We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, close to bus stop, but no a/c”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Helvetia Deluxe Hotel
Ranked #6 of 354 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great hotel, close to bus stop, but no a/c”
Reviewed 17 August 2010

Advice was that hotels in st Petersburg were not cheap and hit and miss in terms of quality.. Helvetica was pricey for Australian standards but for Russia I think it was good. Very clean and nicely decorated rooms. Terrific bed and brilliant shower. For the price I expected air conditioning though. This summer was very hot and Russia isn't built for the heat!! Very hot nights with a fan and midnight splashes of water on the face. One very rude staff member in the restaurant really disappointed us. It made breakfasts uncomfortable. But included breakfast was fairly good. Coffee was good and nice and strong! Overall a pleasant stay. Beautiful courtyard for meals and or drinks. Near nevisky prospect but bus trip required (1 to 3 stops) to get into the 'action'.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JandKadventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HelvetiaHotelSPB, Sales Manager at Helvetia Deluxe Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2010
Dear JandKadventures, thank you for you taking time to write a review. As you pointed, this summer was very hot that was not distinctive for St Petersburg. Since Saint Petersburg is located in the North West of Russia there have never been special needs to have every guest room equipped with cooling system.
We are pleased to inform you that following our guests’ wish, our hotel will go for the improving plan, which includes also the installation of air-conditioning in every guest room. This conversion will be finished by the next summer what makes the Helvetia Hotel prepared for High season. I hope that you will return to the Helvetia Hotel next season and give us the opportunity to welcome you to our new reequipped guest rooms.
We also regret that the attitude of one of the restaurant staff seemed rude to you. Our team has regular trainings and we always do our best for personalized services.
We also thank you for the positive part of your review. We highly appreciate your praise of our breakfast, courtyard, and location.
Once again, we will be happy to see you among the guests of our hotel to show you our improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

727 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    511
    178
    26
    4
    8
See reviews for
119
247
65
190
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Heidelberg/Frankfurt/Amsterdam
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2010

Really friendly hotel, lots of services, reasonable breakfast, rooms ok, lovely courtyard, very central to metro and main street (Nevinsky). Unfortunately we were there when it was really hot and there was no aircon, windows do not open properly and there are lots of mosquitoes. So if you don't travel in the summer, this is a perfect hotel to choose.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank salmony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 August 2010

This is a good hotel, where many of the friendly staff speak English. Room was small but clean, buffet breakfasts excellent. Only problem - it was August and the rooms have no air con (though the reception and restaurant do). SO sleeping wasn't easy. We were on the 3rd floor and the room was permanently baking despite the fan they provided.

Any other time of year - or IF they get air conditioning fitted, I would rate this much higher.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grays_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange City, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2010

This was my second visit to the Helvetia Hotel and all I can say is that if your budget can afford it, this is the place to stay! This property originally was the Swiss embassy. It is beautifully appointed, secure, very comfortable and a very enjoyable place to stay in St. Petersburg. The rooms could be larger but that was not a major issue. The staff is very friendly and very helpful. There are no elevators so all access to rooms is by stairs.

Located just two blocks from Nevsky Prospect, it is hard to beat this hotel's location. Practically everything is within walking distance: Shopping, restaurants, the canals, the Hermitage, the churches, cruises or buses to Peterhof, etc. etc.

There are two restaurants on property, one of which serves a nice breakfast with a good variety of items. There is also a courtyard area where, during nice weather, it is possible to have a drink or even dine outside.

The only negative that I can say is that given the room price, free WiFi internet should be included. Currently, you must pay for internet access.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GJY2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paradise
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2010

I stayed here one night only.
Good:
Service at the reception, size of the room (although we got an upgrade), nice terrace

Bad: Breakfast, the fact the you need to go back to reception to get a voucher for the internet

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EvaSoloOnTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HelvetiaHotelSPB, Sales Manager at Helvetia Deluxe Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2010
Dear Guest, thank you very much for your review. From your grades we noticed that you were not fully satisfied of the room and the sleep quality. It’s a great pity you have not left us more detailed review for we could work on your comments. We also regret that you have found our breakfast below your expectations. All food at the breakfast is fresh and we offer variety choice of cold and hot dishes. We also highly appreciate the positive parts of your comment on Tripadvisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Shields, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 July 2010

This hotel was a great place to stay, it is situated in a good place to explore to city sights. The rooms were clean and comfortable and luckily we had air-conditioning within the room - which due to the heat in July 2010 was a welcome relief.

The staff were attentive with a reasonable command of English, whilst the food and drink in both the hotel restaurants was good and reasonably priced.

The hotel court yard offers a good place to relax away from the bussle of the main roads and offers seclusion when having a drink after a long day exploring the sights.

Overall should we decide to return to St Petersburg we would definitely book this hotel again

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sean2552
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2010

A couple of things that became clear after the event... Russian hotel staff work incredibly hard and unbelievably long shifts. We arrived at the hotel, as I am sure many people do, "fresh" from the overnight train from Moscow. We were tired and a tad cranky, and the hotel staff were the ones who had been working all through the night. Smiles and general cheerfulness were a bit scarce on both sides. That much being said, every staff member we encountered - front desk, barmen, waitresses - spoke wonderful English. So we were helped to leave our bags at the hotel, sit outside in the gorgeous courtyard and have breakfast, and then go sightseeing until normal check in time at 1pm.

If you are going in the height of the summer, it is probably worth asking for one of the air-conditioned rooms at the front of the hotel - even though there is no elevator serving those rooms. My room was huge with an incredibly comfortable bed and a spacious beautifully appointed bathroom.

There is a restaurant and a bar that serves great food in the hotel. The bar is open 24 hours a day - and you may be surprised to find that waiter who served you at 6pm is still there working at 10am in the morning. As to noise, well, my room was above the bar and I heard NOTHING.

On the day we left the hotel arranged taxis for us to the airport which were clean, punctual and although not cheap - 1800 roubles - were a painfree way of getting out of the city.

If I have any criticism it is that there were things that we ended up paying for as "extras" that could have been included in the price: the 150 rouble registration fee was not charged at any of the other hotels we stayed at in Russia (well, it was probably charged but was just rolled into the room rate), there was no free wifi in the lobby, although there is a computer just off the lobby which is available to guests.

We booked online and paid around $180 US a night, which was a steal considering the level of comfort and the location. This is WAAAAY less than the normal quoted rate, and I am still not sure why.

Oh, and the cranky encounters with the staff? Well, by the second day they were smiling, asking us about our trip, whether we liked the hotel, how service could be improved, what the food was like... In short, a bit of sleep went a long way on both sides, and I genuinely believe when staff at the bottom of the food chain care that you are having a good stay at their hotel, then the management have achieved a great deal.

The location is wonderful - you are about 100 meters from Nevsky Prospect - which means you are close enough to the action, and yet far enough away for some peace and quiet.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank max_smacks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Nevskiy
Pushka Inn Hotel
Pushka Inn Hotel
#2 of 354 in St. Petersburg
1,582 reviews
Nevskiy
Akyan St.Petersburg
Akyan St.Petersburg
#11 of 354 in St. Petersburg
524 reviews
Liteyny
Hotel Indigo St. Petersburg - Tchaikovskogo
Hotel Indigo St. Petersburg - Tc...
#4 of 354 in St. Petersburg
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nevsky Forum Hotel
#18 of 354 in St. Petersburg
739 reviews
Kolomna
Alexander House
Alexander House
#1 of 354 in St. Petersburg
554 reviews
Vladimir
Crowne Plaza St. Petersburg - Ligovsky
Crowne Plaza St. Petersburg - Li...
#12 of 354 in St. Petersburg
887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Helvetia Deluxe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Helvetia Deluxe Hotel

Property: Helvetia Deluxe Hotel
Address: Marata St., 11, St. Petersburg 191025, Russia
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Vladimir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in St. Petersburg
#6 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
#9 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#10 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Helvetia Deluxe Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within a leisurely stroll from Nevsky Prospect there is a historic building of the Helvetia Hotel, with origins dating back to the early 19th century. The hotel's interiors successfully combine St. Petersburg's harmonious style with the elegance of European design. Native Russian cordiality, coupled with Swiss traditions of cosiness and hospitality, individual attention to every guest and international service standards, are the distinguishing features of the Helvetia Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Helvetia Deluxe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helvetia Hotel St Petersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing