We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inflated Stars...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel Emerald

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grand Hotel Emerald
Ranked #107 of 331 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
netanya, israel
Level Contributor
211 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Inflated Stars...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

Have stayed in the hotel with a group of 36 people in June.

Location so so, about 15- 20 minutes walk from nearest Metro station on Nevsky Prospect.

Rooms spacious with large bathrooom, however hardly a place for one's shaving kit, let alone for wife's cosmetics. No wardrobes either. Just a small hanging closet.

Breakfasts very good , however dinners were the worst we had in the last 20 years we are travelling together. (the group stayed on half-board basis). our repeated complaints were met by a rather indifferent chef..

public spaces- a small lobby of a 3 * hotel at best.

In summary- highly overated..

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank david s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dreamcaster, Director of Sales at Grand Hotel Emerald, responded to this review, 24 July 2012
Dear david s,

I would like to thank you and your Travel Agent for choosing Grand Hotel Emerald for the stay of your group in St. Petersburg, Russia and sharing your experience.

The Hotel is located 940 meters (1030 yards) away from Ploschad Vosstaniya, the nearest metro station. The journey usually takes up to 10 minutes of easy walking along Suvorovsky and Nevsky Prospekts, depending on your speed.

Hotel rooms can slightly differ from each other, even within one category, so the layout of both entrance hall and bathroom also differs from room to room. Some Standard Rooms have view over the main street and even have balconies, whereas others, slightly bigger, overlook the Atrium and have the same amenities.

As your accommodation and dining was booked and paid by the third party, the dinners were provided in full accordance with the request of your Travel Agent, including the menu, portion sizes and the budget. Our Buffet Breakfast was recently enhanced in order to meet and exceed our guests' expectations.

The total square of Lobby area and Suvorovsky Lobby Bar is 345 sq meters (3710 sq feet) with 44 comfortable chair/sofa seats, which is generally enough for 90-room Hotel. We also have specially equipped Luggage Room to store your bags and cases and avoid any inconvenience.

I thank you once again and welcome you back to Grand Hotel Emerald during your next trip to St. Petersburg.


Yours respectfully,

Anton V. Kuznetsov
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    81
    22
    7
    10
See reviews for
29
46
14
78
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

Typical Russian rip off!!! and I am not talking about room prices only. The hotel management is simply DISHONEST people doing dirty business. They treat guests disrespectfully, we had a feeling that we were back in rakish 90th in Russia. in 2 words: uncivilized dump!

Highlights: *it took ... 2 hours to get towels after the request;
*50 min to get a breakfast to the room (2 eggs+ kefir+ juice + salad)= $45 !!! + service charge
* 1/2 day to fix the plumbing;
* 2 hours - to get a room service after several requests!
= nightmare!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank IrinkaAlexandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dreamcaster, Director of Sales at Grand Hotel Emerald, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
Dear IrinkaAlexandra,

I would like to thank you for choosing Grand Hotel Emerald for your stay in St. Petersburg, Russia in August 2011 and submitting your review. Your opinion and suggestions for further improvements are highly appreciated as we continually work on refining services and amenities currently offered by Grand Hotel Emerald to meet and exceed travelers' expectations.

I regret to hear that your last experience with us have had some negative points. It's complicated to obtain all the details 9 months past your departure, but we did our best to investigate your case thoroughly as any guest feedback is of utmost importance for us.

Room Service breakfast you described would cost 869 roubles in current prices, including service charge, which is about $28, not $45, and only 6% of our Room Service orders is accomplished within more than 30 minutes. Unfortunately, I'm unable to comment plumbing and towels, as non-FnB service records are only kept for three months, but I beg our sincere apologies if it took more time than you expected.

I'd like to note that Grand Hotel Emerald offers very competitive accommodation rates in comparison with other upper upscale and luxury hotel properties in St. Petersburg. As guests say, our price/quality ratio is among the best in the city, we offer luxury, five-star amenities and services at affordable rates. This also applies to our Food and Beverage department (including Room Service and Restaurants) and services provided by our SPA and Beauty Parlor.

I thank you once again for the review and welcome you back to Grand Hotel Emerald during you next trip to the city of St. Petersburg.


Yours respectfully,

Anton V. Kuznetsov
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
125 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

Here for business I have tried this hotel by recommendation of friends. The hotel should be a 4 stars. Staff is helpful but not committed. Good breakfast. Certainly not for tourists since it is quite far away from the center. Great gym with a full selection of machines by Technogym and sauna, spa!

Room Tip: Ask for room on the quite side of the hotel since the ones on the main street are very noisy. Great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank principe1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dreamcaster, Director of Sales at Grand Hotel Emerald, responded to this review, 20 November 2011
Dear principe1965,

First of all I would like to thank you for choosing Grand Hotel Emerald and submitting a review.

The Hotel is 620 meters (680 yards) away from Nevsky Prospekt, city's main boulevard. It's an easy 8-minute walk along Suvorovsky Prospekt. Despite the central location, the place is relatively quiet - if compared to properties located right on Nevsky. In most cases, it's hard to find a hotel in any megalopolis destination which is both central and tranquil at the same time.

Our Top Gym and sauna are always included in the room rate. As you noticed, we're fully equipped, not just a pair of dumbbells offered by many other hotel-based properties.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Grand Hotel Emerald during your next trip to St. Petersburg - and I remain at your disposal for any question or request.


Yours respectfully,

Anton V. Kuznetsov
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire, UK
Level Contributor
47 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2011

This is a new hotel, only open a few years. I found the room to be very good.

Its location was very good for my business needs but it may not suit everyone if their main reason is visiting the city for leisure purposes. It is approx 10 minutes to Nevsky Prospekt and the metro stations/ rail station for Moscow. It is a brisk 45 minute walk along Nevsky to the Hermitage (I did this last Friday).

I had no problems with the Reception and Concierge - indeed I found them helpful and friendly. However the service in the bar can be quite slow at times.

I like the city very much and always enjoy visiting it. Just check the location matches your needs.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BucksTraveller2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dreamcaster, Director of Sales at Grand Hotel Emerald, responded to this review, 5 October 2011
Dear BucksTraveller2010,

First of all I would like to thank you for choosing Grand Hotel Emerald - and then taking your time to leave a review.

I was delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and found our team helpful. We pride ourselves on offering personal care and attention to the guests and endeavour to create a warm, friendly environment.

Your opinion and suggestions for further improvements are highly appreciated. Through your feedback we continue to refine services, amenities and accommodations currently offered by Grand Hotel Emerald. Your comments regarding the service at Lobby Bar were forwarded
straight to Director of Food & Beverage in order to take all necessary steps immediately. We do hope you will notice apparent changes during your next stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Grand Hotel Emerald. Our staff will make any effort to exceed your expectations and make your stay an unforgettable memory.

I remain available for further conversation. Should there be anything in my power to give your next visit a personal touch please feel free to contact me.


Yours respectfully,

Anton V. Kuznetsov
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beirut
Level Contributor
79 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2011

We were in St Petersburg for tourism and our travel agency in Lebanon as well as some reviews over the net pushed us believe that this hotel was centrally located. This is not true at all. Depending on what you mean by centrally located... 45-55 mn walk to center and in very corporate area. To be honest it was close, 15 mn walk, to the main train station but so what!? Actually this hotel should be rated 4 stars and as a corporate hotel for seminars and conventions only NOT for tourists.
Plus the staff is not friendly at all at the reception: "No flexibility for early check in or late checks out" and in the end you have to pay a tax that we were not informed of "to register our passports"????
The buffet breakfast was as a standard of a 3 stars hotels
Much better to pay a supplement rate for a hotel centrally located than to pay the difference for taxis from the hotel to the city!

Room Tip: Do not book in this hotel if you visit St Peterburg for tourism
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NOUR F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxana7, Manager at Grand Hotel Emerald, responded to this review, 9 August 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your review and we apologize that your stay was below your expectations.
We are sorry that the location of Grand Hotel Emerald turned to be inconvinient for you, but St.-Petersburg is a big city and it's center is not limited by the territory of the Palace Square and Nevsky prospect. In all sources we inform our guests that Grand Hotel Emerald is located 10 minutes from Nevsky prospect by walk.
If we have understood you rightly we were not able to provide you with early check-in or late check-out. We greatly aplogize for it, we are glad to give this opportunity to our guests, but unfortunatelly it always depends on the occupancy.
According the legislation of Russian Federation all foreingners who are not the citizens of Russian Federation should be registrated. There is a certain registration fee for this procedure which is taken at the reception. We are sorry that our colleague did not manage to explain it to you correctly. We will held the training for the staff of the reception to avoid these situations in future. Thank you for your remarks.
We are sorry that you were not satisfied with our breakfast. Normally our guests liked it very much and leave positive comments. But we value each guest and your opinion is very important for us. If you had been more concrete we would be able to give your recommendations to our F&B department. Nevertheless, your letter was shown to F&B Manager and he will try to do his best to make our breakfast beyond comparison.
Our friendly and caring team are always ready to make your stay up to your expectations and please do let us know on your next visit to St. Petersburg.

With best regards,
Oxana Pisanaya
E-commerce Manager
Grand Hotel Emerald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2011

A truely luxurious hotel down to every detail. 10 minute walk from the Moscow train station end of Nevsky.

Staff was very kind particularily Regina went out of her way to find us Ballet perfomances ice skating and more.

We got a really good price of 150 Euro per night through easytobook. com

Eitan@hag.co.il from Israel

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eitan36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxana7, Manager at Grand Hotel Emerald, responded to this review, 9 August 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you that you have found time to write so kind words about Grand Hotel Emerald and our staff.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back to repeat your very positive experience.

With kind regards,
Oxana Pisanaya
E-commerce Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2011

My colleagues and I travelled to St Petersburg and arrived late in the evening.
Upon getting into the restaurant in the Grand Hotel Emerald around 9.45pm, we waited for someone to take our drinks order. It took 20 minutes to do that and at 11.45am, some of us had not even received our starters which was a simple rocket salad. Even to get 3 drinks we were told 10 minutes, which turned into 20. There were no more than 12 people in the restaurant. The Service was appalling. One of the restaurants main staff took our orders yet upon challenging them regarding our starters and some of the main course meals, they couldn't remember.
Sadly, no matter how much we complained, they would only offer 50% discount on food we never received.
The Room service isn't much better.

Room Tip: Don't bother.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank backonthejet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Vasilyevsky Island
Solo Sokos Hotel Palace Bridge
Solo Sokos Hotel Palace Bridge
#42 of 331 in St. Petersburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,245 reviews
Nevskiy
Rossi Boutique Hotel & SPA
Rossi Boutique Hotel & SPA
#24 of 331 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
Ambassador Hotel
#47 of 331 in St. Petersburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Admiralteisky
W St. Petersburg
W St. Petersburg
#19 of 331 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,073 reviews
Liteyny
Hotel Indigo St. Petersburg - Tchaikovskogo
Hotel Indigo St. Petersburg - Tc...
#5 of 331 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
Nevskiy
Belmond Grand Hotel Europe
Belmond Grand Hotel Europe
#7 of 331 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Emerald? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Emerald

Property: Grand Hotel Emerald
Address: Suvorovskiy Ave., 18, St. Petersburg 193036, Russia
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in St. Petersburg
#38 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
#54 Luxury Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Emerald 5*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Grand Hotel Emerald reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel St Petersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing