We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”
Review of Dostoyevskiy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dostoyevskiy Hotel
Ranked #250 of 361 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in early December. The location is certainly excellent, within walking distance of most of the main tourist sights of St. Petersburg with Nevsky Prospekt being 5 mins stroll. There are many restaurants, bars and shops nearby. There is a metro stop right next door to the hotel and another metro stop across the road. This is an average tourist grade hotel and so you probably get what you pay for. Long yellow corridors which seem to go on for miles. The standard twin/double room is a good size,clean and adequate for staying a few nights. Very old TV unit with only Russian channels. Didn't look as though the air con would work as the vent was all tapped up - maybe this was to stop draughts but cannot be sure as we did not need to use it. Next to the hotel is a small shopping mall with basement supermarket if you need water etc. Reception are helpful and friendly and able to book taxi for return journey to airport. Our taxi from the airport was 900 roubles but the return booked through the hotel was 1600 roubles, there is not much you can do about that unless you speak Russian and can order your own taxi. Our main complaint would probably be the breakfast. It is of a poor standard. If you are someone that enjoys a nice breakfast or even a good selection of rolls or pastries you certainly be disappointed. There are over 200 rooms in this hotel and the breakfast room must be a nightmare when it is peak season. The hotel was not busy when we visited and so getting a table was not a problem. Adjacent to the hotel is a lovely English bakery where you can get coffee, cake or sandwiches. There is wifi in the hotel but you must purchase it from the reception.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PIGGOTTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (713)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

112 - 118 of 713 reviews

Reviewed 24 November 2013

The location of the hotel is quite nice, you have shopping malls, restaurants all around, and Metro station is just over the street. There was no other customer's checking in, so the reception staff could have put a little extra effort to make us welcome - or maybe they did? Anyway, it didn't work. They changed the room from the street side to the inner garden side without hesitation. For some reason they didn't ask me if I was ok with a smoking room. Luckily there was just a faint smell. Otherwise nice and peaceful room. Average breakfast, I found everything I needed.

I didn't like the long corridors. A housekeeper rushed into the room in the morning but vanished with a "sorry" right away.

Room Tip: Rooms towards the inner garden are more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HarriHirvela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

this hotel has a good location in the centre, near the metro.

I didn't like fighting for a table at breakfast in a small, cramped restaurant. The overall impression of the decor was not promising - long corridors, low ceiling, yellowish lighting. I have seen more eligant prisons. service at the desk was variable.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank umid2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We were in a party of 15 and stayed for six nights. On the plus side was the fact the hotel is very close to the city's main street, the Nevski Prospekt and good reasonably priced restaurants are very nearby, together with some nice coffee shops. There is also an excellent 24 hour supermarket under the hotel. Our room was large and always very clean.
Now to the negatives. The internet service was erratic and was working for only a little over half the time we were there. The air-conditioning system just did not work properly in our room and as the windows were sealed we had to sleep in very high temperatures, as did some other members of our party (although it may be noted that the public areas were all quite cool). As a couple that have travelled the world we rated the breakfast offering as not good. The 'hot food' was just warm, never hot and no hot plates either. The bread had to be put through the toaster three times if you wanted it browned. The cereal offering was poor with no muesli. A restaurant that you could reach by going through the supermarket and crossing the road provided excellent all day breakfasts - this hotel just needs to up its game.
Our real concern was over the front desk. We had the front desk order our taxis for the evening either a day in advance or early in the morning but the taxis just did not arrive and the staff did not care or offer any explanation. They seemed to struggle with English until my wife lost her temper and their English then became much better and they then ordered another taxi that got us to the ballet two minutes before the performance. We have not met such indifference in any other hotel we have stayed at in other countries. We just could not understand why the people on the front desk could not be pleasant or help more; we felt they did not want us to return.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Abbajj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

This is a very large hotel comfortable, clean and good value for money as accommodation in Russia is expensive. We found the location great we walked most places but there is a Metro or Trolley Buses close by. Get to breakfast early as many tour groups stay and selection of food not refilled that often, overall we enjoyed our stay and would recommend the Dostoevsky Hotel.

Room Tip: rooms facing court yard quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jillnorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Best side of this hotel is absolutely the location - close to main street Nevski Prospekt and other attractive places. Centralized air-conditioning made the room too cold. Room quite small and with carpet. Cleanliness above average. No safety lock in the door. Breakfast average, not too much fresh bread available but ok otherwise. Reception personnel was quite good and helpful. Wifi working but not constantly.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jukka L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

The main attraction of the Dostoevsky Hotel, as one might expect, is the focus on the great Russian writer. The historic building was in existence during Dostoevsky's lifetime, which is a definite plus for Dostoevsky fans, although modern travelers may prefer a newer structure. But the accommodations overall are very clean and comfortable and modern, with wi-fi, mini bar, and satellite TV.

Highlights within the hotel include the Dostoevsky Restaurant and the Raskolnikov Bar, as well as a functional business center and a well equipped fitness room.

The location is not as central to the most popular St. Petersburg tourist spots as many other hotels are, but the location is PERFECT for Dostoevsky fans, especially those who want to retrace the steps of the lauded novel Crime and Punishment. A brief walk from the hotel will place you at the Kokushkin Most (aka "K---- Bridge") which is located close to Raskolnikov's five story apartment building. And the hotel is also within close reach of the Dostoevsky Museum and the Tikhvin Monastery where Dostoevsky is buried.

Book your stay for "Dostoevsky Day" and you will have a most mystical and enjoyable experience!

Room Tip: There is a good selection of rooms at the Dostoevsky Hotel, from "affordable" to "lux...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tom K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Aston Hotel
#35 of 361 in St. Petersburg
465 reviews
Vladimir
The Brothers Karamazov Hotel
The Brothers Karamazov Hotel
#60 of 361 in St. Petersburg
448 reviews
Cronwell Inn Stremyannaya
#61 of 361 in St. Petersburg
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vladimir
Arkada
Arkada
#106 of 361 in St. Petersburg
99 reviews
Vladimir
Helvetia Deluxe Hotel
Helvetia Deluxe Hotel
#5 of 361 in St. Petersburg
796 reviews
Ambassador Hotel
#43 of 361 in St. Petersburg
821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dostoyevskiy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dostoyevskiy Hotel

Address: Vladimirskiy Ave., 19, St. Petersburg 191002, Russia
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Vladimir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#78 Luxury Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range: £33 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dostoyevskiy Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Dostoevsky is situated in the unique historical and architectural area of Saint-Petersburg. It takes five minutes walking through magnificent architectural monuments, from the Hotel to the Nevsky prospect, the very heart and the gala view of Saint-Petersburg.The Hotel building constructed in 1783 is located in the Vladimirskaya square. The modern-styled building front faces the Cathedral of Our Lady of Vladimir.The Hotel offers 218 rooms of various categories. Guests are welcomed to use high-speedy Internet access, satellite television, international dialing, minibar, round-the-clock room service and other facilities.Dostoevsky combines the charm of the old history and the high level of the modern comfort and service. That is why the Hotel is so popular among Russian and foreign tourists, businessmen and artists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dostoyevskiy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dostoevsky St Petersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing