We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view, good brekky”
Review of Saint Petersburg

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Saint Petersburg
Ranked #87 of 362 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Located on the riverside, your view will be right over the City to the Winter Palace and all the church domes. You are also a stone's throw from the Aurora, permanently moored opposite (go on look it up!). Hence here you are immersed in the landscape and history of Saint Petersburg. Do see the other reviews. Further comments after my tips-

Top tips:
1. The Hermitage is inside the Winter Palace and they are synonymous. **Only the latter was named on my map!**
2. English: Most if not all of the staff in the hotel have a bit of English. Don't forget to say 'spasiba' though.
3. Travel (metro) - 10 mins walk to the Metro at Ploschad Lenina. Hand over 28Rubles for a metal coin token for any journey. 3 Stops south for Nemivsky Prospect. Easy.
4. Travel (taxi) - they take cards for payment. And drive like the clappers.
5. Money. There are cash machines in the hotel and in every Metro station.


More about the St P Hotel:
Yes, its a former Soviet style jobbie. Rooms with a view suffer road noise, and the curtains don't cover the whole window. My room had a re-furbed bathroom. Breakfast is a vast buffet and runs till 10.30 from 07.30. Meals and drinks available in the lobby (menus in Russian with English section too. There was no problem with getting a drink as mentioned by another reviewer). If you order a restaurant meal, dont forget a side order of carbs, or you will just get a lump of fish with nothing else. Also, it may take some time ... and arrive cold. I found them friendly enough in there though.

Room Tip: Riverside gives great cityscape view, but noisy. Back probably quieter but you wont see much
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pete_Chipp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (841)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 841 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2014

This was once perhaps a grand old Russian hotel but now is in desperate need of some TLC. The carpets are stained throughout the hallways and the staff were fairly unfriendly. Breakfasts were varied and generous and the restaurant had some nice views over the river but you could certainly do better with your money.

Curtains did not cover the windows and there is no air conditioning at all. Location is not ideal for exploring the town as it is a ways from the metro and there is no taxi stand.

Room Tip: Not too far from lifts as hallways are very long.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jono C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights. Is good hotel at a reasonable price. The location was decent, is about a 15 min walk to the city centre. Rooms were bright and good size, some furniture was a little old, but in all was comfortable and clean. Staff were friendly and helpful. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: choose room with river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Daniel_Allen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

I reserved a room with a river view. What I got was a room with a view to the back of the hotel. This might be, because I requested for a quiet room. Actually I didn't mind not having a room with a river view, because this way the room was quiet even with windows open. During my visit the weather was not hot, but warm, so I needed to keep the window open. There is no AC in the rooms.

The room itself was renovated with a small toilet. The toilet with a shower. The toilet itself was nice and clean, but it looked like it was not finished properly. On the main room the curtains were too small for the window, so when I closed the curtains there was approximately 1m gap between the curtains. So good luck with the white nights. I slept good though, I have no problems with my sleep, and the room was quiet too.

About room cleaning, overall it was pretty good, but in the main room I found some crap in the wall of the room. The location of the hotel was convenient for me, because of the near proximity to Finsky railway station. What I missed, was some kind of electric sockets near the night tables, there was no such installed.

The staff was polite and nice for me, no complaints there. Breakfast was not Continental nor was it English, it was Russian. For me it was plenty and enough, but if you have been used to Western European English or Continental breakfast, it may be a disappointment for you. But don't mind it. St. Petersburg offers so many good places for eating or having a snack that you don't need to mind if your breakfast leaves you hungry!

Room Tip: If you don't need it, don't book a room with a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B737-800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

How it is possible there is a restaurant in Russia, where no alcohol is not served. St Peterburg hotel is. Lobby level bar have stopped to served alcohol. The reason, we don't know. Perhaps because stopping smoking at the same time.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HelsinkiFinnish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

I didn't stay at this hotel. I wanted to stay at this hotel. I paid to stay at this hotel, but was refused at the front desk. Explanation was as follows:"We're sorry, our booking department is closed at the moment and your reservation will only go through tomorrow. Of course if you pay cash, we can help you." I tried to explain that I had already paid, but staff didn't care. No cash, no room.

Room Tip: Be sure to check in when the booking department is working!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mukana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

I was in this hotel in November 2013. With my husband, we spent 2 nights. We had nice riverview with very big window. We were sitting in armchairs and watching. The room was Ok,but bathroom no. It needs the renovation. It was quite big choice during breakfasts. This area is noisy. You should have stoppers if you want to sleep well. The way to centre of the city takes about 40 min. on foot and 3 stations of underground. It's the dippest underground in the world.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zurusie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Nevskiy
Pushka Inn Hotel
Pushka Inn Hotel
#2 of 362 in St. Petersburg
1,672 reviews
Liteyny
Hotel Indigo St. Petersburg - Tchaikovskogo
Hotel Indigo St. Petersburg - Tc...
#4 of 362 in St. Petersburg
816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Galakt Hotel
#156 of 362 in St. Petersburg
84 reviews
Admiralteisky
3MostA Boutique Hotel
3MostA Boutique Hotel
#14 of 362 in St. Petersburg
881 reviews
Bristol Hotel
#56 of 362 in St. Petersburg
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saint Petersburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saint Petersburg

Address: Pirogovskaya Emb., 5/2, St. Petersburg 194175, Russia
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 362 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Price Range: £42 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Saint Petersburg 3*
Number of rooms: 401
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel “Saint-Petersburg” is located in one of the most beautiful places of the city: Pirogovskaya embankment, just in front of the famous cruiser Avrora. The hotel has a magnificent view of the river Neva, historical center of the city, including Isaak and Peter and Paul Cathedrals. Finlyandsky Rail Terminal is situated in 10 minutes of walk from the hotel, getting from the hotel to the “Pulkovo” airport takes around 40 minutes. One of the main advantages of the hotel is an immediate proximity to the most popular sightseeings of Saint-Petersburg.Each room has a satellite television, phone line and personal washing composition. Apartment, Delux Suite, Superior Room have refrigerator.There are several restaurants and bars on the territory of the hotel. There are dishes of Russian, European, Japanese cuisine in the menu, also one of the restaurants is equipped with an own brewery and bakery. Life music performances are held almost daily.Panoramic restaurant “Bering”Lobby bar “Carlsberg”Concert HallNight club “Torn off balls”Restaurant "Chaplin Hall"Every year dozens of scientific congresses, symposiums, and concerts are held in the hotel “Saint-Petersburg”. One of the largest concert halls of the city with the capacity of 797 places is located in the hotel. Also there are an exhibition area and 3 well-equipped conference halls in the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Saint Petersburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint Petersburg Hotel St

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing