We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute perfection”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Belmond Grand Hotel Europe
Ranked #7 of 345 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
67 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Absolute perfection”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

St. Petersburg is one of the most beautiful cities we've ever seen, and Grand Hotel Europe must be one of the best hotels in the world. The location, across the city hall on Nevsky Prospekt, is perfect. The history of the hotel, going back almost 140 years, is very intriguing. The building is beautiful: just look at the windows and other Art Nouveau details in the bar and in restaurant Europe! The public areas are very stylish, and the thick carpet in the third floor corridor was new. Our third floor Belle Chambre had a great view of the city hall, and Gostinny Dwor, and we heard nothing of the busy traffic on Nevsky. Everything seemed to be just recently refurbished; in a traditional style. We had a state-of-the-art bathroom, and the bed was very comfortable, with very soft, smooth sheets. A television popped up from a cabinet at the end of the bed. Very good lighting. Free wifi. At arrival we were offered a glass of champagne, there was a bouquet of fresh flowers in our room, a large bowl of fruit, and each day we got two bottles of mineral water. (But we drank water from the tap too, without any side-effects. The city has a modern water purification plant, and yes, the water pipes are old, but so are those in Rome, Madrid and many other places.) The air conditioning was very good (maybe a little noisy). And everything was spotlessly clean.
We had asked for a transfer from Finlyandsky train station, which went very smoothly. When we checked in, the young lady at the reception desk was so friendly and welcoming, and that set the tone for the rest of our stay. It is a big hotel, with a large staff; but without exception, every staff member we met, was happy to help us, and to answer our questions. And we met quite of few of them, staying there for six days: using the laundry service, going to the concierge desk, to the business centre, talking with the doormen, having meals and drinks in all the different venues, and so on. Everyone speaks fluent English, so I felt ashamed to try out my bit of Russian. But my efforts were appreciated.
The breakfast buffet is just unbelievable. It is served in the beautiful restaurant Europe, and it is the best we ever had, also with the best staff ever, with so much attention for every guest. Several times we had lunch in the Mezzanine café, or on the terrace, both very pleasant. When we had dinner at restaurant Europe, we had the privilege of hearing a great jazz pianist, Valery Latman, and that made it an unforgettable evening. Twice we had dinner at the Caviar restaurant, and we loved the explanations of the different types of caviar. And each day, we had drinks in the beautiful bar.
No complaints whatever? Yes: the historic roof terrace was closed; we had been looking forward to sitting there. And we hate having to use a tablet to see a menu or a wine list. (Fortunately restaurant Europe and the Caviar restaurant still have a nice old fashioned list, in a leather cover.)
We loved St.Petersburg, and we loved the comfort and the friendliness of Grand Hotel Europe. Very, very strongly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hawet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHotelEurope, General Manager at Belmond Grand Hotel Europe, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your review. On behalf of the entire Belmond Grand Hotel Europe team, I would like to pass our appreciation for your very nice comments about your experience with us. The entire team works very hard to consistently deliver the highest level of service and is touched when efforts are recognized through such positive feedback.

We are extremely happy to understand that we have been able to meet your expectations, and that you went back home with great memories about your stay at Belmond Grand Hotel Europe.

We are hoping to have an opportunity of welcoming you back soon to our hotel.


Sincerely,
Sjefke Jansen
General Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,556 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,198
    241
    73
    23
    21
See reviews for
239
567
93
332
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
193 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Art Nouveau style right in the centre of Nevsky Prospect. The largest breakfast buffet I have seen on 3 continents with Russian and global selections! We booked a Terrace Room with any eye popping view of the Church on Spilled Blood and the Russian Museum.

Concierge service and transport were courteous and prompt.

A great stay

Room Tip: Terrace Rooms have an extraordinary view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marekw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHotelEurope, General Manager at Belmond Grand Hotel Europe, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel for your stay in the heart of St Petersburg and for sharing your great experience with TripAdvisor readers. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your time with us.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon to our legendary hotel for more amazing experiences!


Kind regards,
Sjefke Jansen
General Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
114 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Ideal location to explore St Petersburg, and a true five star hotel in all respects. Not cheap, but sometimes it's worth enjoying a touch of class. Breakfast is an experience in itself, both food and location. Try it - you'll not be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeNZ2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHotelEurope, General Manager at Belmond Grand Hotel Europe, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for you feedback.

It has been a great pleasure to read that we have been able to provide you a first-class experience. We all hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you back to the Belmond Grand Hotel Europe soon.


Best regards,
Sjefke Jansen
General Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GREECE
Level Contributor
163 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

The setting: Classic room fit for kings or rather tsars. You can actually see the caviar. They have all kinds. Prefer the pasteurized one that is more friendly to our naive stomachs that don't eat caviar more than twice a week.(joke). Listen to the waiter for your choice of vodka. He seems like that he is an expert. Check the price of the vodka he suggests. Better is always more expensive and hold your horses for the caviar. Now the maitr'd will suggest you to try the three kind of caviar with three half shots of different vodkas. Skip it. The caviar is three small blinis and the third one is salmon roe that is in abundance in the breakfast of every hotel that respect itself. So, the best thing to do is to order 50 grams of caviar for a couple. Ask for toast, cucumber, boiled potato and blinis. Why? Psychologically the caviar will last longer. Caviar surprisingly in Russia is not cheap. An entree, caviar (50 grams) and desert will come to $500 for the couple. Difficult times for tsars and tsarinas.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YakoDogiou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHotelEurope, General Manager at Belmond Grand Hotel Europe, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback about the recent dining experience at Belmond Grand Hotel Europe. We deeply appreciate your detailed comments about Caviar Bar and feel very proud that our hotel met your expectations.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you back soon to Belmond Grand Hotel Europe in a not too distant future.


Warm regards,
Sjefke Jansen
General Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

In the center, unbelievable rich breakfast, about 50 tipes of tie, good stuff, too expensive for me, but it was the business trip, so I've asked a 2 additional aroma pillows from the pillows menu(it's free). :)

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Екатерина Л
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHotelEurope, Генеральный директор at Belmond Grand Hotel Europe, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Guest,

We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us during the business trip. We aim to provide the best service possible and we are glad you felt pampered while being with us.

Thank you very much for your kind review and we hope to welcome you back again soon.


Kind regards,
Sjefke Jansen
General Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We were on our first trip to Russia and this hotel came highly recommended. It is considered one of the best and has a 5 star rating- what a joke- the room was horrible, old, dirty and dingy. We checked out as soon as we were able.Utterly disappointing!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
6 Thank Judy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHotelEurope, Генеральный директор at Belmond Grand Hotel Europe, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Mr & Mrs G

Greetings from Belmond Grand Hotel Europe, St Petersburg!

We appreciate you having taken the time to post your observations, as it is only through feedback of our patrons that we can continuously review and improve our services offered.

In our commitment to providing you with the best quality in all aspects of hospitality we are greatly concerned to learn that we had not lived up to your expectations, pertaining to the cleanliness and the overall poor condition of the room and we would like to sincerely apologies for this.

Discussions involving the respective departments have taken place and I would like to take this opportunity to outline some of your comments.

Our Housekeeping department has stringent cleaning policies and procedures in force, which are closely monitored and controlled by the management. And we are proud to report that we have not received any comments of “dirty rooms”, in the past.

In regard to your early departure; you approached our reception desk to inquire about the cancellation policy of the hotel, which was provided to you. The member of staff you had spoken to, asked whether anything had happened, which you left uncommented and instead went back to your room.

Shortly thereafter you returned to the reception desk to check out and the same member of staff inquired whether you were satisfied with your stay. Your only remark at the time was that the air-condition unit in the room was faulty. When the staff asked whether you had informed the hotel about the issue your response was negative.

Our staff made one last attempt to query whether an emergency led to your early departure, which you again decided not to reply to.

Mr & Mrs G, we truly regret that we were not given the opportunity to assist you, as it is in the hotel’s best interest to provide all our patrons with a most positive impression and many memorable experiences.


Thank you,


Sjefke Jansen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
58 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I have just had the opportunity to visit Russia (St Petersburg and Moscow) on business and I have to say that the Belmond Grand Hotel in St Petersburg was absolutely wonderful.

The hotel is impressive as it is a classic oldie. From the moment you enter the reception area you are treated like you are at home from all their staff members with a warm welcome and smile. The rooms are very Victorian in decor. They are extremely spacious, comfortable and clean and have all the amenities that a business man or women would need whilst travelling. Location of the hotel is perfect. Situated on the Nevsky Prospekt and within walking distance to the Hermitage Museum and many more famous landmarks.
The L’Europe restaurant will not disappoint. L’Europe offers the finest haute cuisine in the most exquisite opulent surroundings in Russia. Enjoy mouth watering cuisine whilst been serenaded by the live music.
Breakfast is certainly not to be missed as the selection of cuisine is fantastic and there is no better way to start your day.
I would highly recommend this hotel and will try my upmost to return with my family one day.

Room Tip: All rooms are fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHotelEurope, Генеральный директор at Belmond Grand Hotel Europe, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review. On behalf of the entire Belmond Grand Hotel Europe team, I would like to pass our appreciation for your very nice comments about your experience with us. We are extremely happy to understand that we have been able to meet your expectations, and that you went back home with great memories about your stay at Belmond Grand Hotel Europe.

We are hoping to have an opportunity of welcoming you and your family back soon to our hotel.


Sincerely,
Sjefke Jansen
General Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Admiralteisky
Four Seasons Hotel Lion Palace St. Petersburg
Four Seasons Hotel Lion Palace S...
#3 of 345 in St. Petersburg
748 reviews
The State Hermitage Museum Offic...
#4 of 345 in St. Petersburg
966 reviews
Admiralteisky
Astoria Hotel
Astoria Hotel
#8 of 345 in St. Petersburg
1,515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nevskiy
Pushka Inn Hotel
Pushka Inn Hotel
#2 of 345 in St. Petersburg
1,541 reviews
Admiralteisky
Domina St.Petersburg
Domina St.Petersburg
#10 of 345 in St. Petersburg
1,131 reviews
Nevskiy
Kempinski Hotel Moika 22
Kempinski Hotel Moika 22
#15 of 345 in St. Petersburg
1,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Grand Hotel Europe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Grand Hotel Europe

Property: Belmond Grand Hotel Europe
Address: Nevskiy Ave., Mikhailovskaya St., 1/7, St. Petersburg 191186, Russia
Phone Number:
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Nevskiy , Palace Square
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
#2 Spa Hotel in St. Petersburg
#4 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
#5 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#7 Luxury Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Grand Hotel Europe 5*
Number of rooms: 266
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A cultural and culinary landmark, Belmond Grand Hotel Europe has played a central role in social, cultural, civic, and business life of St Petersburg for 140 years. Belmond Grand Hotel Europe is located in the very heart of the city centre, on the corner of Nevsky Prospekt and Mikhailovskaya Ulitsa. Positioned adjacent to the Arts Square, the hotel has strong associations with the worlds of theatre, music and ballet. Past guests include Peter Tchaikovsky, Dmitry Shostakovich, Ivan Turgenev, Johann Strauss, George Bernard Shaw, Luciano Pavarotti, crowned heads and world leaders. Today the hotel offers its guests 266 rooms. The hotel's Historic Floor boasts 10 unique suites with individual names, including the Dostoevsky, Romanov and Pavarotti suites. The hotel is home to four welcoming restaurants and bar of the highest international standards. On Fridays, L'Europe Restaurant hosts the hotel's celebrated Tchaikovsky evenings, while another pearl of the hotel's restaurants is the Caviar Bar, where guests can enjoy blini with caviar washed down by ice-cold vodka. Those who enjoy chocolate can make their dreams come true in the hotel's in-house chocolate factory, where they can even order a chocolate grand piano. Located in the heart of the cultural capital of Eastern Europe, Belmond Grand Hotel Europe combines the charm and elegance of 19th century tsarist Russia with the contemporary comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Belmond, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Belmond Grand Hotel Europe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel St Petersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing