We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent base for St Petersburg”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Helvetia Deluxe Hotel
Ranked #6 of 354 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Excellent base for St Petersburg”
Reviewed 18 December 2013

We arrived in St Petersburg on the fast train from Mosco at 23:30 on our first day in Russia so I was looking for somewhere easy to get to from the Moskovsky Railway Station either on foot or by taxi. When we arrived there were plenty of people around so we took the short walk to the hotel (circa 10mins).

The staff on reception are very professional with excellent English (my attempts at Russian were not very good). There is a charge of 220 roubles to perform the important guest registration which I thought was reasonable enough. The registrations were delivered to our room the next day.

Our room was very pleasant, a reasonable size, classic rather than modern in decor with a decent sized bathroom. Very comfortable bed with menu of pillows available from reception (nice touch we didn't use this as the standard were very comfortable). Free and quick wifi is useful.

The hotel is in a great location both for walking via the main thoroughfare (Nevsky Prospect) or via the Mayokovskaya metro station which is no more than a 2-3 min walk away. The metro is easy to navigate (less crowded than Moscow) with a journey of any length costing circa £0.60.

We didn't have breakfast but I would recommend both restaurants (Marius and Claret) attached to the hotel - see separate reviews. Welcome drink, daily pillow chocolates and weather forecasts are nice touches.

Overall I would not hesitiate to recommend this hotel and would happily stay there again. Only reason for 4 instead of 5 is that it didn't amaze me as such but did everything very, very well. We got a good advance rate from Expedia.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank matthewjfarrar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

727 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    511
    178
    26
    4
    8
See reviews for
119
247
65
190
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tallinn, Estonia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Stayed in the hotel for a night while visiting the town with my wife. We loved the location - it's almost on Nevsky Prospekt and close to everything, but not quite as busy - it's much less noisy and private than on the main streets. Also I can imagine the courtyard being a nice place to wine and dine in summer. Rooms were nice and clean, staff was friendly and fluent in English. Also worth a mention that we had one of the best breakfasts ever in a hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LH_Tallinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Very good hotel. Our room was nice and quiet. Very clean and large. The staff were helpful. The room was located in an adjacent building accessed from the courtyard, which meant it was very quiet and we did not have to go through reception each time. It is a fair walk (30-40 min) from the hotel into the center where all the main attractions are, but there is a metro station a few minutes away from the hotel if you are not up for it. It is an enjoyable walk and there are things to see on the way like the Armenian church and a few nice buildings so I would recommend you try it once.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anonymous039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Nice hotel. Our room was large, bright and clean. The hotel is very quiet and during the summer their cafe has a nice outdoor area in the courtyard. The staff was friendly and helpful. The only downside is that it is a good half hour walk into the main sites. That being said, there is a metro station 2 minutes from the hotel if you do not fancy walking. We did not take it as the weather was nice and we enjoyed the walk after all.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oxygen001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

I've stayed over one weekend in October of 2013. The hotel's location is amazing, only minutes by foot from Nevsky Prospekt and the Mayakovskaya Metro station. The service is top notch, the the staff polite and attentive. I spoke Russian, but I have heard them speaking to other guests to see that their English is also excellent. The rooms are what one would expect from a four star hotel. There may be an issue for some mobility-challenged guests as the elevator stops in a stair bank in between floors, so a short trip up or down the stairs is unavoidable for getting to one's room.

There was one issue where they recorded my room as empty and so changed the locks and attempted to put other people there. However, they were extremely apologetic and offered to upgrade me to a suite for the remainder of my stay and gave me a free transfer to the airport, so I am inclined to believe it was nothing but a simple mistake.

Overall, an excellent hotel in a great location. Would definitely come again!

Room Tip: Great Location!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fgalkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Despite my short stay at this hotel,-I've overwhelmingly enjoyed every minute of it !!! That was due to cordial reception I received the second I had entered this hotel's premises and contiuned on with my room's cleanliness, welcoming staff, quiet atmosphere and a superb location in the city center !!! Money wise - every penny is worth it to enjoy the lovely accomodation at Helvetia Hotel, Saint Petersburg !!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fuat P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

I have to say that this hotel was just great:

Location - 10 minutes walk from the main station for the Moscow train, metro station just down the street, just off Nevsky Prospekt - ideal.
Staff - everyone I dealt with was very friendly and helpful, they even insisted on speaking English when I tried to practice my dreadful Russian.
Room - was small (only a single bed) but I was there on my own for business so that didn't matter - apart from that it was clean, comfortable and had everything you needed with free wifi too.

I didn't try the hotel restaurants so can't comment. For the rate I got it for (through Expedia) it simply could not have been better. I was genuinely taken aback by how nice a hotel it was considering the rate I had paid

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cibo-irl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Nevskiy
Pushka Inn Hotel
Pushka Inn Hotel
#2 of 354 in St. Petersburg
1,581 reviews
Nevskiy
Akyan St.Petersburg
Akyan St.Petersburg
#11 of 354 in St. Petersburg
524 reviews
Liteyny
Hotel Indigo St. Petersburg - Tchaikovskogo
Hotel Indigo St. Petersburg - Tc...
#4 of 354 in St. Petersburg
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nevsky Forum Hotel
#18 of 354 in St. Petersburg
739 reviews
Kolomna
Alexander House
Alexander House
#1 of 354 in St. Petersburg
554 reviews
Vladimir
Crowne Plaza St. Petersburg - Ligovsky
Crowne Plaza St. Petersburg - Li...
#12 of 354 in St. Petersburg
887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Helvetia Deluxe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Helvetia Deluxe Hotel

Property: Helvetia Deluxe Hotel
Address: Marata St., 11, St. Petersburg 191025, Russia
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Vladimir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
#6 Luxury Hotel in St. Petersburg
#9 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#10 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Helvetia Deluxe Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within a leisurely stroll from Nevsky Prospect there is a historic building of the Helvetia Hotel, with origins dating back to the early 19th century. The hotel's interiors successfully combine St. Petersburg's harmonious style with the elegance of European design. Native Russian cordiality, coupled with Swiss traditions of cosiness and hospitality, individual attention to every guest and international service standards, are the distinguishing features of the Helvetia Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Helvetia Deluxe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helvetia Hotel St Petersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing