We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star oasis right in the center of everything”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Belmond Grand Hotel Europe
Ranked #7 of 344 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Limassol, Cyprus
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“5 star oasis right in the center of everything”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I have always had a soft spot for this hotel. If I were to find an analogy, Belmond Grand Hotel is a like a private membership club in New York where locals socialize and tourists stay. The cafe, restaurants, decor and live music transport you back into the 19th century. Banquet halls are perfect for meetings and receptions. All in all, it is definitely my most favorite hotel in Saint Petersburg. In addition, it faces Russian museum as well as Nevsky Prospekt - you can pretty much walk everywhere and see everything if you stay there. Hermitage is 25 m away by foot, Kazansky Cathedral is 5 minutes away- you just can't beat the location, the service and the sophisticated luxury.

Room Tip: all rooms are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OlgaLimassol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHotelEurope, Генеральный директор at Belmond Grand Hotel Europe, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Guest,

We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us during the trip to St Petersburg. We aim to provide the best service possible and we are glad you felt pampered while being with us.

Thank you very much for your kind review and we hope to welcome you back again soon.


Kind regards,
Sjefke Jansen
General Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,554 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,197
    240
    73
    23
    21
See reviews for
239
566
92
332
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Piracicaba, SP
Level Contributor
66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

The hotel has a great location and a luxurious atmosphere with great staff. Breakfast was unforgettable and with plenty options including caviar and champagne. Room has a good size, comfortable bed and free wi fi. Big bathroom with heated floor.

Room Tip: The hotel is really big so If could ask for a room close to the lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndZoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHotelEurope, Генеральный директор at Belmond Grand Hotel Europe, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel for your stay in the heart of St Petersburg and for sharing your great experience with TripAdvisor readers. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your time with us.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon to our legendary hotel for more amazing experiences!


Kind regards,
Sjefke Jansen
General Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 July 2014

St Petersburg's foremost hotel continues to forge its position on so many fronts - sophistication and elegance, centrality, superb staff, finest cuisine and wines, architectural splendour and famed friendliness and courtesy. Grand Hotel Europe ticks every box, rendering a stay in this city simple unforgettable!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Joy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHotelEurope, Генеральный директор at Belmond Grand Hotel Europe, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your review. On behalf of the entire Belmond Grand Hotel Europe team, I would like to pass our appreciation for your very nice comments about your experience with us.

We are hoping to have an opportunity of welcoming you back soon to our hotel.


Sincerely,
Sjefke Jansen
General Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Vic
Level Contributor
97 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Standard of room and service lived up to its reputation. We had a very comfortable 6 nights with all the amenities you would expect of a hotel of this class and reputation. Spacious bedroom and bathroom. Pillow 'menu' worth trying: new pillows obligingly delivered promptly in middle of night when supplied ones locked adequate support. Shower strong and easy to use, although a noticeable 'swampy' smell a bit off-putting.

Huge choice at breakfast in delightful style moderne dining room. Dined there one night and found good quality and service for a price though live music was a bit intrusive in volume (we had to move our chairs closer together to be able to talk!). Also tried 3 other food and drink options plus room service: all good at different prices.

Guest relations staff unfailingly helpful.

Highly recommended if you are in market for a luxury stay in a great location.

Room Tip: Ask for external facing room.. Double glazing very effective.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SallyandHarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHotelEurope, Генеральный директор at Belmond Grand Hotel Europe, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Guest,

We sincerely thank you for the comments you've shared with other readers and contributors on TripAdvisor.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon to our legendary hotel for more amazing experiences!


Sincerely,
Sjefke Jansen
General Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire, UK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

A lovely hotel but not up to the mark for looking after guests at this level. The room and the dining options were excellent but for instance we were not taken to our room and had to sort out how to operate the electricity ourselves, something which just about everywhere seems to do differently so a short session of help would have been very much appreciated. We also had to ask where breakfast would be served.
Position is however excellent, right in the centre of the old part of the city so it is easy to go out of the hotel and walk around.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HOLLESLEY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHotelEurope, Генеральный директор at Belmond Grand Hotel Europe, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel for your stay in the heart of St Petersburg and for sharing your experience with TripAdvisor readers.

In our commitment to providing you with the best quality in all aspects of hospitality, it greatly concerns us to learn that we had not lived up to your expectations and we would like to sincerely apologise for this.

Discussions involving the respective team members and myself have taken place to review your most valuable comments, and we would like to assure you that all of your concerns will be addressed and attended to.

We all hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you back to Belmond Grand Hotel Europe and we remain at your disposal for any assistance you may require.


Kind regards,
Sjefke Jansen
General Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
91 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We stayed in this hotel for the duration of four nights. We were very disappointed on arrival as the room appeared to be very dark and shabby - really in dire need of refurbishment. We spent a terrible night with barely any sleep because the bed was so old you could feel every spring. Coupled with this we had two tiny duvets on the bed that barely covered us and we are not large people - I am a size 10! The next morning we saw a lady from Guest Relations who moved us to a much better room, light and airy, still a little old fashioned but with a larger comfy bed and a lovely view overlooking Pushkin Art Square.
We ate one meal in the bar on our first night as we arrived fairly late - we decided not to repeat this as the food was very average and expensive. I had a Caesar Salad which was so slimed and covered in dressing I couldn't eat it. Having said that the bar area is lively from 10 onwards and has a buzzing atmosphere despite the live singer!
Some of the Reception Staff are very off hand bordering on the rude but others are absolutely lovely.
If returning to Saint Petersburg I would choose another hotel.

Room Tip: If you are not satisfied with your room speak up!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CollieDog58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHotelEurope, Генеральный директор at Belmond Grand Hotel Europe, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate you having taken the time to post your review, as it is only through feedback of our patrons that we can continuously review and improve our services and quality offered. In our commitment to providing you with the best quality in all aspects of hospitality, it greatly concerns us to learn that we had not lived up to your expectations and we would like to sincerely apologise for this.

Discussions involving the respective team members and myself have taken place to review your most valuable comments, and we would like to assure you that all of your concerns will be addressed and attended to.

Thank you once again for your continuous support and we are looking forward to the prospects of welcoming you back to our hotel in the not too distant future.

We remain at your disposal for any assistance you may require.


Kind regards,
Sjefke Jansen
General Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, UK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We stayed here for 11 nights, June 10-21, and think this is probably the best hotel we have ever stayed in. We had a room on the Arts Square floor, with a distant view of the domes of the Church on the Spilled Blood. Yes, it had red and green furnishings, but we did not find them unattractive or 'tired'. The bed was huge and very comfortable, bathroom large, with marble tiles, and (very important) enough shelf space to park our toilet bags. Only quibble was that, as in 99% of hotels, there was nowhere on the side of the bath to put one's soap, sponge, etc (what *do* other people do?). The other quibble is that the chairs had wooden arms which became rather uncomfortable if one sat reading for very long. End of quibbles. For us the best feature of the hotel were its many excellent eating facilities. Breakfast buffet was the most lavish we have ever seen: the usual array of fruits, cold meats, bacon, scrambled eggs, sausages etc, with an amazing selection of delicious breads, blinis, pancakes, omelettes, smoked salmon, sparkling wine, Russian cheese cake, even hot salmon and cooked vegetables. We ate several times in the main dining room, where service was superb and the food uniformly excellent. Also ate several times in the Lobby Bar, the Mezzanine Café, and twice on the outdoor terrace. Since the Lobby Bar is open 24-hours, this was ideal when we came in late from the ballet or opera and needed a late supper. Live music in all these venues (except the terrace) was very pleasant (apart from one night in the bar when there was a guy with a synthesiser and a female singer--too loud!). On our last two nights we ate in the caviar bar, although we do not like either caviar or vodka (the main dining room was booked for a function), but there is a wide selection of Italian dishes (the gnocchi were outstanding). There is a certain amount of overlap in the menus of these eating spots, but each has its own specialities. We did not intend to stay so closely tied to the hotel, but my mobility is not of the best, taxis are a bit complicated in Petersburg (the hotel can call a taxi on the outward journey but getting home was slightly dubious), and we did not see or read about any restaurants nearby that seemed likely to surpass the hotel, so we stayed put and were thankful to know that we could hardly do better. The big bonus however was the availability of the hotel limos, one of which took us to ballet, opera, and concert. Not cheap, but we were offered a discount for 3 bookings. It was the final touch to the evening's pleasure to know that a large comfortable car would be waiting to whisk us home again. There *were* some taxis waiting outside the Mariinsky at the end of the evening, with 'Vacant' signs in the window, but it was nice to know that we didn't have to worry. The concierges in the hotel were extremely helpful and polite, quite superb in fact. Indeed everyone on the staff was friendly, extremely polite, and spoke excellent English. We have stayed in a fair number of 5-star hotels but this one especially impressed us by its determination to excel. If we went to Petersburg again, there is no doubt where we would stay.

Room Tip: We only know the Arts Square rooms; ours was perfectly fine for our purposes, and the view of trees...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHotelEurope, Генеральный директор at Belmond Grand Hotel Europe, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your detailed feedback about the recent experience at Belmond Grand Hotel Europe. We deeply appreciate all your comments and feel very proud that our hotel met your expectations.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon to Belmond Grand Hotel Europe for more amazing experiences!


Warm regards,
Sjefke Jansen
General Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Admiralteisky
Four Seasons Hotel Lion Palace St. Petersburg
Four Seasons Hotel Lion Palace S...
#3 of 344 in St. Petersburg
744 reviews
The State Hermitage Museum Offic...
#4 of 344 in St. Petersburg
964 reviews
Admiralteisky
Astoria Hotel
Astoria Hotel
#8 of 344 in St. Petersburg
1,511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nevskiy
Pushka Inn Hotel
Pushka Inn Hotel
#2 of 344 in St. Petersburg
1,535 reviews
Admiralteisky
Domina St.Petersburg
Domina St.Petersburg
#10 of 344 in St. Petersburg
1,126 reviews
Nevskiy
Kempinski Hotel Moika 22
Kempinski Hotel Moika 22
#16 of 344 in St. Petersburg
1,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Grand Hotel Europe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Grand Hotel Europe

Property: Belmond Grand Hotel Europe
Address: Nevskiy Ave., Mikhailovskaya St., 1/7, St. Petersburg 191186, Russia
Phone Number:
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Nevskiy , Palace Square
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
#2 Spa Hotel in St. Petersburg
#4 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
#5 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#7 Luxury Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Grand Hotel Europe 5*
Number of rooms: 266
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A cultural and culinary landmark, Belmond Grand Hotel Europe has played a central role in social, cultural, civic, and business life of St Petersburg for 140 years. Belmond Grand Hotel Europe is located in the very heart of the city centre, on the corner of Nevsky Prospekt and Mikhailovskaya Ulitsa. Positioned adjacent to the Arts Square, the hotel has strong associations with the worlds of theatre, music and ballet. Past guests include Peter Tchaikovsky, Dmitry Shostakovich, Ivan Turgenev, Johann Strauss, George Bernard Shaw, Luciano Pavarotti, crowned heads and world leaders. Today the hotel offers its guests 266 rooms. The hotel's Historic Floor boasts 10 unique suites with individual names, including the Dostoevsky, Romanov and Pavarotti suites. The hotel is home to four welcoming restaurants and bar of the highest international standards. On Fridays, L'Europe Restaurant hosts the hotel's celebrated Tchaikovsky evenings, while another pearl of the hotel's restaurants is the Caviar Bar, where guests can enjoy blini with caviar washed down by ice-cold vodka. Those who enjoy chocolate can make their dreams come true in the hotel's in-house chocolate factory, where they can even order a chocolate grand piano. Located in the heart of the cultural capital of Eastern Europe, Belmond Grand Hotel Europe combines the charm and elegance of 19th century tsarist Russia with the contemporary comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Belmond, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Belmond Grand Hotel Europe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel St Petersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing