We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Radisson Royal Hotel, St.Petersburg

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Radisson Royal Hotel, St.Petersburg
Ranked #45 of 331 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Convenient location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

This hotel has very clean yet classic style rooms. Breakfast was very decent and compelete. In room service was great and food quality was very good like upscale restaurants. Its location in Nevsky prospect makes it a great place as you are in the mist central part of the city and close to everything!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roytheboy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JOHN L, General Manager at Radisson Royal Hotel, St.Petersburg, responded to this review, 8 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your feedback!
It's delightful to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and I'm looking forward to welcoming you again soon!

Kindest regards,
John Losasso
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

680 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    305
    252
    86
    25
    12
See reviews for
86
167
44
278
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

In this hotel, we got for $250+ what in we got in most other European cities for $150 or so. However, that is not to say that the hotel is bad. St. Petersburg is simply very expensive in comparison to the US or most European cities. When we walked in, our bags were taken to our room and champagne was offered to us. It is a nice touch, but still unnecessary as it now forces you to give the bellhop a tip. Our room was on the top floor (6th) and the window was slanted on the roof (basically..all we could see was the sky). It was slightly noisier than most hotel rooms I've been in, but not bad enough to keep me up. On one day when it rained all night, it was hard to sleep as the rain crashed down hard on the roof window and made lots of noise. The room is a 20 minute walk from the Church of Resurrection and 25-30 from the Hermitage. Unfortunately, it was raining most of the days I was there so that walk was a lot harder than it should've been. The concierge was helpful. On the final day, when we had run out of the Rubles that we had exchanged (didn't expect the city to be so expensive), we had to pay the hotel's taxi so it could be charged to our bill. For 2400 Rubles (normal, public taxi's will cost about 900RUB), we were at least expecting excellent service. At first it looked good, as our driver was in a suit, friendly, and driving a Mercedez. However, he didn't seem to know how to get to the airport (which by the way is an absolutely terrible airport)! About half an hour into our trip, he went into a sketchy sort of neighborhood, stopped the car, and got out. One cannot help but expect the worst when that happens. Fortunately, nothing terrible happened. He got out, lit a cigarette and asked a person who was there for directions (I assume. I don't speak Russian).

Overall, the hotel is decent. It is rated 5 Stars, but would probably be 4 Stars in the US (Europe tends to add a star and a half or so). Location is great, taxi's are expensive...tha'ts about it for this long review.

Room Tip: 6th floor has no view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank juandsaldana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JOHN L, General Manager at Radisson Royal Hotel, St.Petersburg, responded to this review, 8 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to share your feedback about your recent stay.

Please accept our sincere apologies for any discomfort that you had.

There are special blinds installed on the window in our attic rooms. Those blinds are sound and light proof, and normally there shouldn't be any inconvinience for our guests.

We will also investigate into this situation with the concierge driver.

Looking forward to another oppotunity to welcome you here, at the Radisson Royal Hotel.

All the best,
John Losasso
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurgaon, India
Level Contributor
176 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

Stayed for 4 nights at the hotel in August. We were upgraded to a suite which was truly welcome. The room is large and spacious with a separate sitting area and bedroom and nice large windows overlooking the Nevsky Prospect. The bathroom was modern with heated flooring.
The hotel is very well located - 15 minutes from the main railway station, a few minutes walk to the metro station and the tram/bus stop right infront of the hotel. It is on the busy Neviski Prospect which has numerous eating places . As breakfast was not included in our room, we could easily walk out for a tasty well priced breakfast.
The iconic Church of the Saviour on Blood is a 20 minute walk from the hotel. Other attractions too are close by. The Antichov bridge from where you can take river cruises too is a short 5 minute walk
The concierge EKatrina was extremely helpful - she organised tickets for us for the Ballet ' Swan Lake' at the Alexandrinsky Theatre which is walking distance from the hotel. She also helped us get a taxi for the airport at a reasonable 850 Roubles against the hotel charges of 2400 roubles.
Overall a great stay at the hotel

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pravine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JOHN L, General Manager at Radisson Royal Hotel, St.Petersburg, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Let me take this oppotunity to thank you a lot for your feedback!
We are happy to know that you enjoyed our services and had a nice rest in our hotel. This is what we are working for.

Looking forward to welcoming you again very soon in our worderful city on Neva river!

Best regards,
John Losasso
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level Contributor
116 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

The hotel is based in the middle of Nevskiy Prospekt, about a 10 min walk from the main attractions and close to lots of shops, restaurants and bars.
The hotel is a little bit aged but is high standard and very comfortable. Breakfast wasn't included but there were plenty alternatives close by.
The staff were excellent. All of them. They were all very friendly, helpful and professional. And very pleasing on the eye!
There's a small but quite a cool bar off the lobby and a restaurant downstairs.
I would recommend the hotel and the city.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DavieU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JOHN L, General Manager at Radisson Royal Hotel, St.Petersburg, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to share your experience about your recent stay! We are delighted to know that you enjoyed staying with us.
Providing our guests with the highest level of Yes I Can! service is our top priority, and we will do our best to keep up the good work.

Once again, thank you very much for your kind words!

Looking forwards to seeing you soon.

All the best,
John Losasso
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hallandale Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
356 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

This hotel is very well located on Nevsky Prospekt, the main thoroughfare of Saint Petersburg, just two short blocks from the Antichov Bridge over the Fontaka River. The hotel rooks are quite
spacious with comfortable beds. The buffet breakfast is good though not excellent. The maid service is very spotty. I checked in and their was a dirty wet towel in the closet. One days the maid left one large towel and no small towels or washcloths in a room for two people. The staff at the desk are very friendly and try to be helpful wherever they can.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank philipmillermd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JOHN L, General Manager at Radisson Royal Hotel, St.Petersburg, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your valuable feedback!
Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvinience you suffered.
I will make sure to organize an extra training for our maids so you could get the best service possible.

Hope to welcome you again any time soon!

Kind regards,
John Losasso
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amstelveen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
132 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

This hotel has an excellent location halfway Nevskii Prospekt. Major sight are within walking distance. Rooms are spacious and clean, breakfast is very good.
Minor nuisances are:
-- traffic noise from Nevskii Prospekt, in particular motor cyclists who desperately try to acoustically assert their egos. Though the hotel cannot be blamed for this, they could offer guests rooms which are not directly located alongside the road but are situated around a much quieter inner court.
-- charges for transport to the airport are outrageous when compared with another hotel we stayed in. Any traveler with some initiative can make it to the airport by public transport for 3 Euro, charging 55 Euro for the same trip is not very tourist friendly.

Room Tip: As said above, there are rooms situated around an inner court with probably less traffic noise. On...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JOHN L, General Manager at Radisson Royal Hotel, St.Petersburg, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Let me thank you for taking time to share your experience about your recent stay.
Indeed, Nevsky prospect, being the main street of the city and the true heart of it, can be noisy. That is why if you are seeking more silent ambience, inner court rooms would be the better choice. We are always ready to provide a room that is the most suitable to each of our very special guests.

Thank you very much for your valuable input in regards to transfer services, I will pass it on our concierge department.

I will be glad to welcome you again in our hotel!

Best regards,
John Losasso
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
187 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights prior to our river cruise to Moscow. The whole suite was about 5.4 x 4.9 metres with the bedroom/lounge section being about 4.9 x 3.6M. There were two comfortable lounge chairs and a desk and chair. The bathroom, at 2.6 x 1.8M was compact with the shower over the bath.

Our first impression was not the best - the airconditioner wasn't working, the desk chair was broken and nearly collapsed under me when i first sat on it, the toilet seat bracket was broken and some previous guest's peanuts were on the floor under the coffee table. In addition, one of my pet gripes - one small cake of soap and that was our ration! Oh, and the spooky thing is that the Emergency Evacuation Instructions on the back of the door glow in the dark!

On the positive side however, the chair was replaced immediately I notified housekeeping, the wi-fi was efficient, the TV had a choice of 15 English-speaking channels, the bed was comfortable and the lighting good, it was quiet, comfortable, reasonably spacious, the laundry service was inexpensive, good and fairly fast and, St Petersburg water being unfit for consumption, the bottle water was free and generously supplied on request. We also found the breakfast in the hotel dining room offered a wide variety and of good quality and quantity.

We booked a couple of escorted tours through the concierge desk and found these a great way to see St Petersburg especially our tour to the markets and the underground train system which we highly recommend.

In addition, a corner seat in the Hotel's Cannelle Bar is a great place to sit and sip a nice long drink while being entertained by the passing parade on Nevsky Prospect.

The staff were very efficient and friendly and we would certainly return and also recommend it to others.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Raedward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JOHN L, General Manager at Radisson Royal Hotel, St.Petersburg, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your valuable input!
Firstly, please accept our apologies for any inconvinience you experienced in our hotel. I'm glad to know that we were able to provide efficient level of "Yes I Can" service and be of help.
I'm also delighted to know that you had a comfortable stay with us, despite minor things that could happen.

Needless to say, we are looking forward to welcoming you again in the future!

All the best from Radisson Royal,
John Losasso
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Corinthia Hotel St. Petersburg
#30 of 331 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,447 reviews
Nevskiy
Kempinski Hotel Moika 22
Kempinski Hotel Moika 22
#15 of 331 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,063 reviews
Nevsky Forum Hotel
#14 of 331 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nevskiy
Belmond Grand Hotel Europe
Belmond Grand Hotel Europe
#7 of 331 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,509 reviews
Admiralteisky
Renaissance St. Petersburg Baltic Hotel
Renaissance St. Petersburg Balti...
#35 of 331 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
Admiralteisky
W St. Petersburg
W St. Petersburg
#19 of 331 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Royal Hotel, St.Petersburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Royal Hotel, St.Petersburg

Property: Radisson Royal Hotel, St.Petersburg
Address: Nevskiy Ave., 49/2, St. Petersburg 191025, Russia
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#33 Luxury Hotel in St. Petersburg
#44 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
#50 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Royal Hotel, St.Petersburg 5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME Know the city as the locals know it, staying at the very center of St Petersburg. The Radisson Royal Hotel, perfectly located on Nevsky prospect, is only a short distance from all major cultural and historical world famed attractions, including the Hermitage, and offers one of the finest facilities for an enjoyable city stay. Dating back to 18th century, the building housing the Radisson Royal Hotel has a colorful history. The interior of the building was completely reconstructed in 2001, and the original facade has been restored to its former glory, retaining original features, many of which are almost 300 years old. With its close proximity to the shopping and business areas, the hotel is conveniently located near to metro stations within 5 minutes walking distance from the hotel. Radisson Royal team is all set to deliver the brand’s Yes I Can! service philosophy. Combined with the quality of accommodation, this will provide the best hotel experience for all guests! ROOMS 164 fully renovated elegant and modern rooms provide guests with high-end amenities that include free high-speed, wireless Internet,in-room Nespresso® coffee machine, Full HD Smart TV,iron and ironing board, 24-hour room service and heated bathroom floors. Radisson Royal team is all set to deliver the brand’s Yes I Can! service philosophy. Combined with the quality of accommodation, this will provide the best hotel experience for all guests! RESTAURANT & BAR The Barbazan restauran serves up a savory assortment of traditional Russian and European cuisine in a convenient 1st-floor location. It combines delicious meals with exclusive service. Each season our chefs are committed to pleasing you with original plates, paying additional attention to serving dishes in order to highlight your culinary experience. Our guests can enjoy food & drinks at the around-the-clock service Cannelle Bar & Cafe. Bar enjoys a corner location overlooking two main city shopping streets. Menu offers a wide variety of cocktails and refreshments; there is a good choice of snacks and desserts, as well as main courses. FREE INTERNET Stay connected at no charge! Whether you're checking email, researching an idea that popped up during a breakout session, posting photos or just reading the news during a coffee break, we make it all possible with free cutting-edge high-speed Internet access available for all meeting delegates as well as overnight guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Rezidor, Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Radisson Royal Hotel, St.Petersburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Royal Hotel, St.Petersburg Hotel St. Petersburg
Radisson St Petersburg
St Petersburg Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing