We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Belmond Grand Hotel Europe
Ranked #9 of 364 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 August 2014

I stayed in the hotel for 9 nights in August and everything was great.
Beautiful hotel,great service.Everything was perfect.
A special thank you to all of the staff that provides butler service.The were amazing.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank gross77777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHotelEurope, Генеральный директор at Belmond Grand Hotel Europe, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your kind review. It is a great pleasure to read that we have been able to provide you a delightful experience.

We all hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you back to Belmond Grand Hotel Europe in a not too distant future.


Sincerely,
Sjefke Jansen
General Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,703)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

484 - 490 of 1,703 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2014

Six of us enjoyed four nights at this stunning hotel. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff and we were bowled over by their friendliness and helpfulness. The Tchaikovsky dinner was outstanding- worth every kopek. Our rooms were lovely, towels were changed constantly, bathrobes and red slippers were waiting in the luxurious bathroom. You HAVE to go there.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Rhoslyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHotelEurope, Генеральный директор at Belmond Grand Hotel Europe, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you most sincerely for your highly positive feedback on the Belmond Grand Hotel Europe experience.

We deeply appreciate your comments and feel very proud that our hotel met your expectations. It is our ambition to provide exceptional service and your very kind words are encouraging and much appreciated by all of us.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you back soon to our hotel in a not too distant future.


Warm regards,
Sjefke Jansen
General Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Thus is one of Europe's grand hotels, taking up a block from the Nevsky prospect. It is right in the heart of St Petersburg, well positioned for hotels, shopping, sightseeing. Service is what the hotel is famous for, and this was our experience. Nothing was too difficult for them. We are a family of 4, and had 2 interconnecting deluxe rooms. The rooms were spacious and elegantly furnished, quiet with comfortable beds. However, there were building works in progress with jackhammers from 10 am to 6 pm for 5 of our days, with no word of warning or explanation from the hotel - this is not acceptable for such an establishment. The issue is often one of luxury vs comfort: tea and coffee making facilities were not standard in the rooms, and we has to request an iron and ironing board.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank MP59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHotelEurope, Генеральный директор at Belmond Grand Hotel Europe, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear Guest,

We sincerely thank you for the comments you've shared with other readers and contributors on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to read that you were impressed by our service, while it greatly concerns us to learn about inconvenience caused by construction works and we would like to sincerely apologise for this.

Thank you once again for your continuous support and we are looking forward to the prospects of welcoming you back to Belmond Grand Hotel Europe in the not too distant future.


Kind regards,
Sjefke Jansen
General Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

The staff was solicitous, helpful, unobtrusive, savvy, and eager to please. We were aided with reservations at both reasonable and exceptional restaurants. They always had their fingers on the pulse of what was interesting and worthwhile. The staff was proud of their beautiful city and made every effort to make us feel comfortable despite a slightly tense current political situation in the world. The main bar, caviar bar and restaurant were stunning in food and drink. I had the best cosmopolitan of my life and the next night was tutored through vodkas and caviar by their in-house sommelier. We also enjoyed delightful wines. The value for money was excellent.

Room Tip: Our room was on an interior courtyard but still lovely. They do have excellent terrace rooms I hear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHotelEurope, General Manager at Belmond Grand Hotel Europe, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel for your stay in the heart of St Petersburg and for sharing your great experience with TripAdvisor readers. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your time with us.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon to our legendary hotel for more amazing experiences!


Kind regards,
Sjefke Jansen
General Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel for one week in August and found it to be of the highest standard. nothing was too much trouble for the staff. The only down side , we felt, was the lack of drink making facilities in the room

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Min607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHotelEurope, General Manager at Belmond Grand Hotel Europe, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear Guest,

We sincerely thank you for the comments you've shared with other readers and contributors on TripAdvisor.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon to our legendary hotel for more amazing experiences!


Sincerely,
Sjefke Jansen
General Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

I am lost for words to describe how wonderful this hotel is. Beautiful staff, wonderful and spacious rooms, great restaurants and bars and an amazing location. One of life's great experiences and privileges to have stayed here. The Europe brunch on Sundays... Wow
This hotel is not cheap but do yourself a favor. One of the best experiences I have had

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHotelEurope, General Manager at Belmond Grand Hotel Europe, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your review. On behalf of the entire Belmond Grand Hotel Europe team, I would like to pass our appreciation for your very nice comments about your experience with us.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon to Belmond Grand Hotel Europe!


Best regards,
Sjefke Jansen
General Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We spent three nights in an upgraded room with a charming view of the cupolas of the Church of Spilled Blood and the Russian Museum of Art. The hotel was well located for walking to some of the more popular sights, including the Hermitage Museum Theater and to the shops and metro stop on Nevsky Prospect. The breakfast buffet was outstanding, and we were pleased with their special attention to our particular dietary needs.

Room Tip: There are only a few rooms facing the park which are quiet and have good views. (We stayed in rm 405...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LegacyMediator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHotelEurope, General Manager at Belmond Grand Hotel Europe, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear Guest,

We sincerely thank you for the comments you've shared with other readers and contributors on TripAdvisor.

We all hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you back to Belmond Grand Hotel Europe in a not too distant future.


Sincerely,
Sjefke Jansen
General Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Admiralteisky
Four Seasons Hotel Lion Palace St. Petersburg
Four Seasons Hotel Lion Palace S...
#3 of 364 in St. Petersburg
901 reviews
Admiralteisky
Astoria Hotel
Astoria Hotel
#7 of 364 in St. Petersburg
1,706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nevskiy
Pushka Inn Hotel
Pushka Inn Hotel
#2 of 364 in St. Petersburg
1,691 reviews
Nevskiy
Kempinski Hotel Moika 22
Kempinski Hotel Moika 22
#16 of 364 in St. Petersburg
1,198 reviews
Admiralteisky
W St. Petersburg
W St. Petersburg
#20 of 364 in St. Petersburg
1,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Grand Hotel Europe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Grand Hotel Europe

Address: Nevskiy Ave., Mikhailovskaya St., 1/7, St. Petersburg 191186, Russia
Phone Number:
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Nevskiy , Palace Square
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
#4 Spa Hotel in St. Petersburg
#4 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#4 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
#9 Luxury Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range: £114 - £799 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Grand Hotel Europe 5*
Number of rooms: 266
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A cultural and culinary landmark, Belmond Grand Hotel Europe has played a central role in social, cultural, civic, and business life of St Petersburg for 140 years. Belmond Grand Hotel Europe is located in the very heart of the city centre, on the corner of Nevsky Prospekt and Mikhailovskaya Ulitsa. Positioned adjacent to the Arts Square, the hotel has strong associations with the worlds of theatre, music and ballet. Past guests include Peter Tchaikovsky, Dmitry Shostakovich, Ivan Turgenev, Johann Strauss, George Bernard Shaw, Luciano Pavarotti, crowned heads and world leaders. Today the hotel offers its guests 266 rooms. The hotel's Historic Floor boasts 10 unique suites with individual names, including the Dostoevsky, Romanov and Pavarotti suites. The hotel is home to four welcoming restaurants and bar of the highest international standards. On Fridays, L'Europe Restaurant hosts the hotel's celebrated Tchaikovsky evenings, while another pearl of the hotel's restaurants is the Caviar Bar, where guests can enjoy blini with caviar washed down by ice-cold vodka. Those who enjoy chocolate can make their dreams come true in the hotel's in-house chocolate factory, where they can even order a chocolate grand piano. Located in the heart of the cultural capital of Eastern Europe, Belmond Grand Hotel Europe combines the charm and elegance of 19th century tsarist Russia with the contemporary comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Belmond Grand Hotel Europe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel St Petersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing