We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice stay In St. Petersburg”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Helvetia Deluxe Hotel
Ranked #5 of 359 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 August 2011

Stayed two weeks here it is a very nice historic hotel, the restaurants and pubs were excellent. The staff spoke very good English and was always a pleasure to deal with.

Room Tip: Try to get a room over the courtyard, it is quiet even if you need to open a window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CHooter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (791)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

248 - 254 of 791 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2011

We booked a transfer from the hotel to the airport (5:45am). They gave us a hotel car, Mercedes. But the driver wasn't wearing a suit or a business shirt/pants. He was in some casual slacks and a summer jacket.

Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
1  Thank 0letstalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2011

This hotel was booked through a tour we took of St. Petersburg. The check-in went well and you can charge the Russian visa registration fee to your room. Our room was facing the main street, so it had a lot of light in the room. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. Being on the main street< Marata St, we did not heard any noise. We slept well. Even though we were on a 3 day tour (Travel Bound Tours) of St. Petersburg, we were only on the tour a few hours each morning, which left the afternoon to explore ourselves. From the hotel we walked 2 blocks to Nevsky Prospekt Street and walked to various famous sights. If you don't mind walking you can see sights from a 15 minute walk to a 30 minute walk from the hotel. You can walk to the main canal to pick up a sight seeing canal boat ride. The staff was friendly and helped with restaurant recommendations. The staff's English was excellent. The room included breakfast, which was not that good. Thank goodness for energy bars. We ate at the hotel restaurant one time and the food was okay and a little pricey. The Helvetia Hotel is not inexpensive, but when you compare the price to other hotels in St. Petersburg it is pretty reasonable. You will definitely feel comfortable staying at the Helvetia. Just don't except too much in regards to the food.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SBCATraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2011

No complaints at all about this hotel. Excellent location in walking distance of centre of town, and very close to useful tube station. We booked a superior room (105) which was a good size, spotlessly clean, tasteful furnishings and a huge bed. It overlooked the courtyard and was quiet and good quality curtains kept out the almost 24 hour light. Air conditioning worked well and was quiet. Everything in the bathroom was fine too. Breakfasts were excellent - good selection of everything, a less extensive cooked selection than you would expect in the UK, but there were nice cold meats, cheese, various breads, porridge, fruit and salad. Even some sparkling wine was provided - a nice thing to have on holiday! As it was the light summer nights we stayed out very late on some nights but, even when we didn't go out until 3pm on one day, our room was still perfectly serviced when we returned - all very flexible. Staff at reception spoke excellent English and were very friendly - helped us out very efficiently with taxi bookings and provided free use of their computer to print our boarding passes. Good selection of stuff in the mini bar and actually not crazy prices. Supermarket next door handy if you wanted to buy water etc a bit more cheaply. All in all highly recommended and worth the price even in high season.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank empresscatherine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2011

Dont´t go there in summer because there are very few rooms with a AC! We were promised a suite with AC, but when we got there they put us in a flat down the street It ws a totally diffrent standard, though the AC was better than in the main biulding! The bed was smal and hard, the toilet so small yoy couldn´t close the door when you sat down.
But then there was other things making upp for it as the charming courtyard were we had breakfast and even dinner sometimes.
Most of the staff were friendl some less! Very conveniant with an ATM mashine in the lobby! The location was perfekt close to the main street and many restaurants in the area!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alebir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HelvetiaHotelSPB, GDS Manager at Helvetia Deluxe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2011

Dear Alebir,
Thank you very much for your comments regarding Helvetia Hotel. It is a pity to hear that you found your stay at Helvetia in July 2010 not up to your expectations. We are glad to inform you that there was a lot of improvement here since your last visit. In late 2010 Helvetia Hotel went through the major reconstruction which touched not only interior, but also room equipment. As a result of the renovation the hotel’s traditional elegancy has been harmonically extended with modern technical solutions. All the rooms and passageways have been redone and upgraded to please the Helvetia’s sophisticated guests. The water and heating systems have been modernized; super-efficient Daikin air conditioning, individually controlled and completely noiseless, has been installed in all rooms. Talking about quiet surroundings, the Helvetia pays special attention to preventing unnecessary noise in the guestrooms, most of which overlook the hotel’s tranquil, Swiss-village courtyard. Despite the proximity to the city’s main boulevard, peace and quiet reign supreme.
We also thank you for the positive parts of your review. We are pleased to know you liked our cosy courtyard. As usual, with the coming of warm weather the Helvetia’s summer terrace reopen in the courtyard, complete with bubbling fountain.
Remodelled, the Helvetia Hotel is willing to offer brand new level of comfort and service. We do hope that you give us the chance to welcome you once again and show you our improvements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2011

Excellent location - off Nevsky Prospekt, but very close to the metro and the main street. Excellent service, restaurants with very tasty menus open 24 hours a day. We traveled for the first time to Russia with our 8 yo son, and this hotel was recommended by our travel agent in Zürich. It is owned by Swiss, therefore we could enjoy extremely comfortable beds and pillows (they even offer you the choice of pillows for your comfort!) and our favourite Mövenpick ice-cream! The staff is very helpful, managed to organize for us opera tickets to Mariinsky (the last day of the season!), taxis to and from the theatre, we felt we were cared for and pampered. As we unfortunately managed to hit the worst heat in Russian history in July, it was very convenient that we could enjoy our night sightseeing trips and use the restaurants round the clock. The hotel is air-conditioned, very comfortable rooms, the only drawback - the lack of lifts as it is located in an old building. But the hotel porters dealt with our luggage so we did not have to carry anything ourselves. Staff is very friendly and helpful, we will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Swissmurka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2011

Stayed here 3 nights from 11-13 Feb inclusive. The hotel car met us at the airport and we had a glass of Champagne (or soft drink) offered to us while checking in. We were upgraded to a deluxe room, having booked a standard. The hotel were also very efficient before we arrived arranging to sort out all the necessary forms so that we could get our Russian visas issued in London (although we flew into Russia from Helsinki). The hotel has 2 restaurants and we used them both. Breakfast (buffet) was fine. The room we had was very comfortable and warm (it was minus 20 outside) and it was quiet (although there is some renovation work going on in the hotel). We used the hotel car and driver to take us to the ballet and to the airport when we left, although we did use the Metro which has an entrance at the end of the road the hotel is on. Great location, just off Nevsky Prospekt and we cannot fault either the hotel or its staff - all of whom were very efficient, friendly and responsive. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kartouche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HelvetiaHotelSPB, GDS/IDS Manager at Helvetia Deluxe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2011

Dear Kartouche,
Thank you for choosing Helvetia Hotel and submitting hotel review. It is nice to hear that you found your stay at Helvetia pleasant and comfortable. We also highly appreciate your warm words concerning hotel personnel and the hotel location.
A couple of words should be said about renovation work mentioned in your review. In 2010 Helvetia Hotel did go through the major modernization. Since the Helvetia is housed in a nineteenth-century mansion protected as a national landmark, the reconstruction accurately preserved all the building’s historic architectural features. As a result of the renovation the hotel’s traditional elegancy has been harmonically extended with modern technical solutions.
In May we open five spacious individually designed rooms in the Junior Suite category. The area of each room is in average 30 square meters, the ceiling is 3,5 meters. All rooms have the parquet floor. Large bathrooms decorated with natural stone and having a big oval bathtub well combine the functionality and aesthetic appeal.
Elegant classic style dominates these rooms’ design with accents to the high quality textile and the stuccowork. The atmosphere of old St. Petersburg has been recreated here but a sharp-eyed observer will see some smart European features.
Reconstruction was done in both rooms and corridors and as a result 80% of the room inventory is rebuilt and upgraded in accordance with the demands of the most sophisticated guests. The water and heating systems have been changed; the modern noiseless conditioning system Daikin with individual control was installed in all the rooms.
Remodelled, remarkably comfortable and in keeping with the spirit of Old Petersburg, the Helvetia Hotel is ready to greet the guests of 2011 on a brand new level of comfort and service.
We will be happy to have an opportunity to show the renewed Helvetia Hotel during your next visit to St. Petersburg.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Nevskiy
Pushka Inn Hotel
Pushka Inn Hotel
#2 of 359 in St. Petersburg
1,645 reviews
Vladimir
Crowne Plaza St. Petersburg - Ligovsky
Crowne Plaza St. Petersburg - Li...
#14 of 359 in St. Petersburg
919 reviews
Liteyny
Hotel Indigo St. Petersburg - Tchaikovskogo
Hotel Indigo St. Petersburg - Tc...
#4 of 359 in St. Petersburg
799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kolomna
Alexander House
Alexander House
#1 of 359 in St. Petersburg
571 reviews
Nevsky Forum Hotel
#17 of 359 in St. Petersburg
760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Helvetia Deluxe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Helvetia Deluxe Hotel

Address: Marata St., 11, St. Petersburg 191025, Russia
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Vladimir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in St. Petersburg
#6 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
#9 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#10 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range: £63 - £187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Helvetia Deluxe Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within a leisurely stroll from Nevsky Prospect there is a historic building of the Helvetia Hotel, with origins dating back to the early 19th century. The hotel's interiors successfully combine St. Petersburg's harmonious style with the elegance of European design. Native Russian cordiality, coupled with Swiss traditions of cosiness and hospitality, individual attention to every guest and international service standards, are the distinguishing features of the Helvetia Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Helvetia Deluxe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helvetia Hotel St Petersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing