucked away fro the night. Some days, the room was serviced but no replacement towels left, leaving us standing all wet & bothered with nothing to dry down with. The decor of the room was disappointing, badly needed refurbishment. Despite requesting a king bed we only got a double.

As is often the case, the public areas of the hotel were much better looked after. Being an old hotel, these were well maintained and did live up to the hotels name.

We found the staff excellent and spoke good English, although at times, there were still communication issues as the staff didn't quite understand what was being said.

Another issue for us was that despite Russia making it illegal to smoke in public places from January 2013, this hotel still permitted smoking in all its public areas and including the rooms. Although we asked for a non smoking room, we didn't receive one, basically because all rooms are smoking rooms. This is in blatant disregard of the law and complaints to hotel management were simply ignored. Maybe in the old days of the Communists, they would not have behaved in such a disrespectful manner.

As for meals, my advice is to eat outside the hotel as it is far cheaper and better value for money. The main restaurant Rossi, is very nice, good food, but overpriced compared to outside. As for breakfast, its a rat race. Overcrowded, people pushing and shoving all with poor food quality. The range is what you expect from a 5 star hotel, but the quality was lacking and table service simply didn't exist. Dirty plates remained on your table until you left, try to get a coffee, forget it as waiters were few and far between.

My recommendation is check around for a better hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jacko582
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gheurope, General Manager at Belmond Grand Hotel Europe, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Dear Rustcycle

Thank you for taking the time and we are sorry to learn that we did not exceed your expectations on this occasion.

Regarding your smoking comments, I am afraid you were misinformed and smoking in hotels and restaurants in Russia is permitted until June 2014.

With kindest regards from St Petersburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 September 2013

My fiancé, her family, and I visited St. Petersburg a couple of weeks ago and I came across the restaurants at the Grand Hotel Europe while trying to plan a nice dinner for our group. I emailed the reservations department about a week before our trip and received a prompt, personal email from Svetlana at the hotel. She was extremely courteous and helpful in setting up our reservation, and went out of her way to accommodate some special requests. When a change to our reservation had to occur due to a last minute private event for the G20 Summit that coincided with our visit, Svetlana was incredibly helpful in rearranging our reservation and made sure that our experience was completely enjoyable.

Our dinner at the Caviar Bar and Restaurant ended up being one of the best dining experiences we'd ever had. Dimitry and his staff were friendly and professional, and all of the food, including the caviar and vodka tasting, was outstanding. It was truly an unforgettable occasion.

I cannot personally comment on the room accommodations at this hotel because we unfortunately did not stay there (although we will be sure to next time we visit), but if the hotel staff service is even half as good as what we experienced from Svetlana and the restaurant staff then I'm sure it is the best in St. Petersburg.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gheurope, General Manager at Belmond Grand Hotel Europe, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Dear Nick664

Thank you for taking the time to write to us and indeed highlight certain colleagues so we can recognize their contribution.

Even with such an historic iconic hotel, it is our staff that created and maintain our reputation and as one of Europe's leading hotels and I am delighted that even though we were a host hotel for G20 we were able to offer you and your family a Russian gourmet experience.

Caviar Bar is the only Caviar Restaurant in St Petersburg now and next time perhaps you will try L'Europe Russia's most historic restaurant established in1875.

With kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice, Italy
1 review
Reviewed 18 September 2013

I may say, this is one of the best hotels I have ever stayed. We enjoyed every moment we spent at the hotel. Everything was perfect: from our room on the 5th floor with nice terrace and view to the square with a theatre and museum to breakfast and compliments from the sfaff. We stayed at the Grand hotel this august, the weather was warm, so we easily could sit at the terrace till midnight.
The service is also very good, breakfast - amazing. There were everything from just made pancakes and warm brioches to many hot dishes, sausages, several kinds of cakes and desserts and of cause lots of fruit and yoghurts. You need several days to try only half of it. The live piano music complite the image...
The hotel is right in the centre, so you may walk to all sightseen by foot.
So, we really felt 5* service by ourself.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annouk_elen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
105 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

When planning our trip to st Petersburg we were at a loss as to where to stay. Obvious choices were the hotel chains like Radisson. Rocco forte's hotels got good reviews and where we have been their guests in Munich and Prague we were tempted but something about the Grand Orient's website and the reviews on trip advisor seduced us. Maria at Whatahotel.com secured a travel signature rate which got us an upgrade,daily water, fruit and an amazing breakfast.
Expecting a room overlooking the Arts square, we were even more thrilled with the Terrace room. We loved our terrace. The hotel celebrated our Anniversary with a bottle of champagne and flowers with the most sincere note. We will cherish it always.
The turn down service as with all the maid service was top notch. The fruit was perfectly ripe.
Don't miss the bar or the restaurants as the quality of food and drink is superb. There is live pianist and sometimes harpist every morning as well as a jazz duo in the evenings! We were very appreciative of the great service of the waitstaff. They were extremely professional and their friendliness was not lost on us.
The front desk was attentive and honest. I can't imagine a better experience. This is a classy hotel retaining an essence of glamor that is a rare find in today's hotel chains.
We have already placed a return visit on our wish list!

Room Tip: Terrace Rooms Have Great Views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gallerygirl09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Admiralteisky
Four Seasons Hotel Lion Palace St. Petersburg
Four Seasons Hotel Lion Palace S...
#3 of 344 in St. Petersburg
746 reviews
The State Hermitage Museum Offic...
#4 of 344 in St. Petersburg
964 reviews
Admiralteisky
Astoria Hotel
Astoria Hotel
#8 of 344 in St. Petersburg
1,512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nevskiy
Pushka Inn Hotel
Pushka Inn Hotel
#2 of 344 in St. Petersburg
1,539 reviews
Admiralteisky
Domina St.Petersburg
Domina St.Petersburg
#10 of 344 in St. Petersburg
1,128 reviews
Nevskiy
Kempinski Hotel Moika 22
Kempinski Hotel Moika 22
#14 of 344 in St. Petersburg
1,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Grand Hotel Europe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Grand Hotel Europe

Property: Belmond Grand Hotel Europe
Address: Nevskiy Ave., Mikhailovskaya St., 1/7, St. Petersburg 191186, Russia
Phone Number:
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Nevskiy , Palace Square
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
#2 Spa Hotel in St. Petersburg
#4 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
#5 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#7 Luxury Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Grand Hotel Europe 5*
Number of rooms: 266
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A cultural and culinary landmark, Belmond Grand Hotel Europe has played a central role in social, cultural, civic, and business life of St Petersburg for 140 years. Belmond Grand Hotel Europe is located in the very heart of the city centre, on the corner of Nevsky Prospekt and Mikhailovskaya Ulitsa. Positioned adjacent to the Arts Square, the hotel has strong associations with the worlds of theatre, music and ballet. Past guests include Peter Tchaikovsky, Dmitry Shostakovich, Ivan Turgenev, Johann Strauss, George Bernard Shaw, Luciano Pavarotti, crowned heads and world leaders. Today the hotel offers its guests 266 rooms. The hotel's Historic Floor boasts 10 unique suites with individual names, including the Dostoevsky, Romanov and Pavarotti suites. The hotel is home to four welcoming restaurants and bar of the highest international standards. On Fridays, L'Europe Restaurant hosts the hotel's celebrated Tchaikovsky evenings, while another pearl of the hotel's restaurants is the Caviar Bar, where guests can enjoy blini with caviar washed down by ice-cold vodka. Those who enjoy chocolate can make their dreams come true in the hotel's in-house chocolate factory, where they can even order a chocolate grand piano. Located in the heart of the cultural capital of Eastern Europe, Belmond Grand Hotel Europe combines the charm and elegance of 19th century tsarist Russia with the contemporary comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Belmond, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Belmond Grand Hotel Europe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel St Petersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing