We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Possible Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel Emerald
Ranked #92 of 359 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Reviewed 16 May 2011

My colleagues and I travelled to St Petersburg and arrived late in the evening.
Upon getting into the restaurant in the Grand Hotel Emerald around 9.45pm, we waited for someone to take our drinks order. It took 20 minutes to do that and at 11.45am, some of us had not even received our starters which was a simple rocket salad. Even to get 3 drinks we were told 10 minutes, which turned into 20. There were no more than 12 people in the restaurant. The Service was appalling. One of the restaurants main staff took our orders yet upon challenging them regarding our starters and some of the main course meals, they couldn't remember.
Sadly, no matter how much we complained, they would only offer 50% discount on food we never received.
The Room service isn't much better.

Room Tip: Don't bother.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Service
9  Thank backonthejet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (224)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

54 - 60 of 224 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2010

I have stayed here a couple of times while in St. Pete. It is a old style posh hotel with a nice attrium where you can have meals and good rooms. It is 10 min walking distance from the Metro and about 20 min walking from Nevksy Pospect. It provides a good price performance ratio.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geerlings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2010

Very classy hotel. A good 20 minutes from Nevsky Prospect which is the main street. Alot of the staff speak russian and english with a select few speaking other languages.

There is a swimming pool you have to book, but the gym is free as is the sauna.

If you get a room that is not look in to the atrium your doing extremely well. The food of an evening is ok But you get more choice if you go out on To Nevsky prospect.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jrpuk_westmids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2009

I just came back after 5 nights spent at this this hotel in St. Petersburg and overall I was very happy with my stay.

The style of the hotel is quite old fashion, i.e. not sleek, modern and minimalist, but the room was impeccably clean, the service was excellent and the stuff was very friendly.
I got a great deal with one night free through Expedia, so it was good value for money. My room (603) was on a high floor and it was quiet and no smoking just as I requested. Breakfast was great, dinner (although a bit pretentious) was also good. Concierge was very helpful and also the beauty center has been a pleasant experience.
For a solo traveller and for a single woman it is also a safe place to stay, although late at night I would not recommend to walk north along Suvorovsky Prospect.

The location is the only downside if you want to be at walking distance from the main attractions, as the hotel is at 10 min walk from the metro and it takes at least 30 min to reach the Hermitage. But I did not mind taking the bus (n.5,7 and 11 take all to the center) and the bus stop was literally outside the door.

Overall a positive experience!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank triestina76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2009

I knew that hotels in Sankt Petersburg are expensive and don’t offer the best services. It turned out to be true for this hotel also.
Here are some facts I did not like:
- The rooms had no opening windows; the view was to an inner court. When we asked for one of our 4 rooms to have a window that can be opened for the smokers in our group we were told they don't have any available. After we offered some money (bribe) to the receptionist she found a room!
- You had to pay about 90 Euros for the swimming pool! For this amount you booked it for an hour and for maximum 8 people. There was no other way to use it!
- The breakfast consisted of poor quality products that always run out (especially during the first days when a larger group was staying in the hotel). You had to pay extra for an espresso and there was no way to order an omelet, pancakes or waffles.
- The main sights of the city were not within easy walking distance. Even the Metro station was not very close!
The only thing I liked was the free WiFi internet access!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Vlad M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2009

This hotel is 3 long blocks on Suvorovsky Prospect, off Nevsky Prospect beyond the Moskovsky Station roundabout. It is newly built 3 or 4 years ago, to a very high standard. Rooms are large, nice storage, spacious modern bathrooms, and a chadelier! Half the rooms face the streets and half are facing the central atrium. Staff was very helpful and English fluent (enough). Very basic stores are nearby, and public transit fruns in front and to Nevsky and the palace areas, if you can figure it out. It has a very nice and well priced Russian resaurant in house. The breakfast buffet was extremely well done and luxurious. Service here is a very high quiet standard. Its main drawback is its location, but it is manageable with taxis, buses, and, though long, you can walk to all the major attractions about Nevsky. There is a casino too.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SanFranciscoBodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2009

From the moment I arrived at the hotel, everyone was really friendly, the room was super, with a large bathroom, everything looked very new and the hotel and my room were spotless.
The restaurant in the Hotel was very high quality, excellent choice of wines, good, prompt service, and even something for vegetarians, with a special 'lent' menu.
You can hire cars by the hour with a driver , for a resonable rate , to look round the city or to (sadly) , as I did, drive to the airport.
They even have an in house Casino....
All in all an excellent hotel that I can but recommend to anyone having the good fortune to stay in St Petersburg.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mannheimer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Vasilyevsky Island
Solo Sokos Hotel Palace Bridge
Solo Sokos Hotel Palace Bridge
#32 of 359 in St. Petersburg
1,509 reviews
Baltic Star Hotel
#1 of 2 in Strelna
92 reviews
Admiralteisky
W St. Petersburg
W St. Petersburg
#19 of 359 in St. Petersburg
1,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Admiralteisky
Domina St.Petersburg
Domina St.Petersburg
#9 of 359 in St. Petersburg
1,209 reviews
Nevskiy
Rossi Boutique Hotel & SPA
Rossi Boutique Hotel & SPA
#22 of 359 in St. Petersburg
832 reviews
Radisson Royal Hotel, St.Petersb...
#49 of 359 in St. Petersburg
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Emerald? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Emerald

Address: Suvorovskiy Ave., 18, St. Petersburg 193036, Russia
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in St. Petersburg
#38 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
#52 Luxury Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range: £64 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Emerald 5*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Emerald reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel St Petersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing