We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Belmond Grand Hotel Europe
Nearby Hotels
Petro Palace Hotel(St. Petersburg)
US$281
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$269
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$285
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$277
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Astoria Hotel(St. Petersburg)
US$685
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$512
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Kempinski Hotel Moika 22(St. Petersburg)
US$558
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$474
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Radisson Sonya Hotel(St. Petersburg)
US$206
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$181
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Akyan St.Petersburg(St. Petersburg)
US$319
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$124
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$224
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$175
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Domina St.Petersburg(St. Petersburg)
US$303
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$265
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Pushka Inn Hotel(St. Petersburg)
US$322
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$411
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$317
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,741)
Filter reviews
1,741 results
Traveller rating
1,340
267
83
29
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,340
267
83
29
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscaviar barmezzanine cafel'europe restaurantarts squarebutler servicehistoric floorlobby barrussian museumterrace roombreakfast buffetmain restaurantspilled bloodnevsky prospectblinisbeef stroganoffglass of champagnestar hotel
Filter
Updating list...
583 - 588 of 1,741 reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Great hotel by all counts especially if you stay in the historical wing, with butler service and Bulgari toiletries and full coffee bar, you have a memorable stay. Here everyone of the staff are attentive and each speaks good English.The butler service is such that it seems that they can do anything for you. The buffet breakfast is probably the best not only of St Petersburg but possibly of the world: I count 20 sorts of tea and similar of bread. 5 or 6 food stations and there is even Beef Strogenov for breakfast and Pancake with Red Caviar cooked to order. Several kinds of marinated herring are available only here nowhere else. This is in the main restaurant with a two-storied high ceiling, completed with a pianist playing Chopin for breakfast if to make it grander than grand.The location is the most central of central St Petersburg at Nevsky Prospekt, which is more useful than proximity to Hermitage (which you only visit once and I have been to it). I come to St Petersburg for ballet every year and this is my first choice of hotels in this city of many top hotels.

Room Tip: Rooms varied in this kind of historical hotels but the historical rooms are special, facing the Philharmonic Hall and a whole street of landmark buildings.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank awhw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

I must say that this is one of the best hotels I’ve ever stayed at. Highly recommended and I give it 5 stars. The staff are very attentive, polite and courteous. The atmosphere is great and the location just ideal if you want to be able to see all the sights in the centre of St Pete and walk to the Hermitage as well. I loved the food in the restaurants and I am looking forward to my next visit to the city!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
Thank Bob F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

As the name states, the Grand Hotel Europe is definitively one of the last of its kind where everything works. The service is very attentive and helpful but discreet. The house is well kept and the rooms are beautifully renovated. Our junior suite was big enough and our babygirl had enough place to play and she got a lot of nice presents in the room. Dinner in the caviar-bar is excellent. We would rate it a bit higher than the dinner we had at the Europes restaurant with nice music. All in all a pleasant stay in the middle of St. Petersburg with most of the attractions in walking distance.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hirnograph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

The above title says it all, it was exactly what was on my mind after spending our last & most expensive night in St Petersburg at the Grand Hotel Europe. And this was after spending our first 3 nights at the Hotel Domina Prestige (Very good indeed!) and 2 nights at the Hotel Taleon Imperial (REALLY Superb, read my reviews).

Upon check in, we were told that there would be a 'surprise Russian gift awaiting in our room'. However, it was not to be and we had to remind Reception. The room upgrade, from an Arts Square view room to a Terraced room overlooking the same Arts Square was a nice gesture, but these were our entitlement for booking from Grandluxuryhotels.com.

Upon entering the Terraced room, 505, we were solely disappointed to say the least - the room was small with twin beds with an even smaller and dated bathroom where there are no marbles in sight! A bottle of champagne and some chocolates were waiting - nice gestures indeed! Also complimentary were 2 bottles of mineral water.

But admittedly, we did get what we had paid for in terms of views here, an astonishing sighting of the Church of the Spilled Blood - nice way to end our stay in St Petersbrug. However, the spacious terrace offers security threat whereby people from the next room could easily climb over, even I could easily do so! Plus, there is a lack of privacy when standing out on these terraces ...

One of the twin beds on the left side (facing the TV) also sagged badly, that my husband who has a bad back could not take it, I then exchanged beds with him. Like the Taleon, there was no kettle in room but strangely, there is an ironing board in the room. The TV, admittedly, has the most channels, counted about 60, while the Taleon has only about 30 channels.

Also, the included breakfasts at the gorgeous L' Europe restaurant was indeed a grand affair - 6 types of freshly squeezed juices, eggs and pancakes station, cavier, hams and salmon on the house. A pianist was also present to create that 'Grand' mood, and coupled with a gorgeous stained glass ceiling, this had to be the best moment of any guests staying at the so-called Grand Hotel.

However, all the 'grandness' mentioned as above are in a way spoiled by groups of South American tourists, all jostling their way for the pancake and eggs station ... I guess you would never see this scene at other 5 star hotels. Though I understand the need for the Hotel to fill rooms, as we are also in business, we thought maybe group tourists could have their breakfasts at another smaller restaurant since they are obviously paying a much lower rate than the business and independent tourists like us?

Location of the Grand Hotel is, obviously good especially if you are looking to visit the nearby Russian Museum (2-3 minutes) and Church of the Spilled Blood (7-9 minutes). But the walk to the number one attraction, The Hermitage museum, is much further than the Taleon Imperial. I reckoned that it would take about 15 minutes to reach there.

On a different subject, the gifts market opposite the beautiful Church of the Spilled Blood is where we had bought almost all our Russian gifts - musical box, Russian dolls, Fabre Eggs, Amber neclaces etc as prices in Moscow are almost 2-3 times that of St Petersburg's! You would also get more choices here and prices are also negotiable! Stall owners all speak rather good English, so shop around and bargain for the best prices.

Back to the Grand Hotel;s common areas. Though these places are better kept than the rooms, they can also be described as 'dated', not the least grand or beautiful if you were to compare it with the Hotel Taleon Imperial. Probably decorated in the Art Nouveau style in the 1910-20's, there is nothing Classical, Neo-classical or Baroque about this hotel, so being a lover of all things Classical, I was again solely disappointed.

After an uneventful one night stay in this Grand dame of Russia, we pre-booked our taxi, again from WelcomeTaxi to fetch us to the nearby Moscow train station (not walk-able if you have luggage), for our 4.5 hours ride to Moscow, where we spent our last 4 nights in Russia at the gorgeous Hotel Savoy (read my other reviews).

Room Tip: If you must stay here, go for an Arts Square view room.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JChua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gheurope, Manager at Belmond Grand Hotel Europe, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your experience at the Grand Hotel Europe and providing us with such constructive details regarding your recent stay. We were sorry to hear about the areas that didn't meet your high expectations.

Feedback like yours is instrumental in the process of our enhancements, so we highly appreciate your insight and candid review regarding the areas for improvement.

We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you again the next time you visit Russia.

With kindest regards from St Petersburg.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We stayed at the Grand four nights on a land trip that included Amsterdam, Berlin, Moscow, and St. Petersburg. The Grand is grand. The common areas are outstanding. The staff is well-trained, courteous and responsive. Several excellent restaurants offfered with different cuisines, all very good; one excellent. Great hotel bar. Some of the furniture in the room was a little "tired", but the room was spacious. Bathroom was a bit out-dated with too little room for all my wife's cosmetics, but satisfactory. Breakfast was excellent, in the fanciest restaurant. i got sick near the end of the trip, and asked the maitre'd whether there was a kiosk with cold medicine. She sent a medical doctor to my room. Most staff speak English. On my birthday the hotel sent two bottles of champagne to our room. All in all, a classy place. We had dinner at L'Europe, the fanciest restaurant in the hotel on our last night, and the food was excellent with excellent service.

You pay for all of this, but this one is worth it. if i am ever lucky enuf to get back here, this will be where i choose to stay.

Room Tip: we were in #137; spacious and clean, comfortable
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tommys1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews