We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, excellent breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Helvetia Deluxe Hotel
Ranked #5 of 357 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 October 2010

The location is excellent. It is one block from Nevesky Prospekt so there is no street noise. The breakfast buffet each morning was very good and plentiful. The wait staff was very attentive and courteous. The Russian museum and the Hermitage were all within reasonable walking distance, but taking public transportation was quicket.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeniciaTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HelvetiaHotelSPB, GDS/IDS Manager at Helvetia Deluxe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2010

Dear Benicia Tripper, thank you very much for your comments regarding your stay at Helvetia Hotel. We are pleased to hear that you were satisfied of our location, services and personnel. Hope we will see you among the guests of Helvetia Hotel next time your visit to Saint-Petersburg.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (756)
There are newer reviews for Helvetia Deluxe Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

239 - 245 of 756 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2010

Selected this Hotel from reviews read on this site and booked through our travel agent in Australia..We were very happy with our choice as the property was all we had expected.Two restaurants on site (favourite Marius) very comfortable,clean rooms,front desk very helpful and knowledgable.Breakfast and dinner both excellent all week long.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank macca044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2010

We found the hotel to be stylish,comfortable and well situated in city centre which is just as well as public transport is a little thin. The double room was OK in size had airconditioning, mini bar and large TV. The staff very friendly and helpful. No lift and we were on the 3rd floor but they do carry your luggage for you. Breakfast good quality but limited choice. Have to pay extra for bacon or fried eggs. WiFi costs extra as does room service. On site restaurant( The Clairet) expensive for what you get. Better to eat out where there is lots of choice.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrishj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2010

Advice was that hotels in st Petersburg were not cheap and hit and miss in terms of quality.. Helvetica was pricey for Australian standards but for Russia I think it was good. Very clean and nicely decorated rooms. Terrific bed and brilliant shower. For the price I expected air conditioning though. This summer was very hot and Russia isn't built for the heat!! Very hot nights with a fan and midnight splashes of water on the face. One very rude staff member in the restaurant really disappointed us. It made breakfasts uncomfortable. But included breakfast was fairly good. Coffee was good and nice and strong! Overall a pleasant stay. Beautiful courtyard for meals and or drinks. Near nevisky prospect but bus trip required (1 to 3 stops) to get into the 'action'.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JandKadventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HelvetiaHotelSPB, Sales Manager at Helvetia Deluxe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2010

Dear JandKadventures, thank you for you taking time to write a review. As you pointed, this summer was very hot that was not distinctive for St Petersburg. Since Saint Petersburg is located in the North West of Russia there have never been special needs to have every guest room equipped with cooling system.
We are pleased to inform you that following our guests’ wish, our hotel will go for the improving plan, which includes also the installation of air-conditioning in every guest room. This conversion will be finished by the next summer what makes the Helvetia Hotel prepared for High season. I hope that you will return to the Helvetia Hotel next season and give us the opportunity to welcome you to our new reequipped guest rooms.
We also regret that the attitude of one of the restaurant staff seemed rude to you. Our team has regular trainings and we always do our best for personalized services.
We also thank you for the positive part of your review. We highly appreciate your praise of our breakfast, courtyard, and location.
Once again, we will be happy to see you among the guests of our hotel to show you our improvements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2010

Really friendly hotel, lots of services, reasonable breakfast, rooms ok, lovely courtyard, very central to metro and main street (Nevinsky). Unfortunately we were there when it was really hot and there was no aircon, windows do not open properly and there are lots of mosquitoes. So if you don't travel in the summer, this is a perfect hotel to choose.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank salmony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2010

This is a good hotel, where many of the friendly staff speak English. Room was small but clean, buffet breakfasts excellent. Only problem - it was August and the rooms have no air con (though the reception and restaurant do). SO sleeping wasn't easy. We were on the 3rd floor and the room was permanently baking despite the fan they provided.

Any other time of year - or IF they get air conditioning fitted, I would rate this much higher.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grays_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2010

This was my second visit to the Helvetia Hotel and all I can say is that if your budget can afford it, this is the place to stay! This property originally was the Swiss embassy. It is beautifully appointed, secure, very comfortable and a very enjoyable place to stay in St. Petersburg. The rooms could be larger but that was not a major issue. The staff is very friendly and very helpful. There are no elevators so all access to rooms is by stairs.

Located just two blocks from Nevsky Prospect, it is hard to beat this hotel's location. Practically everything is within walking distance: Shopping, restaurants, the canals, the Hermitage, the churches, cruises or buses to Peterhof, etc. etc.

There are two restaurants on property, one of which serves a nice breakfast with a good variety of items. There is also a courtyard area where, during nice weather, it is possible to have a drink or even dine outside.

The only negative that I can say is that given the room price, free WiFi internet should be included. Currently, you must pay for internet access.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GJY2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Nevskiy
Pushka Inn Hotel
Pushka Inn Hotel
#2 of 357 in St. Petersburg
1,612 reviews
Liteyny
Hotel Indigo St. Petersburg - Tchaikovskogo
Hotel Indigo St. Petersburg - Tc...
#4 of 357 in St. Petersburg
766 reviews
Vladimir
Crowne Plaza St. Petersburg - Ligovsky
Crowne Plaza St. Petersburg - Li...
#13 of 357 in St. Petersburg
905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nevsky Forum Hotel
#16 of 357 in St. Petersburg
748 reviews
Nevskiy
Akyan St.Petersburg
Akyan St.Petersburg
#11 of 357 in St. Petersburg
546 reviews
Kolomna
Alexander House
Alexander House
#1 of 357 in St. Petersburg
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Helvetia Deluxe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Helvetia Deluxe Hotel

Address: Marata St., 11, St. Petersburg 191025, Russia
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Vladimir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in St. Petersburg
#6 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
#9 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#10 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range: £60 - £218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Helvetia Deluxe Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within a leisurely stroll from Nevsky Prospect there is a historic building of the Helvetia Hotel, with origins dating back to the early 19th century. The hotel's interiors successfully combine St. Petersburg's harmonious style with the elegance of European design. Native Russian cordiality, coupled with Swiss traditions of cosiness and hospitality, individual attention to every guest and international service standards, are the distinguishing features of the Helvetia Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Helvetia Deluxe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helvetia Hotel St Petersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing