We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Astonishing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Belmond Grand Hotel Europe
Ranked #7 of 355 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Hokksund, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Astonishing”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

This place is loaded with history, as it is a very old Hotel (dating back to 1875). The staff was more than friendly and helpful.
We (a colleague and I) were booked into two Junior Suits, and the suite was almost as big as my appartment. Really large, comfy beds, huge bathroom, even a fireplace(!).

The hotel is placed right in the middle of all the sights. Walking-distance everywhere. In spite of having a room facing the busy main-street, I hardly heard any noise.Airconditioned rooms.

Stiff prices allover, but I guess that is to be expected at such a luxurious place.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wheeljack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHotelEurope, General Manager at Belmond Grand Hotel Europe, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments about your great experience at Belmond Grand Hotel Europe on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to read that you were impressed by your stay with us. It is a pleasure to know that you had a fantastic time and would recommend visiting Belmond Grand Hotel Europe to TripAdvisor readers.

We are hoping to have an opportunity of welcoming you back soon to Belmond Grand Hotel Europe.



Best regards,
Sjefke Jansen
General Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,593 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,223
    248
    77
    24
    21
See reviews for
245
587
95
335
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

As soon as you step foot in this palace you can hear the walls talk about all that have passed here before you. St Petersburg has a lot of great hotels but none compare with the x factor that this place has. Wont spoil it with words so do yourself a favour and go and check it out for yourself. You will not be disappointed. Walking distance to all the sites.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WyeRiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHotelEurope, Генеральный директор at Belmond Grand Hotel Europe, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing this review of your recent stay at Belmond Grand Hotel Europe. We are delighted to read your mentions about “a grand old lady” ambience of our hotel and to learn that it has left such a memorable impression on you.

The entire team is looking forward to welcoming you back soon to Belmond Grand Hotel Europe
for more amazing experiences!


Warm regards,
Sjefke Jansen
General Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

The Grand Hotel Europe is the icon hotel of St. Petersburg. The Lidval Suite is very spacious and beautifullly decorated. This room also comes with a Butler Service and they are quick and very helpful. I would give this hotel an A+ all around -- great service, complete ammenities, and a destination on its own. The next time I have the opportunity to visit St. Petersburg, I will look no further than this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjtsai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHotelEurope, Генеральный директор at Belmond Grand Hotel Europe, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your kind feedback on your recent experience with us. I sincerely thank you, on behalf of our hotel and staff, for the lovely comments you've shared.

We are delighted to know that you had such an enjoyable stay in our iconic Lidval Suite and that our Butler Team has created memorable experiences that you have taken back home.

Look forward to welcome and pamper you again at Belmond Grand Hotel Europe.


With our best regards,
Sjefke Jansen
General Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

great location very helpful staff - went for 5 days for my wife's 50th birthday gave us a free upgrade and staff could not be more helpful - great position opposite underground easy walk to hermitage - my wife could not stop mentioning how comfortable the beds was - excellent russian tea in the mezzanine cafe - one tea between 2 plenty.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHotelEurope, Генеральный директор at Belmond Grand Hotel Europe, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for having chosen Belmond Grand Hotel Europe for your recent stay and for sharing your great experience on TripAdvisor. It is truly an honor for us of having been part of such a special moment in your life, which you celebrated at our hotel. Nothing is more satisfying than to learn that we have exceeded our valued guests' expectations.

We are hoping to have an opportunity of welcoming you back to Belmond Grand Hotel Europe in the near future.


With our best regards,
Sjefke Jansen
General Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We were extremely satisfied with the Orient Express in St. Petersburg. It was extremely clean and exceptionally well decorated. The location is fantastic if you are touring the city. Our room had an excellent view of several cathedrals which was even more impressive. The bar is beautiful and made for a great end of the day unwinding spot. And the people watching is as interesting as any place I have ever seen.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 5vandivers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHotelEurope, Генеральный директор at Belmond Grand Hotel Europe, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor following your stay with us in August. I am delighted to hear that you were extremely satisfied with your stay. We appreciate your comments and feel very proud that the Grand Hotel Europe met you expectations.

We all hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you back to the Grand Hotel Europe soon.


Warm regards,
Sjefke Jansen
General Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

My daughter and I had four nights in this magnificent hotel and could not fault it against any criteria. All of the staff members with whom we had contact were friendly and courteous - the welcome at the front door has to be experienced to be believed.
Our room was a deluxe room, overlooking the Arts Square. It was big (by European standards) and had a wonderful view out to the Church of the Saviour on Spilled Blood.
Breakfast at this hotel is famous - in l'Europe restaurant, the selection of food was outstanding. But for a real dining experience, try l'Europe for dinner. Certainly you pay for it, but the experience is wonderful - great service from formally attired waiters and food to dream about. Wonderful Beluga caviar and a Beef Stroganoff, made from Australian Wagyu beef.
Don't hesitate to stay there.

Room Tip: Pay that little bit extra and ask for a room overlooking the Arts Square. They have a great view and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StayalotNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHotelEurope, General Manager at Belmond Grand Hotel Europe, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you most sincerely for your highly positive feedback on the Grand Hotel Europe experience.

It is always our pleasure to delight our guests by exceeding expectations. Your kind words about our location, rooms, service and dining in L’Europe Restaurant are deeply appreciated.

We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are visiting St Petersburg.


Kind regards,
Sjefke Jansen
General Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We had brunch here with an old matrade of the restaurant and so were given a somewhat special menu, however the whole place was absolutely beautiful and so was the food.
The 'Jazz' was also wonderful to listen to, we had a fantastic time here and I highly recommend it to everyone!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Connie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHotelEurope, General Manager at Belmond Grand Hotel Europe, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments of the dining experience with us. We are delighted to read that you were impressed by Sunday Brunch in our legendary L’Europe Restaurant. It is a pleasure to know that you had a fantastic time there and would recommend visiting it to TripAdvisor readers.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you back soon to the Grand Hotel Europe in a not too distant future.


Kind regards,
Sjefke Jansen
General Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Admiralteisky
Four Seasons Hotel Lion Palace St. Petersburg
Four Seasons Hotel Lion Palace S...
#3 of 355 in St. Petersburg
793 reviews
Nevskiy
Pushka Inn Hotel
Pushka Inn Hotel
#2 of 355 in St. Petersburg
1,585 reviews
The State Hermitage Museum Offic...
#6 of 355 in St. Petersburg
991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Admiralteisky
Astoria Hotel
Astoria Hotel
#8 of 355 in St. Petersburg
1,555 reviews
Nevskiy
Kempinski Hotel Moika 22
Kempinski Hotel Moika 22
#15 of 355 in St. Petersburg
1,122 reviews
Admiralteisky
Domina St.Petersburg
Domina St.Petersburg
#10 of 355 in St. Petersburg
1,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Grand Hotel Europe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Grand Hotel Europe

Property: Belmond Grand Hotel Europe
Address: Nevskiy Ave., Mikhailovskaya St., 1/7, St. Petersburg 191186, Russia
Phone Number:
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Nevskiy , Palace Square
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
#2 Spa Hotel in St. Petersburg
#4 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
#5 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#7 Luxury Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Grand Hotel Europe 5*
Number of rooms: 266
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A cultural and culinary landmark, Belmond Grand Hotel Europe has played a central role in social, cultural, civic, and business life of St Petersburg for 140 years. Belmond Grand Hotel Europe is located in the very heart of the city centre, on the corner of Nevsky Prospekt and Mikhailovskaya Ulitsa. Positioned adjacent to the Arts Square, the hotel has strong associations with the worlds of theatre, music and ballet. Past guests include Peter Tchaikovsky, Dmitry Shostakovich, Ivan Turgenev, Johann Strauss, George Bernard Shaw, Luciano Pavarotti, crowned heads and world leaders. Today the hotel offers its guests 266 rooms. The hotel's Historic Floor boasts 10 unique suites with individual names, including the Dostoevsky, Romanov and Pavarotti suites. The hotel is home to four welcoming restaurants and bar of the highest international standards. On Fridays, L'Europe Restaurant hosts the hotel's celebrated Tchaikovsky evenings, while another pearl of the hotel's restaurants is the Caviar Bar, where guests can enjoy blini with caviar washed down by ice-cold vodka. Those who enjoy chocolate can make their dreams come true in the hotel's in-house chocolate factory, where they can even order a chocolate grand piano. Located in the heart of the cultural capital of Eastern Europe, Belmond Grand Hotel Europe combines the charm and elegance of 19th century tsarist Russia with the contemporary comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Belmond, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Belmond Grand Hotel Europe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel St Petersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing