We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb brunch”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Belmond Grand Hotel Europe
Ranked #7 of 358 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We had brunch here with an old matrade of the restaurant and so were given a somewhat special menu, however the whole place was absolutely beautiful and so was the food.
The 'Jazz' was also wonderful to listen to, we had a fantastic time here and I highly recommend it to everyone!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Connie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHotelEurope, General Manager at Belmond Grand Hotel Europe, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments of the dining experience with us. We are delighted to read that you were impressed by Sunday Brunch in our legendary L’Europe Restaurant. It is a pleasure to know that you had a fantastic time there and would recommend visiting it to TripAdvisor readers.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you back soon to the Grand Hotel Europe in a not too distant future.


Kind regards,
Sjefke Jansen
General Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,638)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

511 - 517 of 1,638 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2014

Spent an amazing 4 nights at this superb hotel celebrating my wife's birthday. Could not have been better. The staff were incredible, efficient and friendly, and couldn't do enough to make us feel like royalty. Best hotel we've ever stayed at. Cant wait to return.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndyEss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHotelEurope, General Manager at Belmond Grand Hotel Europe, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Dear Guest,

We sincerely thank you for the lovely comment you've shared on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to know that your stay at the Grand Hotel Europe exceeded your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon to our legendary hotel for more amazing experiences!


Kind regards,
Sjefke Jansen
General Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

I stayed here over the summer with a tour group. It was promoted as a five star hotel, and it indeed looked very grand on the outset - like a palace! I was so excited to stay here!!

But as you look closer, it really isn't that grand. More like a 4 star Hilton.

To begin with, this is actually a humongous hotel, with a huge center area. As a result there are rooms that actually have windows looking inside the hotel onto the mezzanine where one has breakfast. But I guess it's better than no windows.

The rooms itself are spacious but very very old. It features a tv that sinks up from a table at the foot of the bed, which is very strange. We had to switch out of our first room because it smells musky and the sink was clogged w hair.

There is also no pool, and the breakfast is very average. Overall not quite what you expect from a 5 star hotel.

But to be fair, you are probably hard press to find a nicer hotel in St Petersburg. I looked online and couldn't find a decent alternative (maybe kempinski?). The location is also awesome, across the street from a mall filled with touristy goods, and a short walk away from the river, the Spilled Blood cathedral and the singer cafe.

So just adjust expectations before coming!

Stayed: June 2013
2  Thank barneysgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHotelEurope, Генеральный директор at Belmond Grand Hotel Europe, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from the Grand Hotel Europe!

We appreciate you having taken the time to write and post your review, as it is only through feedback of our patrons that we can continuously review and improve our services and quality offered.

In our commitment to providing you with the best quality in all aspects of hospitality, it greatly concerns us to learn that we had not lived up to your expectations and we would like to sincerely apologise for this.

Discussions involving the respective team members and myself have taken place to review your most valuable comments, and we would like to assure you that all of your concerns will be addressed and attended to.

Thank you once again for your continuous support and we are looking forward to the prospects of welcoming you back to the Grand Hotel Europe in the not too distant future.

We remain at your disposal for any assistance you may require.


Kind regards,
Sjefke Jansen
General Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

First of all, the hotel is beautiful. Upon check in, my grandparents were given champagne, and my cousins and I were given little teddy bears and assorted juices. The hotel has multiple restaurants, a store, and a dining room with breakfast buffet as well as a spa. Amazing food, beautiful building, fantastic service. Pricey, but more than worth it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Benjamin-Blumenstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHotelEurope, Генеральный директор at Belmond Grand Hotel Europe, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Dear Benjamin-Blumenstein,

Thank you for taking a moment to share feedback from your recent stay at the Grand Hotel Europe.

We are delighted that you and your family enjoyed our personalized welcome experience, dining services and luxurious accommodations. The entire team works very hard to consistently deliver the highest level of service and is touched when efforts are recognized through such positive feedback.

Thank you again for your kind words and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.


Warm regards,
Sjefke Jansen
General Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We visited the Grand Hotel Europe to celebrate birthdays and the Russian "Mans Day". We ate at L'Europe. The surroundings border on Russian Palace with original marbles and paintings decorating the hotel. The service was impeccable. We enjoyed the lunch-time buffet but to label it as such does the dining experience a massive dis-service. The "buffet" is the most magnificent array of the most delicious food - oysters, sushi, caviar, fish, salads, cured meats, roasts, and so on. All this accompanied by Champagne that simply kept coming. The deserts and cheese were tremendous. Not cheap but worth every penny. My advice is take the afternoon out and enjoy the surroundings over a leisurely paced lunch at the Grand Hotel Europe if you're ever in St Petersburg.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHotelEurope, Генеральный директор at Belmond Grand Hotel Europe, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Dear Martin,

We sincerely thank you for the lovely comments you've shared with other readers and contributors on TripAdvisor.

It is truly a pleasure to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that our team was able to create many memorable experiences on your special occasion. We are also glad to learn that you have taken fond memories back home. It is our ambition to provide exceptional service and your very kind words are encouraging and much appreciated by all of us.

We hope to have the privilege and pleasure of serving you again in the not too distant future and thank you once more for taking the time to express your satisfaction over your recent visit to the Grand Hotel Europe.


Kind regards,
Sjefke Jansen
General Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Walking through St. Petersburg in January, I stumbled on the Grand Hotel Europe when I needed to warm up a bit. A very gracious bellman opened one of the grand double doors, welcoming me in with a smile. I proceeded to hang up my coat and hat in the cloakroom and sat down in the bar/cafe where a pianist was playing. I love live piano music! I wasn't as hungry as I was cold, so I ordered a Russian coffee (coffee with Vodka) and a piece of English fruitcake. I enjoyed every sip and bite of that combination, while being surrounded by the grandeur of the place. The decor was a rich fusion of old and new. I also spent a moment or two in the art shop picking up an amber souvenir for my son. The amber pieces are supposedly designed by the same artist who refurbished the Amber Room at Catherine's Palace. Beautiful, though all but the very small ones are pricey. If I could afford it, I would stay here next time!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Margaret B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHotelEurope, Управляющий at Belmond Grand Hotel Europe, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Dear Margaret,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your positive review on TripAdvisor!

We are very happy that you enjoyed your dining experience and service at the Grand Hotel Europe. We are delighted to read your mentions about the ambience of our Lobby Bar and “the grandeur of the place”.

Look forward to welcome and pamper you again at the Grand Hotel Europe.

With warmest regards from the entire team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

The hotel has a typical European classical ambiance, located right in the centre of St Petersburg, has easy access to the main shopping and business area of the city. Walking distance to almost the main attractions of the city central, close to the various food and restaurants as well as the shopping areas. The staff are friendly and helpful, with quite spacious room. Although not the most efficient in terms of room price, but staying at this hotel provide lots of conveniences in terms of access to the main happenings of St Petersburg thus it would be worth the cost for the room price for those seeking convenience and comfort.

Room Tip: avoid getting rooms on the floor similar to conference rooms as it could be a bit noisy when lots of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHotelEurope, Управляющий at Belmond Grand Hotel Europe, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review of the Grand Hotel Europe.

We are delighted to see that your stay was wonderful and you were able to experience the charm of our hotel and the beauty of the city.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Grand Hotel Europe next time you are in St Petersburg!

With warmest regards,
Grand Hotel Europe team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Nevskiy
Pushka Inn Hotel
Pushka Inn Hotel
#2 of 358 in St. Petersburg
1,630 reviews
Admiralteisky
Four Seasons Hotel Lion Palace St. Petersburg
Four Seasons Hotel Lion Palace S...
#3 of 358 in St. Petersburg
831 reviews
Admiralteisky
Astoria Hotel
Astoria Hotel
#8 of 358 in St. Petersburg
1,618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nevskiy
Kempinski Hotel Moika 22
Kempinski Hotel Moika 22
#19 of 358 in St. Petersburg
1,153 reviews
Liteyny
Hotel Indigo St. Petersburg - Tchaikovskogo
Hotel Indigo St. Petersburg - Tc...
#4 of 358 in St. Petersburg
779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Grand Hotel Europe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Grand Hotel Europe

Address: Nevskiy Ave., Mikhailovskaya St., 1/7, St. Petersburg 191186, Russia
Phone Number:
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Nevskiy , Palace Square
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
#2 Spa Hotel in St. Petersburg
#4 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
#5 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#7 Luxury Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range: £114 - £555 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Grand Hotel Europe 5*
Number of rooms: 266
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A cultural and culinary landmark, Belmond Grand Hotel Europe has played a central role in social, cultural, civic, and business life of St Petersburg for 140 years. Belmond Grand Hotel Europe is located in the very heart of the city centre, on the corner of Nevsky Prospekt and Mikhailovskaya Ulitsa. Positioned adjacent to the Arts Square, the hotel has strong associations with the worlds of theatre, music and ballet. Past guests include Peter Tchaikovsky, Dmitry Shostakovich, Ivan Turgenev, Johann Strauss, George Bernard Shaw, Luciano Pavarotti, crowned heads and world leaders. Today the hotel offers its guests 266 rooms. The hotel's Historic Floor boasts 10 unique suites with individual names, including the Dostoevsky, Romanov and Pavarotti suites. The hotel is home to four welcoming restaurants and bar of the highest international standards. On Fridays, L'Europe Restaurant hosts the hotel's celebrated Tchaikovsky evenings, while another pearl of the hotel's restaurants is the Caviar Bar, where guests can enjoy blini with caviar washed down by ice-cold vodka. Those who enjoy chocolate can make their dreams come true in the hotel's in-house chocolate factory, where they can even order a chocolate grand piano. Located in the heart of the cultural capital of Eastern Europe, Belmond Grand Hotel Europe combines the charm and elegance of 19th century tsarist Russia with the contemporary comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Belmond Grand Hotel Europe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel St Petersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing