We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent choice for a hotel in St Petersburg”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Renaissance St. Petersburg Baltic Hotel
Ranked #40 of 361 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 July 2012

As I indicated, the hotel is an excellent choice if you want to stay in St Petersburg. The hotel staff is beyond outstanding (6 stars for the staff). They arranged everything for us (taxis, tours, restaurant reservations) and were always very helpful when we changed plans. We would call the staff at stores when we were shopping to help us translate...again, the level of service was definitely beyond 5 stars.

The hotel is located a couple of blocks from the main shopping street, but next to St. Isaacs cathedral. Excellent location, with lots of restaurants nearby, an outstanding bakery across the street and a 24 hour supermarket two doors down. The hop-on, hop-off bus can be picked up at St. Isaacs. Further, St. Isaacs allows you to walk up to the top of the church with excellent 360 degree views of the city at almost all hours of the night and day (I was there from 10pm to 11pm at night...almost always light at this latitude).

The breakfast (included in the room) was outstanding (large american buffet with sausages, eggs, bacon, fruit, cereal, and breads). Other meals were good and reasonably priced, especially since we had come from Moscow.

Service was beyond belief....my wife was wheelchair bound, and the staff ensured that the trip was fantastic, having taxis always available for us at the beginning of the day's trip (with a hotel wheelchair) and at the end of the day's activities. Schedules were constantly changing and the staff was very nice about changing everything for us (Alexandria was fantastic).

Rooms were nice; room service was good...did not try the exercise room.

Room Tip: Service was 6 stars....on par with the best hotels in Hong Kong
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bbb57aolcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (654)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

280 - 286 of 654 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2012

We just returned from our fabulous St. Petersburg trip. We stayed in the Renaissance Baltic hotel and we loved it. It is well located close to all the major sight, but not in the noisy part of the city, just a few steps from the St. Isaac Cathedral, the few from the 6th floor bar is gorgeous. Luckily we got a room overlooking the street, it was spacious and included all the expected amenities, and it was clean with a great bed (as usual in the Marriott hotels) Complimentary bottled waters were delivered to our room every day, if you need anything extra, there is a little shop right next door to the hotel. Breakfast was included for us and we enjoyed it a lot, great selection of cold and hot food, especially smoked fish and a great plus that they have freshly squeezed orange juice. The breakfast waiters are very enthusiastic, sometimes a bit over enthusiastic and they try to clear your plates while you are eating. Probably this was the only negative thing in the whole hotel, but even this one came from the fact that they are so attentive and they want clean tables for their guests. (Probably it is worth asking the guests if they can take away the plates, instead of just grabbing them). Also good news that all sort of different coffees and teas could be ordered, so espresso lovers should not suffer the week American coffee. The receptionists were quick and the most helpful both at check-in and check-out and all the girls and ladies at the navigator desk were so knowledgeable and helped us with tips for our sight-seeing. Yes the design is a bit of the 90's and a fancier lobby would be more joy to the eyes, but overall this is a great hotel with great staff and would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: If you are lucky you might get a room overlooking the street, even with a view of the cathedral
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vizslabp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

Located near St. Isaac's cathedral, this hotel is well-situated for all major attractions. Excellent service, friendly staff. They were very helpful with taxi reservation for airport transfer, visa registration, and other logistics. And the hotel offers a fantastic breakfast - it was included in the room price, but that may not be true for all guests. The hotel is quiet and clean. The room was comfortable and spacious, though the shower head was a bit too close to the wall - made it a bit tricky to maneuver while showering.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of St Isaac's. The view may be worth the higher price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cleolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

This hotel has a sign saying it is a "Trip Advisor Traveller's Choice 2012 winner". We have reservations. First the good things. The hotel is well situated for the centre of St Petersburg and has recently been renovated. It is clean and quiet and our room was large, although singles in our group complained they were cramped. The bed is firm. There are plenty of pillows, towels and hot water, and bottled water is supplied each day. Breakfast is good with porridge and eggs available on request. Service at breakfast is good. The same cannot be said of the evening meal. Few people dine here, so one ought to expect food to arrive in less than 40 minutes. My bass arrived without the apricot sauce and a complaint elicited a few dried apricots chopped into pieces in a clear liquid. I needed some accompanying vegetables. None were listed on the menu or priced. Some mashed potato and 2 corgette slices and 4 pieces of pepper were provided and were billed as £12/$19 equivalent. It was not a happy dining experience! When we arrived a glass of champaign was available at 9.30pm after a 5 hr journey from Moscow, but it took an hour for the hotel to bring our bags to the room. The room was gloomy as it faced a covered courtyard, and it was necessary to go out of the main door each day to see what the sky and weather conditions were like. To enjoy the Renaissance Hotel you need to sit on the Terrace on the 6th floor where drinks and some food is available. There is no tea or coffee in the room - an unnecessary and niggardly saving in what purports to be a 5* hotel.
For a really good meal try Gogol, 8 Malaya Morskaya Str. Take a right out of the hotel, cross St Isaacs Square and keep going straight forward. The restaurant is on the right. It is small and intimate and typically Russian. They speak very good English and the menu has lots of variety. We had calves tongues, rabbit stew, and an excellent Tarte Tatin. We recommend the home made drink made from crushed berries. You will be offered a small complimentary vodka and raspberry at the end of the meal. The restaurant takes Mastercard/Vsa and your bank balance will not be reeling from the expense. Our bill for two for the whole meal (3 courses plus drinks) was equivalent to just the two main courses we had the previous evening at the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wyntyll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012

Very nice hotel and the staff were very helpful. Breakfast was quite good and as a Gold Marriott member it was included. The location is convenient while enough off the beaten path to be quiet. Good choice.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CO_travel_lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

We spent 4 days at the Renaissance while visiting St. Petersburg for the first time early in July 2012. We could not be happier with our choice. Firstly, the service at he hotel was superb -- matching level of the best 5* hotel in the Asia Pacific region. The hotel staff speak very good English. They were very professional, friendly and customer focused. The concierge efficiently arranged private tours in advance through e-mails and worked diligently to provide paperwork for our visa application. Secondly, we found the hotel facilty to be excellent. Being Marriott Gold member, we were upgraded to an 8th floor room, which was a junior suite. The room amenities and furnishing were excellent. Thirdly, the terrace bar on the sixth floor served good food with great views of St Isaac. Breakfast buffet provided with the room was very good with fresh squeezed organge juice, variety of food and eggs on order. Finally, the location of the hotel is very convenient and are near many good restaurants.

We highly recommend this hotel to any first time visitor to St. Petersburg.

Room Tip: Ask for upgrade to 8th floor. Reserve well in advance for good discount rate
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank maturetraveler9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We had a suite on the 7th floor with a view of St. Isaac's. Lovely. Centrally located with a great terrace view at the 6th floor bar. Short walk to Nevsky Prospect and the Neva River. Hermitage is about 5-6 blocks away and within walking distance of many restaurants and pubs/bars. Service here was impeccable and what you would expect from a 5-star hotel. Would highly recommend.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view of St. Isaac's. 7th and 8th floors are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mjt1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Vladimir
Crowne Plaza St. Petersburg - Ligovsky
Crowne Plaza St. Petersburg - Li...
#14 of 361 in St. Petersburg
926 reviews
Admiralteisky
Astoria Hotel
Astoria Hotel
#7 of 361 in St. Petersburg
1,663 reviews
Admiralteisky
W St. Petersburg
W St. Petersburg
#19 of 361 in St. Petersburg
1,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Liteyny
Hotel Indigo St. Petersburg - Tchaikovskogo
Hotel Indigo St. Petersburg - Tc...
#4 of 361 in St. Petersburg
802 reviews
Vasilyevsky Island
Courtyard by Marriott St. Petersburg Vasilievsky
Courtyard by Marriott St. Peters...
#51 of 361 in St. Petersburg
615 reviews
Admiralteisky
Angleterre Hotel
Angleterre Hotel
#28 of 361 in St. Petersburg
985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance St. Petersburg Baltic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance St. Petersburg Baltic Hotel

Address: Pochtamtskaya Str. 4, St. Petersburg 190000, Russia
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Admiralteisky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#30 Luxury Hotel in St. Petersburg
#31 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
#64 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range: £68 - £211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance St. Petersburg Baltic Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Renaissance St. Petersburg Baltic Hotel is an ideal place to enjoy the city's charm with a fabulous location next to St. Isaac's Cathedral and steps away from Mariinsky Theatre and the Hermitage Museum. From the moment you arrive, hotel in St. Petersburg, Russia captivates you with an elegant interior, fresh-cut flowers and original artwork. Luxurious, well-appointed accommodations offer comfortable furnishings and large work area with broadband. For a conference or banquet, choose from a ballroom for 200 guests or smaller meeting room. For a regular workout visit our fitness center. Canvas Restaurant offers the finest International and Russian specialties from our award-winning chef and great wines to complement your fare. During famous White Nights, have a private dining (reservation required 48 hours prior to arrival) on the 6th Floor Terrace while enjoying views of the cathedral. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Renaissance St. Petersburg Baltic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Petersburg Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing