We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bediz”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Belmond Grand Hotel Europe
Ranked #8 of 349 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Bediz”
Reviewed 29 May 2010

Excellent comfort, taste and very historical. It is may be the hotel of all. Strongly recommended.

Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank BedizK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,574 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,207
    246
    76
    24
    21
See reviews for
241
576
95
334
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 March 2010

An excellent hotel, located in the historic centre of St Petersburg, and it deserves its five stars. The room was excellent, the staff were kind and attentive. Its restaurant l'Europe is impressive with its art noveau interior. Our dinner there was among the best meals I've ever had.The Jazz brunch on Sunday afternoons was nice.

I will certainly return here on next visits to St Petersburg!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fraggle_explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate UK
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2010

White Nights package for my wife's 50th in St Petersburg. Really well looked after with limo from airport, glass of champagne on arrival and great room with view over Arts Sq. and Church on Spilled Blood. Massive breakfast choice from buffet while serenaded by harpist. Seems to be high quality music most evenings. 3 hr private tour of Hermitage really excellent and exactly as described on website including car to drop us off and pick up. Hotel has private box at Kirov where we saw La Bayadere....great seats, and once again all travel included.
St Petersberg itself lived up to expectations and despite offers of lifts from hotel we walked from hotel to all major attractions. V cold (-20 C on arrival, snowing and max temp below freezing for duration, River Neva frozen over and fair bit of snow on ground) but not a major issue if wearing boots, longjohns below trousers, hat, gloves & scarf. No queues at all anywhere.
All in all a great time of year to visit. Hotel exceptional with touches such as chocs & champagne in room and "Happy Birthday" sung by russian singers in Caviar Bar. The only negative I can think of is that WFI access was not free!
A great long weekend in a really classy establishment

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ridavidson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2009

This hotel was fantastic however the food was very pricy. On arriving in the evening I wanted a light dinner and chose to eat at the Italian restaurant in the hotel. I had a fish soup and a vegetarian pasta. When I got the bill I nearly fell off my chair and could not understand why the bill was so much. On checking the items the bowl of soup was the equivalent of 24GBP ! The soup was a 'clear' soup with 2 pieces of salmon 2 pieces of white fish 2 prawns and one scallop. The soup was twice the price of the main course. So beware if you order fish (other than Pike Perch) at this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Foodforthoughtsurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2009

Cannot imagine returning to St Petersburg and not staying here! This hotel made our trip ! ~Our room was absolutely beautiful with the view of Nevski Prospekt and was a real haven to return to at the end of a busy days sightseeing. The location is excellent and we were able to walk to all the major sights. The staff at Guest relations were extremely helpful in ensuring that you were able to enjoy the city,its theatres and restaurants to the full. Thank you for a memorable stay !

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GeordieScotlandUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MIlano
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2009

I was in St Petersburg during the White Nights and I staied at Grand Hotel Europe. It is definetly one of the best hotel I never been! Its location is great and the palace is amazing. I also tried the Caviar Bar of the Gran Hotel Europe and I had a superb dinner with caviar and vodka. All the staff are very kind and available and also the rooms are spacious and very comfortable! I do recommend Grand Hotel Europe!

Stayed July 2008, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank SandraViaggi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2009

Recently, my wife and I celebrated our first anniversary at the GHE in St. Petersburg. We live in Russia and wanted to somehow make our day special so we chose this hotel. And, I can say that from the moment we made our reservation until the moment we checked out, the care, attention to detail from the staff as well as Thomas Noll, the General Director, was absolutely 5 Star!

When we arrived, every single person knew our names and why we were there. Our room, a recently rennovated historic suite, was simply spectacular and awaiting us was an amazing bouquet and a great bottle of Champagne.

We had a dinner with some close friends in the Chopstix restaurant and then went out on the town. Upon return, our room has been transformed into a rose-petal impressionist painting! Everywhere they were perfectly tossed about and formed a heart on the bed!

Special hand-written notes from the hotel staff as well as Mr. Noll truly made us feel like royalty!

An unbelievable expeience, so much so that we plan on celebrating other big dates at the hotel--we were left regretting that we had to leave the next day but promised ourselves we would certainly return.

I recommend this hotel to everyone!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank harry2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Admiralteisky
Four Seasons Hotel Lion Palace St. Petersburg
Four Seasons Hotel Lion Palace S...
#3 of 349 in St. Petersburg
772 reviews
The State Hermitage Museum Offic...
#5 of 349 in St. Petersburg
975 reviews
Admiralteisky
Astoria Hotel
Astoria Hotel
#7 of 349 in St. Petersburg
1,531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nevskiy
Pushka Inn Hotel
Pushka Inn Hotel
#2 of 349 in St. Petersburg
1,564 reviews
Nevskiy
Kempinski Hotel Moika 22
Kempinski Hotel Moika 22
#16 of 349 in St. Petersburg
1,108 reviews
Admiralteisky
Domina St.Petersburg
Domina St.Petersburg
#10 of 349 in St. Petersburg
1,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Grand Hotel Europe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Grand Hotel Europe

Property: Belmond Grand Hotel Europe
Address: Nevskiy Ave., Mikhailovskaya St., 1/7, St. Petersburg 191186, Russia
Phone Number:
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Nevskiy , Palace Square
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
#3 Spa Hotel in St. Petersburg
#4 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
#5 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#8 Luxury Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Grand Hotel Europe 5*
Number of rooms: 266
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A cultural and culinary landmark, Belmond Grand Hotel Europe has played a central role in social, cultural, civic, and business life of St Petersburg for 140 years. Belmond Grand Hotel Europe is located in the very heart of the city centre, on the corner of Nevsky Prospekt and Mikhailovskaya Ulitsa. Positioned adjacent to the Arts Square, the hotel has strong associations with the worlds of theatre, music and ballet. Past guests include Peter Tchaikovsky, Dmitry Shostakovich, Ivan Turgenev, Johann Strauss, George Bernard Shaw, Luciano Pavarotti, crowned heads and world leaders. Today the hotel offers its guests 266 rooms. The hotel's Historic Floor boasts 10 unique suites with individual names, including the Dostoevsky, Romanov and Pavarotti suites. The hotel is home to four welcoming restaurants and bar of the highest international standards. On Fridays, L'Europe Restaurant hosts the hotel's celebrated Tchaikovsky evenings, while another pearl of the hotel's restaurants is the Caviar Bar, where guests can enjoy blini with caviar washed down by ice-cold vodka. Those who enjoy chocolate can make their dreams come true in the hotel's in-house chocolate factory, where they can even order a chocolate grand piano. Located in the heart of the cultural capital of Eastern Europe, Belmond Grand Hotel Europe combines the charm and elegance of 19th century tsarist Russia with the contemporary comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Belmond, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Belmond Grand Hotel Europe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel St Petersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing