We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand Europe is really excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Belmond Grand Hotel Europe
Ranked #8 of 349 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Tehran, Iran
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Grand Europe is really excellent”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

I was in "Europa " last week for 4 nights . before travelling I had checked most of the hotels in ST. Petersburg and when I received the hotel I found it really the same which I intended . main item in my idea was location of the hotel ,It was in best place of Nevsky Prospect ( at most 20 minutes walking to Hermitage ,...).
I should announce my deep appreciation to management and staff of Hotel , perfect cleaning and services , wide rage of selection for breakfast ,... and most important advantage of Hotel was politeness , respectful behavior and manner of anybody who you may contact.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MohammadNejad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHotelEurope, General Manager at Belmond Grand Hotel Europe, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel for your stay in the heart of St Petersburg and for sharing your great experience with TripAdvisor readers. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your time with us.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon to our legendary hotel for more amazing experiences!


Kind regards,
Sjefke Jansen
General Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,575 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,207
    246
    77
    24
    21
See reviews for
241
577
95
334
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Trieste
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

This hotel is great from any point of view: the service, the style of the ambient, the quality of the restaurants. But what I appreciated most is the unusually good sound insulation among the rooms, probably due to the old building criteria for such an historical palace.
Located at a corner of the Nevsky Prospect, close to two Metro station and at a walking
distance from the Hermitage and other major attractions, this hotel is a top choice for visiting S. Petersburg. It is on the expensive side, but if you afford it, it is worth of it.
Its Europe Restaurant has two remarkable "events": on Sunday, there is a great Jazz Brunch, and on Thursday there is "Ballet Dinner", with dancers and classical music. These events, once more, are worth of the money you may pay for them.

Room Tip: The suite I had was perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vesnaldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHotelEurope, General Manager at Belmond Grand Hotel Europe, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your kind review. It is a great pleasure to read that we have been able to provide you a delightful experience.

We all hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you back to Belmond Grand Hotel Europe in a not too distant future.


Sincerely,
Sjefke Jansen
General Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 August 2014

While visiting St Petersburg, you just cannot miss your stay at Belmond Grand Hotel. Right in the center of shopping, night life, and all the action. In house money exchange ATM, walking distance to super market, shops and bars.

Do not miss out dining at L' Europe which serves excellent food. Its a treat to have a romantic dinner with excellent Piano music playing. Rooms are in good condition and very spacious. Choose the terrace rooms which offer excellent view from the terrace and are ideal for families staying next to each other. Overall a fantastic value for luxury.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandeep B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHotelEurope, General Manager at Belmond Grand Hotel Europe, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your review. On behalf of the entire Belmond Grand Hotel Europe team, I would like to pass our appreciation for your very nice comments about your experience with us.

We are hoping to have an opportunity of welcoming you back soon to our hotel.


Sincerely,
Sjefke Jansen
General Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

we stayed here for 3 nights... absolutely fabulous.. the location is the best you can ask for... it is on a quaint street off the main avenue. u can walk to spilled blood cathedral, to the cafes, to mikhailoasky theatre and to Hermitage too!!! the river front is a 20 min walk...

the rooms are big and tastefully done up.

the breakfast spread is amazing...

Room Tip: my room on 3rd floor was facing the street and was quite nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PurPar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHotelEurope, General Manager at Belmond Grand Hotel Europe, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your kind review.

We all hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you back to Belmond Grand Hotel Europe in a not too distant future.


Best regards,
Sjefke Jansen
General Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Stayed at the Grand Hotel Europe for three nights; this is a hotel which aims for high standards, and in general succeeds. Staff are helpful and always available. The rooms are not as spacious as some I have stayed in, but are perfectly adequate. There isn't much to criticise, but if I was being picky I would question why there are no tea and coffee making facilities in the rooms - also why the curtains are too lightweight during the "white nights" in the summer. Overall, though, I would have no problem in staying here again.

The location, by the way, is ideal - just off Nevsky Prospekt, and a short walk from the Church of the Spilled Blood and the Hermitage.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dhanbadman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHotelEurope, Генеральный директор at Belmond Grand Hotel Europe, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking a moment to share your comments on the recent stay at Belmond Grand Hotel Europe. The entire team works very hard to consistently deliver the highest level of service and is touched when efforts are recognized through such positive feedback.

Thank you again for your kind words and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.


Warm regards,
Sjefke Jansen
General Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 July 2014

My daughter and I spent a glorious summer weekend at the Grand Hotel Europe. The kind reception staff went out of their way to have our room prepared so we could check in at 9am, after an overnight train ride from Moscow. In our room, we found the most luscious arrangements of exotic fruits and chocolates from the hotel's chocolate factory. And, out the window, we were treated to stunning views of park and cathedral, with golden onion domes. The hotel architecture is the same mix of neoclassicism and art nouveau that characterizes the architecture of the city. Breakfast takes place in a spectacular dining room. I have never seen such a sumptuous and elegantly presented buffet. I could not possibly list all of the fabulous selections, so I'll just mention that the blinis with sour cream and caviar were my favorites. Food and drink is one of the great pleasures at this hotel - we enjoyed drinks in the hotel's lobby bar, a light dinner in the sidewalk cafe, cappuccinos on the mezzanine, and dinner beautifully served in our room. All of the hotel staff spoke English, very helpful for American travelers in a country where English proficiency is rare. The Grand Hotel truly lives up to its name - we had a grand weekend.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RedArrowTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHotelEurope, Генеральный директор at Belmond Grand Hotel Europe, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your review. On behalf of the entire Belmond Grand Hotel Europe team, I would like to pass our appreciation for your very nice comments about your experience with us.

We are extremely happy to understand that we have been able to meet your expectations, and that you went back home with great memories about your weekend stay at Belmond Grand Hotel Europe.

We are hoping to have an opportunity of welcoming you back soon to our hotel.


Sincerely,
Sjefke Jansen
General Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

This hotel has an excellent location, but until they fix their air-conditioning system and change the mattresses, we will not be back. We were too uncomfortable most of the time and did not consider this to be a five star hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Annice O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHotelEurope, Генеральный директор at Belmond Grand Hotel Europe, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate you having taken the time to share your review. It greatly concerns us to learn that we had not lived up to your expectations and we would like to sincerely apologise for this. Discussions involving the respective departments have taken place to review your valuable comments.

Thank you once again for your continuous support and we are looking forward to the prospects of welcoming you back to our hotel in the not too distant future.

We remain at your disposal for any assistance you may require.


Sincerely,
Sjefke Jansen
General Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Admiralteisky
Four Seasons Hotel Lion Palace St. Petersburg
Four Seasons Hotel Lion Palace S...
#3 of 349 in St. Petersburg
771 reviews
The State Hermitage Museum Offic...
#5 of 349 in St. Petersburg
974 reviews
Admiralteisky
Astoria Hotel
Astoria Hotel
#7 of 349 in St. Petersburg
1,531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nevskiy
Pushka Inn Hotel
Pushka Inn Hotel
#2 of 349 in St. Petersburg
1,564 reviews
Nevskiy
Kempinski Hotel Moika 22
Kempinski Hotel Moika 22
#16 of 349 in St. Petersburg
1,106 reviews
Admiralteisky
Domina St.Petersburg
Domina St.Petersburg
#10 of 349 in St. Petersburg
1,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Grand Hotel Europe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Grand Hotel Europe

Property: Belmond Grand Hotel Europe
Address: Nevskiy Ave., Mikhailovskaya St., 1/7, St. Petersburg 191186, Russia
Phone Number:
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Nevskiy , Palace Square
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
#3 Spa Hotel in St. Petersburg
#4 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
#5 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#8 Luxury Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Grand Hotel Europe 5*
Number of rooms: 266
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A cultural and culinary landmark, Belmond Grand Hotel Europe has played a central role in social, cultural, civic, and business life of St Petersburg for 140 years. Belmond Grand Hotel Europe is located in the very heart of the city centre, on the corner of Nevsky Prospekt and Mikhailovskaya Ulitsa. Positioned adjacent to the Arts Square, the hotel has strong associations with the worlds of theatre, music and ballet. Past guests include Peter Tchaikovsky, Dmitry Shostakovich, Ivan Turgenev, Johann Strauss, George Bernard Shaw, Luciano Pavarotti, crowned heads and world leaders. Today the hotel offers its guests 266 rooms. The hotel's Historic Floor boasts 10 unique suites with individual names, including the Dostoevsky, Romanov and Pavarotti suites. The hotel is home to four welcoming restaurants and bar of the highest international standards. On Fridays, L'Europe Restaurant hosts the hotel's celebrated Tchaikovsky evenings, while another pearl of the hotel's restaurants is the Caviar Bar, where guests can enjoy blini with caviar washed down by ice-cold vodka. Those who enjoy chocolate can make their dreams come true in the hotel's in-house chocolate factory, where they can even order a chocolate grand piano. Located in the heart of the cultural capital of Eastern Europe, Belmond Grand Hotel Europe combines the charm and elegance of 19th century tsarist Russia with the contemporary comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Belmond, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Belmond Grand Hotel Europe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel St Petersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing