We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant until they announced the breakfast charge”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Renaissance St. Petersburg Baltic Hotel
Ranked #43 of 364 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 May 2010

Brilliant location, lovely hotel, glass of champagne on arrival, room a good size with a bit of a view onto the cathedral dome, private entrance to the Hermitage. Amazing breakfasts, very good staff, but then it went a bit wrong. We booked it months ago and couldn't remember if the breakfast was included, so we asked when we checked in (it wasn't on the email confirmation of the booking). All included, so the first 3 mornings we tucked into the great food.
On the 4th morning they couldn't find our room number on the breakfast list but waved us through. Half way through breakfast they then presented us with a bill for 60 euros! It was more than we spent on dinner most nights!!! We explained that our breakfast was included in the room price. Eventually the truth emerged - we only got a free breakfast on weekends and bank holidays, which the monday happened to be. Talk about a stupid rule that they had never explained on the website, email or when we checked in. It spoilt the whole stay.
Do go and stay there though, just watch out for breakfast charges!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ru84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (664)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

380 - 386 of 664 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2010

you're not really in russia, but you are in an international hotel. and everything is done to a high standard, the people are incredibly helpful and friendly (particularly in comparison with the dour but very nice russians) and it really is what you expect from a top tourist hotel.

can't fault it, but it is not 'authentic' russian - which suited us for our first visit and no russian language capability. shame on us.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnaMariaEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2010

Pros:
- Clean rooms
- Good service
- Good location
- Very good value for money

Cons:
- Sound insulation between rooms not great - bring ear plugs
- Room facing internal atrium

Summary: Good, clean, good value hotel for a convenient and comfortable stay in St Petersburg!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cybertraveller696
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2010

We spent three nights at the St. Petersburg Renaissance hotel. Overall it is a very nice, older hotel. As a Platinum Marriott member, we were upgraded to a suite. Check in was not so easy. The hotel does not have an Executive Lounge. Therefore I was given breakfast and drink vouchers for one person. I needed it for two. After some discussion we were given extra breakfast vouchers and enough drink vouchers so that we could each have one drink per day.
Other than that, the physical hotel was fine. Location was excellent for all purposes. Not only are you close to most sites, if you do not have drink vouchers, no problem. Take a left out of the hotel and walk about 30 yards to find two mini-marts that sell a variety of alcohol at reasonable prices. Bottled wine, for example, ran $10-15 USD. Restaurants are pricy in St. Petersburg. Our first night we went to an Italian restaurant (I won’t tell you the name because I don’t want you to go there or even know it exists). Six pieces of bread and 0.6 liter of water (600 ml) were $24 USD. For our main course we ordered four-cheese pasta but ended up with 14 rigatoni noodles sprinkled with cheese. Total bill was $66 USD. Very expensive for what we got. However, take a left out of the hotel and a right at the first street, down about 200 yards on the left, is the Stroganoff Steakhouse. It’s the Russian version of Flemmings. Great steaks at great prices. Our tour guide recommended it and the food as well as the service was fantastic.
The hotel has fast, free Wi-Fi in the lobby and lounges so bring your laptop. And while the manager told me Wi-Fi would not work it our room (and we were on the top floor), we had no problem with the access. The concierge service was good, as well. She arranged a car to pick us up and take us to the fortress, wait for us for over an hour, and return us to the hotel for less than $60 USD.
One word of caution. We flew Aeroflot between Moscow and St. Petersburg and return. Be sure to confirm your flights the night before. Our flight time was changed by 5 hours. Had our tour guide not confirmed for us, we would have been screwed. It was the last flight of the day and we would not have made it back to Moscow in time for our return flight to the states.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jknight910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2009

We had a suite on the 8th floor overlooking the gilded dome of St Issacs. It was a quiet room and a great locations. Hotel is very quiet and the service is attentive. Breakfast is included and the buffet is overwelming.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GLENMAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2009

The rooms were large and clean. The staff was most helpful and friendly. The breakfast offered a great selection and was very tasty. A must hit is the roof top bar with amazing city views.

The Renaissance offered the perfect launching pad for exploring St. Petersburg. It was within easy walking distance of many of the must sees as well as the main shopping streets.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelhg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2009

The hotel was clean, quiet and situated centrally in st Petersburg. So far so good. The room was supposed to have a bath, but didn't and was poorly planned, so that it was difficult to sit on the toilet.

They tried to charge every little thing at horrendous prices. A bottle of water 10 USD, internet access in the room 33 USD per day etc. This left a bad taste in the mouth, since the hotel is not cheap to begin with.

Stayed: October 2009, travelled on business
Thank HOKOGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Vladimir
Crowne Plaza St. Petersburg - Ligovsky
Crowne Plaza St. Petersburg - Li...
#13 of 364 in St. Petersburg
942 reviews
Vasilyevsky Island
Courtyard by Marriott St. Petersburg Vasilievsky
Courtyard by Marriott St. Peters...
#44 of 364 in St. Petersburg
632 reviews
Admiralteisky
Domina St.Petersburg
Domina St.Petersburg
#10 of 364 in St. Petersburg
1,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Admiralteisky
Astoria Hotel
Astoria Hotel
#8 of 364 in St. Petersburg
1,705 reviews
Admiralteisky
Petro Palace Hotel
Petro Palace Hotel
#26 of 364 in St. Petersburg
1,226 reviews
Liteyny
Hotel Indigo St. Petersburg - Tchaikovskogo
Hotel Indigo St. Petersburg - Tc...
#4 of 364 in St. Petersburg
827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance St. Petersburg Baltic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance St. Petersburg Baltic Hotel

Address: Pochtamtskaya Str. 4, St. Petersburg 190000, Russia
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Admiralteisky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#31 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
#33 Luxury Hotel in St. Petersburg
#64 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range: £57 - £247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance St. Petersburg Baltic Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Renaissance St. Petersburg Baltic Hotel is an ideal place to enjoy the city's charm with a fabulous location next to St. Isaac's Cathedral and steps away from Mariinsky Theatre and the Hermitage Museum. From the moment you arrive, hotel in St. Petersburg, Russia captivates you with an elegant interior, fresh-cut flowers and original artwork. Luxurious, well-appointed accommodations offer comfortable furnishings and large work area with broadband. For a conference or banquet, choose from a ballroom for 200 guests or smaller meeting room. For a regular workout visit our fitness center. Canvas Restaurant offers the finest International and Russian specialties from our award-winning chef and great wines to complement your fare. During famous White Nights, have a private dining (reservation required 48 hours prior to arrival) on the 6th Floor Terrace while enjoying views of the cathedral. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Renaissance St. Petersburg Baltic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Petersburg Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing