We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location, nothing more, nothing less.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Moscow Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Moscow Hotel
Ranked #141 of 333 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
82 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Location, nothing more, nothing less.”
Reviewed 10 May 2013 via mobile

I really haven't got much to add to the other comments. The hotel dates from Soviet times, when Big was considered to be Better. Check-In is fuzz-free. There's are enough cash-dispensers and opportunities for changing money. The 'bar' really doesn't deserve that name: I think they want people to go into the beer restaurant which is in the basement. Corridors are loooooooooooong. If you have some problems walking, REMEMBER TO ASK A ROOM CLOSE TO THE ELEVATORS. If you get one of those, there's no problem. Breakfast starts late, 07.30, so at that time there's a long line waiting. Come a bit later, in the end you will eat almost at the same time! Rooms are basic but OK. Nothing special, in a good or bad sense.
One big advantage though: located at the Nevski Prospekt,'the Champs Elysées of Saint Petersburg' it's a perfect location for exploring the city. Right next to a metro station. Across the Alexander Nevski monastery; one of the most important monasteries in Russia. Last tip: if you need a really good coffee, pop into the McDonalds next door; they serve seriously good coffee!

Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Bart v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

843 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    270
    299
    102
    59
See reviews for
107
172
61
215
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
67 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013

I thought other reviewers were kidding about the long walk to the rooms. They weren't kidding. It was a really long walk (5 minutes from the lobby to my room), so don't forget anything in your room and expect to "run back up and get it" really quickly. The drapes don't block the light, so don't expect to sleep late unless you bring a mask. The housekeeping staff was friendly, but the front desk staff was not friendly at all and refused to return my passport until I checked out. Breakfast was disappointing and extremely crowded. On the plus side the hotel is above a metro station and a big grocery store, but there's not much else going for it. I stayed here as part of a tour and didn't get to select the hotel or I would have stayed again at the much smaller and much nicer Pushka Inn Hotel near the Hermitage. I stayed at the Pushka Inn in 2010 and would highly recommend it to anyone visiting St Petersburg.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EUReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these St. Petersburg hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2013

This is a huge hotel that is well located but seriously functional. An extremely long walk to rooms at the far end of the corridors -they should think about offering taxis! Rooms small but functional - don't expect any luxuries or niceties. Staff are fine. Restaurants are fine. When i was there the room temperature seemed to have a mind of its own - it was like having a flame thrower in the room and made it almost impossible to sleep. Only things to recommend this place would be the proximity to the Metro and the supermarket next door. All in all it is just fine!

Room Tip: Get one near the lift!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nonamesleft1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jyvaskyla, Finland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Good location. There is a metro station right next to the hotel and downstairs there is a supermarket that is open 24/7. Hotel rooms are decent, they have fridge, safety box and decent shower and a very old TV. Cleaning staff was not very efficient, but it did not bother me too much. The hotel lobby and the bar inside the hotel has working girls rolling around at night times. So maybe i would not recommend this hotel to a families.

Room Tip: Try to get room with a view to the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank luhnis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rauma
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2013

I and my friends stayed hotel for two nights in february 2013. Cheap hotel, allthough we liked. Nothing fancy but excellent for sleep. Breakfast was OK. Good location, friendly service. Rooms are kinda cheap too but do their job. Clean and quiet hotel. Hotel is huge size. Lots of walking involved when entering your room :)

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristian37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
100 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2013

stayed here for 3 nights. Excellent location, the metro station is just next to it. clean modern rooms. The rooms may not be of the latest design and decor but for what you are paying its good enough. Its close to everything and a good point to start walking and wondering around.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Nur2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mukdahan, Thailand
Level Contributor
38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

I stayed at Hotel Moscow for 2 nights in April 2012. This hotel is very centrally located, being just a few minutes walk off Nevsky Prospect, the main and largest street in St. Petersburg. This proved to be the best part of my stay in this hotel.

The check-in experience was fuss-free. The rooms were spacious enough and they were clean and comfortable. No complains about that. The daily buffet breakfast was alright. Not a whole lot of variety, but still it was acceptable. The only complaint I had was that there were very few seats available, and everyone had to share seats with other guests. Other guests might consider this a cosy arrangement, but to me it was a logistical failure.

The hotel is connected to the adjacent shopping centre, and this proved to be very useful to me as I frequented the shopping cente during my stay there. There were two staircases connecting the hotel to the shopping centre; one at the lobby and the other on one of the guest floors.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to travellers. The rates are reasonable, the place safe and I had a smooth, pleasant experience there.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank time_5d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Hotel Oktyabrskaya
#160 of 333 in St. Petersburg
449 reviews
Nevskiy
Akyan Saint Petersburg
Akyan Saint Petersburg
#11 of 333 in St. Petersburg
464 reviews
Dostoyevskiy Hotel
#192 of 333 in St. Petersburg
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Azimut Hotel Saint Petersburg
#69 of 333 in St. Petersburg
1,230 reviews
Saint Petersburg
#94 of 333 in St. Petersburg
717 reviews
Vasilyevsky Island
Park Inn by Radisson Pribaltiyskaya St Petersburg
Park Inn by Radisson Pribaltiysk...
#100 of 333 in St. Petersburg
1,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moscow Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moscow Hotel

Property: Moscow Hotel
Address: Aleksandra Nevskogo Sq., 2, St. Petersburg 191317, Russia
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in St. Petersburg
#60 Luxury Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Moscow Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 749
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel "Moscow" is one of the best business hotels in St. Petersburg between 4 stars hotels. It is located in the city center near Nevsky Prospekt. The Metro Station "Alexander Nevsky Square-I» is in the building of the hotel. It takes about 15-20 minutes to get to the main historical attractions thanks to excellent transport location. The hotel and restaurant "Moscow" has been approved as a reliable partner by the Chamber of Commerce and Industry of the Russian Federation (CCI of Russia) and included in the list of reliable partners. Magnificent views from the windows of the hotel to the river "Neva", the bridge and the Alexander Nevsky Lavra is exact advantage of the hotel. Our hotel offers: • 737 rooms of different categories (breakfast "buffet" included in the price) • free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel, • air conditioning, • room service 24 hours, • restaurants and 4 banquet rooms with first-class cuisine (up to 1000 guests) • 10 meeting rooms, including 4 cinema halls with modern equipment (up to 400 guests) • parking, • business center, • dry cleaning, laundry, • repair and ironing, • taxi and car rental, • "Moscow" cinema, • shopping center "Moscow" • SPA-salon "Aria" • supermarket, • order air and rail / train tickets, • beauty salon • postal services; concierge service and more. Business atmosphere, convenient location, comfortable rooms, multi-functionality, the whole range of various additional services are the business card of the hotel. Russian and foreign representatives of business, political and cultural community often stay here: everyone who appreciates comfort for work and relax, the high level of service and the good experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Moscow Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Moscow Moskva
Moscow Moskva Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing