We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Business Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Emerald
Ranked #89 of 357 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Reviewed 25 September 2011

This is a new hotel, only open a few years. I found the room to be very good.

Its location was very good for my business needs but it may not suit everyone if their main reason is visiting the city for leisure purposes. It is approx 10 minutes to Nevsky Prospekt and the metro stations/ rail station for Moscow. It is a brisk 45 minute walk along Nevsky to the Hermitage (I did this last Friday).

I had no problems with the Reception and Concierge - indeed I found them helpful and friendly. However the service in the bar can be quite slow at times.

I like the city very much and always enjoy visiting it. Just check the location matches your needs.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BucksTraveller2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dreamcaster, Director of Sales at Grand Hotel Emerald, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2011

Dear BucksTraveller2010,

First of all I would like to thank you for choosing Grand Hotel Emerald - and then taking your time to leave a review.

I was delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and found our team helpful. We pride ourselves on offering personal care and attention to the guests and endeavour to create a warm, friendly environment.

Your opinion and suggestions for further improvements are highly appreciated. Through your feedback we continue to refine services, amenities and accommodations currently offered by Grand Hotel Emerald. Your comments regarding the service at Lobby Bar were forwarded
straight to Director of Food & Beverage in order to take all necessary steps immediately. We do hope you will notice apparent changes during your next stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Grand Hotel Emerald. Our staff will make any effort to exceed your expectations and make your stay an unforgettable memory.

I remain available for further conversation. Should there be anything in my power to give your next visit a personal touch please feel free to contact me.


Yours respectfully,

Anton V. Kuznetsov

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (221)
There are newer reviews for Grand Hotel Emerald
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

50 - 56 of 221 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2011

We were in St Petersburg for tourism and our travel agency in Lebanon as well as some reviews over the net pushed us believe that this hotel was centrally located. This is not true at all. Depending on what you mean by centrally located... 45-55 mn walk to center and in very corporate area. To be honest it was close, 15 mn walk, to the main train station but so what!? Actually this hotel should be rated 4 stars and as a corporate hotel for seminars and conventions only NOT for tourists.
Plus the staff is not friendly at all at the reception: "No flexibility for early check in or late checks out" and in the end you have to pay a tax that we were not informed of "to register our passports"????
The buffet breakfast was as a standard of a 3 stars hotels
Much better to pay a supplement rate for a hotel centrally located than to pay the difference for taxis from the hotel to the city!

Room Tip: Do not book in this hotel if you visit St Peterburg for tourism
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NOUR F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxana7, Manager at Grand Hotel Emerald, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2011

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your review and we apologize that your stay was below your expectations.
We are sorry that the location of Grand Hotel Emerald turned to be inconvinient for you, but St.-Petersburg is a big city and it's center is not limited by the territory of the Palace Square and Nevsky prospect. In all sources we inform our guests that Grand Hotel Emerald is located 10 minutes from Nevsky prospect by walk.
If we have understood you rightly we were not able to provide you with early check-in or late check-out. We greatly aplogize for it, we are glad to give this opportunity to our guests, but unfortunatelly it always depends on the occupancy.
According the legislation of Russian Federation all foreingners who are not the citizens of Russian Federation should be registrated. There is a certain registration fee for this procedure which is taken at the reception. We are sorry that our colleague did not manage to explain it to you correctly. We will held the training for the staff of the reception to avoid these situations in future. Thank you for your remarks.
We are sorry that you were not satisfied with our breakfast. Normally our guests liked it very much and leave positive comments. But we value each guest and your opinion is very important for us. If you had been more concrete we would be able to give your recommendations to our F&B department. Nevertheless, your letter was shown to F&B Manager and he will try to do his best to make our breakfast beyond comparison.
Our friendly and caring team are always ready to make your stay up to your expectations and please do let us know on your next visit to St. Petersburg.

With best regards,
Oxana Pisanaya
E-commerce Manager
Grand Hotel Emerald

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2011

A truely luxurious hotel down to every detail. 10 minute walk from the Moscow train station end of Nevsky.

Staff was very kind particularily Regina went out of her way to find us Ballet perfomances ice skating and more.

We got a really good price of 150 Euro per night through easytobook. com

Eitan@hag.co.il from Israel

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eitan36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxana7, Manager at Grand Hotel Emerald, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you that you have found time to write so kind words about Grand Hotel Emerald and our staff.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back to repeat your very positive experience.

With kind regards,
Oxana Pisanaya
E-commerce Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2011

My colleagues and I travelled to St Petersburg and arrived late in the evening.
Upon getting into the restaurant in the Grand Hotel Emerald around 9.45pm, we waited for someone to take our drinks order. It took 20 minutes to do that and at 11.45am, some of us had not even received our starters which was a simple rocket salad. Even to get 3 drinks we were told 10 minutes, which turned into 20. There were no more than 12 people in the restaurant. The Service was appalling. One of the restaurants main staff took our orders yet upon challenging them regarding our starters and some of the main course meals, they couldn't remember.
Sadly, no matter how much we complained, they would only offer 50% discount on food we never received.
The Room service isn't much better.

Room Tip: Don't bother.
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Service
9  Thank backonthejet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2010

I have stayed here a couple of times while in St. Pete. It is a old style posh hotel with a nice attrium where you can have meals and good rooms. It is 10 min walking distance from the Metro and about 20 min walking from Nevksy Pospect. It provides a good price performance ratio.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geerlings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2010

Very classy hotel. A good 20 minutes from Nevsky Prospect which is the main street. Alot of the staff speak russian and english with a select few speaking other languages.

There is a swimming pool you have to book, but the gym is free as is the sauna.

If you get a room that is not look in to the atrium your doing extremely well. The food of an evening is ok But you get more choice if you go out on To Nevsky prospect.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jrpuk_westmids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2009

I just came back after 5 nights spent at this this hotel in St. Petersburg and overall I was very happy with my stay.

The style of the hotel is quite old fashion, i.e. not sleek, modern and minimalist, but the room was impeccably clean, the service was excellent and the stuff was very friendly.
I got a great deal with one night free through Expedia, so it was good value for money. My room (603) was on a high floor and it was quiet and no smoking just as I requested. Breakfast was great, dinner (although a bit pretentious) was also good. Concierge was very helpful and also the beauty center has been a pleasant experience.
For a solo traveller and for a single woman it is also a safe place to stay, although late at night I would not recommend to walk north along Suvorovsky Prospect.

The location is the only downside if you want to be at walking distance from the main attractions, as the hotel is at 10 min walk from the metro and it takes at least 30 min to reach the Hermitage. But I did not mind taking the bus (n.5,7 and 11 take all to the center) and the bus stop was literally outside the door.

Overall a positive experience!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank triestina76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Vasilyevsky Island
Solo Sokos Hotel Palace Bridge
Solo Sokos Hotel Palace Bridge
#33 of 357 in St. Petersburg
1,443 reviews
Admiralteisky
Taleon Imperial Hotel
Taleon Imperial Hotel
#45 of 357 in St. Petersburg
617 reviews
Admiralteisky
Domina St.Petersburg
Domina St.Petersburg
#9 of 357 in St. Petersburg
1,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Admiralteisky
W St. Petersburg
W St. Petersburg
#20 of 357 in St. Petersburg
1,151 reviews
Baltic Star Hotel
#1 of 2 in Strelna
90 reviews
Admiralteisky
Angleterre Hotel
Angleterre Hotel
#29 of 357 in St. Petersburg
960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Emerald? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Emerald

Address: Suvorovskiy Ave., 18, St. Petersburg 193036, Russia
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in St. Petersburg
#38 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
#53 Luxury Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range: £66 - £238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Emerald 5*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grand Hotel Emerald reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel St Petersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing