We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overlooking the gulf of Finland - what a view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Park Inn by Radisson Pribaltiyskaya St Petersburg
Ranked #97 of 334 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Overlooking the gulf of Finland - what a view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2010

I have just returned from a budget 9 day trip to the Russian Federation - 4 nights in Moscow (Hotel Cosmos in Prospect Mira) and at the Park Inn. Left Moscow at lunchtime and got the new high speed train to St Petersburg (Sapsan?). Arrived at around 5pm to be met by our rep Traffic manic and it took well over an hour to get to the hotel but the trip was interesting as the guide was pointing out sights on the way. Having read the reviews and noted the hotel's location on Google Earth I was still concerned when the final minutes prior to arrival at the hotel were through a building site of new apartments. However the hotel is in a totally built up area. Its an impressive building and the coach parked outside the front door on a hot afternoon and we were immediately inside to a well air conditioned lobby - porterage was not included in this trip because it was a very budget trip however no issues. Check in was swift and efficient however when I got to my room on the 9th floor the key card would not work. I was travelling alone, hot, tired and sweaty and needed a cold drink. Some very helpful Italians who were staying on the corridor came along and they tried to get the door open - no success. So I had to go back to the reception area to get a new key card. This would have been simpler if one of our group had not appointed herself spokesperson and was causing problems at the front desk. The new key card in hand and I was in my room within seconds. Noting that there was no fridge and no mini bar I dumped the case and headed to the 24 hour supermarket - as you exit the front entrance of the hotel go down the ramp the car park (to the left) and there is a Chinese restaurant on the corner, next an awful Irish bar and then the supermarket. Got the water etc and back to the hotel were some of our group were still being difficult in reception - some with valid reason and some with none. So up to the room and it was very well refurbished. Clean, cool colours, a fabulous view over the cruise terminal and the Gulf of Finland. Really comfy beds, loads of towels in the bathroom, great flat screen TV with loads of channels, no fridge or hair dryer but a hair dryer could be borrowed from reception. Really clean, quite and cool as the air conditioning was individually controlled. The only issue I had was the rooms were non smoking and as a former smoker I appreciate that. However some of the group were smokers - a couple just ignored the signs in their rooms but one lady did have the respect to ask to be moved to a smoking room. The response from the reception was that the smoking rooms were unrefurbished and she should take an ashtray from the bar and try to smoke out the window!!!

The breakfast area is just to the left of the reception area (with your back to reception). A great selection of hot and cold items. The area is divided in two and they try to fill one area up before they allow people to enter the other so shared tables is the norm. Once again some of our group ignored requests from the staff member on door and decided to go to the fresh buffet in the almost empty area rather than share a table.

There are exchange machines in the reception area, shops, a bar (which serves a great selection of bar food including scrummy cakes) and the restaurant which I ate in twice - the Grill - great food, reasonable prices and fabulous service. I had two wonderful courses one night of a seafood chowder followed by free range chicken with butternut squash and other veg and a bottle of Russian sparkling wine for around 30 euro - excellent value by anyone's standards for the quality of food. Food and drink prices were substantially cheaper than in Moscow.

For individual guests the hotel runs a shuttle to and from Nevsky Prospect in the center or the city. However there are local buses just outside the hotel. I preferred to use the metro which was cheap (22 roubles - about 60 cents). Exit the hotel and cross the road. Walk straight down to the end of the road (about 5 minutes). Turn left and walk another 5 minutes, cross a bridge over a nearly dried up canal and turn right into a mini shopping area and there is the metro station. (Note you will see a place called "the Pub" at the entrance to the shopping area. On my first time using the metro out of time I wanted a beer and something familiar like a toasted sandwich so I stopped off here and found that it was a bit on the trendy side - but very professionally run and comfortable. I had a starter of a warm salad of scallops and chicken livers, a main of chicken with a curry sauce and a large beer and it came to 520 roubles - about 14 euro and amazing value.

If you leave the hotel and go down through the car park and turn left you will arrive at the "beach" - coarse sand but the Gulf of Finland and you can watch the cruise ships come and go. There were complaints from our group but there will always be complaints from group travel but the general consensus from our group was that it was a lovely hotel and excellent value for money as well as being conveniently situated. Those who complained seemed to think that they would be based just opposite the Hermitage. So you get what you pay for and in this case I think we got more.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mtek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,234 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    231
    392
    375
    145
    91
See reviews for
148
196
52
547
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Turkey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2010

So big hotel,but very nice.Every day clean rooms,delicius breakfast,interesting but friendly staff! Idont hope friendly staff but i'm wrong. Baltic sea wiews,cold but clean weather,everything was great.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank orcun90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greifswald
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2010

There are probably much better places to stay in St. Petersburg. Pribaltiskaya is a huge hotel (> 2000 beds) in a remote location, nothing worth to see in the direct surrounding of it. It takes app. 30 minutes to go downtown by bus or metro (10 minutes distance). Service is chaotic, breakfast low standard. Rooms are ok. WiFi costs extra. Prices in the bar / restaurant much too high. Never order a taxi in the hotel, the ones they get you are double of the normal price!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pepe-Lorenzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2010

Visited my daughter in St Petersburg and fell in love with the city. I stayed in one of the newly renovated rooms and it was beautiful, clean and had a lovely view of the Gulf of Finland and Aquapark. Breakfast great with lots of variety. Location not a problem, since the hotel has transport to and from city centre.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tertiabu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2009

I stayed at Park Inn Pribaltiskaya from 28 Sept till 05 Oct . The rooms are big and comfortable . The room service have no provision to make your food warm ( micro wave) if you are carrying your food from outside. I opted for a laundry service ( 29.09.2009) and paid for the charges at the time of delivery at my room for which I was given a receipt. But while checking out I was asked for making of payment once again as their computer shows the due amount ( Ru 200.00) . However, I was lucky enough to keep my bill with me from the first day and even after showing the bill it took nearly 15 mins. for them to settle.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tito1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
385 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,030 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2009

you need to pay when you need to borrow a water boiler. no internet. when I went there they still under a renovation. Bad interior, restaurant just ok. looking at my room, I aware the room was just finished their renovation, but its great to see a clean room, after an old lobby.

russian, please learn to smile. esp for a hotel. btw this is doesnt looks like 4 star hotel at all.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PapayaMelon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2009

I stayed at the Park Inn Pribaltiskaya hotel for several nights in June ’09 as part of a tour group. The hotel is a former Soviet -era Intourist behemoth (1000s of rooms!) recently brought up to date as a member of the Park Inn group. But although the hotel has lots of useful services you would expect of an at least three-star hotel and the rooms now have modern Park Inn-branded furnishings (though the underfloor heating in the bathroom can make it stuffy) most will find its location too remote to select this hotel as a first choice.

But what to do if you’re part of an organised tour and this is your hotel? Don’t panic. On offer within, or accessed from, the hotel are: a number of restaurants serving a range of cuisines (but don’t expect the hotel staff to be able to adapt anything or deal with vegetarians, dairy free or gluten free requests – their English is simply not that expansive. Stock up on snacks elsewhere), a breakfast room with decent selection to fit most palates, room service, several bars, three souvenir shops and stands (very friendly and helpful staff, especially the kiosk to the left of reception), ATMs, internet access, a water park and spa, and a view out to the Gulf of Finland

If you want to get into St Petersburg the hotel runs a private, though limited, day time shuttle service with several departures during the day though you will need to ask the reception staff about this (they give out printed timetables), as it’s not in the hotel room information guide. Although others here have noted you can’t use the shuttle if you are part of a tour group, we didn’t find any information to confirm this.

Alternatively, a local bus line takes can take you right into the heart of central St Petersburg and leaves from the bus stop across the plaza directly in front of the hotel. It costs about 18 roubles one-way. Several of our group used this bus without any problems; hotel concierge staff can provide further information. There is also a smaller local bus that does a run between this bus stop and the nearest Metro station.

If you need water, snacks, soft drinks there is a small supermarket in the building to the left of the hotel (on exit) with a decent selection of staples, including fruit. There is also a small pharmacy located here too.

But even with extensive services on offer in the hotel, the comfortable rooms, and the transport on the doorstep, I wouldn’t recommend staying here as why waste valuable time “commuting” twenty to thirty minutes into the centre of town? If you have a choice, select from the large number of Western style or updated Soviet-era hotels within the central city instead.

  • Stayed June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RubyBaby17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Park Inn By Radisson Pulkovskaya
#76 of 334 in St. Petersburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,160 reviews
Park Inn by Radisson Nevsky St. ...
#62 of 334 in St. Petersburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 962 reviews
Admiralteisky
Hotel Moyka 5
Hotel Moyka 5
#111 of 334 in St. Petersburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vasilyevsky Island
MFK Gorniy
MFK Gorniy
#201 of 334 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Vasilyevsky Island
Courtyard St. Petersburg Vasilievsky
Courtyard St. Petersburg Vasilie...
#44 of 334 in St. Petersburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Radisson Royal Hotel, St.Petersb...
#194 of 334 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Inn by Radisson Pribaltiyskaya St Petersburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Inn by Radisson Pribaltiyskaya St Petersburg

Property: Park Inn by Radisson Pribaltiyskaya St Petersburg
Address: Korablestroitelei St., V.O., 14, St. Petersburg 199226, Russia
Phone Number:
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Vasilyevsky Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Luxury Hotel in St. Petersburg
#83 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Inn by Radisson Pribaltiyskaya St Petersburg 4*
Number of rooms: 1200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High-rise Hotel set on northwestern part of Vasilyevsky Island in the Gulf of Finland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rezidor, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park Inn by Radisson Pribaltiyskaya St Petersburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Inn Pribaltiyskaya St Petersburg Hotel St. Petersburg
Park Inn St Petersburg
Pribaltiyskaya Park Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing