We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located but a firetrap”
Review of Dostoyevskiy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dostoyevskiy Hotel
Ranked #214 of 349 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Marrakech, Morocco
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Well located but a firetrap”
Reviewed 11 February 2014

This hotel is well located but with lots of long corridors it is a firetrap. When we arrived the desk clerk asked us to sign a form stating we had understood the fire regulations -- but he hadn't explained them! We asked him to. I noticed that NONE of the fire doors in the corridors or to the stairs were closed. If there ever were a fire, these corridors would waft the fire around very quickly. Rooms small but have everything you need, including a nice fridge, Internet didn't work very well. Supermarket below the hotel very handy. Wifi at the British bakery next door was fine. Good breakfast buffet. Restaurant closed and bar service very slow for a meal.

Room Tip: Ask for one near the stairs so you can get out if there is a fire.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joyceheard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

692 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    226
    231
    106
    64
See reviews for
84
200
50
156
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2013

This hotel was centrally located - near to a subway station and walking distance to several historical sites and shopping. The rooms were very clean and modern. The breakfast was crowded in the mornings when the large tour groups swarmed the buffet. The dining offerings were so-so, but there's lots to choose from so you should be able to find something acceptable.

The primary complaint is about the terrible wifi connection. If you're traveling for business and need to be connected, steer clear of this joint. The wifi was consistently weak and rarely able to lock a strong connection (unless you were in the hotel lobby).

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ContinentalWander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Stayed at this hotel for only one night. We where there with a bigger group. The rooms was nice and clean. My room was suite but it was quite standard except extra room. Street noise was quite heavy while my room was street side. Like always in Russia the hotel room was quite hot and the Building automation was not running.
We have a group dinner but that was waist of time. Food was less than average. The hotel need some more focus on services.
Hotel location is excellent. Quite close to main street - Nevsky prospekt.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arska-FI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in early December. The location is certainly excellent, within walking distance of most of the main tourist sights of St. Petersburg with Nevsky Prospekt being 5 mins stroll. There are many restaurants, bars and shops nearby. There is a metro stop right next door to the hotel and another metro stop across the road. This is an average tourist grade hotel and so you probably get what you pay for. Long yellow corridors which seem to go on for miles. The standard twin/double room is a good size,clean and adequate for staying a few nights. Very old TV unit with only Russian channels. Didn't look as though the air con would work as the vent was all tapped up - maybe this was to stop draughts but cannot be sure as we did not need to use it. Next to the hotel is a small shopping mall with basement supermarket if you need water etc. Reception are helpful and friendly and able to book taxi for return journey to airport. Our taxi from the airport was 900 roubles but the return booked through the hotel was 1600 roubles, there is not much you can do about that unless you speak Russian and can order your own taxi. Our main complaint would probably be the breakfast. It is of a poor standard. If you are someone that enjoys a nice breakfast or even a good selection of rolls or pastries you certainly be disappointed. There are over 200 rooms in this hotel and the breakfast room must be a nightmare when it is peak season. The hotel was not busy when we visited and so getting a table was not a problem. Adjacent to the hotel is a lovely English bakery where you can get coffee, cake or sandwiches. There is wifi in the hotel but you must purchase it from the reception.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PIGGOTTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imatra, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

The location of the hotel is quite nice, you have shopping malls, restaurants all around, and Metro station is just over the street. There was no other customer's checking in, so the reception staff could have put a little extra effort to make us welcome - or maybe they did? Anyway, it didn't work. They changed the room from the street side to the inner garden side without hesitation. For some reason they didn't ask me if I was ok with a smoking room. Luckily there was just a faint smell. Otherwise nice and peaceful room. Average breakfast, I found everything I needed.

I didn't like the long corridors. A housekeeper rushed into the room in the morning but vanished with a "sorry" right away.

Room Tip: Rooms towards the inner garden are more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HarriHirvela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

this hotel has a good location in the centre, near the metro.

I didn't like fighting for a table at breakfast in a small, cramped restaurant. The overall impression of the decor was not promising - long corridors, low ceiling, yellowish lighting. I have seen more eligant prisons. service at the desk was variable.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank umid2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, Essex
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We were in a party of 15 and stayed for six nights. On the plus side was the fact the hotel is very close to the city's main street, the Nevski Prospekt and good reasonably priced restaurants are very nearby, together with some nice coffee shops. There is also an excellent 24 hour supermarket under the hotel. Our room was large and always very clean.
Now to the negatives. The internet service was erratic and was working for only a little over half the time we were there. The air-conditioning system just did not work properly in our room and as the windows were sealed we had to sleep in very high temperatures, as did some other members of our party (although it may be noted that the public areas were all quite cool). As a couple that have travelled the world we rated the breakfast offering as not good. The 'hot food' was just warm, never hot and no hot plates either. The bread had to be put through the toaster three times if you wanted it browned. The cereal offering was poor with no muesli. A restaurant that you could reach by going through the supermarket and crossing the road provided excellent all day breakfasts - this hotel just needs to up its game.
Our real concern was over the front desk. We had the front desk order our taxis for the evening either a day in advance or early in the morning but the taxis just did not arrive and the staff did not care or offer any explanation. They seemed to struggle with English until my wife lost her temper and their English then became much better and they then ordered another taxi that got us to the ballet two minutes before the performance. We have not met such indifference in any other hotel we have stayed at in other countries. We just could not understand why the people on the front desk could not be pleasant or help more; we felt they did not want us to return.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Abbajj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these St. Petersburg hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Vladimir
The Brothers Karamazov Hotel
The Brothers Karamazov Hotel
#63 of 349 in St. Petersburg
423 reviews
Nevskiy
Rossi Boutique Hotel & SPA
Rossi Boutique Hotel & SPA
#25 of 349 in St. Petersburg
769 reviews
Demetra Art Hotel
#48 of 349 in St. Petersburg
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nevskiy
Golden Triangle Hotel
Golden Triangle Hotel
#22 of 349 in St. Petersburg
691 reviews
Nevskiy
Novotel St. Petersburg Centre
Novotel St. Petersburg Centre
#43 of 349 in St. Petersburg
1,204 reviews
Park Inn by Radisson Nevsky St. ...
#64 of 349 in St. Petersburg
1,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dostoyevskiy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dostoyevskiy Hotel

Property: Dostoyevskiy Hotel
Address: Vladimirskiy Ave., 19, St. Petersburg 191002, Russia
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#72 Luxury Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Dostoyevskiy Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Dostoevsky is situated in the unique historical and architectural area of Saint-Petersburg. It takes five minutes walking through magnificent architectural monuments, from the Hotel to the Nevsky prospect, the very heart and the gala view of Saint-Petersburg.The Hotel building constructed in 1783 is located in the Vladimirskaya square. The modern-styled building front faces the Cathedral of Our Lady of Vladimir.The Hotel offers 218 rooms of various categories. Guests are welcomed to use high-speedy Internet access, satellite television, international dialing, minibar, round-the-clock room service and other facilities.Dostoevsky combines the charm of the old history and the high level of the modern comfort and service. That is why the Hotel is so popular among Russian and foreign tourists, businessmen and artists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Dostoyevskiy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dostoevsky St Petersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing