We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Bit Dissappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Renaissance St. Petersburg Baltic Hotel
Ranked #39 of 359 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 July 2013

I made a reservation at this hotel using my Marriott points. This is a rather small hotel 80 + rooms It is located right near St. Issacs and the nearby the Hermitage Museum. It's location was what attracted me and that proved to be correct, but the rooms were not very large and the facilities were definitely not high end. The room didn't even have a coffee maker. Half the rooms open to an interior court that makes them a bit dreary. The lobby restaurant had terrible service. More than 30 minutes waiting for coffee in the morning. But the front desk people were quite helpful, especially a young man named Havel, who volunteered several ideas of where to eat. Without this pleasant experience I would have rated the property lower.

Room Tip: There is a roof top bar that affords some nice views of the city especially St. Issacs. Make sure to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mengerrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick N, General Manager at Renaissance St. Petersburg Baltic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2013

Thank you for your comments. We have taken steps to improve our morning coffee service. We also installed coffee and tea making facilities in all guest rooms in July 2013.

Best regards,
Patrick Naughter, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (648)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

236 - 242 of 648 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2013

The location is excellent for the Hermitage and St Isaacs. The 6th floor Terrace Bar/Restaurant was great for hanging ot s the sun went down (almost) and the air cooled.

The hotel itself average and maybe a bit "worn". At least in the guest rooms. Staff were very helpful and pleasant. Especially Sergey who went out of his way to help us find a 24 hour pizza delivery service and handled the ordering on our behalf.

I would stay here again based on location alone. Dining services are very limited at the hotel.

Also, there is a small 24 hour store/market few doors down which was very convenient.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SoManyPlaces2C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick N, General Manager at Renaissance St. Petersburg Baltic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2013

Thank you for your comments. We offer buffet and a la carte breakfast, plus la carte lunch in Canvas Restaurant. We also provide late lunch and supper dining on our 6th Floor Summer Terrace, as well as 24 hour Room Service.

Best regards,
Patrick Naughter, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

The view from the lounge at sunset is perfect. The rooms are clean and comfortable. It is an easy walk to the Hermitage from the hotel. Suggest that you contact the hotel manager to secure a car service from the airport. The staff was friendly and provided suggestions for places to visit in St Petersburg. Will definitely stay at the Renaissance on our next trip.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LifeisgoodTexas2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick N, General Manager at Renaissance St. Petersburg Baltic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2013

Thank you very much for your warm comments. We look forward to welcoming you back during your next visit to St. Petersburg.

Best regards,
Patrick Naughter, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

St. Petersburg Baltic Hotel is a great spot to tour most of St. Petersburg by foot. Hotel is elegant and clean, rooms (ours at least) are very up to date.

Incredibly convenient to Hermiatge, St. Issac's, The Neva and St. Petersburg square

Alexander (bellman) and Pavel (bartender) were particularly nice and friendly. A bit pricey though.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KathLikesTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick N, General Manager at Renaissance St. Petersburg Baltic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2013

I’m pleased you found our location to be suitable for St. Petersburg’s top attractions, and it will be my pleasure to share your service feedback with Alexander and Pavel.
We offer a variety of breakfast, lunch and evening dining options in our Restaurant, Lounge and Summer Terrace. In addition, our Navigators routinely guide our guests on local alternative dining options.
Best wishes, Patrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

This is a very comfortable hotel and a convenient location. We loved the view from our eighth floor window--St. Isaac's Cathedral and the roofs of St. Petersburg. The staff including the concierge were very helpful. We would have liked more consistent internet service. Basically, we had to go to the lobby and sign in each time.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mplstraveler_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick N, General Manager at Renaissance St. Petersburg Baltic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience. Whilst pleased to read that our staff provided helpful service your feedback concerning internet was equally valuable. As a result of your comment we followed up with our internet partner to improve the poor wifi signal.
Best wishes, Patrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

What a property. Excellent location, spectacular view of the Cathedral from the concierge lounge, bountiful breakfast, 2 blocks from the Vodka museum, and a speedy pass into the Hermitage. This is THE place to stay and I can't wait to return

Room Tip: Try to be high up so that you can have a view of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GuyFromPasadena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick N, General Manager at Renaissance St. Petersburg Baltic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2013

Thank you very much for this positive review!
Best wishes, Patrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Excellent service and staff. Special kudos to Ms. Tatiana of reception. She is the ultimate Marriott professional-- helpful, knowledgeable, energetic and multilingual. Breakfast staff and barkeep are customer service focused and personable. The Renaissance is an oasis of friendly service... The hotel is ideally located for the St Petersburg visitor.

My room was spacious and clean, the hotel cleaning staff did a good job. Breakfast was well done and eggs are cooked to order.

Connectivity is important to me... Rooms have ethernet connections and a separate box with inputs (including HDMI) for computer connectivity to the room's wide screen TV, which is great. However, I found the wi-fi in my room intermittent at best, unless I was standing in the bathroom. The wifi in the common use areas (lobby, restaurant) was strong but required hourly log-ins. TV channel selection was fine. I would like to see CNN replaced by another news channel because I believe CNN has lost its relevance and spends more time promoting itself than giving us credible news.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street are spacious, but beware they can be noisy because of the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rowca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick N, General Manager at Renaissance St. Petersburg Baltic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2013

I will certainly share your warm feedback with Tatiana and her colleagues; thank you for this!
We also followed up your comment concerning internet with our internet partner.
In addition to offering CNN, our news channel options include BBC, Euronews, France 24, CNBC, Russia Today plus several in Russian language.
Best wishes, Patrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Admiralteisky
Astoria Hotel
Astoria Hotel
#8 of 359 in St. Petersburg
1,646 reviews
Admiralteisky
W St. Petersburg
W St. Petersburg
#19 of 359 in St. Petersburg
1,176 reviews
Vladimir
Crowne Plaza St. Petersburg - Ligovsky
Crowne Plaza St. Petersburg - Li...
#14 of 359 in St. Petersburg
919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Admiralteisky
Four Seasons Hotel Lion Palace St. Petersburg
Four Seasons Hotel Lion Palace S...
#3 of 359 in St. Petersburg
858 reviews
Admiralteisky
Petro Palace Hotel
Petro Palace Hotel
#30 of 359 in St. Petersburg
1,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance St. Petersburg Baltic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance St. Petersburg Baltic Hotel

Address: Pochtamtskaya Str. 4, St. Petersburg 190000, Russia
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Admiralteisky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#29 Luxury Hotel in St. Petersburg
#31 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
#64 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range: £60 - £192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance St. Petersburg Baltic Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Renaissance St. Petersburg Baltic Hotel is an ideal place to enjoy the city's charm with a fabulous location next to St. Isaac's Cathedral and steps away from Mariinsky Theatre and the Hermitage Museum. From the moment you arrive, hotel in St. Petersburg, Russia captivates you with an elegant interior, fresh-cut flowers and original artwork. Luxurious, well-appointed accommodations offer comfortable furnishings and large work area with broadband. For a conference or banquet, choose from a ballroom for 200 guests or smaller meeting room. For a regular workout visit our fitness center. Canvas Restaurant offers the finest International and Russian specialties from our award-winning chef and great wines to complement your fare. During famous White Nights, have a private dining (reservation required 48 hours prior to arrival) on the 6th Floor Terrace while enjoying views of the cathedral. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Renaissance St. Petersburg Baltic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Petersburg Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing