We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely not 5 star”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel Emerald
Ranked #96 of 354 Hotels in St. Petersburg
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Definitely not 5 star”
Reviewed 12 April 2013

An okay hotel, was here on business so no real complaints. But having travelled a lot, it's not really worthy of a 5 star rating. The TV is an old CRT with one English channel and a very bad refresh rate so it may give you a headache. No kettle or tea and coffee in the room. My room was on the 4th floor which overlooked the atrium/restaurant which was weird and I couldn't see what the weather was doing. I was a bit scared of leaving my curtains open in case everyone having breakfast/dinner could see me! However the the restaurant was empty every night, as it's quite expensive so it wasn't too noisy. Lobby and bar was smelled like smoke all the time, so if you're used to the smoking ban in other countries then this will be problem. Location good. Booked a taxi to the airport and the concierge tried to book me a hotel car for double the price. Insist on taxi even if she looks sulky! Apart from that the staff were good and spoke English.

Room Tip: Not overlooking the atrium
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 51Wendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    86
    24
    7
    10
See reviews for
31
48
14
83
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2013

We stayed four nights in this hotel in March 2013. Weather was bitterly cold outside but this place was beautifully warm, and welcoming. Our room (upgraded to a Superior, looking out on the road) was lovely and was kept meticulously clean. Actually too hot at night til we wrestled the central heating down. The breakfast buffet was probably the best we have ever had, with local specialities like blinis, smetana, smoked salmon, red caviar and all you could eat of a huge variety of fresh fruits, cooked food and pastries. Staff were courteous and helpful at all times. We weren't tempted by the restaurant in the evening but when we used room service, it was prompt and efficient. The hotel is a ten minute walk from the nearest metro, which is on Nevsky Prospekt, the main strip, and you can walk along this - a fascinating view of St P people and culture - to all the major tourist sites or use the metro. We travelled on a Voyage Prive package, which was good value so can't comment on actual hotel prices. Malcolm D, Nottingham UK

Room Tip: Outward facing probably better than in to the atrium where they have weddings and other functions
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MalcolmTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OxanaEmerald, Director of Sales at Grand Hotel Emerald, responded to this review, 11 April 2013
Dear Malcolm,

Thank you so much for wonderful review about our hotel.
We will be happy to see you again in Grand Hotel Emerald.

Best Regards,
Elena Lvova
Director of Sales and Marketing
Grand Hotel Emerald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2012

We have stayed in 3 stars hotels before when you know you cant expect much, just a necessities: clean room & linens, greeting with smile and few extras... YET, this hotel claims to be 5 star place and it feels like good 3 star with the service and atmosphere they provide.
as you walk in in the lobby the first impression as you got into the redneck smoky bar somewhere in deep Oklahoma... :\ everything smells cigarets ! lobby, bar, hallways.
room service takes forever!!! personal don't speak English. and there is no point to complain as management will first seek the way how to blame you.

in two words what was meant to be a romantic getaway become an everyday problem resolving nightmare with all the hotel issues as follows: unknown phone charges(we didn't even use a phone we use skype ONLY), poor room service, and arguments with management.
also hotel is far away from the center.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Iri V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dreamcaster, Director of Sales at Grand Hotel Emerald, responded to this review, 24 September 2012
Apreciada Sra. Iri V,

First of all I would like to thank you for choosing Grand Hotel Emerald and submitting your review. It's really hard to find more romantic destination than St. Petersburg during summer white nights.

I regret to hear that impressions about your stay with us were below expectations, so I would like to beg our sincere apologies and comment some of the issues you kindly pointed out:

1. Smoking. Unfortunately, we only have very few hotels in Russia which strictly prohibit smoking. The rest in some ways allow their guests to smoke and public areas and rooms. We do have two floors for non-smokers, whereas Lobby Bar and restaurants allow people to smoke, except for buffet breakfast time. Hotels and cafes/restaurant are supposed to become 100% non-smoking in Russia with effect from 2015.

2. Room Service. We continuously work on improving our services, including Room Service delivery time. Our order tracking estimations show that only 6% of orders is delivered within more than 30 minutes. Generally, the timing depends on the order itself and workload of our kitchen.

3. Management. It's hard to believe any of hotel managers could blame a guest. Each and every guest issue and/or complaint is carefully reviewed on our daily management meeting, these matters have always been of utmost priority for us.

4. Telephone charges. Sometimes our billing system receives information from our telecom provider with time lag, which causes automatic postings to drop to guest bills after the departure of caller guest. This issue in known, and our reception clerks always remove such charges in case they occur.

I thank you once again, beg our sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused and welcome you back to Grand Hotel Emerald during your next trip to St. Petersburg, so that our team could proudly demonstrate you full potential of our hospitality.


Atentamente,

Anton V. Kuznetsov
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
netanya, israel
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2012

Have stayed in the hotel with a group of 36 people in June.

Location so so, about 15- 20 minutes walk from nearest Metro station on Nevsky Prospect.

Rooms spacious with large bathrooom, however hardly a place for one's shaving kit, let alone for wife's cosmetics. No wardrobes either. Just a small hanging closet.

Breakfasts very good , however dinners were the worst we had in the last 20 years we are travelling together. (the group stayed on half-board basis). our repeated complaints were met by a rather indifferent chef..

public spaces- a small lobby of a 3 * hotel at best.

In summary- highly overated..

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank david s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dreamcaster, Director of Sales at Grand Hotel Emerald, responded to this review, 24 July 2012
Dear david s,

I would like to thank you and your Travel Agent for choosing Grand Hotel Emerald for the stay of your group in St. Petersburg, Russia and sharing your experience.

The Hotel is located 940 meters (1030 yards) away from Ploschad Vosstaniya, the nearest metro station. The journey usually takes up to 10 minutes of easy walking along Suvorovsky and Nevsky Prospekts, depending on your speed.

Hotel rooms can slightly differ from each other, even within one category, so the layout of both entrance hall and bathroom also differs from room to room. Some Standard Rooms have view over the main street and even have balconies, whereas others, slightly bigger, overlook the Atrium and have the same amenities.

As your accommodation and dining was booked and paid by the third party, the dinners were provided in full accordance with the request of your Travel Agent, including the menu, portion sizes and the budget. Our Buffet Breakfast was recently enhanced in order to meet and exceed our guests' expectations.

The total square of Lobby area and Suvorovsky Lobby Bar is 345 sq meters (3710 sq feet) with 44 comfortable chair/sofa seats, which is generally enough for 90-room Hotel. We also have specially equipped Luggage Room to store your bags and cases and avoid any inconvenience.

I thank you once again and welcome you back to Grand Hotel Emerald during your next trip to St. Petersburg.


Yours respectfully,

Anton V. Kuznetsov
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida, United States
Level 4 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012

Typical Russian rip off!!! and I am not talking about room prices only. The hotel management is simply DISHONEST people doing dirty business. They treat guests disrespectfully, we had a feeling that we were back in rakish 90th in Russia. in 2 words: uncivilized dump!

Highlights: *it took ... 2 hours to get towels after the request;
*50 min to get a breakfast to the room (2 eggs+ kefir+ juice + salad)= $45 !!! + service charge
* 1/2 day to fix the plumbing;
* 2 hours - to get a room service after several requests!
= nightmare!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank IrinkaAlexandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dreamcaster, Director of Sales at Grand Hotel Emerald, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
Dear IrinkaAlexandra,

I would like to thank you for choosing Grand Hotel Emerald for your stay in St. Petersburg, Russia in August 2011 and submitting your review. Your opinion and suggestions for further improvements are highly appreciated as we continually work on refining services and amenities currently offered by Grand Hotel Emerald to meet and exceed travelers' expectations.

I regret to hear that your last experience with us have had some negative points. It's complicated to obtain all the details 9 months past your departure, but we did our best to investigate your case thoroughly as any guest feedback is of utmost importance for us.

Room Service breakfast you described would cost 869 roubles in current prices, including service charge, which is about $28, not $45, and only 6% of our Room Service orders is accomplished within more than 30 minutes. Unfortunately, I'm unable to comment plumbing and towels, as non-FnB service records are only kept for three months, but I beg our sincere apologies if it took more time than you expected.

I'd like to note that Grand Hotel Emerald offers very competitive accommodation rates in comparison with other upper upscale and luxury hotel properties in St. Petersburg. As guests say, our price/quality ratio is among the best in the city, we offer luxury, five-star amenities and services at affordable rates. This also applies to our Food and Beverage department (including Room Service and Restaurants) and services provided by our SPA and Beauty Parlor.

I thank you once again for the review and welcome you back to Grand Hotel Emerald during you next trip to the city of St. Petersburg.


Yours respectfully,

Anton V. Kuznetsov
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

Here for business I have tried this hotel by recommendation of friends. The hotel should be a 4 stars. Staff is helpful but not committed. Good breakfast. Certainly not for tourists since it is quite far away from the center. Great gym with a full selection of machines by Technogym and sauna, spa!

Room Tip: Ask for room on the quite side of the hotel since the ones on the main street are very noisy. Great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank principe1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dreamcaster, Director of Sales at Grand Hotel Emerald, responded to this review, 20 November 2011
Dear principe1965,

First of all I would like to thank you for choosing Grand Hotel Emerald and submitting a review.

The Hotel is 620 meters (680 yards) away from Nevsky Prospekt, city's main boulevard. It's an easy 8-minute walk along Suvorovsky Prospekt. Despite the central location, the place is relatively quiet - if compared to properties located right on Nevsky. In most cases, it's hard to find a hotel in any megalopolis destination which is both central and tranquil at the same time.

Our Top Gym and sauna are always included in the room rate. As you noticed, we're fully equipped, not just a pair of dumbbells offered by many other hotel-based properties.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Grand Hotel Emerald during your next trip to St. Petersburg - and I remain at your disposal for any question or request.


Yours respectfully,

Anton V. Kuznetsov
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire, UK
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

This is a new hotel, only open a few years. I found the room to be very good.

Its location was very good for my business needs but it may not suit everyone if their main reason is visiting the city for leisure purposes. It is approx 10 minutes to Nevsky Prospekt and the metro stations/ rail station for Moscow. It is a brisk 45 minute walk along Nevsky to the Hermitage (I did this last Friday).

I had no problems with the Reception and Concierge - indeed I found them helpful and friendly. However the service in the bar can be quite slow at times.

I like the city very much and always enjoy visiting it. Just check the location matches your needs.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BucksTraveller2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dreamcaster, Director of Sales at Grand Hotel Emerald, responded to this review, 5 October 2011
Dear BucksTraveller2010,

First of all I would like to thank you for choosing Grand Hotel Emerald - and then taking your time to leave a review.

I was delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and found our team helpful. We pride ourselves on offering personal care and attention to the guests and endeavour to create a warm, friendly environment.

Your opinion and suggestions for further improvements are highly appreciated. Through your feedback we continue to refine services, amenities and accommodations currently offered by Grand Hotel Emerald. Your comments regarding the service at Lobby Bar were forwarded
straight to Director of Food & Beverage in order to take all necessary steps immediately. We do hope you will notice apparent changes during your next stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Grand Hotel Emerald. Our staff will make any effort to exceed your expectations and make your stay an unforgettable memory.

I remain available for further conversation. Should there be anything in my power to give your next visit a personal touch please feel free to contact me.


Yours respectfully,

Anton V. Kuznetsov
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Admiralteisky
Taleon Imperial Hotel
Taleon Imperial Hotel
#48 of 354 in St. Petersburg
608 reviews
Vasilyevsky Island
Solo Sokos Hotel Palace Bridge
Solo Sokos Hotel Palace Bridge
#35 of 354 in St. Petersburg
1,401 reviews
Admiralteisky
W St. Petersburg
W St. Petersburg
#20 of 354 in St. Petersburg
1,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Admiralteisky
Angleterre Hotel
Angleterre Hotel
#31 of 354 in St. Petersburg
948 reviews
Radisson Royal Hotel, St.Petersb...
#71 of 354 in St. Petersburg
49 reviews
Corinthia Hotel St. Petersburg
#33 of 354 in St. Petersburg
1,545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Emerald? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Emerald

Property: Grand Hotel Emerald
Address: Suvorovskiy Ave., 18, St. Petersburg 193036, Russia
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in St. Petersburg
#38 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
#53 Luxury Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Emerald 5*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Hotel Emerald reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel St Petersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing