We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel Emerald
Ranked #101 of 349 Hotels in St. Petersburg
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
307 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
Reviewed 18 September 2013

This is a very good hotel catering to your every need. The standards of cleanliness and housekeeping are very high and the breakfast options are comprehensive (tho the hot food is not very hot!). The only slight negative is that the staff are not very friendly, but I have found that this hotel is not unique in that.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beeza1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    85
    24
    7
    10
See reviews for
29
48
14
83
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tehran, Iran
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights .This hotel is in the center of city and near to attractive and historical places of St Petersburg .Breakfast was very good and our room was very clean. Our room had a beautiful balcony with a very nice view.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank f_goravanchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Füzesabon
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

We stayed at the hotel for 4 nights in jun. 2013 . The breakfast is wery good , local specialities, salmon, caviar, champagne etc. The staff were generally friendly. I' recommend to evryone.
4 éjszakát voltunk a hotelben 2013 júniusban. A reggeli nagyon jó, helyi specialitások, lazac, kaviár, pezsgő és mások. A személyzet udvarias. Mindenkinek ajánlom.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank k g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the hotel for 2 nights. Everything was very good in general. The rooms were clean, with a nice finishing and design. The staff were generally friendly.

Since the hotel has a kind of a little square in the middle (the restaurant on the second floor), I would suggest to avoid the rooms from the internal side. You will have to keep the curtains closed all the time if you like your privacy, and if you like some fresh air into the room, the windows in these rooms are locked. I tried changing the room the first and the second day but with no luck, so I changed hotels instead as such closed rooms make me feel uncomfortable.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rnajm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013

An okay hotel, was here on business so no real complaints. But having travelled a lot, it's not really worthy of a 5 star rating. The TV is an old CRT with one English channel and a very bad refresh rate so it may give you a headache. No kettle or tea and coffee in the room. My room was on the 4th floor which overlooked the atrium/restaurant which was weird and I couldn't see what the weather was doing. I was a bit scared of leaving my curtains open in case everyone having breakfast/dinner could see me! However the the restaurant was empty every night, as it's quite expensive so it wasn't too noisy. Lobby and bar was smelled like smoke all the time, so if you're used to the smoking ban in other countries then this will be problem. Location good. Booked a taxi to the airport and the concierge tried to book me a hotel car for double the price. Insist on taxi even if she looks sulky! Apart from that the staff were good and spoke English.

Room Tip: Not overlooking the atrium
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 51Wendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2013

We stayed four nights in this hotel in March 2013. Weather was bitterly cold outside but this place was beautifully warm, and welcoming. Our room (upgraded to a Superior, looking out on the road) was lovely and was kept meticulously clean. Actually too hot at night til we wrestled the central heating down. The breakfast buffet was probably the best we have ever had, with local specialities like blinis, smetana, smoked salmon, red caviar and all you could eat of a huge variety of fresh fruits, cooked food and pastries. Staff were courteous and helpful at all times. We weren't tempted by the restaurant in the evening but when we used room service, it was prompt and efficient. The hotel is a ten minute walk from the nearest metro, which is on Nevsky Prospekt, the main strip, and you can walk along this - a fascinating view of St P people and culture - to all the major tourist sites or use the metro. We travelled on a Voyage Prive package, which was good value so can't comment on actual hotel prices. Malcolm D, Nottingham UK

Room Tip: Outward facing probably better than in to the atrium where they have weddings and other functions
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MalcolmTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OxanaEmerald, Director of Sales at Grand Hotel Emerald, responded to this review, 11 April 2013
Dear Malcolm,

Thank you so much for wonderful review about our hotel.
We will be happy to see you again in Grand Hotel Emerald.

Best Regards,
Elena Lvova
Director of Sales and Marketing
Grand Hotel Emerald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2012

We have stayed in 3 stars hotels before when you know you cant expect much, just a necessities: clean room & linens, greeting with smile and few extras... YET, this hotel claims to be 5 star place and it feels like good 3 star with the service and atmosphere they provide.
as you walk in in the lobby the first impression as you got into the redneck smoky bar somewhere in deep Oklahoma... :\ everything smells cigarets ! lobby, bar, hallways.
room service takes forever!!! personal don't speak English. and there is no point to complain as management will first seek the way how to blame you.

in two words what was meant to be a romantic getaway become an everyday problem resolving nightmare with all the hotel issues as follows: unknown phone charges(we didn't even use a phone we use skype ONLY), poor room service, and arguments with management.
also hotel is far away from the center.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Iri V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dreamcaster, Director of Sales at Grand Hotel Emerald, responded to this review, 24 September 2012
Apreciada Sra. Iri V,

First of all I would like to thank you for choosing Grand Hotel Emerald and submitting your review. It's really hard to find more romantic destination than St. Petersburg during summer white nights.

I regret to hear that impressions about your stay with us were below expectations, so I would like to beg our sincere apologies and comment some of the issues you kindly pointed out:

1. Smoking. Unfortunately, we only have very few hotels in Russia which strictly prohibit smoking. The rest in some ways allow their guests to smoke and public areas and rooms. We do have two floors for non-smokers, whereas Lobby Bar and restaurants allow people to smoke, except for buffet breakfast time. Hotels and cafes/restaurant are supposed to become 100% non-smoking in Russia with effect from 2015.

2. Room Service. We continuously work on improving our services, including Room Service delivery time. Our order tracking estimations show that only 6% of orders is delivered within more than 30 minutes. Generally, the timing depends on the order itself and workload of our kitchen.

3. Management. It's hard to believe any of hotel managers could blame a guest. Each and every guest issue and/or complaint is carefully reviewed on our daily management meeting, these matters have always been of utmost priority for us.

4. Telephone charges. Sometimes our billing system receives information from our telecom provider with time lag, which causes automatic postings to drop to guest bills after the departure of caller guest. This issue in known, and our reception clerks always remove such charges in case they occur.

I thank you once again, beg our sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused and welcome you back to Grand Hotel Emerald during your next trip to St. Petersburg, so that our team could proudly demonstrate you full potential of our hospitality.


Atentamente,

Anton V. Kuznetsov
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Vasilyevsky Island
Solo Sokos Hotel Palace Bridge
Solo Sokos Hotel Palace Bridge
#35 of 349 in St. Petersburg
1,352 reviews
Admiralteisky
W St. Petersburg
W St. Petersburg
#19 of 349 in St. Petersburg
1,118 reviews
Admiralteisky
Taleon Imperial Hotel
Taleon Imperial Hotel
#38 of 349 in St. Petersburg
602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Radisson Royal Hotel, St.Petersb...
#71 of 349 in St. Petersburg
39 reviews
Vasilyevsky Island
Trezzini Palace Hotel
Trezzini Palace Hotel
#70 of 349 in St. Petersburg
202 reviews
Admiralteisky
Angleterre Hotel
Angleterre Hotel
#32 of 349 in St. Petersburg
940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Emerald? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Emerald

Property: Grand Hotel Emerald
Address: Suvorovskiy Ave., 18, St. Petersburg 193036, Russia
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in St. Petersburg
#38 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
#53 Luxury Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Emerald 5*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, HostelWorld, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Emerald reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel St Petersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing