We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cosy and worth it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Helvetia Deluxe Hotel
Ranked #7 of 334 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Cosy and worth it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

I stayed there with my family on holiday in April 2014 - so recently. Rooms are spacious and clean. so is the bathroom. The room comes equipped with kettle, coffee and tea which i personally find important. the internet works well and is fast. the location is excellent. it is very central but since the hotel is further to the inside you do not get all the noise of the street. The staff speak very good English and are helpful. The only less than perfect thing they should work on is the breakfast. really nothing special and bland

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reemoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnastasyaAgababova, Front Office Manager at Helvetia Deluxe Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Reemoz,

Thank you for your stay with us and your review. The reviews of our guests help us to improve service and facilities. We appreciate that the room equipment met your expectations and the quality of WiFi was high.

We appreciate that you marked good level of English of the staff –it is the best compliment for us.

As for the breakfast quality, we will keep trying to improve it until every guest will say that it is perfect, unless it is possible, but I would like to say that we are sure it is already good enough.
Please, stay again with us and we will try to provide you even better service.

Yours sincerely,
Anastasia Agababova
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    465
    166
    26
    4
    8
See reviews for
110
222
58
184
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

The location of the hotel is 10 minutes walk from the central train station (Moskovskij Vogsal). Even it the weather is bad (cold, rainy, stormy - or all together) one doesn't need a taxi.
The staff is very friendly, well trained and helpful. The rooms are of very good standard taking into consideration the price/value relation.
Breakfast is good and the restaurant of the hotel is very good.
To be recommended for private and business trips. Thank you to all staff of the hotel.

Henry Olberg

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Henry O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asiago, Italy
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

good location , nice staff , very clean, nice breakfast , lovely courtyard, nothing to complain about. maybe the style of the rooms is a bit oldfashioned for my taste, but , as just said, that's a matter of taste.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fedinapenale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

We found the staff helpful and friendly before and during our trip. The hotel is a wonderful old building with a quaint courtyard. The hotel is spotless and very well managed. Good options to eat and drink at the hotel and plenty more walking distance away. You are right on Nevsky Prospect and easy to access the metro. The hotel organised excellent sight-seeing trips for us. St Petersburg is not cheap, and this is not a cheap hotel - but we felt well worth the money.

Room Tip: There actually is no swimming pool or fitness centre
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BARRY J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turkey
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

Wonderfully helpful (and attractive!) front-desk girls: very good general advice and Marinsky Ballet tickets - no problem. This hotel is really special, in its own courtyard; it has a very chequered history as a small private mansion, but with rooms rented out in less fortunate circumstances - even to revolutionaries! Then communal apartments after 1917, and finally gloriously restored to this superb hotel. Excellent restaurant, bar; very pleasant breakfast, good bedrooms. Metro on the corner. Oh, got a sun-reddened face - in April! What a wonderful city!!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cottagegrove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto Alegre, RS
Level Contributor
429 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

I stayed 3 nights in a room overlooking the courtyard. The room was very clean with excellent bed and pillows and was quiet with plenty of space. Check in and out was easy and quick. The Hotel is located next to the Nevsky Prospect, the main street, but a little bit far from the main sights. The Staff is efficient but a little impersonal. The map given by hotel is not friendly to help find the streets and sights. Unfortunately breakfast is very expensive even to European western standards. They have a taxi service but charge you twice the normal taxi fare to take him to the airport. I think it quite unpleasant in a city where it's hard to find one, especially early in the morning.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antonio D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

We arrived in St Petersburg on the fast train from Mosco at 23:30 on our first day in Russia so I was looking for somewhere easy to get to from the Moskovsky Railway Station either on foot or by taxi. When we arrived there were plenty of people around so we took the short walk to the hotel (circa 10mins).

The staff on reception are very professional with excellent English (my attempts at Russian were not very good). There is a charge of 220 roubles to perform the important guest registration which I thought was reasonable enough. The registrations were delivered to our room the next day.

Our room was very pleasant, a reasonable size, classic rather than modern in decor with a decent sized bathroom. Very comfortable bed with menu of pillows available from reception (nice touch we didn't use this as the standard were very comfortable). Free and quick wifi is useful.

The hotel is in a great location both for walking via the main thoroughfare (Nevsky Prospect) or via the Mayokovskaya metro station which is no more than a 2-3 min walk away. The metro is easy to navigate (less crowded than Moscow) with a journey of any length costing circa £0.60.

We didn't have breakfast but I would recommend both restaurants (Marius and Claret) attached to the hotel - see separate reviews. Welcome drink, daily pillow chocolates and weather forecasts are nice touches.

Overall I would not hesitiate to recommend this hotel and would happily stay there again. Only reason for 4 instead of 5 is that it didn't amaze me as such but did everything very, very well. We got a good advance rate from Expedia.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank matthewjfarrar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Liteyny
Hotel Indigo St. Petersburg - Tchaikovskogo
Hotel Indigo St. Petersburg - Tc...
#5 of 334 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
Nevskiy
Pushka Inn Hotel
Pushka Inn Hotel
#2 of 334 in St. Petersburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,497 reviews
Nevskiy
Akyan Saint Petersburg
Akyan Saint Petersburg
#12 of 334 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Admiralteisky
Domina St.Petersburg
Domina St.Petersburg
#10 of 334 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,082 reviews
Nevsky Forum Hotel
#14 of 334 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
The State Hermitage Museum Offic...
#4 of 334 in St. Petersburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Helvetia Deluxe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Helvetia Deluxe Hotel

Property: Helvetia Deluxe Hotel
Address: Marata St., 11, St. Petersburg 191025, Russia
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Vladimir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
#7 Luxury Hotel in St. Petersburg
#9 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#10 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Helvetia Deluxe Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within a leisurely stroll from Nevsky Prospect there is a historic building of the Helvetia Hotel, with origins dating back to the early 19th century. The hotel's interiors successfully combine St. Petersburg's harmonious style with the elegance of European design. Native Russian cordiality, coupled with Swiss traditions of cosiness and hospitality, individual attention to every guest and international service standards, are the distinguishing features of the Helvetia Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Helvetia Deluxe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helvetia Hotel St Petersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing