We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice hotel but let down by their concierge”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Renaissance St. Petersburg Baltic Hotel
Ranked #40 of 364 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 August 2010

We recently stayed in the hotel for 4 nights during a holiday visit to St. Petersburg. As others have remarked, it's located in a very convenient area that means you can reach most things with a fairly short walk. The rooms were fine. We were upgraded to a suite, which was a bit odd in configuration, but the extra space was a definite benefit.

I have two complaints--

As platinum members at Marriott, normally they would have a lounge we could use. In this case as they don't they gave you drink tickets for the bar and vouchers for breakfast. The breakfast vouchers were only for a continental breakfast, not any of the hot food. Most likely I wouldn't have had any of the hot offerings, but it just seemed oddly mean for no really good reason considering that everyone was seated together.

More irritating by far was the general uselessness of the concierge service. On our first night there we asked for recommendations of where to eat dinner. We were basically met with a blank stare. As we weren't sure about what type of cuisine we just asked for something nearby that was good but not too formal as we were tired from the trip. More blank stares. Questions about canal trips resulted in wrong answers and every time we asked for a taxi it turned into some sort of joke with us waiting for 30 min. Why the doorman who couldn't be bothered to help with our luggage couldn't just flag us a hotel is beyond me.

Would recommend this hotel, and the bar on the 6th floor, but just make sure you don't need much in terms of concierge service...

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank expatinlondon17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (666)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

370 - 376 of 666 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2010

We stayed here the beginning of September 2009. I would strongly recommend this hotel. All major sites are within walking distance. Hotel is right next to cathedral. We had the opportunity to go upstairs and have a few drinks at the bar with balcony overlooking cathedral. Truly worth the price of the drinks. Hotel was expensive, but what hotels aren't in Russia ? :) Hotel room clean, service good. Breakfast was included in our rate. Breakfast buffet was good. No complaints. Staff was very friendly, offering suggestions on what to do with our time in the city. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lhaganmich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2010

I stayed there for a week and I can say the hotel is very good and should definitely be recommended.

It is located right next to the Isaakievsky cathedral, i. e. in the very heart of the town (also next to Astoria and Angleter hotels). Its windows are facing a quiet street - which means no noise. It is a five minutes walk from Nevsky prospekt and I didn't notice a restaurant, a decent foodstore or a drugstore next to the hotel.

As to the rooms there are some tips to know. Key is to ask for a room with street windows - because in a lot of rooms windows are opening into inner atrium. Another thing about windows: on the fifth floor they are located higher than regular windows with windowsills on the level of your shoulders, so it feels like you live in a basement room. My advice is to stay on the fourth floor.

Standard rooms are okay - not too spacious but it doesn't feel like you sleep in a wardrobe too.

My advice is to stay in a de lux room: it is spacious and comfortable. Generally it just feels good.

Nice variety of pillows, although mattresses could be better.

Quiet airconditioning.

Wired internet comes at a price of 800 roubles per 24 hrs. I didn't check its quality.

Room service is not tasty (I only ordered during nights, maybe they have a different chef in daytime).

Check out a terrace cafe on the sixth floor: I did not order any food, but it has a great view on Isaakievsky cathedral. Sitting there in the night is beautiful.

The staff is very well trained.

A tiny fraction of stupidity. Say you are sleeping on your shedule, which means during the day local time. You have the "Do not distrub" sign on your door. So when they want to offer you a cleaning service they can't knock. What do they do? They send you a message on your TV, so it turns on itself and the corporate jingle wakes you up. Can you imagine that? "You ask not to disturb you, so we remotely turned on your TV."

De lux rooms come at about USD 350, which is average for St. Petersburg's generally overpriced hotels.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniel_Moscow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2010

This hotel manages to somehow execute their hospitality with effortless perfection. During my three night stay at this hotel every staff request, and every staff encounter was fulfilled seamlessly with pleasure. I opted for their airport transfers to and/from the hotel and felt of fair value. The rooms are spotless, the location is ideal, and the morning breakfast near lobby a great way to start the day. Their fitness facility was clean and stocked with complimentary fresh local fruit. Don't forget to partake in their complimentary truffles at the front desk.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kjb176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2010

This hotel was great. It is an American Chain (Marriott) and the standards are high. Everyone on staff spoke several languages, including English. They did not have a Concierge or Executive Lounge, so no free sodas or water. Our room was on the top floor (8th) and overlooked St. Issaac's Cathedral. The room was clean and comfortable. We had a separate sitting room with television, bar, and writing desk. The hotel is within walking distance of the Hermitage Museum and a boat dock where you can get the hydrafoil to Peter the Great's summer palace. You can see Finland from the palace.

The Concierge, Maria, was more than helpful. We were emailing back and forth 2 weeks prior to our trip. She arranged for a car to meet us at the St. Petersburg Airport, and to take us back to the airport, which I highly recommend. She also arranged English speaking tour guides for two of the places we wanted to see. She arranged taxis, a canal boat ride, just anything and everything we needed.

There is free wifi in the bar and downstairs in public places. You need to pick up a card with an access number everyday at the front desk.

We very much enjoyed our stay at this hotel

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ICUFLY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2010

Nothing spectacular but very comfortable rooms. Great gym facility in the basement. Probably the best part of staying here is that they have a special deal with the Hermitage. You can show your room key to the guard at the exit of the tickets office and he'll let you in (or buy tickets at the front desk of the hotel). On a typical summer day that means cutting to the front of the massive queue that snakes all the way out into the square.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Widjet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2010

Upon first arrival, I thought the hotel was nice, but by American standards, just an average hotel, nothing shabby, but nothing spectacular. However, once we went to visit some friends of ours hotel that were travelling there at the same time, we really gained an appreciation for our "lavish" accommodations. They were staying above a strip club in a place that looked not only unsafe, but also dirty. I guess with a big group it wouldn't be that scary, but for a couple or a single....I'd fork out the extra money and stay at The Renaissance or any other recognizable named hotel.
The staff was friendly and knowledgeable and everyone spoke some English which helped. They have an excellent workout facility and a delicious breakfast. We felt safe there and were well taken care of.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ForeverWanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Vasilyevsky Island
Courtyard by Marriott St. Petersburg Vasilievsky
Courtyard by Marriott St. Peters...
#46 of 364 in St. Petersburg
634 reviews
Vladimir
Crowne Plaza St. Petersburg - Ligovsky
Crowne Plaza St. Petersburg - Li...
#13 of 364 in St. Petersburg
944 reviews
Admiralteisky
Astoria Hotel
Astoria Hotel
#7 of 364 in St. Petersburg
1,706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Admiralteisky
Domina St.Petersburg
Domina St.Petersburg
#10 of 364 in St. Petersburg
1,251 reviews
Admiralteisky
Petro Palace Hotel
Petro Palace Hotel
#26 of 364 in St. Petersburg
1,228 reviews
Liteyny
Hotel Indigo St. Petersburg - Tchaikovskogo
Hotel Indigo St. Petersburg - Tc...
#4 of 364 in St. Petersburg
828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance St. Petersburg Baltic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance St. Petersburg Baltic Hotel

Address: Pochtamtskaya Str. 4, St. Petersburg 190000, Russia
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Admiralteisky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#30 Luxury Hotel in St. Petersburg
#31 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
#64 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range: £52 - £249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance St. Petersburg Baltic Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Renaissance St. Petersburg Baltic Hotel is an ideal place to enjoy the city's charm with a fabulous location next to St. Isaac's Cathedral and steps away from Mariinsky Theatre and the Hermitage Museum. From the moment you arrive, hotel in St. Petersburg, Russia captivates you with an elegant interior, fresh-cut flowers and original artwork. Luxurious, well-appointed accommodations offer comfortable furnishings and large work area with broadband. For a conference or banquet, choose from a ballroom for 200 guests or smaller meeting room. For a regular workout visit our fitness center. Canvas Restaurant offers the finest International and Russian specialties from our award-winning chef and great wines to complement your fare. During famous White Nights, have a private dining (reservation required 48 hours prior to arrival) on the 6th Floor Terrace while enjoying views of the cathedral. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Renaissance St. Petersburg Baltic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Petersburg Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing