We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Renaissance St. Petersburg Baltic Hotel
Ranked #29 of 335 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Michigan
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Location.”
Reviewed 1 July 2013

The location is excellent for the Hermitage and St Isaacs. The 6th floor Terrace Bar/Restaurant was great for hanging ot s the sun went down (almost) and the air cooled.

The hotel itself average and maybe a bit "worn". At least in the guest rooms. Staff were very helpful and pleasant. Especially Sergey who went out of his way to help us find a 24 hour pizza delivery service and handled the ordering on our behalf.

I would stay here again based on location alone. Dining services are very limited at the hotel.

Also, there is a small 24 hour store/market few doors down which was very convenient.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SoManyPlaces2C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick N, General Manager at Renaissance St. Petersburg Baltic Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Thank you for your comments. We offer buffet and a la carte breakfast, plus la carte lunch in Canvas Restaurant. We also provide late lunch and supper dining on our 6th Floor Summer Terrace, as well as 24 hour Room Service.

Best regards,
Patrick Naughter, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    279
    236
    59
    20
    4
See reviews for
122
188
32
143
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

The view from the lounge at sunset is perfect. The rooms are clean and comfortable. It is an easy walk to the Hermitage from the hotel. Suggest that you contact the hotel manager to secure a car service from the airport. The staff was friendly and provided suggestions for places to visit in St Petersburg. Will definitely stay at the Renaissance on our next trip.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LifeisgoodTexas2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick N, General Manager at Renaissance St. Petersburg Baltic Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Thank you very much for your warm comments. We look forward to welcoming you back during your next visit to St. Petersburg.

Best regards,
Patrick Naughter, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westchester County, NY
Level Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

St. Petersburg Baltic Hotel is a great spot to tour most of St. Petersburg by foot. Hotel is elegant and clean, rooms (ours at least) are very up to date.

Incredibly convenient to Hermiatge, St. Issac's, The Neva and St. Petersburg square

Alexander (bellman) and Pavel (bartender) were particularly nice and friendly. A bit pricey though.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KathLikesTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick N, General Manager at Renaissance St. Petersburg Baltic Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2013
I’m pleased you found our location to be suitable for St. Petersburg’s top attractions, and it will be my pleasure to share your service feedback with Alexander and Pavel.
We offer a variety of breakfast, lunch and evening dining options in our Restaurant, Lounge and Summer Terrace. In addition, our Navigators routinely guide our guests on local alternative dining options.
Best wishes, Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

This is a very comfortable hotel and a convenient location. We loved the view from our eighth floor window--St. Isaac's Cathedral and the roofs of St. Petersburg. The staff including the concierge were very helpful. We would have liked more consistent internet service. Basically, we had to go to the lobby and sign in each time.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mplstraveler_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick N, General Manager at Renaissance St. Petersburg Baltic Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience. Whilst pleased to read that our staff provided helpful service your feedback concerning internet was equally valuable. As a result of your comment we followed up with our internet partner to improve the poor wifi signal.
Best wishes, Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
124 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

What a property. Excellent location, spectacular view of the Cathedral from the concierge lounge, bountiful breakfast, 2 blocks from the Vodka museum, and a speedy pass into the Hermitage. This is THE place to stay and I can't wait to return

Room Tip: Try to be high up so that you can have a view of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GuyFromPasadena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick N, General Manager at Renaissance St. Petersburg Baltic Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2013
Thank you very much for this positive review!
Best wishes, Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC Metro
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Excellent service and staff. Special kudos to Ms. Tatiana of reception. She is the ultimate Marriott professional-- helpful, knowledgeable, energetic and multilingual. Breakfast staff and barkeep are customer service focused and personable. The Renaissance is an oasis of friendly service... The hotel is ideally located for the St Petersburg visitor.

My room was spacious and clean, the hotel cleaning staff did a good job. Breakfast was well done and eggs are cooked to order.

Connectivity is important to me... Rooms have ethernet connections and a separate box with inputs (including HDMI) for computer connectivity to the room's wide screen TV, which is great. However, I found the wi-fi in my room intermittent at best, unless I was standing in the bathroom. The wifi in the common use areas (lobby, restaurant) was strong but required hourly log-ins. TV channel selection was fine. I would like to see CNN replaced by another news channel because I believe CNN has lost its relevance and spends more time promoting itself than giving us credible news.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street are spacious, but beware they can be noisy because of the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rowca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick N, General Manager at Renaissance St. Petersburg Baltic Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2013
I will certainly share your warm feedback with Tatiana and her colleagues; thank you for this!
We also followed up your comment concerning internet with our internet partner.
In addition to offering CNN, our news channel options include BBC, Euronews, France 24, CNBC, Russia Today plus several in Russian language.
Best wishes, Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
75 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

I had an early check in and had to wait for three and a half hours until I received a room that I asked for prior to arriving. I was offered some rooms but they did not meet the request i had asked for by phone and in the reservation. As I had an early check in I waited patiently but the staff did not offer me anything while I was waiting for those three hours.
When I got the room there was a penetrating smell. It was clearly from the previous guest who stayed there. I tried to get a short rest but when I laid down on the bed I noticed that the smell was coming from the bed sheets. It was a shock to find out that they didn't even change the bed sheets, very disgusting.
The rooms are very mediocre compared to the price to pay (I paid $400+). The bathroom is very outdated. Using plastic shower curtains reminds me of my student time but I do not expect this to see this when I pay that much money. In the morning I also found out that there were small little holes in the curtains (see photo attached). It seems like moths marks. The room was supposed to be a deluxe room but it was very outdated, impersonal and out of style.
During my stay it was raining in St Pete, like many days. Staff told me they ran out of umbrella's, something unimaginably in a city with that much rain.
The service of the staff was not professional. Every time I asked something I felt like they were not giving the service you would expect in a four to five star hotel.
I am very disappointed especially being a platinum member with Marriott and already stayed for over 90 days in a Marriott hotel in 2013.
Are there any good things in this hotel? Yes, the towels are good, the location is convenient and the guest services desk at least tries to provide true customer service. But this hotel needs to do something about their rooms and their staff. Last time I stayed by the way the service was much better.

Room Tip: Hardly any good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Database M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick N, General Manager at Renaissance St. Petersburg Baltic Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
I was extremely concerned to read of your reported experience, and this is certainly not the standard for which we are renowned.

I will review this matter personally and with priority and will contact you directly.

In the meantime best wishes,
Patrick Naughter
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Nevskiy
Golden Triangle Hotel
Golden Triangle Hotel
#23 of 335 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
Admiralteisky
Domina St.Petersburg
Domina St.Petersburg
#10 of 335 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,099 reviews
Admiralteisky
Petro Palace Hotel
Petro Palace Hotel
#27 of 335 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Admiralteisky
W St. Petersburg
W St. Petersburg
#19 of 335 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,090 reviews
Nevskiy
Kempinski Hotel Moika 22
Kempinski Hotel Moika 22
#15 of 335 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,081 reviews
Admiralteisky
Taleon Imperial Hotel
Taleon Imperial Hotel
#34 of 335 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance St. Petersburg Baltic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance St. Petersburg Baltic Hotel

Property: Renaissance St. Petersburg Baltic Hotel
Address: Pochtamtskaya St., 4, St. Petersburg 190000, Russia
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Admiralteisky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#23 Luxury Hotel in St. Petersburg
#31 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
#64 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance St. Petersburg Baltic Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Renaissance St. Petersburg Baltic Hotel is an ideal place to enjoy the city's charm with a fabulous location next to St. Isaac's Cathedral and steps away from Mariinsky Theatre and the Hermitage Museum. From the moment you arrive, the hotel captivates you with an elegant interior, fresh-cut flowers and original artwork. Luxurious, well-appointed accommodations offer comfortable furnishings and large work area with broadband. For a conference or banquet, choose from a ballroom for 200 guests or smaller meeting room. For a regular workout visit our fitness center. Canvas Restaurant offers the finest International and Russian specialties from our award-winning chef and great wines to complement your fare. During famous White Nights, have a private dining (reservation required 48 hours prior to arrival) on the 6th Floor Terrace while enjoying views of the cathedral. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Renaissance St. Petersburg Baltic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Petersburg Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing