We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEAUTIFUL COMMUNAL AREAS BUT SERVICE AND TIRED BEDROOM MAKE THIS AN AVERAGE SCORE AND DISAPPOINTING FOR ME”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Belmond Grand Hotel Europe
Ranked #7 of 344 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
78 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“BEAUTIFUL COMMUNAL AREAS BUT SERVICE AND TIRED BEDROOM MAKE THIS AN AVERAGE SCORE AND DISAPPOINTING FOR ME”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I stayed here as part of a group tour early June. I would summarise by advising travellers that if they don’t have the budget to upgrade to an expensive suite, they would be best to stick with the cheapest/basic rooms, as any other upgrade is a waste of money. I paid for an upgrade to a room on the historic floor and regretted this decision. (Further detail on this is further down in this review).

Below are pros and cons showing where I felt the hotel excelled and where it fell short of my expectations:

PROS:
- Stunning communal areas
- Breakfast was of a high quality with excellent choice and good service
- Food in their Caviar Bar was excellent too and reasonably priced, especially for a 5 star hotel
- Nice spa area/steam room and well maintained
- Concierge very polite, knowledgeable and helpful
- Hotel was in a great location, within walking distance of Hermitage and other tourist hotspots.

CONS:
- Within my package for the Historic floor, it included the use of a butler service. This service is meant to be from 7am to midnight. On two evenings, the butler had left earlier than midnight and I had to phone around reception and housekeeping to try to get hold of what I needed. One of the items I needed was something basic that should have been in the room. On quite a few occasions in the mornings, when I tried to call the butler’s office, no-one was around.

- On a couple of occasions, when ordering room service it either didn’t turn up (and I had to chase), or I was waiting longer than expected for it (over 40 minute wait time for a pot of hot water and cup)

- Water in the room was meant to be replenished daily, but it was not.

- The en-suite to my room was just a shower over the bath tub, rather than separate walk in shower. Not brilliant but just about passable for 5 Star hotel standards, however, the décor was tired and out-dated and there were hard water/lime scale stains around the overflow in the bath.

- Tired/out-dated room. Having read a review on Tripadvisor from someone who stayed in a room on the historic floor, I paid more money to upgrade to a room on the historic floor. I only upgraded because I liked the style of the room this traveller had stayed in. The photo of her room was stunning. To ensure I booked the right type of room, I did also email the Grand Hotel direct last year, attaching a copy of the reviewer’s photo and asked them to confirm what type of room this was, so that I could ensure to book the correct type of room for myself. The hotel did not bother to reply to my query. I therefore emailed the Tripadvisor reviewer direct who did advise it was a room not a suite and that it was on the historic floor. I decided to risk it and booked a room on the historic floor and I deeply regretted this choice. The room I was allocated was awful. The colour scheme itself was the worst element of this room. The bright red and green patterned curtains and matching chairs, along with the style of bed linen were very out-dated, tired and old. The room made me feel like I was staying with an elderly relative, rather than in a grand hotel! The fittings were poor quality and not within keeping of the period building either. The light fitting was meant to be a chandelier but it didn't resemble a chandalier at all. In fact it resembled something you would buy at Ikea. A fellow traveller mentioned that the rooms did vary and they had other rooms that were of a more neutral style. I therefore explained to my butler my disappointment and asked to explore moving rooms. I offered to either move to a different room on the historic floor or downgrade to a lower level room (same as my friend). She told me I couldn’t downgrade and that there was no point moving to a different room on the historic floor as all rooms looked exactly the same. No variations whatsoever. IE, they all had the same colour on the walls and all had the red and green curtains etc. Since returning home it has transpired that this is not the case. Clearly, the butler lied here and should have tried to see if I could swap rooms to a more neutrally coloured room on the historic floor. Instead, she took the lazy option. This is unacceptable and I wish I had been more assertive and visited Reception to take further. She had earlier that evening offered for me to purchase an upgrade to a suite on the floor, but apart from it being too expensive to do so, I did not need a suite. So I had to make do with this very dreary room. I showed her the article/photo that was in Tripadvisor and she advised that this room was actually a suite and was not even on the historic floor. So either the Tripadvisor review was completely wrong or the butler was lying. I couldn’t dwell on it and just had to make do with my dreary bedroom.

Except for the last con above, most of the other cons are minor. You could not mark a hotel like this below three stars, however, the disappointment with some elements of the service, my room and the fact that no attempt at all was being made to resolve the issues with my room brings this score down for me to average.

Room Tip: Don't waste money on an upgrade and if you really hate your room, be assertive and request to mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Miranda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHotelEurope, Генеральный директор at Belmond Grand Hotel Europe, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Belmond Grand Hotel Europe!

We appreciate you having taken the time to post your review, as it is only through feedback of our patrons that we can continuously review and improve our services and quality offered.

In our commitment to providing you with the best quality in all aspects of hospitality we are greatly concerned to learn that we had not lived up to your expectations, pertaining to the services and the overall impression of the room and we would like to sincerely apologies for this.

Discussions involving the Butler Team members and myself have taken place to review your most valuable comments, and we would like to assure you that all of your concerns will be addressed and attended to.

Dear Guest, thank you once again for your continuous support and we are looking forward to the prospects of welcoming you back to Belmond Grand Hotel Europe in the not too distant future.


Kind regards,
Sjefke Jansen
General Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,555 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,197
    241
    73
    23
    21
See reviews for
239
566
93
332
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We recently stayed in the Grand Hotel Europe for five nights and have nothing but praise for this wonderful hotel. We were given a significant room upgrade from an Historic Room to an Historic Suite, and each day the hotel brought fresh goodies to our room, including a bottle of pop and cake for my birthday. The butler service was superb and the restaurant recommendations excellent. The hotel is conveniently on Nevsky Prospekt and is just a ten minute walk from Palace Square with lots of restaurants and shops in the vicinity. The breakfast was excellent - an enormous buffet with so much choice that we hardly ate the same thing twice!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHotelEurope, General Manager at Belmond Grand Hotel Europe, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you most sincerely for your highly positive feedback on the Grand Hotel Europe experience.

It is always our pleasure to delight our guests by exceeding expectations. Your kind words about our service, location and breakfast are deeply appreciated.

We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are visiting St Petersburg.


Kind regards,
Sjefke Jansen
General Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vilnius, Lithuania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This Art Nouveau gem in the middle of St. Petersburg is not to be missed. Vintage elegance combined with premiere service. The lobby bar is one of the best - worth a visit in its own right, especially before or after a performance at one of the many theaters in the immediate vicinity.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darpo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHotelEurope, General Manager at Belmond Grand Hotel Europe, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Guest,

We sincerely thank you for the comments you've shared with other readers and contributors on TripAdvisor.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon to our legendary hotel for more amazing experiences!


Sincerely,
Sjefke Jansen
General Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
67 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

St. Petersburg is one of the most beautiful cities we've ever seen, and Grand Hotel Europe must be one of the best hotels in the world. The location, across the city hall on Nevsky Prospekt, is perfect. The history of the hotel, going back almost 140 years, is very intriguing. The building is beautiful: just look at the windows and other Art Nouveau details in the bar and in restaurant Europe! The public areas are very stylish, and the thick carpet in the third floor corridor was new. Our third floor Belle Chambre had a great view of the city hall, and Gostinny Dwor, and we heard nothing of the busy traffic on Nevsky. Everything seemed to be just recently refurbished; in a traditional style. We had a state-of-the-art bathroom, and the bed was very comfortable, with very soft, smooth sheets. A television popped up from a cabinet at the end of the bed. Very good lighting. Free wifi. At arrival we were offered a glass of champagne, there was a bouquet of fresh flowers in our room, a large bowl of fruit, and each day we got two bottles of mineral water. (But we drank water from the tap too, without any side-effects. The city has a modern water purification plant, and yes, the water pipes are old, but so are those in Rome, Madrid and many other places.) The air conditioning was very good (maybe a little noisy). And everything was spotlessly clean.
We had asked for a transfer from Finlyandsky train station, which went very smoothly. When we checked in, the young lady at the reception desk was so friendly and welcoming, and that set the tone for the rest of our stay. It is a big hotel, with a large staff; but without exception, every staff member we met, was happy to help us, and to answer our questions. And we met quite of few of them, staying there for six days: using the laundry service, going to the concierge desk, to the business centre, talking with the doormen, having meals and drinks in all the different venues, and so on. Everyone speaks fluent English, so I felt ashamed to try out my bit of Russian. But my efforts were appreciated.
The breakfast buffet is just unbelievable. It is served in the beautiful restaurant Europe, and it is the best we ever had, also with the best staff ever, with so much attention for every guest. Several times we had lunch in the Mezzanine café, or on the terrace, both very pleasant. When we had dinner at restaurant Europe, we had the privilege of hearing a great jazz pianist, Valery Latman, and that made it an unforgettable evening. Twice we had dinner at the Caviar restaurant, and we loved the explanations of the different types of caviar. And each day, we had drinks in the beautiful bar.
No complaints whatever? Yes: the historic roof terrace was closed; we had been looking forward to sitting there. And we hate having to use a tablet to see a menu or a wine list. (Fortunately restaurant Europe and the Caviar restaurant still have a nice old fashioned list, in a leather cover.)
We loved St.Petersburg, and we loved the comfort and the friendliness of Grand Hotel Europe. Very, very strongly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hawet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHotelEurope, General Manager at Belmond Grand Hotel Europe, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your review. On behalf of the entire Belmond Grand Hotel Europe team, I would like to pass our appreciation for your very nice comments about your experience with us. The entire team works very hard to consistently deliver the highest level of service and is touched when efforts are recognized through such positive feedback.

We are extremely happy to understand that we have been able to meet your expectations, and that you went back home with great memories about your stay at Belmond Grand Hotel Europe.

We are hoping to have an opportunity of welcoming you back soon to our hotel.


Sincerely,
Sjefke Jansen
General Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
193 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Art Nouveau style right in the centre of Nevsky Prospect. The largest breakfast buffet I have seen on 3 continents with Russian and global selections! We booked a Terrace Room with any eye popping view of the Church on Spilled Blood and the Russian Museum.

Concierge service and transport were courteous and prompt.

A great stay

Room Tip: Terrace Rooms have an extraordinary view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marekw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHotelEurope, General Manager at Belmond Grand Hotel Europe, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel for your stay in the heart of St Petersburg and for sharing your great experience with TripAdvisor readers. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your time with us.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon to our legendary hotel for more amazing experiences!


Kind regards,
Sjefke Jansen
General Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
114 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Ideal location to explore St Petersburg, and a true five star hotel in all respects. Not cheap, but sometimes it's worth enjoying a touch of class. Breakfast is an experience in itself, both food and location. Try it - you'll not be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeNZ2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHotelEurope, General Manager at Belmond Grand Hotel Europe, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for you feedback.

It has been a great pleasure to read that we have been able to provide you a first-class experience. We all hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you back to the Belmond Grand Hotel Europe soon.


Best regards,
Sjefke Jansen
General Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GREECE
Level Contributor
163 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

The setting: Classic room fit for kings or rather tsars. You can actually see the caviar. They have all kinds. Prefer the pasteurized one that is more friendly to our naive stomachs that don't eat caviar more than twice a week.(joke). Listen to the waiter for your choice of vodka. He seems like that he is an expert. Check the price of the vodka he suggests. Better is always more expensive and hold your horses for the caviar. Now the maitr'd will suggest you to try the three kind of caviar with three half shots of different vodkas. Skip it. The caviar is three small blinis and the third one is salmon roe that is in abundance in the breakfast of every hotel that respect itself. So, the best thing to do is to order 50 grams of caviar for a couple. Ask for toast, cucumber, boiled potato and blinis. Why? Psychologically the caviar will last longer. Caviar surprisingly in Russia is not cheap. An entree, caviar (50 grams) and desert will come to $500 for the couple. Difficult times for tsars and tsarinas.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YakoDogiou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHotelEurope, General Manager at Belmond Grand Hotel Europe, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback about the recent dining experience at Belmond Grand Hotel Europe. We deeply appreciate your detailed comments about Caviar Bar and feel very proud that our hotel met your expectations.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you back soon to Belmond Grand Hotel Europe in a not too distant future.


Warm regards,
Sjefke Jansen
General Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Admiralteisky
Four Seasons Hotel Lion Palace St. Petersburg
Four Seasons Hotel Lion Palace S...
#3 of 344 in St. Petersburg
746 reviews
The State Hermitage Museum Offic...
#4 of 344 in St. Petersburg
964 reviews
Admiralteisky
Astoria Hotel
Astoria Hotel
#8 of 344 in St. Petersburg
1,511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nevskiy
Pushka Inn Hotel
Pushka Inn Hotel
#2 of 344 in St. Petersburg
1,538 reviews
Admiralteisky
Domina St.Petersburg
Domina St.Petersburg
#10 of 344 in St. Petersburg
1,128 reviews
Nevskiy
Kempinski Hotel Moika 22
Kempinski Hotel Moika 22
#15 of 344 in St. Petersburg
1,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Grand Hotel Europe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Grand Hotel Europe

Property: Belmond Grand Hotel Europe
Address: Nevskiy Ave., Mikhailovskaya St., 1/7, St. Petersburg 191186, Russia
Phone Number:
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Nevskiy , Palace Square
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
#2 Spa Hotel in St. Petersburg
#4 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
#5 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#7 Luxury Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Grand Hotel Europe 5*
Number of rooms: 266
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A cultural and culinary landmark, Belmond Grand Hotel Europe has played a central role in social, cultural, civic, and business life of St Petersburg for 140 years. Belmond Grand Hotel Europe is located in the very heart of the city centre, on the corner of Nevsky Prospekt and Mikhailovskaya Ulitsa. Positioned adjacent to the Arts Square, the hotel has strong associations with the worlds of theatre, music and ballet. Past guests include Peter Tchaikovsky, Dmitry Shostakovich, Ivan Turgenev, Johann Strauss, George Bernard Shaw, Luciano Pavarotti, crowned heads and world leaders. Today the hotel offers its guests 266 rooms. The hotel's Historic Floor boasts 10 unique suites with individual names, including the Dostoevsky, Romanov and Pavarotti suites. The hotel is home to four welcoming restaurants and bar of the highest international standards. On Fridays, L'Europe Restaurant hosts the hotel's celebrated Tchaikovsky evenings, while another pearl of the hotel's restaurants is the Caviar Bar, where guests can enjoy blini with caviar washed down by ice-cold vodka. Those who enjoy chocolate can make their dreams come true in the hotel's in-house chocolate factory, where they can even order a chocolate grand piano. Located in the heart of the cultural capital of Eastern Europe, Belmond Grand Hotel Europe combines the charm and elegance of 19th century tsarist Russia with the contemporary comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Belmond, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Belmond Grand Hotel Europe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel St Petersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing