We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best breakfast of my life!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Belmond Grand Hotel Europe
Ranked #7 of 355 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Best breakfast of my life!”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Belmond Grand Hotel Europe offers everything you need in this great Russian city. It is central, within easy walking distance from the main attractions and good restaurants. The staff is very helpful and competent, and if some of them do not speak good English, you can always ask for someone who will.

If you can get up early, the breakfast is astonishing! There is a selection of everything you would expect and much more, including freshly made blinis (pancakes) with red caviar and champagne. The omelette, bread and pastries are exceptionally good. They also offer about a dozen different types of tea.

A word of advice, if you want to get a taxi, ask the reception to get you a 'city taxi'. The wait is 5-10 mins but on the average, they are 6 (!) times cheaper than getting into a car offered by the hotel.

There is nothing from the Soviet time at the hotel, it is mostly old imperial St Petersburg which adds a nice feel to your stay. I would love to come back to Belmond Grand Hotel Europe if I have a chance.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHotelEurope, Генеральный директор at Belmond Grand Hotel Europe, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you most sincerely for your highly positive feedback on the Belmond Grand Hotel Europe experience.

We are delighted to read that you were impressed by your stay with us. We deeply appreciate your comments and feel very proud that our hotel met your expectations. It is a pleasure to know that you had a fantastic time and would love to come back to stay with us again.

The entire team is looking forward to welcoming you back soon to Belmond Grand Hotel Europe for more amazing experiences!


Warm regards,
Sjefke Jansen
General Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,593 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,223
    248
    77
    24
    21
See reviews for
245
587
95
335
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel as part of Viking's "Glories of the Hermitage" for 7 wonderful days. The very best location in the city. Service was outstanding and comfort was their number one priority. A five minute walk to the Church of Our Savior on the Spilled Blood and across the street from Russian Museum of Art. Not far from Hermitage either.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHotelEurope, Генеральный директор at Belmond Grand Hotel Europe, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear Guest,

We sincerely thank you for the lovely comments you've shared with other readers and contributors on TripAdvisor.

It is truly a pleasure to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. It is our ambition to provide exceptional service and your very kind words are encouraging and much appreciated by all of us.

We look forward to seeing you again at Belmond Grand Hotel Europe during your next visit to St Petersburg.


Kind regards,
Sjefke Jansen
General Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg
1 review
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Best service in all respects, wonderful deluxe room, breakfast is expensive but offers literally everything including champagne. Located directly at Nemsky Prospect (12 minutes walking to Eremitage, metro station nearby), 5 stars in every respect, sound-proof windows, staff extremely competent, friendly and charming.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Anna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHotelEurope, Генеральный директор at Belmond Grand Hotel Europe, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking a moment to share feedback from your recent stay at Belmond Grand Hotel Europe.

We are delighted that you enjoyed our service, accommodation and breakfast. The entire team works very hard to consistently deliver the highest level of service and is touched when efforts are recognized through such positive feedback.

Thank you again for your kind words and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.


Kind regards,
Sjefke Jansen
General Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Champaign-Urbana, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

I love this hotel. Friendly service, nice rooms, and LOCATION is a winner. Although I only got to spend there 3 days (very busy days), I was able to find piece and quiet in my room. Well, almost - there was a bit of construction noise on the floor above, but they usually stopped at 5pm.
BREAKFAST is a winner! Best breakfast out of all the hotels I have stayed. You can have anything you want. Anything.
Concierge is great - I always had a car when requested. Older gentlemen porter is super! I remembered him from my last visit. So nice )
Will definitely stay there in June, on my next business trip.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Galina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHotelEurope, Генеральный директор at Belmond Grand Hotel Europe, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you most sincerely for your positive feedback on the Belmond Grand Hotel Europe experience. We are delighted to read that you were impressed by your stay with us. Your kind words about our location, breakfast, Concierge services are deeply appreciated.

We hope to have the privilege and pleasure of serving you again in June and thank you once more for taking the time to express your satisfaction over your recent visit to Belmond Grand Hotel Europe.


Warm regards,
Sjefke Jansen
General Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

This hotel is my St Petersburg address when I even I travel to that city. It is historic but also extremely comfortable with every modern facilities. If you stay at the Historic Wing you will have additional unsurpassed butler service. No doubt it is known as Russian's most famous hotel. If you have breakfast at the Europe restaurant you will sample the most extensive buffet table possibly of the world, and items include the hotel's famous Beef Stroganoff.....the location is right on Nevsky Prospekt, better located than any other hotel for activities. A great hotel by any standard.

Room Tip: Try Historic Wing and be amazed by the palatial decoration of your room and the pamper of butlers, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 牧 黄
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHotelEurope, General Manager at Belmond Grand Hotel Europe, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you most sincerely for your highly positive feedback on the Belmond Grand Hotel Europe experience.

We deeply appreciate your comments and feel very proud that our hotel met your expectations. It is our ambition to provide exceptional service and your very kind words are encouraging and much appreciated by all of us.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you back to Belmond Grand Hotel Europe in a not too distant future.


Warm regards,
Sjefke Jansen
General Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hokksund, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

This place is loaded with history, as it is a very old Hotel (dating back to 1875). The staff was more than friendly and helpful.
We (a colleague and I) were booked into two Junior Suits, and the suite was almost as big as my appartment. Really large, comfy beds, huge bathroom, even a fireplace(!).

The hotel is placed right in the middle of all the sights. Walking-distance everywhere. In spite of having a room facing the busy main-street, I hardly heard any noise.Airconditioned rooms.

Stiff prices allover, but I guess that is to be expected at such a luxurious place.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wheeljack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHotelEurope, General Manager at Belmond Grand Hotel Europe, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments about your great experience at Belmond Grand Hotel Europe on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to read that you were impressed by your stay with us. It is a pleasure to know that you had a fantastic time and would recommend visiting Belmond Grand Hotel Europe to TripAdvisor readers.

We are hoping to have an opportunity of welcoming you back soon to Belmond Grand Hotel Europe.



Best regards,
Sjefke Jansen
General Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

As soon as you step foot in this palace you can hear the walls talk about all that have passed here before you. St Petersburg has a lot of great hotels but none compare with the x factor that this place has. Wont spoil it with words so do yourself a favour and go and check it out for yourself. You will not be disappointed. Walking distance to all the sites.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WyeRiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHotelEurope, Генеральный директор at Belmond Grand Hotel Europe, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing this review of your recent stay at Belmond Grand Hotel Europe. We are delighted to read your mentions about “a grand old lady” ambience of our hotel and to learn that it has left such a memorable impression on you.

The entire team is looking forward to welcoming you back soon to Belmond Grand Hotel Europe
for more amazing experiences!


Warm regards,
Sjefke Jansen
General Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Admiralteisky
Four Seasons Hotel Lion Palace St. Petersburg
Four Seasons Hotel Lion Palace S...
#3 of 355 in St. Petersburg
793 reviews
Nevskiy
Pushka Inn Hotel
Pushka Inn Hotel
#2 of 355 in St. Petersburg
1,585 reviews
The State Hermitage Museum Offic...
#6 of 355 in St. Petersburg
991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Admiralteisky
Astoria Hotel
Astoria Hotel
#8 of 355 in St. Petersburg
1,555 reviews
Nevskiy
Kempinski Hotel Moika 22
Kempinski Hotel Moika 22
#15 of 355 in St. Petersburg
1,122 reviews
Admiralteisky
Domina St.Petersburg
Domina St.Petersburg
#10 of 355 in St. Petersburg
1,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Grand Hotel Europe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Grand Hotel Europe

Property: Belmond Grand Hotel Europe
Address: Nevskiy Ave., Mikhailovskaya St., 1/7, St. Petersburg 191186, Russia
Phone Number:
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Nevskiy , Palace Square
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
#2 Spa Hotel in St. Petersburg
#4 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
#5 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#7 Luxury Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Grand Hotel Europe 5*
Number of rooms: 266
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A cultural and culinary landmark, Belmond Grand Hotel Europe has played a central role in social, cultural, civic, and business life of St Petersburg for 140 years. Belmond Grand Hotel Europe is located in the very heart of the city centre, on the corner of Nevsky Prospekt and Mikhailovskaya Ulitsa. Positioned adjacent to the Arts Square, the hotel has strong associations with the worlds of theatre, music and ballet. Past guests include Peter Tchaikovsky, Dmitry Shostakovich, Ivan Turgenev, Johann Strauss, George Bernard Shaw, Luciano Pavarotti, crowned heads and world leaders. Today the hotel offers its guests 266 rooms. The hotel's Historic Floor boasts 10 unique suites with individual names, including the Dostoevsky, Romanov and Pavarotti suites. The hotel is home to four welcoming restaurants and bar of the highest international standards. On Fridays, L'Europe Restaurant hosts the hotel's celebrated Tchaikovsky evenings, while another pearl of the hotel's restaurants is the Caviar Bar, where guests can enjoy blini with caviar washed down by ice-cold vodka. Those who enjoy chocolate can make their dreams come true in the hotel's in-house chocolate factory, where they can even order a chocolate grand piano. Located in the heart of the cultural capital of Eastern Europe, Belmond Grand Hotel Europe combines the charm and elegance of 19th century tsarist Russia with the contemporary comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Belmond, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Belmond Grand Hotel Europe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel St Petersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing