We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mixed feelings about this place,.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Saint Petersburg

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Saint Petersburg
Ranked #89 of 331 Hotels in St. Petersburg
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
169 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings about this place,.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

Well to begin with if you just want a place to rest your head at an inexpensive price this may be the place.The rooms were tired looking with furniture that has been in the room since the Reign of the Soviet Union.Built in 1970 in a Soviet Style modeling this hotel was suppose have been remodeled back in 2003 which is highly questionable.
The pipes in the hotel are so rusted that the water looks reddish-brown in color.The hotel is located on the banks of the Neva River near the main sights of the city.The hotel has a few good shops in the lobby a restaurant/bar on the ground floor along with another one on the second floor is where they serve the buffet breakfast.The food wasn't bad the service at the front desk wasn't bad yet this place could get very busy at times so be prepared.

Room Tip: Get a room ending in a odd number you'll get a view of the Neva River/city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kraor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

707 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    197
    177
    78
    73
See reviews for
129
133
102
194
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Borisov
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2011

Three points:
1) the hotel itself (room and the building) is horrible: it looks like it hasn't seen any repairs for like 30 years. Rooms are clean, but look like they are not because of age. All equipment is severely out-dated. It's hot in the rooms.
2) The view from the river-side rooms of the hotel is simply gorgeous: I literally had a hard time falling asleep because I couldn't stop looking and admiring the beauty of St.-Petersburg. Windows are huge, location is perfect.
3) Service was good. We were checked-in really fast. The room was made-up every day.

In addition to that it seems that restaurant was renovated and breakfasts are good.

It looks like this hotel suffers mainly from age. It spoils the first impression completely, which can't be recovered completely by good service. But the view is so good

Room Tip: just pick the room on the river-side and you will get some very bright memories to bring home
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dimitryp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2011

I stay in a lot of hotels around the world and while this certainly isn't the worst it is in the bottom 10%.

The major faults are:

-The rooms have vents for air conditioning but no controls in the room ,so I guess it is controlled centrally, but it is either broken or not switched on.
- The beds are very hard and uncomfortable
- My room was very noisy from what sounded like a diesel engine running 24/7
- The carpet in the corridor was filthy
- The staff range from surly to just bewildered when you ask for anything. Staff training is clearly not a priority here.
- There is no internet in the rooms
-There are no bath plugs, which may be just retro chic to the old Soviet era, but I would rather they were there!

In addition, there is just a general air of gloom about the place which just feels unloved. I would have been very upset if I had stayed here for a holiday.

On the plus side, the breakfast is OK.

It's a very big hotel and could be a real goldmine because of its location, but it is in serious need of professional management.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank plbaxter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these St. Petersburg hotels

Finland
Level Contributor
76 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2011

Walking distance from Finlandskiy railway station, reasonably priced.

I stayed there on two occasions (once in a room with the Aurora view and once on the opposite side), both rooms were clean and comfortable - simply standard for this price category and this city, if I may judge.

Definitely nothing as horrible as some of the reviews would suggest - those people should perhaps stay away from Russia in the first place: if one cannot afford luxury and decides to stay in this "economy" place, one should not complain about not getting 5* service. Visit hotel Krim in Sevastopol, Ukraine to get a true USSR experience - this is not it.

Having said that, the service at reception is indeed a bit "slow", to put it nicely. You better speak at least some Russian - it does help to break the ice and speed things up. However, nothing, I repeat nothing, will save you from having your passport "confiscated" for "registration". Don't panic, if this is your first check in in Russia :-)

Breakfast is included in the room price (at least it was in mine), but certainly nothing to write home about - most probably you will get a snack somewhere else shortly after leaving.

If you haven't been to St. Petersburg before, there is one not-so-obvious issue - the hotel seems to be on the "wrong side" of the river, so if you go dining/drinking/partying downtown, make sure you leave before midnight and return no sooner than 4 or 5 am. While the beautifully lit opening bridges across Neva may provide extremely romantic views, the practical implications need to be considered too.

The above also has an unexpected consequence: there is usually a bored bunch of "working girls" in the hotel lobby - they are simply stuck in the hotel over night. They will perhaps try to hint something (very decently) - however, if you speak Russian and make it clear this is not what you are after, you may strike one of the most interesting, honest, eye-opening and also funny conversations over a cup of coffee. You will learn more about real life in Russia in one hour than any of those people giving this hotel 0 points will ever find from their guide books.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank the_vj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

Unless you want to experience the Soviet times as a student in a hostel. I came there to see the great wiev to the Neva river, Aurora cruiser. But met also the great disappointment. You can find much more convenient hostels in around.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dr17ee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sochi, Russia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2011

This was our second visit to Hotel St. Petersburg and, again, we were very pleased with our stay. We had a Superior room with a beautiful Neva view. We can say nothing about other rooms, but our was clean and comfortable.
We stayed for two nights. The weather was very nice and sunny throughout our visit (mid-April). Service at the hotel was very good, staff was polite and helpful. We also enjoyed the breakfasts and dinners at restaurant Bering. We should note that the breakfast was delicious with a various selection of different dishes and with good quality.
We're pleased with price / quality ratio in this hotel and if we come again in St. Petersburg -will stay at the same hotel.

Room Tip: Best view have rooms with Neva river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NataliaIv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2011

The phone didn't work, the TV didn't work, lights didn't work (only the one in the bathroom). I doubt the room I was in had ever been cleaned, the carpet was so grotty.
When the shower was turned on, the heating also automatically came on. Great in those cold winters but not so great in a hotel room that's already 38 degrees!
The breakfast was not bad but I would have appreciated juice that wasn't lukewarm. The lifts were often out of order or you had to wait a while for them to come.
The outdoor bar was probably the only nice part of this hotel. The reception staff would glare at you when you went to pick up your room key. Passports are just behind the desks, no security at all. "Ladies of the night" were often seen. I actually felt unsafe staying here. It was an experience but not one I'd like to repeat.
This hotel's only redeeming feature is the beautiful view of the river at night. However I was one of the few lucky ones to get a room with a view.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank pixie088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Azimut Hotel Saint Petersburg
#69 of 331 in St. Petersburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,221 reviews
Liteyny
Hotel Indigo St. Petersburg - Tchaikovskogo
Hotel Indigo St. Petersburg - Tc...
#5 of 331 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
Nevskiy
Akyan Saint Petersburg
Akyan Saint Petersburg
#12 of 331 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nevskiy
Nevsky Contour Hotel
Nevsky Contour Hotel
#21 of 331 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
Bristol Hotel
#27 of 331 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
Vasilyevsky Island
NasHotel
NasHotel
#6 of 331 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saint Petersburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saint Petersburg

Property: Saint Petersburg
Address: Pirogovskaya Emb., 5/2, St. Petersburg 194175, Russia
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 331 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Saint Petersburg 3*
Number of rooms: 401
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel “Saint-Petersburg” is located in one of the most beautiful places of the city: Pirogovskaya embankment, just in front of the famous cruiser Avrora. The hotel has a magnificent view of the river Neva, historical center of the city, including Isaak and Peter and Paul Cathedrals. Finlyandsky Rail Terminal is situated in 10 minutes of walk from the hotel, getting from the hotel to the “Pulkovo” airport takes around 40 minutes. One of the main advantages of the hotel is an immediate proximity to the most popular sightseeings of Saint-Petersburg.Each room has a satellite television, phone line and personal washing composition. Apartment, Delux Suite, Superior Room have refrigerator.There are several restaurants and bars on the territory of the hotel. There are dishes of Russian, European, Japanese cuisine in the menu, also one of the restaurants is equipped with an own brewery and bakery. Life music performances are held almost daily.Panoramic restaurant “Bering”Lobby bar “Carlsberg”Concert HallNight club “Torn off balls”Restaurant "Chaplin Hall"Every year dozens of scientific congresses, symposiums, and concerts are held in the hotel “Saint-Petersburg”. One of the largest concert halls of the city with the capacity of 797 places is located in the hotel. Also there are an exhibition area and 3 well-equipped conference halls in the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Saint Petersburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint Petersburg Hotel St

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing