We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A 2 - 3 star hotel disguised as a 4 star hotel”
Review of Oktyabrskaya Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Oktyabrskaya Inn
Ranked #167 of 362 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Reviewed 16 August 2012

The place has the potential to be a 4 star hotel, unfortunately I would qualified it as a 2 - 3 star level. It does have some areas that could be considered as a 4 star hotel such as the small cafe right after the entrance in the left side, the size and architecture of the building. The location of the hotel is also quite good. Unfortunaly the owner of the hotel probably tried to save money when refurbishing the building - and one can see that!!! The carpets are made from bad quality fabrics and they are much too old, the receiption desk which is one of the most important areas in the hotel looks cheap and ugly... the painture used and quality of work is poor and some it has some other disturbing features.

Some facts about my staying. The price did not included taxes, breakfast or Wifi internet. Even after paying for the use of Wifi, I found out that it does not work in my room. You can only surf in public areas close to the elevators. I logged in for the first time with my cell phone and found out that it was not possible to log in with a different device. So I had to pay again to use my laptop. The price was not expensive but it is normally free in most of hotels.

I especially required for a quiet room so they gave me a room facing the backyard. When I opened the window I could see that the ventilation system machinery of the hotel with a huge fan and tubes where right in front of it approximatly 2 meters from the window (room 2036) so I did not have any natural light in my room. The sound was not so bad, until the morning when I woke up due to a high disturbing noice. The fan was running at higher speeds! How can they use such a room in a 4 star hotel?

I know that one can find a more convenient accommodation in St. Petersburg for a much lower price. Perhaps it does not have a 4 stars qualification but you can get a quiet, clean room in a refurbished smaller hotel with internet wifi working in your room at price 30% lower than this hotel. It is a pity because because Oktiabrskaya does have great potential.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank countrytrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (501)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 501 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2012

Our hotel was apart of the Oktyabrskaya hotel but was across the street in another building. The intersection the hotel was above was loud and the windows do little to keep out the noise. But I found the city noises not to be burdonsome. Some of the members of the group I traveled with however did not take to the noise so well. Of course, the fact that a local singer camped out under their window every night and played for hours did not help. Unfourtunately he was not gifted in song. Overall however, I think noise is to be expected when one stays in a city center. Despite the noise, it was nice to look out from the windows onto the busy intersection, and the hotel is conveniently close to the moscow train station. Also main attractions are only a hop on the metro away (very cheap) or a slight walk, which when you consider the scenery is actually quite nice. Breakfast is included and provided in a French Cafe , that is inside the hotel. The cafe is darling and the breakfast is pretty quality. The eggs/omelets are bland but the homemade bread and jam account for their slump. Fresh squeezed orange juice, smoothie, teas, and coffee are available for drinks. Also lots of meats and cheeses and little venesian hot dogs (craving). Unfortunately, that is for english speakers, little english is spoken, but this can be said for a large ammount of Russia. The cafe is darling and overall very charming. The hotel is clean and the lobby is simple yet elegant with a beautiful, intricate, green staircase. Old small chandeliars also hang throughout. Through out the hotel there are tall ceilings (in rooms too). The rooms are not fantastic but decent with red carpets, and two small beds (at least in our room). Tv and fridge included. Bathroom is fine. Hotel was nice enough to let us leave our stuff in a room for out last day, after check out time. The halls smell smokey, but smoke seems inevitable every where you go in the city. Overall wonderful stay. Isn't by any means a luxury hotel, but is decent and a good price. Would stay here again. Metro is literally right outside door.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
2  Thank blome25744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

My wife and I recently spent six nights at this hotel. It is located within walking distance from the Central Railway Station, and also the main shopping district of St Petersburg. This is an old hotel which has been renovated. The rooms are small, and of average quality, and is popular with tour companies. We stayed there as this was the conference hotel. The breakfast, and dinner buffets was above average, and was mostly geared to tour groups. The staff were found to be somewhat unfriendly. I am not in a position to comment on the room rates as compared to similar hotels in St Petersburg, as we selected this hotel because of a conference.

Most of St Petersburg's major tourist attractions are easily reached by metro, or by bus. The Hermitage, Museum, the Neva River, and others are about three kilometres away, although a pleasant walk.

Room Tip: Request a room towards the back of the hotel so that traffic noise does not interfere with sleep. Ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Don B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2012

Traveled with a youth group to beautiful St. Petersburg. Highly recommend visiting this city and spending some time there! We stayed a little over a week and still had more to see. Would stay here again.

Large hotel was very convenient, right on main drag, Nevsky Prospekt, so easy to walk most places, subway station right across the street, bus stops also nearby. Big mall across the street with even a grocery store, shops and eateries. (Can buy bottled water, don't drink tap!) Careful of pickpockets while walking, on buses, etc.

Rooms were clean, quiet, mostly ok. Some rooms have been refurbed, others not. Our room had a thermostat but AC did not work (we were there in June with 80 degree weather). No screens on the windows so when we opened them at night, got eaten by mosquitos. Lucky, some others in our group wanted to switch rooms so we got one that had AC that worked and had nice sitting area. I heard rooms on street side may be noisy. During summer, SPb is a city that never sleeps!

Breakfast in hotel is usually included--nice big buffet with plenty to eat. Nice bar, lobby area for relaxing. ATMs in lobby to get rubles. Our trip was preplanned so don't know how helpful staff is for activities.

Room Tip: If you want quiet, ask for one on other side from street. Ask for screens on windows if summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank califdreamingirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2011

Having just returned from Russia this month staying for 5 nights at the Hotel Oktiabrskaya. It's in a good position for walking the city ( which is a feat in itself) the hotel is from the Soviet period with a huge presence on Ligovskiy Prospect.
It's plain simple and clean......a no frills Russian approach to 4 star accommodation. We booked a comfort twin which was up from the standard rooms......the.comfort twin room to me is of a normal standard room conditon.
The bathrooms are 1980's clean with shower of the bath. Breakfast was basic with shocking coffee......little choice of cereals...eggs bolied only choice.
If you want a good locale but don;t mind a little Soviet lack of style sticking in the 1980's it's not a bad deal. But for creature comforts....don;t book the Oktiabrskaya.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GiulianaSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2011

I had to re-book my hotel in SPB at last minute, so just choosed one, this one, on internet. For a very convenient price I statyed 4 nights. The place is really easy to find, a few steps from metro station. When you enter the place looks like nothing special, and also the room is basic, but it has all you might need, including a very large bathtub to soak in, with great pressure of hot water coming. I was positively surprised about the quality of sleep I had here. Very silent place, they hav mosquito net at the windows, so you can leave them open if you need more air. I made great sleep!
They offer many services downstairs and the people at the lobby are nice and professional. The last surprise was, as I had to departure, that the hotel is located less then 5 minutes away from the station of trains going to Moscow! I didn't know and it was really really convenient. So my suggestion is to book here without esitation, because of its great location and the great convenience in term of quality/price

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sailko1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Small room but clean, cheap, great staff. Missed meals at restaurant but seemed nice. Room was very clean. Small but well kept. Would call this a great launching point. Close to local bars and restaurants. Secure with door man 24/7. Large hotel so good availibility. Luggage check room very handy and secure.

Room Tip: Under renovation on NW side, avoid the construction area. Wasn't an issue for me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DEWDENVER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Vladimir
Best Western Plus Centre Hotel
Best Western Plus Centre Hotel
#130 of 362 in St. Petersburg
364 reviews
Nevskiy
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#248 of 362 in St. Petersburg
29 reviews
Nevskiy
Roses Hotel
Roses Hotel
#72 of 362 in St. Petersburg
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nevskiy
Novotel St. Petersburg Centre
Novotel St. Petersburg Centre
#36 of 362 in St. Petersburg
1,311 reviews
Suvorov Hotel
#237 of 362 in St. Petersburg
39 reviews
Nevskiy
Akyan St.Petersburg
Akyan St.Petersburg
#12 of 362 in St. Petersburg
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oktyabrskaya Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oktyabrskaya Inn

Address: Ligovskiy Ave., 10, St. Petersburg 191036, Russia
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#70 Luxury Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range: £32 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Oktyabrskaya Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 373
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CITYTEL Hotel Oktiabrskaya **** is located in the historical heart of Saint-Petersburg in the business,cultural and social life center of Nothern capital.Hotel is situated on the crossroad of Nevsky and Ligovsky prospects, on the Vosstaniya Square, opposite the Moscow Railway Station. CITYTEL Hotel Oktiabrskaya **** offers to guests high level of comfort and European service, original and multifunctional rooms, safety and all necessary features for business meetings or rest with family and friends. Hotel has: restaurant,lobby bar, free WiFi, ATM, currency exchange,safe,lugguage room, beauty salon. Rooms are equipped with air-conditioning,satellite TV, mini refrigerator, telephone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Oktyabrskaya Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oktiabrskaya St Petersburg
Oktiabrskaya Hotel St Petersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing